Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nationalpark Lodge Grossglockner 4 stars

Hof 6-7, 9844 Heiligenblut, Austria

#6 of 9 hotels in Heiligenblut

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 207 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. I would recommend this lodge to friends

    Location is amazing, staff very friendly and caring, facilities are good particularly the wellness area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is slightly pricey but worth it taking its location and the breakfast into consideration.

    Only a couple of minutes away from the Grossglockner pay booth.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street side rooms can be noisy at night with trucks coming through the village.

    The staff are friendly and helpful. They made an excellent restaurant recommendation for us and even called to ensure it was open later. The pool area has amazing views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff of the reception was ok, the staff in the restaurant almost didn't speak English, only German, and so the Menu, we had to ask for an English one. If you travel with little children there is not a special menu for them, even if they told us so when we contacted them before. The Menu was too complicated, too posh, and the buffet was available only during the weekend, then it was à-la-carte. The price of the drinks were unbelievable, a mineral water of 0,75 cl. costed us 4,90 Euros. We asked for the possibility to come with a dog, they told us that there would have been no problem but when we arrived they told us that our dog, a Labrador, could stay with us in our room (me, my wife, my 8 years old daughter and my 9 months old son in a room with a labrador? Could you imagine it?). They charged us 15 Euros per day for the dog, for what? There was no specific place for it and we brought the food for it... so, 15 Euros for 5 days, 75 Euros for what? The dog could stay only in our room or in the hall, not in the restaurant. Surely it is not a dog friendly hotel and surely it is not a family hotel, if you travel with children. Our room was a triple room and, I don't know why, they charged us 30 Euros per day, 150 Euro, for the sofa-bed where our 8 years old daughter slept. Wasn't it a triple room? Double bed + a sofa-bed? So why an additional charge for it? Ah, the cradle was free... luckily...

    The village was great, and the landscape too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The top floor where you had to walk 2 flights of stairs. If you didn't have half board, at breakfasts, they had all the table assigned to each family.

    The breakfast buffet was good. Good location in town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was lovely and very cosy. With a balcony showing off the mountains and church, you couldn't ask for more. The staff is great. Natalie and Corinna were so friendly and accommodating, even with arranging transport from Salzburg. The location is perfect - only a short bus ride to Grossglockner Alpine Road and lots of amazing walks/hikes in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately some parts of hotel were closed due to renovation works which we knew about, however this meant we were not able to experience the full being it's of the hotel which I'm sure would of been brilliant

    Center of town, amazing views and staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in is possible only until 20:00, after that there is no one at the counter. We booked a suite and got a big room, but it looked nothing like in the photos. The breakfast was very poor.

    The property was conveniently located near the road to the Grossglockner, had a balcony with an amazing view to the valley. The room was nice (although didn't looked like what we booked) and the staff at the desk (when they were at the desk) was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was undergoing renovation so no facilities were available during our stay. The parking (though free) is quite far from the hotel.

    Excellent location, with a nice view of the Gross Glockner. Friendly and polite staff. Availability of a kettle in the room for tea/coffee (rather rare in Europe).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not sure they had no wifi or they didn't offer it to me. The reception was closed at night so I could not ask...

    The location is great! It is a long way up in the hills, but the time spent is worth it. The hotel reception, restaurant and some other facilites were under some works, so I could not enjoy all of them. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Traditional, rustic decoration. However they offered me 10% discount in the restaurant next door. Breakfast was included with the room with juices, cereals, coffee, toasts... nothing to complain about. The staff was so helpful through my stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel that shows that details are important (e.g. specs "for rent", children's seats in ski-room, very clean, friendly staff: personal in reception desk, waiters, cleaners). We stayed in Glocknerhof after 9 years and we will come back again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for one night a few years ago and just had to come back. The hotel has a pool and other amenities that would be great to enjoy during a longer visit. There's plenty of outdoor activities to do in the surrounding area. The town has an interesting history and the hotel is right smack in the center. It's a great hotel and I hope we can go back there for a longer period of time in the future.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at the heart of the Alps. No words can describe mountain beauty. The staff is simply the best (look at the photo in booking.com). Smiling girls in dirndl's proved most helpful. Take bus to the Franz-Josef hoche, the stop is beside the hotel. And be warned, take some carrots with you, there will be dire need for them ;-)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited Wifi

    Fantastic location for summer and winter activities, excellent food and excellent service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Remember to buy your parking ticket from 09:00 in the morning - but only valid for 1.5 hour.

    The restaurant has a marvelous mountain view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff: the people at the reception desk, the cleaning personnel, the breakfast room manager were all super nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful location!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard bed, needs exhaust fan in toilet. Had to ask for bath robe to be brought up. Very odd room colours, needs refurbishment.

    Meals and location are excellent, massage was brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I did not like the beds and pillows, but this is just a matter of personal taste.

    Having all facilities in one place was great (pool, gym, restaurant, kids' playing room, SPA).

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room too small for £100 ppn.

    Location and nice touches such as free parking, secco on arrival

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff Claudia at front desk was terrific with helping us with hikes.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent food, silent room, great hotel overall

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: