Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Engl 4 stars

Unterer Stadtplatz 5, 6060 Hall in Tirol, Austria

#3 of 6 hotels in Hall in Tirol

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay at historic place
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike

    We were on the way to Italy and took the hotel as a stop over. Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by the friendly owner who arranged a parking and allocated wonderful rooms. We travel a lot for business and were very impressed with the room, the food. This is a hotel where you can stay several days as the city Hall im Tirol and surroundings are certainly worth a visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A lovely retreat from the hustle and bustle of Innsbruck.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I think I was upgraded to a suite. It was lovely with a great sitting area, brilliant bathroom and lovely passage way into a bedroom in a turret. The bed was very comfortable, heating was good, and the room was nice and quiet. Breakfast was super with a freshly cooked boiled egg as a bonus. I stayed here because accommodation in Innsbruck was far too expensive and I would highly recommend it. Transport is good to Innsbruck and Hall-in-Tirol is a lovely place to come back to with good restaurants and great cake shops. All in all, this place was a real gem of a find and I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    Would highly recommend a stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was fine here.

    Staff was helpful and friendly, perfect location within walking distance of everything in town and free parking at the front door. The restaurant was fine - good food and beer. The Christmas Market was just up the street and there was a wonderful Christmas Eve service at the local Parish church with music and punch afterwards. City information bureau across the street has informative tours and maps. Good hiking trails in the mountains around town. A great place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel, good location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better. Dinner options could have also been better. Half board was not an option.

    Great location in Hall in Tirol. Close to Christmas market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Room was nice and clean, personal very helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nice and clean, personal very helpful and friendly and breakfast were amazing. It was also easy to park directly in front of the hotel, even when we were probably lucky, since it is public parking space, therefore availability depends on arrival time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Quintessential Austrian experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quaint, in a period building and convenient to town and public transportation. Beautiful common areas, great restaurants. Breakfast very nice, and cooked eggs to order. Pictures could be updated. Staff was friendly, helpful and welcoming. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel at the edge of old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe my room 103 could have a better view, but that´s all!

    The location was on the edga of the old town in an old building. The room despite the fact that the room facing the street was very quiet due to the good insulated windows. Nice "bierstube in the basement" where they served good food and very affordable. Very friendly staff both at the front desk as well in the bierstube, where they had a happy and service friendly girl. Nice beakfest. I liked tit and will stay here agian. And it was value for the money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to use bus transportation system--perhaps because it was Sunday. Also it would have been better if that knew about the transportation options in nearby Innsbruck. I needed to take a bus from Innsbruck and that was confusing for me as I only speak English.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    An absolute jewel in every sense of the word!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What could there be not to be liked!? The only thing I truly hated was that I had to leave.

    This place is a full host of superlatives. Rarely will you ever anywhere in the world come across a place that is so perfect. Not only did Hall in Tirol turn out a real treasure trove of ancient architecture - what a place!!! - but this hotel was the jewel in the crown. An ancient property, beautifully renovated with every possible comfort and yet true to its original style - such good taste - Congratulations. The staff were absolutely delightful. ALL of them seem to go out of their way to make your stay as memorable as possible. It was such a delight to be there. And as if the hoteI and its staff were not yet enough to make me 100% happy, I had phenomenal food and wine - totally unexpected - at such reasonable price and in such wonderful environment. I did not want to fall asleep that night , just wanted to keep enjoying it all . Was there far too short and will definitely try and be back one day. I could not recommend this hotel more highly from every point of view. It's one of these few places you discover in your lifetime that will pull the floor from underneath your feet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Very attractive and nice young woman at the reception when i...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. These guys don't eat that much veggies or fruits in the morning, i certainly would!

    Very attractive and nice young woman at the reception when i arrived.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Great old town location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great old town location, very friendly staff. Building has awesome old world character. Breakfast was excellent with generous amounts of high quality food and coffee. The restaurant attached to the hotel is great, terrific Tirolean cuisine and outstanding Augustiner beer on tap from Munich served in centuries old surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Great town. Good location. All of the basics.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not shown how to operate lights upon our arrival. We were told the kitchen had closed yet more than an hour later there were still people in the restaurant. We just wanted a salad after traveling for twelve hours.

    Good breakfast and appreciated the lift.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location and great place - staying at the brewhouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was rather cold and no way to regulate the temperature. The comment given to my partner that it's my job to keep her warm at night was somewhat inappropriate.

    Great location and great place - staying at the brewhouse.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sofa bed was small for two people/children who are not small, difficult parking and lots of stairs.

    Beautiful building, friendly staff, great food at the restaurant and lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.3
    Short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was limited and not a buffet style. Definitely not suitable for disabled as lots of steps.

    Reception was friendly and helpful. Convenient for getting into Innsbruck and surrounding area. Well refurbished from old building, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.8
    Welcoming and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel parking is limited and can be time limited. Convenient underground car park is only 100 meters away.

    Welcoming and very helpful owner and staff. Room was mini suite sizes and very good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    10
    It is the perfect place to stay in Hall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -

    It is the perfect place to stay in Hall. There is a restaurant in front of the hotel, and it is opened even after midnight. Very convenient :) Very friendly and kind staff. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a picturesque town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi was difficult to connect to and then disconnected frequently - we gave up in the end

    Super location and a lovely old building oozing history; attentive and friendly staff; convenient parking right outside; beautifully appointed and well designed rooms; excellent restaurant in the cellar

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    after a long drive is the perfect place to rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the receptionist waited for us as we arrived almost at midnight, very nice place, a unique experience, excellent breakfast,nice surroundings, with shops and bars.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    In total I had a comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was clean and near the city center. The reception people were friendly. The breakfast was also nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Had a fantastic stay. The service from staff was fantastic and I hope to return very soon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic service and place! Very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    go for it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    better internet at room

    nice staff, good food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Excellent. Second visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV

    Great breakfast, very good bread.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Beautiful building and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building and rooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculately cared for

    Beautifully restored hotel with lovely ambience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect for an overnight stay if driving through Austria - lovely old town centre
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent food at dinner and breakfast -

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Everything was great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great! Excellent breakfast! Very nice staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    tea & coffee machine/facility in room would have been nice

    Breakfast first class - food very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice rooms, friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in the next door restaurant only served until 21:30.

    Spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    The best hotel to stay in this region
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's the best in everything Including the kitchen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Not really a castle, but a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our bedroom is kinda cold in winter.

    Staffs are nice. Room is in good size.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    The breakfast was free but one had to order it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was free but one had to order it. It would be more practical if it could be part buffet and part on order

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    A lovely historical building with character
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very easy to travel into Innsbruck by train

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    10
    superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    all

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    10
    Fantastic welcome and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fantastic welcome and great staff. The Stube was brilliant and the food there top class. The restaurant was superb too and certainly worth visiting. Overall a terrific stay. I will definitely stay there again. The parking was very convenient too. Alois was excellent. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    9.5
    The Hotel Goldener Engl is unique and a hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is so far away from our home that we can't visit more often.

    The Hotel Goldener Engl is unique and a hidden gem! It is very old, yet has modern bathrooms. It is very pretty and is packed with charm. Great location. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.8
    Central position on edge of picturesque old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lots of stairs and corridors, and rather hard to find your way about; took a while to find reception, and to get from there to my room had to go up one flight of stairs, along a corridor, through a door, along another corridor, then down another flight of stairs. Disabled people might find this difficult.

    Central position on edge of picturesque old town. Very old building but room modern and nicely fitted. Happened to be there on Thursday evening when there's an oompah band in the cellar restaurant; noisy but fun.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    7.5
    Very beautiful and spacious bathroom, very nice and kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No AC in our room and noisy if you let the window open. The wifi was not useable but ok in the lobby and restaurant.

    Very beautiful and spacious bathroom, very nice and kind staff, classic and charming overall looking. Good restaurant!!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.8
    Medieval setting with contemporary bathroom, good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    One has to wait for hot water on tap.

    Medieval setting with contemporary bathroom, good location.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    9.2
    Lovely Tirolian hotel with great charm in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would not suite a handicapped person due to stairs

    Lovely Tirolian hotel with great charm in a lovely location

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Really in the centre of the town, excellent conditions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would prefer a buffet breakfast

    Really in the centre of the town, excellent conditions, quite affordable. Charming building.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41