Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Sonnenhof Bed & Breakfast 3 stars

Fernkreuzweg 16, Igls, 6080 Innsbruck, Austria

#7 of 22 B&Bs and Inns in Innsbruck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 299 B&B reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet connection was very bad and it seems that the infrastructure is not well prepared but it was the only downside there.... Great hotel in every other aspects

    The host is very very helpful and kind. The breakfast is great and rich. There is very comfortable parking in front of the hotel. The rooms are very clean with spacial balcony and great mountains view!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Our room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts were excellent with good choice and service was excellent. Thomas, the owner, was extremely friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could not match the pictures posted. A big minus was that the heater for the ski boots was switched off and the staff did not bother to check it, so skiing in wet boots at -17 Celsius was clearly no fun

    Comfortable hotel in Igls, well located to visit Innsbruck and area. Big room and comfortable bed, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In accommodation like this, we would like to have the ability to make a cup of tea or coffee in our room - a kettle etc, plus a few packets of biscuits perhaps. This can make a really good first impression on new arrivals to the hotel, and is very welcome on returning to the hotel after being out for the day.

    We were very pleased with our accommodation, and the continental breakfast (with boiled eggs) was excellent. The reception staff were very helpful, and it seemed, completely multi-lingual.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo in bathroom, jou must have some minimum amenities with you before arrival, no elevator in hotel

    This was our second staying here and it means that everything is OK!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely traditional place. The staff we're more than friendly and helped with all travel arrangements we required going to a from the piste. Highly recommend and will going back asap!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit patchy

    The person at reception was very friendly and helpful, and had good restaurant recommendations. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable bedrooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi quality is poor, but apparently this is an issue at other places as well (our colleagues reported something even worse at other hotel).

    The location is great. We've enjoyed the mountain view and the overall quality (e.g. good heating system, shower, cleanness, etc). The balcony is huge.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really enjoyed my stay, the familly Hofbaufer very kind, friendly and helpful regarding my further travels, the area was quite, hotel centrally located to shops and restaurants, my room was good sized with very clean bathroom, excellent location for ski holiday with easy access to Innsbruck.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I like bigger and softer pillows, no artificial fibre. (But this is a very personal issue, others like exactly the kind of pillow offered.)

    Friendliness, family atmosphere,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very mushy; towels were old and thin; no soap or toiletries provided; there wasn't an elevator, so getting suitcases up the stairs was tuff.

    Breakfast was average; people were friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo. Breakfast was very basic for 9 euros per person. Only had it one morning. Neighbors dog barked loud and alot. Pillows far too soft and bed far too hard.

    Great mountain views from balcony. Room was a good size and clean. Host was very helpful and friendly. Easy bus ride to Innsbruck. Close to numerous amazing walking trails.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The apartment was clean, large, the bed comfortable, the area very quiet and peaceful, a bit out of the main village, but everything (center, supermarket, bus stop, restaurants, trekking paths) was reachable with 5 min walking. Very friendly staff. Igls is excellent place to stay if you want to visit Innsbruck, but also has its own nice trekking walks, lake and attractions.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than what we expected from the pictures;

    We were able to check in early; secure bicycle storage; fantastic breakfast; spectacular view from balcony; quiet. The hotel also did a load of washing for us.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room so need a face-lift outdated and beds very uncomfortable. The bedding also had stale smell.towels were really old

    Lovely scenery, ideal location.the staff very friendly and very helpful. Good size Rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff!! We really enjoy our stay. Lovely house in a quite town only 15 minutes driving from innsbruck. One of the most completely and delicious breakfast we could have. TOP!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything is very good. especially the quiet and scenic site, kitchen and balcony. it is very convient to drive to italy and germany. we definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest that they consider not to allow pet or mybe put some restrictions on this.

    The family who owns this hotel was very kind. The location is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints

    They were able to supplement the offered breakfast to accommodate my gluten free needs It was out of the city but still close enough by bus to be convenient. It was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weak in the room but worked very well in the breakfast room.

    The family running this hotel were incredibly nice. Extremely helpful regarding things to do in Igls, Innsbruck, and with our further travels! The breakfast was very delicious with a great selection. They let you cook your own fresh egg to order--brilliant! We had a fantastic room with a balcony overlooking green fields and beautiful mountains, which was lovely. The sheets and towels were a bit threadbare, but it actually only added to the charm for me. I felt like I was at my Grandma's. Good restaurants in Igls and Innsbruck is a very short drive or bus ride away. Perfect location for peace and quiet while still having everything handy! Loved it!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - will go again!

    Host offered to carry luggage to my room. Super clean and lovely bathroom. Advice given about eating locally and walks. Near village centre but very quiet as on a no through road.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy very humid no air con very old peculiar style room but we did get the only room available so it may be unfair to describe the room we were in but did not rate our room the bathroom was excellent

    Good location very good staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast doesn't include hot meals. Maybe available upon request?

    Staff is very friendly - it's a family hotel. Family room is big, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms... Extraordinary views from balcony. Free private parking at the door.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked an alternative to sitting in our room (like a lounge area). Perhaps use part of the breakfast room in the evening.

    Lovely setting. Easy access to Innsbruck. Friendly, family-run.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel and a great location right beside the country. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location. Good size room. Clean, comfortable & good location. Helpful & friendly owner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view was amazing, the staff were lovely and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was fine, nothing to report

    closeness to the motorway and the lovely views around. Perfect value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, old style, two single beds instead of double bed

    Nice Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were so friendly and hospitable. We enjoyed our stay immensely. We would recommend this property to anyone staying in the Innsbruck-Igls area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift. Getting luggage to room was an effort.

    Great location, excellent value and large comfortable beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit cold for our liking

    The owner was very friendly and gave us good advice where to visit and what to see

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children) with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi was insecure as well as unreliable. Frustrating.

    Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get there kind of late but old grandpa is there who is very nice. The room is big and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't appear friendly.

    The view from the room. Easy access to Innsbruk by local bus. Short walk to local village and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit too far from the Innsbruck city centre

    Friendly and very informative staff. Breaktaking view outside the BB

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was as expected.

    Perfect location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Breakfast scenery

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault

    Wonderful place in Igls near Innsbruck beautiful scenery in a fabulous little village. Spectacular

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect breakfast, service of the owners family

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpful staff on where to go and what to see

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coffee/tea making facilities in the room would be good, however, there was a fridge.

    Excellent sized rooms with spectacular views. Close to local amenities and bus stop to town (bus J to and from Igls Rathouse is the stop you want). The tram stop in Igls (pronounced like eagles) is worth finding (10 min walk) for an alternative ride into Innsbruck as is the cable car to Patcherkofel, which offers a different but just as a fantastic view as Seegrube and Hafelekar. Ask Thomas anything about the area & he'll give you the answer. Best bit of advice to get here from the airport is Bus F directly outside airport to the Sillpark stop. Then take bus J to Igls Rathouse as mentioned above. Look directly across the road & there's an information office. Perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have appreciated soap and shampoo in the bathroom

    Breakfast, the service, the bed, the fridge in the room, the big bathroom, the views, the location ...

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very pleasant and professional staff and a lovely breakfast. The room had a balcony with great views of the mountains. We'll stay again next time we are in Austria.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You should create your own wifi account. The wifi was very slow

    The staff was very helpfull and gave good ideas about what to see and how to come around

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It is an apartment hotel . Elevator is not available and hence it will be difficult if luggage is more to take up to our room on second floor. No AC / Fan available in summer time.

    Staff, Location and Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the tranquil setting and the easy access to some beautiful walks. We enjoyed the lovely mountain views from the balcony. The staff were attentive and efficient. Parking is free and Innsbruck is only a short bus trip away.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We mostly liked the location, above the city of Innsbruck and just below the beautiful mountain terrain. It was easy to get around, the views were stunning, the local shops had everything we needed, and the hotel was friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are more updated but bathrooms are not. This would make it nicer but they were very clean and well kept.

    Great balcony with view. Staff very helpful keeping bags after check out and recommending a nice hike. Nice breakfast. Fun taking cable car up to Igls. Bus is faster and closer.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No soap in washroom, toilet seat was askew, Romm has nicks and bangs, shows as an average skiing accommodation. Furnishings quite old and average

    The breakfast was fantastic! View from our room breathtaking.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we could say that would improve the comfort of the hotel would be air conditioning in the rooms, the temperature was quite high and the room was quite hot at night.

    Lots to do, the owner pointed out the Innsbruck card which saved us around 60 euro's each on attractions. Breakfast at the hotel was really good always fresh and again the staff were helpful

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly staff provided all needed information in very good English. Hotel and room is very clean and has all necessary equipment. Wifi is free and fast. 5 min driving to the city of Innsbruck or 5 min walking to a bus stop that takes you right in the center. The area has few restaurants and hotels, but remains a calm and peaceful neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wish the hotel had a little bit more variety of food for breakfast.

    Our accomodation was short but pleasant, the owner was friendly, honest and respectful which are some of the traits that are well appreciated in México. The beds are comfortable and the night there is very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems whatsoever

    The quiet in lovely surroundings and easy access to Igls and Innsbruk Near to the Olympic Bob sleigh run and cable car.easy and enjoyable local walks

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No complaints!

    The staff was incredible. Very knowledgeable of the area, booked the ski bus for us and gave great recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Very comfortable and clean rooms with amazing views of the Alps.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location is great. 10 minutes by bus to Innsbruck. 5 minutes walk to Igls village where you can find a supermarket, cafes, bakery and several restaurants. I tried the pizzeria and it's fantastic. The room has private balcony with superb mountain view. Very quiet and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Peaceful place and carrying staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you, lovely big rooms with a lovely mountain view.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable. Not spectacular ...but quite adequate

    Friendly welcome and staff. Homey atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    nothing

    everything

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was lovely,warm the owner was very friendly,and with two dogs the position couldn't have been better.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In case of payment with credit card: booking price + 2%.. it's unfair!

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed & Breakfast is centrally located to the Ingles shops & restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice view from balcony

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They treated us like royality. There were a lot of activities to do in the area.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Furniture old and uninviting. Very quiet setting.

    Quiet

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to mention.

    Interior was excellent. Room is very cosy. Parking. All fine.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    I loved the friendly staff and the beautiful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Felt really welcome

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: