Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Frauenschuh 4 stars

Gsengerweg 1a, Leopoldskron-Moos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#17 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 378 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Our review from our experience on our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked one cover on the bed but we had one each there was no tea making and kettle in the room but no problem when we asked we had one given straight away

    We loved the room the shower was great the bed was comfortable the room was lovely and clean we enjoyed the breakfast which had lots of various different choices they Did every thing they could to make your stay memorable nothing was to much trouble we loved it To get into salzburg without a car is so easy the bus stop is just across the road buses run frequently and to get back the bus stop is right outside the hotel so even if it rains you don't have to get wet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location. Delicious choice of breakfast. comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, which isn't included in room price, but is delicious. bus stop into Salzburg city right outside property. good location. comfortable rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Not recommended if you don’t have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and its distance from the city center, Dung smells in the surrounding area ! The presence of flies and mosquitoes in the hotel

    Breakfast, staff, the room space and its design , balcony and the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel was very kind to refund our one night charges as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged for extra bed even though we didn’t need any extra bed for the room for four

    The hotel was very kind to refund our one night charges as we couldn’t reach on our first day of booking due to some family emergency. Very beautiful view from the hotel and lovely staff specially the girls at restaurant and daughter of the owner

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Quiet hotel with authentic rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room. Spacious with beautiful views towards the Untersberg. Rooms are authentic to local, traditional style which made our stay even more special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    First class hotel - loved everything about it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    This hotel had the best breakfast and wellness centre I have ever stayed at. The bus is right across the street and takes you right into town. They have bicycle rentals and incredible paths to bike on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Super calm and classy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was great.

    Nice personnel (gave me great tourism advices) - Nice breakfast - Outstanding bathroom - Nice room - private terasse - Very calm place in coutryside style ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - breakfast would be perfect if they would replace the coffee/ machine; we tried all coffee variants and they were equally bad Be aware there are two buildings : a new one and an old one (renovated and in top condition); be sure you book the room in the building you want to stay, if you have a special preference.

    We stayed there 3 nights and it was awesome :) + clean, good bed, nice bathroom, lovely atmosphere in the "rustic rooms", excellent breakfast (with one exception, see cons section) including a lot of self-made "surprises", free parking, good Wi-Fi network

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, nicely decorated. Extremely clean. Everything was perfect. Very nice and helpful staff. This is not in the centre but there is a bus stop opposite the hotel and the buses are frequent. It takes more or less 10 min by bus to get to the city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a friendly inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The glass doors on the bathrooms were weird, we really don't need to see anyone on the 'pot'. The restaurant only serves breakfast, so you can't really just stay indoors and there are no nearby restaurants.

    Great breakfast with a lot of good options! Bed incredibly comfortable and the mountain view was breathtaking. There was a bus stop just in front of the hotel to the heart of Salzburg, every half-hour on weekdays and every 1 hour on weekend - so extremely convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was relaxing and compfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in the new section of the hotel and it was very nice. The owners were there most of the time and were very helpful. We arrived with family by car but they went on to business so we had to take the bus to attractions and to town. Bus stop was just across the street so convenient. Laundry service would have been nice and a lamp beside the desk plus a second trash can at the desk. The neighborhood was quiet and clean. Breakfast was good and very attractively served in the nice breakfast area. Just one block away was a deli that we found as we departed. Would have been nice to know that earlier.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything about the hotel was perfect. From the friendly staff (I do believe the lady in an Austrian dress is one of the proprietor-she is so wonderful), to the family room (self sufficient and fantastic-so comfortable) and the facilities for the kid (entertainment room and rabbit hutch). We love this place so much and it is the best part of our Austrian trip. Breakfast and the service was also amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    We will return to Salzburg in a year, and will choose Frauenschuh!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous breakfast with everything beautifully presented. Options for unusual offerings and all ways of making tea or special coffees. We loved th traditional rooms with balcony facing the snow capped mountains- excellent helpful and pleasant innkeeper owners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    So well looked after, such great facilities. A jewel in Salzburg's crown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast on offer was so varied and even had takeaway coffee cups! The little balcony/terrace areas are great, the view is stunning. It's the best hotel in Salzburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    This was the most pleasant hotel of our two week trip in Europe. We were most comfortable here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no negative comments for this hotel.

    The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of choices, lasted for several hours, and was very well prepared. While visiting Salzburg, it was in a convenient location for visiting the city as well as for taking side trips outside of the city. The bus stop is conveniently located in front of the hotel and is very easy to use.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Location was perfect !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking was made in advance for two family rooms. Unfortunately, takes time and time to have our request !!

    The location was nice, near old town and to airport. Although, breakfast was simple, the time for it was flexible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Would expect a little more from my money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was dated but clean. It was not a cheap place to stay.

    Everything was clean, nice location looking out over the hills. Easy drive into the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Fun trip to explore Salzburg and area. Hotel exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only one heavish blanket , would be nice to have a lighter blanket in summer.

    Staff were very helpful!! I needed directions on public transit and they always looked up everything and was so easy to find. Breakfast was amazing. Everyday was like a luxurious brunch. My daughter loved the bunny house. Yes, there were bunnies to play with !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful if you are mobile and want to stay a bit out of the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared you are close to nature and farmland ;)

    The rooms are very nice with real wooden flooring. Seems like all rooms have balcony or terrace. If your room is on the backside of the building you have a stunning view on the Untersberg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The older side of the hotel did not have air conditioning. Could be a problem in the summer.

    We did upgrade to the new addition of the hotel to get air conditioning in our room. The up charge was nominal and well worth it as the room was brand new. Staff was fantastic and helped us with reservations and directions. Hotel is a few miles out of the city which we liked, very quiet. We did have a car to go into the city but the bus stop was about 100 feet away. Delicious spread for breakfast including cook to order eggs. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful friendly hotel and fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are finishing off some minor building works - wasnt a problem as rooms so soundproof. Will be lovely when outside area finished

    Very quiet, comfy room and amazing breakfast. Really friendly staff. Bus stop right outside

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    10
    Friendly nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It Could be Noisy. They are Building a new Part of the Hotel. At the Weekend it was Not a Problem

    The Junior-Suite is very comfortable, big bathroom and a cosy bed. Very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Mike, Alli and Sandie's trip to Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is right next to a farm and the smell of manure was very strong. Other than that, we loved the hotel!

    The staff was excellent and most helpful. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and the rooms were adorable! I loved the little balcony and the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition. The room grew hotter and stuffier across the day. Windows didn't have screens, so opening them invited mosquitoes.

    Breakfast was very good. The view of the green fields and the Alps was beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Pleasant city hotel in quiet area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast. Very friendly staff. Owned by nice family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Clean, quit and comfy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room service or reception after 10 pm No tea or coffee in the room

    Clean, quit and comfy hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not the best

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.5
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was out of the city and needed a car/taxi/bus ride.

    The room was great. Breakfast we amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Easy bus into oldtown
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a lot of flies/insects that we didn't see elswhere. There was no airconditioning

    Easy bus into oldtown

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    I was fantastic i have wanderfull stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so clean and brakefast fantastic

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, fantastic breakfast, very comfortable bed
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent hotel, fantastic breakfast, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    We would highly recommend staying there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second stay there, we love the property & the owners!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Staff was friendly, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly, very helpful. Loved the views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Alright location (5-minute drive from Central Salzburg) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture are out-dated

    Alright location (5-minute drive from Central Salzburg) and has the best Sauna facility in town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit remote but bus service was good

    Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Hotel styled in a very traditional way - very clean and very friendly stuff
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great spot to explore Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small mixup with online reservations

    Very nice hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The room is spacious, with very comfortable bed and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious, with very comfortable bed and clean bathroom, great breakfast and wellness and fitness facilities. Well done!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, i would choose this hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Privacy: My room was separated to the neighboor room only by a door. But this would be an advantage for families.

    Everthing ok, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about

    Everything!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.2
    Super clean and nice place.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super clean and nice place. Would definitely recomend.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel and one of the best breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel and one of the best breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Recommend for staying this hotel in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get floor wet when showering

    All the facilities: modern and fine to details

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast, easy with the bus, Nice and helpfull owners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, easy with the bus, Nice and helpfull owners and staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    location in the country side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no restaurent in the hotel neither nearby.

    location in the country side.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel that is only a short bus journey away from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel that is only a short bus journey away from the city centre. Lovely views from the balcony in the bedroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under lots of construction

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.6
    The breakfast buffet is delicious and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction to expand the facility.

    The breakfast buffet is delicious and beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.8
    It was pricey for the location and facilities available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pricey for the location and facilities available.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    10
    Room was huge and lovely for our family of 4, with a balcony...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was huge and lovely for our family of 4, with a balcony with the most gorgeous view of the mountains. Breakfast was amazing, the best we had in Austria, and the owners were so helpful with places to visit and which bus to take into the old town. Free parking right outside the pension was a huge plus, as was the easy access to the bus to get to the old town and all the touristy things.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    The stay at Frauenschuh hotel was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stay at Frauenschuh hotel was wonderful. The staffs are extremly nice and helpful. Our room on the second floor has a beautiful mountain view. We rent bicycles from the hotel and experienced two perfect days with breathtaking nature. We enjoyed the sauna every evening and really relaxed in the magic atmosphere of the relax room. Will come back :).

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Everything was lovely, Best breakfast i had for years oh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Time....i had no time to enjoy my stay more...!!

    Everything was lovely, Best breakfast i had for years oh....lovely tasty fresh on the spot, colorful tasteful. I enjoy the steam bath twice and i really relaxed in the magic atmosfere of the relax room. i wish there was a bathtub instead of a shower.. and that i had a room looking a yard with some diggers instead of the Alpes.This is why why i gave lower points. Soft comfy big bed. And above all the lady OWNER of the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast is excellent, location is also great, only take...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast is excellent, location is also great, only take you 10mins if you drive, free parkingslots in front of the hotel. It is quite easy to find parking place in the city as well.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.6
    The staff was wonderful, very helpful with suggestions for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was wonderful, very helpful with suggestions for restaurants, transportation, etc. The breakfast was great and the room was very clean and comfortable. I would definitly stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    Lovely host who was very helpful and made us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing.

    Lovely host who was very helpful and made us feel very welcome. Very comfortable beds and excellent facilities. Great location looking out over the mountains and very quiet. Short bus ride into town. Fantastic breakfast. Best we have had in Europe. Great place to spend Christmas.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.6
    Great comfortable hotel, nice staff, big breakfast, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great comfortable hotel, nice staff, big breakfast, clean. The room for 4 poeple (2 adults +2 children) is enough big. Direct connection to city center - in 10 minuts by public buss (5 EUR for 2 adults)

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed or pillow too soft for me

    Breakfast was amazing. The house itself is so cute I wish I had more time exploring it. Love those animal decoration in it, feels like in a cartoon. Our room was nice and clean. We went to Salzburg with a car just parked at the tunnel.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    The junior suite was very spacious and had wonderful views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only downside is that central Salzburg is a 15 minute bus ride away from hotel. The bus is very easy to use, as there is a stop directly across from the hotel, and runs frequently throughout the day. The upside of this is that the hotel location a very quiet.

    The junior suite was very spacious and had wonderful views of the mountains and meadows. Clean and comfortable, with large bathrooms. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent bread and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent bread and breakfast. Very friendly staff. Extremely clean and perfect home cooked breakfast. Wifi also works great. perfect location for us not to far from city center. Bus to city center 2 mins walk from hotel. Bus ride 15 min to city center.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Very warm and helpful team in relation to the excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very warm and helpful team in relation to the excellent transport links that whisked us from idyllic rural Salzburg to its sophisticated centre in 15 minutes. Beautiful setting. Atmospheric house and scrumptious breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful area, lovely house cat, ducks, rabbit :)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was patchy but works at reception area. Turned out to be a good internet detox :) getting can necessary information, and off internet otherwise.

    Beautiful area, lovely house cat, ducks, rabbit :) Magnificent view, great breakfast, 10 min (2.50 euros one way) bus trip to central Salzburg and the bus stop is right in front of the property. I thought I could live there. I know my review score didn't reach as high as other places but I'd choose to come here again than other places I've been.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    The staff are so welcoming, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place is a pension therefore there is no receptionist at all times which is not a big deal until you carelessly forget to bring your key with you. Also, there is no airconditioner which means you have to open the windows at night to let the cool air in granted the weather cools down enough. The problem with this is that bugs get in and the air smells of manure since the surrounding is agricultural. One night I got an insect bite that turned into a 3inch diameter welt within 12hours. It was good that I brought a triple antibiotic ointment with me that seemed to help.

    The staff are so welcoming, helpful and friendly. Breakfast has a wide selection, coffee and eggs are personalized daily at no extra cost to you! If you get a room facing the backyard, you have a wonderful mountain view that's beautiful in the early morning with the mountain peaking over the low clouds. You get the same view from the breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice big room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in our room was not acceptable. Had to go to lounge to get signal. Bed was a little too hard for our taste.

    Nice big room and bathroom. Clean. Nice big windows. Excellent breakfast. Nice easy location. Good out of town - but easy bus access if you wanted to go into town. Nice outdoor pool for hot days.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.8
    Welcoming staff, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi in the room was intermittent

    Welcoming staff, excellent breakfast. Although on the outskirts of Salzburg, the bus is frequent and nearby and hotel sells bus tickets of all types (at the prepaid price which below what you pay on the bus). Convenient to those who come by car and do not want to deal with parking in the city.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Friendly staff, beautiful location, easy to get into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didnt use one of the bottles of water from the fridge but were charged for it for some reason..

    Friendly staff, beautiful location, easy to get into town

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wi-fi set up could have been better - you had to keep logging in with individual divices each time you used the internet.

    Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable with a beautiful mountain view. A great selection for breakfast and a bus stop directly outside, taking you into the centre of Salzburg in about 15 minutes.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    Hotel was very clean and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish there were better instructions for taking a bus from the train station. It would have been a lot cheaper than our cab ride and bus stop is right across the street!

    Hotel was very clean and nice. Staff was very kind. And it was nice to be outside of the city. The views were gorgeous! Loved getting up to go running in the area. Breakfast was wonderful as well!

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    The location, room, breakfast and friendly, helpful folks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    While not bad, the wifi strength was challenged. The connection would frequently fail and login took more time than it should.

    The location, room, breakfast and friendly, helpful folks operating this hotel standout as one of the key items that made our trip memorable in all the best ways.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    This is a fine hotel and the owner ensures you get the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    This is a fine hotel and the owner ensures you get the best from your stay. All the information was made available for the town and attractions. The bus stop is adjacent to the hotel and they run into Salzburg centre at regular intervals and on time. The breakfast is superb and the room is very well equipped and very clean. This all made for an enjoyable stay and would certainly stay here again on any future visits to the region.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.2
    A lovely family run hotel, incredibly quiet, easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi was very spotty. Speed ok just didn't keep you logged on. Not a deal breaker for me but hubby is having to work and needed access to wifi in order to telecommute.

    A lovely family run hotel, incredibly quiet, easy access to Salzburg (we had a car but there is a bus line right next to the property ),excellent breakfast buffet, the family suite was very spacious for our teenagers and is adults. Lovely view from balcony. In room mini bar with items priced for convenience not profit. Provided us with several excellent restaurants suggestions.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable, unpretentious with nice staff- I assume all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, unpretentious with nice staff- I assume all family. A little way out of the city but a 2.50 Euro bus ride made it easy to get in and see what we wanted.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    10
    The hotel views were amazing, staff really friendly, food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing it all was brillaint

    The hotel views were amazing, staff really friendly, food great and the location could not have been better. Great for being outside the hustle and bustle of Salzburg whilst being only a few minutes bus ride away.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    8.8
    Great room, very clean and well kept up, comfortable beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Neighborhood around hotel is not very attractive. This is a hotel to use as a 'base' from which to travel into Salzburg or surrounding areas but not to plan to spend too much time in the hotel itself.

    Great room, very clean and well kept up, comfortable beds, roomy bathroom with plenty of towels (family of 4). Set off of main road so little noise - airport is close by but didn't notice it very much in the morning. Breakfast room opened early just for us on day of departure. Bus stop close by for easy access to old town center.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    10
    Edge of town with bus stop across street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This place had no faults.

    Edge of town with bus stop across street. Very good breakfest. Big modern rooms.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Frauenschuh traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: