Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Aschenwald This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Bahnhofstraße 19, 6363 Westendorf, Austria

#16 of 19 B&Bs and inns in Westendorf

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable, friendly and helpful staff, good food and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rosie Ashenenwald very friendly and welcoming as are all the staff. Hotel very clean and comfortable. Food good, location good 50 yds from Railway station and bus stop. Easy 20 min walk into Westendorf.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.8
    Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a 'family friendly' room but it had 2 small steps. Thankfully our 16-month old only fell once but there is no way to block the area so a child doesn't fall down the steps.

    The beds were quite comfortable. The entry area and 'bedroom' area are fully carpeted. Had a place to put your shoes just inside the door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2017

    9.6
    Great value stay for first ski holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be a welcome addition.

    Great staff, great value for money. We ate in the restaurant twice, both times good. In fact we were lucky enough to try some incredibly fresh lamb from one of the staff's relations. It was delicious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2017

    7.5
    Very nice stay, a bit far from the village...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a very far walk to the ski lift, so if you don't want to take the car to the lift every day but rather walk, this might not be the ideal hotel for you.

    Breakfast was very nice and the staff is very, very friendly! Also, there's a sauna so don't forget to ask about that!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2017

    8.3
    Great hostess and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just don't like the old toilets with a "shelf" that your poop sits on. Parking can be limited when they are busy. It's on a main street, but not too noisy but can be hazardous unloading and with kids.

    Rosie the receptionist was pleasant and very knowledgeable of the area. They were able to provide us with an extra room for a very reasonable price. Breakfast and atmosphere is very Austrian! Location is good for getting between all the resort towns. Excellent food in the restaurant, and try the Hazelnut schnapps.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Great food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great food!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2017

    7.5
    Peace and quiet in the Austrian countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was disappointing with a very limited choice.

    Traditional Austrian accommodation. Nice balcony views. Peace and quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2017

    8.8
    Rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was a BIG disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was a BIG disappointment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good beer and good food! Interesting area

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2015

    9.2
    We came to the hotel too late (around 24h) so the check-in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We came to the hotel too late (around 24h) so the check-in was already over.. But the owner was so nice that he left the key from room in the envelope on the main door outside.. Even though we are completely strange people. That's what I call an excellent service! Thank you for a great stay.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2015

    7.9
    Perfect location when coming by train, just outside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Slight shame about the smoking and cooking downstairs, the smells linger into the rest of the building. Closing the room doors would help.

    Perfect location when coming by train, just outside the train station. Some rooms are facing busy street but nothing earplugs cannot handle. Free skibus to Westendorf. Newly refurbished bathrooms with floor heating and a nice shower!

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2015

    8.3
    On checking out, we asked to leave our bags as we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On checking out, we asked to leave our bags as we were skiing that day. As our room was not in use that night, we were told we could use the room for a shower etc. later that day - a very simple gesture that makes all the difference - Thanks again !

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    7.9
    Good location for Westendorf and Brixen in Thale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lacked a village atmosphere.

    Good location for Westendorf and Brixen in Thale. Excellent value restaurant serviving very good food in the evening. Used by the locals!

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    8.8
    Friendly atmosphere, excelent cook
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too cold in the room I found at the chek out that the room was not payed, thanks God I didn't spend all the money during holiday

    Friendly atmosphere, excelent cook I recomand people to have dinner there even if they don't stay in the gasthof

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2016

    8.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Trainstation (lightsleeper)

    Clean. Friendly staff. Good bathroom. Helpfull. Sometimes i woke up late and still could get breakfast (thanks!!)

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2015

    8.8
    Hospitality and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Its a little bit to far by feet from the village of Westendorf

    Hospitality and value for money

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2015

    8.3
    The Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was very good and the price was reasonable!

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: