Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gasthof Zum Schwanen 3 stars

Füssener Straße 2, Pflach, 6600 Reutte, Austria

#4 of 17 hotels in Reutte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 554 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    *Spectacular view*Very good breakfast*Very large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    *Maybe I'm picky but in my opinion the room wasn't spotless :( * No air-conditioning in the room- and I've no idea how the guests cope with at summer time. We stayed early June, and it was already quite warm and we couldn't even open the window, because the mosquitos were flying in. No mosquito nets on windows.

    *Spectacular view*Very good breakfast*Very large room*Comfortable bed and pillows*For us it was good soundproof- we didn't hear any trains at night*

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    A welcoming hotel in a pleasant village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice room. Warm and friendly check-in. Some smoke smell in public area. Dining room very pleasant with good service. English menu offered. Food was good and portions generous. Lovely, friendly emails before we travelled welcoming us to the hotel and wishing us a safe journey. This was followed up with a thank you fir using the hotel, hoping we will visit again and wishing us safe travels. Will definitely stay there again when we visit Austria.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Bring CASH, written copy of your contract and mosquito repellant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning, so we had to open windows- many, many mosquito bites!!! Also, bring CASH! They do NOT accept credit cards! Then the lady tried to raise our rate by 50E, saying we were charged a single rate but had 2 people- our booking clearly showed 3 rooms with 2 people each room. And one room had a higher rate and was supposed to be a nicer room, but it was really a lesser room! Lady (very little English) did show surprise when we gave her the 3rd key back to check out- it was not the room we were supposed to have, but she did not lower the bill. She called someone and finally just had us pay the agreed rate, but I feel it should have been less. Not very pleased with the outcome). Take bug spray to this area of Germany and Austria!

    Nice room, good breakfast. Easy free parking. View is amazing! Great area- near castles. I liked the hotel itself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.5
    Probably overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property right next to train tracks and trains beep right there to warn cars from crossing the tracks. This happens very frequently in the morning so consider that if you're a light sleeper. Also right next to main road. Not really food available after 8.30pm, however you can go to Reutte to have dinner. In our room the Mattresses were extremely uncomfortable and not suitable for couples who like sleeping together.

    Nice little breakfast buffet with quality products.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Nice village hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report. Perfect stay.

    Nice village family hotel surrounded by green meadows and Alps in the distance. Nice old man at the reception. Big room, new modern bathroom. Very clean. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in a lovely Alpine town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No guest refrigerator available. Located next to train track, so noisy in the early morning, but quiet at night.

    Modern, multi-room hotel located about 3 mi from town of Reutte. Elevator access to upper floors. Avg size room, with living room attached with fold-out sofa bed. Large bathroom, good shower, heated floor and towel rods in bathroom. 32” Samsung TV in the bedroom, separate smaller TV in the living room. One English channel. Duvet blankets. Excellent breakfast, with meat, cheese, eggs, and multiple breads and cereals. Also has on-site dining room for an evening meal -- excellent food and reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    - The location was great for hiking (no need to drive--you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We've been here before and had the feeling that it wasn't as well looked-after as last time (2 years ago). The room wasn't entirely clean (dust and some hairs in the bathroom), and the shower did not drain properly.

    - The location was great for hiking (no need to drive--you can leave directly from the hotel). - The Reutte active card, included in the price, is great--a visit to the Therme and one ride up or down the gondola are included, for example. - Breakfast had everything we wanted/needed--really good! - The restaurant makes great Schnitzel. - The train and the cars were only noisy during the day, and even then we only noticed the horn from the train. - The price is really fair for this hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a train track behind the building, but it wasn't too busy. There was no AC and it was HOT!! No desk attendant, the cook checked us in!

    Breakfast was FABULOUS!! They had fresh cut fruit compote, lots of choices of standard German fare, coffee machine to make lattes, espresso, cappuccino, etc. Restaurant had good food the night before as well. Beds were comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    Convenient to Ehrenberg and Neuschwanstein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close by the train station; occasionally you'll hear it but the train doesn't come by that often until very early in the morning. We only heard one train pass by.

    Our German isn't great, but we were able to communicate with the little that we know. Very nice people! They make sure you're comfortable and know where to go for accommodations and parking, should you require this. Parking is in the back by the train station. Their complimentary breakfast was really nice. Good variety of coffees, teas, juices and main breakfast courses typical of German/Austrian faire (bread, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, hard boiled eggs.) We also had their food for dinner time and it was quite satisfying. Tasted like Home cooked meal. The room and bed are very clean and attractive. Very comfortable. This is located close enough to Ehrenberg Castle and the Highline 179 if you're interested to check that out. We had fun there. We also checked out Neuschwanstein Castle. Very convenient to both places. This is a perfect little vacation if you don't necessarily want the crowds and smaller city feel. Nice and relaxing. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Awesome stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was amazing. The view, breathtaking. Staff was very friendly and forthcoming. Best Price to quality ration I've ever seen, and especially in Austria.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.9
    Room had a sliding door that was able to convert to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower didn't drain fast and flooded bathroom floor. When we told front desk about it so it could be looked at they said don't worry about it. We still had 1 night left and had to use towels to try and stop the floor from flooding. They didn't seem to care.

    Room had a sliding door that was able to convert to a separate bedroom for some privacy was nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    8.8
    The room was really large with a separating wall between the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The train station is directly on the property so the honking of the trains was audible.

    The room was really large with a separating wall between the twin and double beds. There was a large window with a lovely view of the mountains.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a quiet village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helps if you know a little German as the hosts don't speak English. Pflach is very quiet; use it as a base to explore the surrounding area but don't expect to find much to do in Pflach, or Reutte.

    Nice breakfast in traditional Austrian inn, easy parking and great views of the mountains from our upstairs room. Comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    Nice and friendly on our way through Europe
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are noise sensitive it is a bad thing the hotel is so close to the railway

    Very nice staff and good restaurant. Easy to find from the autobahn or by train. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice comfortable rooms and wonderful staff and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable rooms and wonderful staff and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Our classic car was parked in the garage because of the rain
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many flies

    Our classic car was parked in the garage because of the rain

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    excellent place to stay, friendly staff and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast menu, clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Very large room, excellent breakfast, nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was not really heated upon arrival (it was winter).

    Very large room, excellent breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Incredible view, huge room, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible view, huge room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    some strange smell in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some strange smell in the room The staff is not nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Fantastisch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N.v.t

    Alles was perfect n.v.t

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely little hotel with nice rooms and good food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Very close to the castles region
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the castles region

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was very large!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The train station is next to the hotel :(

    The room was very large!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful breakfast, clean and spacious new rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast, clean and spacious new rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Perfect stopover on your way south.
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect stopover on your way south. One day of driving from Kiel or Puttgarden.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Everyone was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everyone was very friendly. Excellent breakfasts,dinners and deserts. Room was large and very clean. Very short commute to Ludwig's castles.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Passing through
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host shouts at the guests as if everybody is stupid. No respect.

    We had a nice room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    Great pitstop on a journey from the Netherlands to Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    * Excellent breakfast * Good diner * Spacious room * Comfortable bed * Stunning mountain views * Great value for money *

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv channals in english

    Its was Great to park The motorbikes in a garage :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    8.3
    Excellent rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was busy and not very available

    Good breakfast, rooms are amazing, very clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel was great, beautiful views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location of the hotel was great, beautiful views! From our balcony you could see the castle ruins and the worlds longest suspension bridge. The staff were very friendly and willing to help (we speak very little German). Breakfast buffet was delicious. My family and I really enjoyed this hotel and will stay here again if we travel to the area again!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    7.1
    Rooms were clean and hotel annex was new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very hot as there was no air conditioning. A little overpriced for the area/facilities. Also it was right next to the train station and thus a little noisy.

    Rooms were clean and hotel annex was new. Location was ideal for visiting castles.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    The owners are very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It would be better to have a curtain that can block the sun light.

    The owners are very nice. Our room has a great mountain view. The restaurant provides very good food and is value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    5.4
    Nice modern rooms, good breakfast with a lot of choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bunch of hair of previous guest in the shower and smelly bed - it has been a hot summer but still! Check-in was more like checking in to the army.

    Nice modern rooms, good breakfast with a lot of choice

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.3
    I stayed at the suite which is very good, relax, clean &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed at the suite which is very good, relax, clean & spacious. Very impressive. Facing the mountain. About 15 mins drive to Fussen. Suggest to drive to Lake Plansee which is also very beautiful. My husband loves this hotel a lot.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Tranquilidade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet lenta Não oferece bicicletas ao contrário do que anuncia Fica ao lado de uma estação de trem, que buzina bastante ao passar, atrapalhando o sono de quem for dormir além das 07 da manhã.

    Tranquilidade Meio rural Comodidade do quarto Boa relação custo benefício para quem vai ao Castelo Neuschwanstein e está de carro

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    7.9
    Nice rooms, food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to railway

    Nice rooms, food Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    7.1
    Very clean and comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kitchen was closed at 9 pm and would not allow us to eat our own food in the room.

    Very clean and comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    9.6
    Food was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food was excellent!!!! Room was really nice also! Great place to stop!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable rooms and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean, comfortable rooms and great food.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    10
    It was a wonderful small place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a wonderful small place. Everyone was so very friendly!!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    room is large,clerks are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room is large,clerks are very nice

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    location and huge room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location and huge room

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    The room was large, had a great view and was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was large, had a great view and was very clean. The owners were very nice.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    9.6
    very nice view around the hotel,nice food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I like everything

    very nice view around the hotel,nice food

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    10
    The friendliness of the owners who we met before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the owners who we met before. Room in annex, quiet and comfortable. Excellent breakfast and evening meals.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    9.6
    Nice place with perfect view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Railway is close to the hotel.

    Nice place with perfect view.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: