Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Der Schütthof 3 stars

Kitzsteinhornstraße 2, 5700 Zell am See, Austria

#49 of 51 hotels in Zell am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 268 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    It was good. We were able to see many interesting sites and we were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk had some odd hours. Also, the hotel itself seemed to have an agreement with the hotel next door for breakfast, gym, and spa access that was not always easy to figure out.

    The breakfast was more than adequate, and the staff provided us tickets for local attractions as well as additional information regarding where to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.0
    Girl in the reception, from Croatia, who is working with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thing that we have to pay extra money for my sister. She was sleeping in extra bed, and we paid full price for her, same that she sleep in normal bed.

    Girl in the reception, from Croatia, who is working with booking reservations is very kind, friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Cool Austrian hotel with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I expected and asked directly for separate beds, but the hotel doesnt have ANY, which is really strange. Some russian personnel was not helpful at all, then the next day was a vey friendly guy at Latini, who basically saved the hotel service experience and was keep to help and arrange some alteranatives, which we are very greatful for (I had 7 rooms). What they need to improve: 1) Reception 24/7 is standard, so will be nice if there will be a receotionist and during the night 16 people don´t need to stay outside with all luggage, when its -10- 2) If guests notify the hotel when they arrive, receptionists needs to have all pack with keys ready and not to take half an hour to find booking, when its 23:00 3) Receptionist Lyubov doesnt give any suggestions or alternatives to solve our problems 4) Pillosw are too mild, better to have two per person, couldnt sleep (felt like no pillow) 5) Also only one towel per person provided, when each guest needs at least 2 6) Sockets are not near the bed, so one phone is charged from the TV socket (either TV or phone battery) and the second is in the bathroom 7) CHURCH on the opposite side, so you will be waking up every 30 min with a bell from 6 a.m 8) No breakfast at this hotel, so everyone needs to dress up and enter neightbouring hotel to have breakfast

    Great big breakfast, not that bad location (close to the main ski chair Areitbahn and bus which goes to Kaprun #660). ATTENTION: NO DOUBLE BEDS, only one single, which is misleading on the picture and some personnel is not helpful. Other personnel was in the opposite very helpful and keen to help (guy from Latini). Was good that they alllowed to extend check out, given one friend felt really ill and needed to stay in bed. Also was possible to leave luggage and take shower after last day of skiing. So overall positive experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Fab wild time in Zell
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit small but OK and annoyed that hotel took payment automatically when I expected to pay on arrival. Meant I couldn't use card I wanted.

    Good facilities close to ski lift and a good Apres ski bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    good, until checkout ruined it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived to be moved next door. As they took full payment at time of booking this was odd. There was underground parking, fine the exit was near the hotel. In the morning the exit was shut, so back to reception. But the parking was not linked, so walk to the car barrier and dodge around it. Decided I would take two journeys and get through the rain more quickly. On checkout they had already charged my card not present (ONLY for use on the booking). I was upstairs, so I challenged this, they replied we don't usually do this, unlike my experience on the rest of the trip, people only asked for money on check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    They don't have any facilities like hot water machines...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have any facilities like hot water machines an iron and iron table Very noisy because the location near to the Main Street we can't sleep well

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    4.6
    Awful reception service with low accessibility near Zell am see city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service of one of receptionists in the hotel at our arrival was extremely unacceptably disappointing. She just seat on the chair behind reception desk saying fast English direction with nothing to help my parents to find parking lot outside of the hotel though they are barely able to understand English. Without one of guest's assistance near by they couldn't find way to parking lot by their own. Absolutely not recommendable for those who can't speak English fluently enough to understand native German English accent!

    Hotel offered tickets for boat and cable cars for our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    2.9
    check the bill they give you before you pay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staying at this hotel was a disappointment. sheets were dusty, shower doors were broken and can't be closed properly, also a very bad smell comes out of the toilet when it's flushed! not only that, i was charged an extra 180 euros, because it turns out they charge per person, i booked a room for a single person (myself) and i had no one with me. luckily i checked the bill before i left and took it back to the guy at the desk, and he replied with "it was a charge for an extra person". when clearly i was alone, and they never asked if i had anyone with me. waste of money!

    they wifi connection couldn't reach my room. i had to spend a whole day without wifi. they changed my room the day after.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    Overall it was a great trip, since we just needed to spend the night there. The rooms are tiny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean, Curtin rods were broken.parking was a challenge because of construction in front of the under ground garage and lots of mouse.

    The Dinners were great

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised short ski break in Zell am See enchanted forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food. Horrid filtered coffee in the morning and awful dinner at Latini Restaurant [stayed on Half board booking] had had to opt for dinner at local eateries. Morning food fare selection is decent though [cannot fault with that] with cheese & meat plates, fruits [apples, bananas, kiwi fruits and oranges] & fruit salad, jams, eggs [soft and hard boiled] pickles & cereals and small bakery. Neatly & attractively arranged every morning by the staff. Excellent freshly baked bread [selection ]!

    Plentiful supply of fresh Egyptian Cotton Hand and other towels Hot Shower facility Orthopaedic mattres EXTRA Crispy clean bedding Kettle & cutlery, water bottles from its sister Latini Hotel & Restaurant on request Lounge Room with a 2 seat-sofa a desk 2 TV sets a coffee table 2 large wardrobes Valley, mountain, chapel view Forest Hiking during summer months route in a stone throw from the hotel. Hospitality and assistance from staff is Superb.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for relaxing and for active holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find anything to complain.

    This place was very positive experience. I booked for *** Gasthof and the room was in **** Hotel next to it (both being part of same place), so not a bad surprise at all! :-) Excellent Spa facilities with swimming pool and saunas. Even as a Finn I experienced Finnische Sauna very good. Good breakfast and half board.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    6.3
    Close to ski lift Areitbahn 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel could display more accurate the information about booking children trough booking.com. And when they change this information on booking.com, they should not also apply to reservation made prior the changes. I had a really unpleasant experience because of this issue at der Schutthof. The heater from the ski-depot should be more warm because sometimes the boots didn't completely dried an I had to give my kids wet ski boots to wear because of this.

    Close to ski lift Areitbahn 1. Cosy and warm room (we booked a junior suite), but I saw that other double basic room were not looking as good as this one. The hotel has a ski-depot on the basement.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    8.8
    4 day skiing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in lobby and hallways.

    Location is prefect for Areitbahn, nice walk to Zell am See, close to cross country routes and shoping. Friendy staff, speaking english. Free parking. Large room with double bed and sitting area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    Great location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, ski hire onsite, buffet breakfast to get you started. Bar and restaurant good quality. Great sauna facilities. Perfect for after a day on the slopes. Local bus stop nearby, ski lift only a short walk away. Other bars and restaurants close by too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did receive a summer card for 1 day for free. Great service and friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.5
    Behandlung an der Rezeption
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Behandlung an der Rezeption

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    Far from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city No fregretor or air condishion in the room But the staff is hopful and polit and patianet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.6
    Close to ski lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Reception staff very miserable

    Close to ski lift

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Odd mix of styles and stressed out staff

    Great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Clean and cosy hotel with friendly and cheerful staff, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy nights because of a window out the street

    Clean and cosy hotel with friendly and cheerful staff, and relaxing spa included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    3.3
    THE HOTEL WAS TOTALLY LONELY NO ONE AT RECEPTION THE WHOLE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE HOTEL WAS TOTALLY LONELY NO ONE AT RECEPTION THE WHOLE HOTEL WAS EMPTY ONLY 2 OF US FAMILY WAS THERE NO STAFF AT ALL.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Wouldn’t do it again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shutting doors all evening, someone vacuuming the stairs at 6.00am? Parking wasn’t there as promised 😬

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.4
    Mediocre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room with little ventilation and no a/c.

    Inexpensive buffet dinner

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were having bad odor, location is really far from the railway station

    Supportive Staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at the lake

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi not covered rooms only in Lobby The property name not what i get in different name its next to what i booked

    Nice place & quite

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Perfect wellness centre, sauna, ski service on premises,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively far to zell am see

    Perfect wellness centre, sauna, ski service on premises, good dinner buffet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    5.8
    Good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low food quality for dinner, alway same salads buffet and no fruits

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    All my requests were solved

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Great ski trip location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi coverage could be better.

    Typical 3 star Austrian comfort. Efficient staff, great hotel for a ski trip - 200m from lifts or 100m from bus stop.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Well run independent hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff very friendly, good service in the restaurant. Very clean, good WiFi signal in the room..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    7.5
    Spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast OK, but the dinner (we had half board) should be improved.

    Spacious rooms. Good spa. Perfect location for skiing. Walking distance to the lifts, even OK whit ski shoes on. We rented a locker for the ski equipment at the Areidbahn I, more convenient. Only 15 min drive to Kaprun skiing area (same ski pass; Zell am See Kaprun).

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    7.9
    - Very good location near snow lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - decoration a bit old fashioned - carpet on room floor

    - Very good location near snow lift - Staff very available and helpful - Very good breakfast and fantastic dinner - Bed quite confortable - Free wifi (but a bit slow)

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    The hotel staff is is exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel staff is is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located, close to the ski lift, the rooms are clean, the guests are provided with all necessary facilities (free parking, wi-fi, ski-depot), the food is good enough. Our kids were enjoying the entertainment program. We had a great time! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and staff, very good and high quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was in another hotel (next to Der Schütthof) and navigation of receptionist was a little chaotic, but we are finally found it.

    Very nice hotel and staff, very good and high quality breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    5.0
    It had a nice breakfast buffet which we enjoyed, although...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Both this hotel and the Latini were a 15 minute drive from Zell am See (the tourist town actually by the lake). Would have preferred to be closer.

    It had a nice breakfast buffet which we enjoyed, although not as broad of a menu at the Latini next door.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    3.8
    1) Hotel stuff are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1) Poor cleanness 2) Beds are in very very bad condition 3) We asked for clothing dryer to be turned on, but always falls promises 4) in terms of view, we had very bad view, although I mentioned it's honeymoon trip. Etc...

    1) Hotel stuff are very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2015

    6.3
    breakfast is good and nice spa with sauna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    being a regular annual visitor to the hotel we noticed the quality of the buffet dinners deteriorated.Also the church bells ringing continuously outside the hotel can be annoying.

    breakfast is good and nice spa with sauna.Receptionist was brilliant !

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    8.3
    Delicious breakfest, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed was already seen the best days

    Delicious breakfest, good location.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    7.1
    Location, spa upstairs, room balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No heating in part of the restaurant , no hot water on the first morning we stayed. Dinner was ok

    Location, spa upstairs, room balcony

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    Great facilities, well kept, comfortable, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great facilities, well kept, comfortable, good food!

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Such a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Such a lovely place. Went in 1983 changed a lot but still as lovely. Nice staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Schutthof was seasonclosed and we were directed to hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Schutthof was seasonclosed and we were directed to hotel Latini . An excellenta place.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    The pillows were horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows were horrible

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.9
    I liked the size of room and toilet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was hot summer and no air conditioners :(

    I liked the size of room and toilet. Clean hotel. Helpful stuff. Valuable zell am see card.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    7.1
    Good location near ski lifts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air ventilation in the room really bad.

    Good location near ski lifts.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: