Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Zum Kirchenwirt 3 stars

Leitnerstraße 111, 5412 Puch bei Hallein, Austria

#4 of 5 hotels in Puch bei Hallein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 633 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff were so sweet, welcoming and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nights were a little warm. A fan would have been nice.

    Staff were so sweet, welcoming and helpful. Good location for sightseeing. Dinner in the restaurant was both convenient and delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    On our journey from Germany to Slovenia, we stopped here for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our journey from Germany to Slovenia, we stopped here for the night - it is close to the A8, the rating and reviews looked decent, and the price was right. We were able to get dinner in the little restaurant before the kitchen closed, and it was delicious. Off to bed in a triple room that was basic but quiet and clean. In the morning, we opened our blinds to find out we had a corner room with amazing views of mountains and the town church from our wraparound balcony. Breakfast was in a bright, sunny, traditional room with carved wood ceilings and charming character. We wandered through the hotel after breakfast and afterwards the front desk clerk told us about the history of the property and then a wide-ranging conversation ensued - the personal connection one seeks during international travel fell into our laps. A delightful stay indeed - already trying to figure out a time to return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    Great value and a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came in at 3 o‘clock in the morning and everything was prepared. A late check- out was granted right away and although we missed breakfast deadline , a delicious and copious one was served for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Conformable stay away from the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could do a bit more with the breakfast and some tea/coffee in the room would be nice.

    We stayed there just for one night. It was a comfortable stay. It is good for those who like to stay away from the city. Overall a very good experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom a bit small, but our bedroom was very large. Nothing else!

    Excellent position in a small nice village near Salzburg, typical alpine gasthof with warm atmosphere, excellent attention from staff (Mrs. Regina speaks a perfect Italian, ciao!). They were so kind to offer us a surprise for my wife's birthday and a small gift at the end of our stay. Nice and clean wellness area. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay good for children and excellent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of tea/coffee in the room. Though you could pay extra and bring one from downstairs. Lady at breakfast did not speak English but we were able to understand each other.

    A really nice place to stay off the beaten track, nice playground just down the road. Room was nice with Balcony. Breakfast had lots of choice and the restaurant on site was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located across the church and you hear its bells until 10pm and from 6 am which can be annoying. Our room was facing the main road which is surprisingly noisy.

    We received a room with a balcony and it located within s car drive from many attractions. We also had a bad experience with allergies of my kid after being bitten by mosquitoes and the hotel was helpful in finding a different place - we change since we were not sure what was the cause of the allergy at first... at the end it was just mosquito bites.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Highly reccomended.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of care and warm welcome. Friendly staff and good english speakers. Good location and a lot of parking spaces. Clean cozy inside with big enough rooms. Restaurant and bar in the facility. Breakfast was well stocked and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    Great base for Salzburg and Austrian Alps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hot weather, the traffic noise makes it a bit trying if the windows/ balcony doors are open. Fans would be useful. Minor point though; advantages far outweigh any noise issues.

    The outstanding feature was the staff - some of the friendliest and most helpful that we've met in many years of driving round Europe. Good breakfasts, with some home-made food. Emailed bill query answered promptly (there was no problem, just with my maths...) Excellent location, convenient for buses and trains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    3 nights with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ask the staff to close the doors from the staircase to the floor to avoid having sooking smell from the bar in the room. They will do it without any comment.

    A bit old and comfortable hotel, very good location (many interestingnesses in AT and DE withing 30 kms), really good kitchen (had 3 breakfasts and 2 a la carte dinners), espresso, parking (needed to go only once to a big free public parking 100 metres far from the hotel), wifi, willing staff, cleanliness, toilets opposite the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice Gasthof in a lovely environment
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bells of the church go off at 6am with quarterly intervals and invite to the Sunday mess with a 10 minute long toll - a wake-up whether you want it or not.

    Great location - close to the A10 highway, in the middle of Puch (which can make it noisy, too) - easy to find and park around the building. Check-in and check-out is fast, invoice awaits you. Lovely views from the room (ours were on the top floor, which seemed to be the best possible option), clean spaces, a bit worn, though (upgrades started in the bathrooms of the restaurant downstairs and are nicely done). Breakfast is basic with good quality ingredients and a very nice lady serving fast and kind. A great place to stay overnight when on a longer trip, or if you're up to visiting Salzburg or the surrounding mountains.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.3
    Good value for money, and excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was clean but it was a little bit worn out, it will need refurbishment soon.

    Excellent service from very supportive staff. Good quality breakfast and good cooking for dinner - providing limited selection, but well prepared local specialties. Also liked the spa facility which is well equiped.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel Gasthof Zum Kirchenwirt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a perfectly adequate place to stay for a night, and we did not find anything to complain about.

    For the purpose of passing through and only staying one night, this place is a good choice. Free parking and not too far from the freeway. The room was ok, with a great balcony. The bed was comfortable, and the pillow fantastic. Breakfast was good. A decent selection and good quality. A bit unconventional with assigned seating for breakfast, but not a problem. Can't comment on the staff as we didn't interact much, but they did their job.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    9.6
    Location to reach from the hotel to major tourist sites in the area is short
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The welcome, rich food in Morning Comfortable rooms and very clean Location to reach from the hotel to major tourist sites in the area is short, about 30-60 minutes In this hotel you have to order dinner separately ,its not include on price The diner menu that we order was special & delicious and the price is reasonable and not excessive . Every night, i and my friends order for the next dinner special menu (not include on the regular menu), I appreciate the excellent service we received from the hotel manager and his stuff . See you the next time Barak & is friends

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a beautiful place, easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was on a hard side and there was sewage smell in the bathroom.

    The hotel is located in a beautiful place, easy to find. Delicious dinners. All in all we liked it well

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In front of an active church with bells ringing from morning till midnight, no AC

    Quick check in , Friendly family run hotel safe with easy parking, great coffee and nice breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were a bit thin and small but adequate. The door to the balcony kept sticking.

    The view from our room was amazing. I had the best night sleep in ages. We love the character of the hotel. We ate in the restaurant and that was lovely with a relaxed feel. We were only there one night as a stop over but would happily go again for longer. The lady on the reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.7
    Pleasant stay clost to Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small room & bath, no airconditioning

    Excellent rich breakfast, good location (close to bus & train station), convenient access to , , Salzburg & to main road

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.9
    Good location nearby Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather was quite hot and our room located nearby street. So we have to select eather noice or hot room.

    Good location nearby Salzburg. Generally good money-value-relation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Amazing small hotel out of Salzburg perfect if touring by car. Will definitely be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect we only wish we had more time to spend here.

    From the moment we arrived and were greeted by a friendly and smiling Regina till the morning we departed with a kiss and hug from Regina things could not have been any better. This is an amazing family run small hotel some 10kms out of Salzburg with bus stop at the door. It was truly great for us with a vehicle as we travelled by bus into Salzburg each day. The food at their restaurant was great and we dined each evening on the terrace overlooking some amazing mountains. We will be returning again to enjoy this wonderful place in winter with views of snow capped peaks

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    The unexpected surprise on a late night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I accidentally found this property while driving back from Germany to Italy and was in bad need a stopover (was traveling for work With 2 colleagues) We were warmly welcomed- the staff speaks perfect English and Italian to compensate our lousy German) We had a very nice dinner with more friendly service So nice that each time I manage - I stop for a night break and drive off the day after Already at the second step the hotel team recognized me !!! How nice is that The price is really good and I just deplore that I have never the time to enjoy all the hotel facilities and the great surroundings Ps : there's also a large safe free parking on the other side of the road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel. Need renovation, especialy bathroom was really worn out.

    Tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Cozy, typical Austrian guest house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy, typical Austrian guest house.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely accommodations and excellent meals,. Views awesome too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beer garden not open due to poor weather. Breakfast staff not very friendly.

    Beautiful views of mountains, and a wrap-around balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Friendly, quaint and very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly, quaint and very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Good hotel with great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable hotel with a nice view outside, close to Salzburg. Grocery store and fuel station near by. Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Friendly helpful staff were the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff were the best. Food was delicious - breakfast and dinner!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.9
    Puch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location close to church On a main street Noisy and with little parking soace

    Not much. Bathroom was extremely small Room size was OK

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    The property is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    The property is beautiful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Close to interesting places
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow internet

    The helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Welcome and friendship
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome and friendship

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful Christmas Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom standard small shower stall.

    Loved their attention to detail! Felt warm Christmas spirit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    De receptioniste was erg attent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    De receptioniste was erg attent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Authentic Austrian
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    fresh friut salad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fresh friut salad

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    8.8
    Location , the most fantastic food in austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location , the most fantastic food in austria

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.1
    Everything except the price which I think was not the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost - it's was pricey

    Everything except the price which I think was not the best value for the facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    The church bells
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The church bells

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    5.0
    Lots of money for smallest room possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room/bad value for money/tired breakfast

    Nothing to like

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.1
    Noise from street
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    A beautiful guest house in a lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have used a small fan, pillows were a little flat but still comfortable.

    Great Beer, splendid view, excellent food, very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    Gasthof Kirchenwirt perfectly suited our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and friendly staff. Excellent food and service. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.8
    It was my second time at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price

    It was my second time at this hotel. It is run by a family and they are all really nice people. They do their best to please their customers. I would definitely go there again. The location is amazing.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    10
    This is a lovely traditional hotel in a small town very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a lovely traditional hotel in a small town very close to Salzburg. The room was super, large with a dual aspect and a balcony, the views were stunning. Breakfast was very good indeed. The railway station is 5 minutes walk and then in 20 minutes on the train you can be in the centre of Salzburg. The train cost just over 9 euros for 2 of us return! (and it was clean and on time).

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Location is great, just some 10-15 mins away from the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to dislike. Great value for money.

    Location is great, just some 10-15 mins away from the center of Salzburg. It's located in a quiet town just outside the city. Our room had 4 beds and was spacious enough for 2 adults and 3 children to sleep in. Unlike other hotels in the area, this one offered breakfast as part of the price, the available breakfast was good (continental type).

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Friendly staff,beautiful building,restaurant food delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The children's pull out bed was uncomfortable.just a small thing.

    Friendly staff,beautiful building,restaurant food delicious.in a small village.excellent spot

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    7.5
    A traditional Austrian-style guest house with good access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning Weak WiFi signal

    A traditional Austrian-style guest house with good access to/from Salzburg. Nice, clean room and bathroom with comfortable beds. Mountain view from the balcony. A wide selection of food is available in the restaurant and a great breakfast is served. Highly recommended. (BTW, use ear plugs if you don't like the church bells/noise from the neighborhood... ;) ).

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    7.9
    Very nice little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only problem was the rather loud church bell (100 feet away) ringing 10 times at 5:45 am and then 40 times at 6:00 am with other ringing events every 15 minutes. I actually thought it was cool to hear these peals, but my teenage daughter was not so amused.

    Very nice little town. Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    8.3
    the staff is great, they speak english (and a lady at the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff is great, they speak english (and a lady at the reception also speaks an excellent italian), the rooms are large, the restaurant offers good local food, the price is very contained... I stopped once by chance and I've returned and will do again each time I'll drive by

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2015

    7.9
    Convenient location close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoke from the bar spread throughout most of the building. Particularly bad on the ground floor.

    Convenient location close to the motorway. Staff friendly and helpful. Good food. Free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    9.6
    Great accomodation, good location near highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds could be a bit more comfier

    Great accomodation, good location near highway. Friendly personel

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    6.3
    Rooms were a bit outdated, especially the bathrooms,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms were a bit outdated, especially the bathrooms, breakfast was quite minimal

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    location was excellent for activities outside of Salsburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location was excellent for activities outside of Salsburg!

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Can't say enough great things about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Can't say enough great things about this place. Staff went out of their way to make sure that everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    7.9
    Room is quite big
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None

    Room is quite big

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    10
    Very fine hotel and place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very fine hotel and place

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air con

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    10
    Typical Austrian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Typical Austrian hotel Wery good restaurant Great Spa

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: