Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Frankenhof 3 stars

Innsbruckerstraße 2, 6108 Scharnitz, Austria

#2 of 11 hotels in Scharnitz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 606 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is centrally located and is a big money saver for people who want to spent time In Mittenwald or Seefeld because of its proximity to both. It is also not too far from Garmish, another beautiful city. The Owners are very nice and friendly people. We had a terrific stay there and hope to go back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Cozy shelter at the foot of the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from neighbors (thin walls, low soundproof)

    Good breakfast Cozy, comfortable, looks like country home Frendly stuff Reach hygiene facilities Close to Mittenwald and Geisterklamm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Snarnitz is easy to get to on the train from Innsbruck It was the start of a bike trip to Munich
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel from the outside looked typically Austrian and quite standard. Inside however was very pleasant with lovely (feminine?) touches such as candles and interesting object. Breakfast was also excellent and the cleanlines was outstanding Safe indoor storage for our bikes was also a big bonus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    10 MINUTES FROM SEEFELD AND HALF THE COST! (DOUBLE THE SIZE ROOM TOO)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You really need a car to stay here.

    Located about 10 minutes from Seefeld this property has easy parking, a nice breakfast, a VERY spacious room and is immaculate. It has a real 'ski hotel' feel to it even though we visited in May. If you want access to Seefeld in Tirol but don't want to pay the prices or deal with the parking there then you can save 50% by staying here. The area is quiet and the room was more like an apartment. Separate bedroom and living room (door) and even a nice terrace! There was a stove top for cooking and a nice small refrigerator too. We saved by cooking one meal for ourselves (shopping for food in the market was fun too).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    It’s a very hospitable place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is just perfectly big like at home and on breakfast you can definitely find something that you need and like. The best of the best is the host! She is always available to answer your questions and fulfill your needs. She is just great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Great accomodation in a very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accomodation was great, the hotel is very nice and cosy, it looks very good, the host was very kind in waiting for us half an hour after closing the chek in hour, she guided us and helped immediately! Breakfast was great. everything was clean and ready for guests! the bed was amazing, the pillow and the cover was fantastic, just what you would expect in a mountain trip. The bed and the great breakfast...and of course the host she was very nice and friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Great alternative to Mittenwald
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main road is quite busy, fortunately our apartment was towards the back, close to the farm with lots of country air.

    Great value for money -.friendly owner, super spacious family apartment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    The friendly welcome and the very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Part of the room was just above the main road, but in the end, there was not many traffic during the night.

    The friendly welcome and the very nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Local traditional hotel near Innsbruck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 16 years)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During only one day residence, I couldn't find anything. However, if someone need to use public transportation, it shall be a bad idea.

    20 minutes far from Innsbruck by car. Seems the best hotel in radius 5km at least. The owner was so kind and recommend to take breakfast. If you select apartment for parents and max 2 childs, you may have another good experience with equipped kitchen and stars at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    I can visited again in here, maybe.
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 adults +1 child 16 years)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. The services where not updated in the hotel room files. I don't know why... Insect bite me every night from two places at the nice room. I don't find it. Stupid insect!

    My numbers 5,8 is the number of all hotel (worldwide, level 0 - 10), including guesthouse too. This is not booking.com level only. Booking.com level number is maybe (8,0) or something less. This is professionally, general evaluated. Space in the room and level of the equipment in the hotel apartment (room). We don't need a more things. Very surprising....!!! Clean surface and you can buy the food in the store befoure you arrive. In the apartment, over 50 m2, there is big fridge too. Sauna is good thing too. And hotel staff was very nice people. But I am little bit sick (very bad flu) and I don't heard everything clearly and it was very funny, becouse my english is not so good yet. Someone thinking maybe, that I am strange. Ha-ha... And chance the very dark room at the night is very good thing. Nice!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    comfortable apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a beautiful and comfortable apartment for three people. Breakfast was good as every stay here. We recommend a longer stay here. Accommodation is suitable for trips to the surroundings. Beautiful nature around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice Pension in Scharnitz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a fair amount of traffic noise, since the property (and most of the village) is located on a main road between Innsbruck and Munich. Also the SPAR grocery in town has closed permanently, so the only sources of groceries are convenience stores at the gas stations, which have limited items, or to go to Seefeld or Mittenwald.

    Very nice family runs it, excellent breakfast with a variety of choices, nice room size, convenient to hikes in the Karwendel and to the train & S-Bahn. Excursions to Mittenwald, Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Seefeld or Innsbruck are easily done without a car. Easy to get here from Munich Airport/City or Innsbruck.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    One night in Tirol area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even if it has a kitchen, the owner told us do not use it to dirty it.

    A large apartament, clean and located in a quiet area situated in the middle of the mountains. The owner speaks good English, so it's easy to get alog with her.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is excellent. We loved this little village. Plenty of options to spend 3 days in the area. The pension was lovely decorated. Average breakfast, but all the facilities you need for a weekend break.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    10
    Excellent, and a great destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were exceptionally nice and offered me a room with a balcony as it was available. They moved me after the first night and did all the work. Friendly and gave good advice on things to do.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Beautiful views from a wonderful hotel. :-D
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything!! This hotel is perfect and the owners make you feel so welcome. The room are really comfy and most have balconys. Can't rate this hotel highly enough! We've satyed in it before and the amazing service and rooms have not changed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    lovely guesthouse, friendly staff
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was fairly noisy in the day, but fine at night

    Lovely friendly staff and great location with easy access to the karwendal national park. I made a last minute alteration to my booking and the staff were so helpful and changed my room with no problem.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    10
    Gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing...everything was wonderful.

    Stayed at the Frankenhof for one night. This was such a great little gem that I wish I had time to stay longer. The husband and wife team who run the hotel were very friendly and accommodating. The facilities were clean and comfortable. I loved the location as it was set perfectly on the Austrian/Germany border nestled in the mountains. Breakfast was included in the room rate and was satisfying with traditional European breakfast items. I would not hesitate to stay here again on my next trip to the area for hiking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    It's an awesome place with nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    The panorama from the room was very beautyfull, and the whole building is looks like a new one. The breakfast was very tasty

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Lovely accommodation in a scenic location, with everything provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very clean, well appointed and spacious apartment. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very clean and pleasant, we loved it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    We were travelling with small children and everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony (2 adults +1 child 16 years)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were travelling with small children and everything was convenient and the staff was very helpful. There was a nice sauna and a ski room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing Sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing Sauna Very good breakfast buffet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Tidy and well maintained facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tidy and well maintained facilities. Nice terrace, great sauna and big rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    The room is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is a little small.

    The room is clean. Breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    10
    Staff were helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra money for eggs in breakfast

    Staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    The best room in the whole trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Breakfast

    The room is maintained to a high standard, well equipped, very clean, spacious, comfortable and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant place to stay near Karwendel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice clean hotel, friendly service, good breakfast. Enjoyed our stay. No complaints at all.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Pillows
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice family hotel with newly renovated rooms on German/Austrian border!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cappucino coffee was too sweet, small selection at breakfast...

    new interior, new everything, parking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough cleaning staff in the kitchen ( towels etc)

    The bed extra comfy, apartment clean and arranged with good taste

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Cleanliness, sauna, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV had a very poor resolution.

    Cleanliness, sauna, breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    service and sauna were great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the noise when opening the bathroom, the bed also makes strange noise

    service and sauna were great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, right next to the road between Seefeld and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing in particular. It's a simple hotel with everything you might need. Maybe the breakfast could have more fresh and diversified products.

    Very nice hotel, right next to the road between Seefeld and Germany. The price is super good and the room is comfortable. Clean, renewed, quiet and cozy. Ideal if you are travelling around by car or train and cross that area.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    The brakefast was excellent, staff really helpfull and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was too soft, it wasn't comfortable. I think the mattress was old, and I was with backache when waking every morning.

    The brakefast was excellent, staff really helpfull and friendly. Really clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    9.6
    The hostess is very nice and willing to help with every...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some more place to dry our winter sport clothes could have been just in hand.

    The hostess is very nice and willing to help with every query. Hotel is nicely decorated and pleasant to stay in. But the best of all is sauna with its recreational area :)

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Location, clean place, being able to borrow a bike for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, clean place, being able to borrow a bike for a little look around. Place is just over the border in Austria. I went for a quiet time break. It is ideal for hiking, skiing - you can get to lots of places within 30 minutes or less.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Staff was super, happy to help in English if needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Pretty much perfect.

    Staff was super, happy to help in English if needed. Room quality was exceptional, especially given the price. Location was also perfect, close to the train station and not too far from the start of the Karwendelhaus hike.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    10
    Nice, beautyful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice, beautyful place! Very friendly staff. Tourist office and beginning of some hiking roots - just around the corner. Unfortunately we needed medical assistance - so local doctor and farmacie next door. So Frankenhof really place worth to visit!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found it, but without a GPS it might be somewhat difficult to find.

    Very friendly staff. They gave us the regional card which allowed us to take a cable car to the top of a mountain which had a fabulous view of the the Dolomites. The guest house is located in a very charming village which we also enjoyed. The evening meal was very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.6
    Owner very friendly and spoke English well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing bad to say about this nice hotel.

    Owner very friendly and spoke English well. Hotel is in a great location. Owner allowed us to stow our bags without charge after checkout on the last day until late in the afternoon while we did more sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Upgraded our room due to a short wait upon arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upgraded our room due to a short wait upon arrival. Very nice gesture. Room was spotless and very nice. Balcony view was great. Sauna was relaxing. There was plenty of variety to choose from for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    Great Internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We were on second floor apartment where we had to come down through a locked fire door. It was annoying, and covered parking would've been nice, but these are the only nits to pick!

    Great Internet. Great Breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    Friendly, good facilities, helpful staff and owners in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly, good facilities, helpful staff and owners in a great spot - we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    10
    That we found a room which was like brandnew
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we found a room which was like brandnew

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    10
    Very clean and very goog breackfest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean and very goog breackfest.good people,nice house

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.9
    Comfortable room with balcony and kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room with balcony and kitchen. Free parking. Decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Apartment was clean, with very good facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartment was clean, with very good facility. There are a lot of interesting place for hiking near Scharnitz.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    An indoor room was provided for storage of our bicycles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    An indoor room was provided for storage of our bicycles.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    Lovely owners, excellent facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely owners, excellent facilities!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing too bad, just Austrian style beds which Americans must get use to.

    Breakfast. Location. Spa. (Yes, they have a spa).

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Good price, clean, friendly staff,
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good price, clean, friendly staff,

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.9
    Friendly service and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly service and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    9.6
    one of the best accommodations for <
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    only two restaurants in Scharnitz

    one of the best accommodations for <40 EUR/night ever

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    La cortesia della titolare e' squisita!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    La cortesia della titolare e' squisita! I strongly suggest to stop here for a couple of days. Frustuck war sehr lecker!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    9.2
    Nice plays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In my bedroom I can hear how neighbour brush his teeth.

    Nice plays. Not to soft bed. Warm. lovely wood interior. Feels like home.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: