Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Genuss- & Aktivhotel Sonnenburg 4 stars

Außerschwende 21, 6991 Riezlern, Austria

#9 of 16 hotels in Riezlern

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 343 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 7

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location and modern facilities, good food, mixed experience with the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    -We had a mixed experience with the staff. the table service was great, but without going into specifics, some of our interactions with the other staff were not in line with my expectations. In this category i expect more professionalism. -the tables were somewhat squashed together at breakfast such that there was little privacy.

    -The hotel is in a great location if you want to be active in the surrounding mountains. You can access the cable cars with free buses and in summer if you stay at the hotel the use of the cable cars is also free. -The breakfast buffet was on par with expectation -the dinner was good value for money but the food was not extraordinary. -sauna/wellness area large and modern

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    A fantastic hotel with brilliant staff in a perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little, some of the dining tables are a little close. Perhaps ask for one with more space if that's an issue for you.

    The warmth and friendliness of the staff, the great food, a warm spacious modern room with a superb view, and the amazing location of the hotel. I would highly recommend this and will certainly return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    Bad experience for a high price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not mean to hurt the owners but i have to give an honest review to my fellow travelers. We traveled two weeks in Austria, Swiss and Italy. Every place we stayed was great and food was delicious. Staying at this hotel was by far our worst experience. 1. Check in - The receptionist made us decide on the spot what we want for dinner. It was very weird and unpleasent. 2. Bad smell and poor ventilation - The whole dining area is poorly ventilated. There is a terrible smell of onions all over. 3. Bathroom - Poorly designed. Every time you take a shower the whole bathroom floor gets swamped. 4. Food - The room rate in booking includes dinner. The food was so bad we had to leave dinner in the middle and go eat somewhere else and spend more money. Ingredients felt not fresh and the dishes looked bad and tasted poorly. When the manager asked us why we left dinner we said food was bad. She did not apologize at all. Instead she told us we should have said something before we left. I found that very rude of her. 5. Price - For 180 euros a night i would expect a much better experience. 6. Kleinwalsertal area - There are beautiful views all around but the whole vibe is very old fashion and depressing. 99% of the travelers are above 80 and if you are a young couple looking for a place with a more fresh feeling I would suggest to avoid.

    Specoius modern room with nice view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we had, was having a very low ceiling and shower. The dinner portions are for a Hungery person small

    Nice hotel for a good price Very friendly and helpfull staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    8.3
    The pool, size of the room (Comfort type), modernly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ancient TV in the room with only a few channels available, old door lock (which kept blocking), stuff could have smiled more often.

    The pool, size of the room (Comfort type), modernly appointed bathroom, excellent food, direct access to a beautiful blue slope.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.2
    Perfect place, room, excelent food (breakfast and diner).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed would be more confortable.

    Perfect place, room, excelent food (breakfast and diner).

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    10
    The friendly atmosphere ,the exelent cuisine and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly atmosphere ,the exelent cuisine and good facilities

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 7

Guests also reviewed these properties: