Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alpenhotel Tauernstüberl 3 stars

Salzachtal-Bundesstraße 54, 5700 Zell am See, Austria

#20 of 50 hotels in Zell am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very friendly staff and helpfull in advising on everything, especially Mme Martina at the reception. Delicious food and again, amazing personnel at the restaurant and bar. We absolutely loved the place and also our dog. Peter & Lucy, Slovakia

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak internet connections. (Comments from the children).

    We had a very pleasant stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location with ski shuttle right outside. Good food and nice rooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to complain about.

    We spent there 6 days during ski season. The place is extremely clean. The sauna cabins operating during evening are modern and very clean. The stuff was smiling, always in good spirit and very careful with our needs. Food was good, very well cooked and tasteful with good selection of bufet salad during evening and good and healthy choices of bufet breakfast. We saw locals coming there for the breakfast which is always for me a good sign. They have an installation to keep your ski boost warm and dry during night. The ski bus station is litterally în front of the property and the Areit express lift is one bus station away. Our accommodation couldn't be better în Zell am See for the money we have paid.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is comfortable, room is very clean, breakfast and dinner is delicious, staffs are very kind. Bus stop is just in front of this hotel, it's very easy to go to Zell am See and Kaprun ski resort without transfer fee, if you have ski lift pass. Hotel staff kindly picked me up from Zell am See station, and kindly up-graded my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lot of noise from the road in front of hotel at night/morning. Didnt get much sleep after 5am.

    Good location between Zell am See and Kaprun. Good food in restaurat. Room small but ok for one night stand.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was more than happy with everything

    What a great place - I will definitely go back. At first it looks like not a good setting, by the busy road, but it is right by the bus stops in both directions and would be easy to get to by car too. I had emailed the hotel to ask how to get there (and they offered to pick me up and take me back to the station) and asked for a quiet room. They sent me a friendly email back saying I would have a double room on the quiet mountain side of the hotel, which is exactly what I got. The staff were just lovely, so friendly and helpful - giving information and help. I am always a bit wary at first, travelling on my own, but they put me right at my ease. The breakfast was great and I would definitely recommend the half board. The food was amazing. 18 euros for 4 courses and the size of the main course - - - I would definitely recommend it for anyone travelling on their own and wanting to hike in the beautiful mountains in both directions - Zell am See and Kaprun. To sit at night outside looking at the mountains while eating a good meal and drinking beer - what could be better!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no suggestions how to do better

    The service of the hotel is absolutely great. The rooms are nice and the staff is very freindly. The are paying attention to the details that matter. Like offering a shower after skiing, when you are already booked out or a nice paperclip at the bill.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager met us at the train station and drove us to the hotel where Martina met up in the lobby. Very welcoming, warm, friendly and super service minded. She took really good care of us. We enjoyed a nice three course dinner that was included in the price and went to bed tired but happy after a long journey. Zell am see is expensive in high season but compared to other hotels in the area this one is good value for your money. And since it's not in the center of town you don't have to wake up to church bells and drunks in the middle off the night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Diner between 06:00 & 08:00 PM After diner nothing to do Nice bar, but closed at 09:00 PM

    Nice big clean room Ski area at 800 m Bus stop in front of the door Excellent food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location on the street directly There are no views of the lake There vending machine drinks There is a lift There is free parking There is a restaurant is delicious food The hotel is in a beautiful, comfortable and suitable for families and groups Best of all this The most beautiful is greeted Mrs. Martina for our family We will come back soon to this hotel because we felt the love and affection of Mrs. Martina Thank Martina

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is a bit far from Zell am see Bahnof about 15 mins by a car drive. But this is compensated by a free pickup and drop to Zell am see station.arranged by the hotel

    -The warmth and hospitality of the staff(Both Simona and Martina) but would specially like to thank Martina for the warm welcome and all the help with tourist spots within Zell am see. Fast checkin and all the maps ,buses and train details were provided.Martina also helped us with the details of the restaurants for lunch and dinner.They also arranged for a pickup and drop to Zell am see station. -Hotel provides with the Kaprun card which is the best and economical way of tourism. This helps you save lot of money on local transport and entry fees of tourist spots in Kaprun area -Breakfast spread was superb..one of the best that we had during our european vacation.Staff during the breakfast time was quick and prompt to refill the finished up items If we ever visit Zell am see again we would definitely want to stay at the place again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comparing with the value which I paid everything was fine.

    Staff and housekeeper was friendly and helpful even the location is not too bad 10 min from the centre and Kaprun mountain.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent cuisine - gourmet, varied and tasty breakfast, 100% cleanliness of the room and the entire hotel, excellent friendly staff and very nice and spacious room. As a motorcyclist I also important location along the road and a spacious parking lot. In any case, I have used this hotel on future trips to Zell am See-Kaprun.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were fantastic , Martina was so helpful and nice ! The breakfast was great and plentiful, the rooms were very modern and comfy and the restaurant food was good and cheap. The bus stops at the hotel so no need for the car

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner portions bit bigger could be

    Simple nice clean place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal could have been a little bigger

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sauna could have been warmer

    Friendly staff, calm atmosphere

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good dinner in the restaurant. Continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly staff Delicious food Tidiness Close to Areitbahn

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress and the pillow need to be changed

    The staff was excellent!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly atmosphere. Good Food, and good location for skiing. Busstop; 20 meters.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great family run hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor.

    Hospitality was superb.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air condition inside the room.

    Staff was co-operative and eager to support.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent breakfest , very kindle personal , good informations about location and activity in the city , summer card . I will come back in winter .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to a wide range of attractions, activities and locations within the town was included in the price

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad pillow

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the limitation of the breakfast

    the reception lady was very nice both of them the provide us with everything we need

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Every thing was perfect Break fast ,wifi, parking Basically every thing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is so beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    From the moment you walk in Martina on reception makes you welcome. And after a long two days you need a happy welcome. Bar and restaurant staff great and food is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi is a bit shaky, but that's not what we came for.

    Conveniently located family business, very friendly staff, very nice breakfast. We came for an Ironman competition and they opened breakfast for competitors on race morning at 4:30. We rented a relatively small room for five people, but it was pleasant and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owner and his staff were incredibly helpful. We were competing in the Ironman and had an early start time so the staff provided breakfast at 4.30am. The hotel is well located just outside of the main town with a regular bus and train service from just outside the hotel. We've stayed in the heart of town previously and it can be noisy, this hotel had the best of both. The owner, Martina and Petra were incredibly friendly and helpful to me, my family and other competitors. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free car parking on site. Easy to find on main road into Zell am See. Good all round facilities, cleanliness and breakfast. Very helpful and informative staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The first ski buses didn't always arrive on time 15 & 30 mins late on two days when trying to meet in Zell am See

    Location was good with bus stop and train station options to main ski areas. South facing sunny location of main entrance reception and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi doesn't work properly all the time, the street-view rooms are not very quiet during the day

    The place is wonderful, staff is very cute and polite, food- delicious, rooms- very clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traffic noise.

    Friendly & informative staff and breakfast very good. Summer pass great. Proximity to one great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Group

    buss to zell am see stop at 5:00pm

    very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi is not stable

    I liked it. Friendly staff, the owner is always around, and they are very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No AC while it was a hot week.

    Everything.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited breakfast Little expensive comparing to 3 stars

    Location Staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noise cars in the street and no AC

    The staff frindly and location free wifi and parking

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very good and friendly service, in fluent English. Well working WiFi. Easy train connection to the town center.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bus stop was right outside the door of the hotel, exceptionally clean rooms and common areas, sauna, ski area and breakfast were appreciated.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The road in front of the hotel can be rather busy.

    The very friendly and welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Atmosphere - cute, food was wonderful. If I go skiing to the same place , I would stay with my family in the same hotel. Thanx a lot to all staff!!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    wifi a bit dodgy

    Value for money, staff, food, location, sauna

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: