Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Furian 4 stars

Sternallee 196, 5360 St. Wolfgang, Austria

#14 of 17 hotels in St. Wolfgang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking area is limited.

    The location was very good since near the lake and several restaurant are in minutes walking, all employee are very friendly and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's hard to tell from the website, but the beach area is about a 5-minute walk from the property. Not a huge deal, but the views from the hotel (at least the lower floors) were mostly of trees and houses rather than the Alpine lake. We also found the younger members of the staff to be a bit snooty and unfriendly. We live in Germany and speak German (admittedly below-average German and with an American accent, but it works fine all over Germany and it worked fine outside the hotel in St. Wolfgang). We had no trouble being understood by the staff at the reception, but it seemed that the younger staff at breakfast or the beach made a special effort to misunderstand or give us crazy looks whenever we spoke German to them. Switching to English seemed to help with their understanding, but not with their attitudes.

    The hotel itself was very nice, spacious, modern, and clean. The staff at the reception was top notch, offering lots of suggestions and directions when we needed them. The breakfast was outstanding. The beach area is not actually a beach, rather a dock/lakefront, but the water is crystal clear and the views are unbelievable. We were concerned about the ski boats (waterski hotel) being a nuisance, but they were only coming in our out a few times each afternoon, so it did not affect our swimming or paddle boarding. Lots of great hiking in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - the bathroom was very small, especially the bathtub - i didn't like the separately packed shower gel (you can't open it wiht wet hands... :))

    - the bed was very comfortable - the best fruit salad for breakfast I ever had

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    We were met at the reception by Mrs Furian who showed us to our room, and explained all necessary information to us. Our room was small but very adequate with an added bonus of a balcony with lake view - stunning, there was a well stocked minibar. As the weather was forecast stormy the hotels private beach bar 5 mins stroll away on the lakeside was closed. The Breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice. We didn't have an evening meal in the hotel because it was only available 6-8 pm which was too early for us to eat. We went to the hotels lakeside beach next day there were towels and beds all laid out for your use, at no extra charge. The little snack & drinks bar was open too, a lovely set up:The receptionist in the hotel telephoned a nearby vet for us to take our dog for his pre-check for returning to UK. which was very kind. The hotel also has a lift which was useful from the basement where your vehicles are parked. St Wolfgang is a lovely little town with delightful buildings scattered around. We would certainly return. It was a few minutes walk from the little town, and just round the corner from the steam mountain railway.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit further away from the town centre but not really a big disadvantage since the town is pretty small. No staff available after 9pm, although it could be due to low season

    The junior suite is very spacious, well designed and furnished, with a large cosy balcony. You can tell the owner has put in great effort to maintain this boutique hotel with attention to details.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is very polite and helpful. The boss of the hotel Mr. Furian treated customers as friends. He greeted us personally and show us around the attractions of St. Wolfgang. We like the private beach of the hotel very much. Quiet and full of water sports equipments! Exciting speed boat experience! Foods in the hotel are excellent!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pillows a little soft.

    The availability of the bikes and paddle boards at the 'lakeside' added to a memorable experience in St Wolfgang and surrounding area. Fruit salad at breakfast particularly good. Lovely view of the lake from balcony.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the staff was nice, they girls at the front desk were helpless with travel tips/suggestions. Totally lacks concierge.

    Loved the location - not in the mix of it all, but just outside and close enough.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were a little firm and pillows weren't that comfy.

    Access to local lake and tourist facilities such as boat trips and train ride.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit dated

    Great location family run hotel, the staff were fantastic very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming staff, lovely spacious room, well located

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very basic indeed. More like a ski lodge.

    Breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Balcony or Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast on terace was nice :) and the city is marvelous

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waterski!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Many a times I had to search for front desk people.. But he was helpful when he was available

    It was mentioned as lake view but lake view was available behind few buildings

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    You will find wonderful staff people, helpful, well prepared for making a wonderful staying for the tourists. The hotel is very good for longer stays in the region. Very clean rooms, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air-con as this is a traditional building but was very hot overnight. Bathroom was cramped and dated.

    Private beach area very good, with free paddleboards available to use. Breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely helpful and friendly owners. Went out of their way to make sure we able to visit lots of places and try wonderful restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stylish , comfortable accommodation and charming staff who looked after us very well.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Guests also reviewed these properties: