Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Steinerwirt 3 stars

Salzburger Straße 25, 5084 Grossgmain, Austria

#5 of 6 hotels in Grossgmain

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    The hotel, in a nice village, is close to the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They arranged us in a newly decorating room, even not completely finished, with strong smell. Although they changed a room in our requirement, l think this behavior is not good. Not suitable for a family trip.

    The hotel, in a nice village, is close to the highway. Parking is easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    good quality of accommodation with very reasonable price. Good for mountain walker travelling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is not so good for mountain walker, but it does not matter if you are driving car. Just 25 minutes drive to reach very good hiking/mounting climbing area.

    Cleanness and spacious room. Value for money. Restaurant is good and almost fully occupied, but efficient staff can manage the situation quite well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillow size was very big, which was little bit uncomfortable to sleep.

    overall experience was good, really enjoyed my stay, the most exciting thing about this place is they have balcony facing big mountains, thats what when you get up in morning you get a beautiful view..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Nice Bavarian Inn - in a beautiful village
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like. If you do not have a car I imagine this won’t be the most convenient place though. It’s a bit off the beaten path, but that’s a plus for me.

    This was exactly the comfortable and quiet accommodation I was looking for. The breakfast was delicious. And... finally a place with real feather pillows like at home! That’s real luxury to me! The room was not too small so I could relax a little bit better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in the countryside near Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    View from the window, little balcony, comfy, clean room, baby cots, great breakfast. There was a nice garden but we couldn't enjoy it because of the rain. It was possible to buy the Salzburg Card there. Very close to Salzburg. Quiet & peacelful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Staff were very friendly and the location was excellent. It was around 15-20 minutes from Salzburg but we really enjoyed the quiet, rural setting with its beautiful scenery. Food was excellent, we ate breakfast there both mornings and supper there the first night. We had a nice spacious room for our family of five with a great view of the mountains towards the west.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location for airport, nice food, but room a bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is quite dated, even worn in places. There was no shower curtain, which resulted in a flooded bathroom. Everything was very clean, but could do with a bit of a makeover! All in all a bit overpriced, but Austria seems to demand fairly high room prices in general. Not sure if we'd stay again.

    We liked the balcony with mountain view, and that the room was of a good size. Dinner in the restaurant was actually really good, and we liked that ingredients are sourced from their own farm or locally. Breakfast looked initially a bit loveless, but there were quite a few nice ingredients to be had, especially the freshly prepared fruit and home made cakes. Location is very handy for access to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    A stop-over along our trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good choice to have a stop-over away from the traffic on the motorway. Helpful and smailing staff, good room and good breakfast. Dinner was good but too salted for our tastes: it may be a case, we hope.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Excellent. I recommend !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was strange that there were 2 bathrooms in the room, one with the toilet and the other with shower and sink, however everything was very clean and tidy.

    Very nice location, awesome balcony view. A pleasure to sleep in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful Mountain View
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owner spoke very good English but he was the only one. No one else spoke English and the menu's were not. Didn't enjoy the food at dinner but breakfast was very good. Owner was very helpful with translation.

    Location and mountain view was excellent. ( front rooms had the best view ) Rooms were large and very nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Really good dinner in the restaurant.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.9
    Comfi stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms a little bit outdated

    The room was comfortable, clean and big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Food was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    great rooms and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great rooms and breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    All

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    The warm welcome and the beautiful alpine view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    The warm welcome and the beautiful alpine view. Food was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Really very good breakfast, cleanliness, personnel (smile,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really very good breakfast, cleanliness, personnel (smile, everybody with perfect english), quiet place for good relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Beautiful location, spacious rooms, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing - great place to stay!

    Beautiful location, spacious rooms, very friendly staff, great traditional ambiance, good food, easy to find, very quiet

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    We had a great moment !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the Wifi connection didn't work but we were the only one in that case.

    We had a great moment ! People are really kind and helpful. The place is pleasant, quiet and we suggest to eat dinner there. The food is really great you can enjoy some specialities. The breakfast, really complete.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    9.2
    We stayed in an apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed in an apartment. It was very spacious and nicely laid out with a balcony and nice views to the hills to the west. Good for parents travelling with kids as the kids have their own room.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Great location 20 minutes from downtown Salzburg and 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Great location 20 minutes from downtown Salzburg and 15 minutes from Berchtesgaden. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly to our large group. The rooms were very nice, a good size and looked out over the mountains. Meals in the restaurant and the breakfast were excellent!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    The location is excellent and so is the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location is excellent and so is the staff. It was indeed a memorable trip.. :-)

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    6.7
    friendly staff, quiet place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    guests and personnel smoking in the non-smoking bar & restaurant area

    friendly staff, quiet place

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    friendly staff, nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    friendly staff, nice breakfast..excellent!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Family with young children

    Nice location

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    10
    The location with a direct view of the alpin mountin very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location with a direct view of the alpin mountin very nice and the staff were so helpful and friendly e loved our stay of 3nights

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2015

    9.6
    the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a broken lamp in the bathroom

    the food

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: