Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Greif 4 stars

Schulgasse 3/Hinterstadt, 6370 Kitzbühel, Austria

#6 of 33 hotels in Kitzbühel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location , 5 mins walk from the gondola . 1 min walk from bars and restaurants. Our room 409 looked directly onto the mountain . The room was clean and very comfortable. Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The selection in the hotel lobby bar was poor. An extremely loud and noisy fan in the bathroom so the light could not be turned on during night without wakening everyone else in the room.

    Close to the ski lifts/slopes but still central in Kitzbühel. Nice big rooms. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a shame the front entrance is now used for another business (casino). Instead of the beautiful entrance on the pretty main square you now enter through the car park at the back. Such a let down. This also seems to have the knock on effect of making the bar so obscurely located that no one uses it so It’s been barely manned and unwelcoming. This is no doubt an ownership decision and probably for money reasons but it’s definitely reduced the appeal of the stay.

    The staff were great, helpful, professional, and made it a very enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ski room could be upgraded.

    Exceptionally comfortable room, and bed. Beautifully furnished traditional hotel in the best possible location. Close to several good restaurants - there is no restaurant in the hotel, but nice breakfast room and bar. Charming helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, amazing friendly staff for whom nothing was a problem, food great and fabulous hotel. Have visited Kitzbuhel for last 6 years and this is by far the best and friendliest hotel. Loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is difficult to access, as the picture shown in the sdvertisment is a restaurant and casino and not the hotel. We were directed to the back door. The room was very dark and the lighting was inadequate. There was no complimentery tea or coffee provided in the room or bar. There are few parking spaces. We had a discount card, for the ski lifts but the discount is only 1 euro.

    Great bathroom with lovely bath and shower. Excellent breakfast with attentive staff. Good walking from the town, especially on the Kitzbuheler Horn. Lovely traditional Alm hut with music.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Perfect location, beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast and sensational staff, I will always return to this hotel. Best pick in Kitzbühel for price and service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall nothing I didn't like, although some spa facilities would have been nice - plenty nearby though

    Fantastic central location, ideal to reach all areas of town and mountains

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were not dense enough and light from outside shone through

    Very friendly staff (reception, breakfast room...etc) that made me feel welcomed. Nothing was small about the "small single room", except for the single bed. There was a generously sized balcony, and plenty of space in the room for everything, the bed side table was as wide as the bed, and there was another table as well. Excellent for those who like desk space! The internet was fast enough for smooth video streaming. The location was great, being less than 5 mins walk from the ski lift and Kitzbühel Hannenkam train station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is typical tirolean, rustic, vintage. The wi-fi unreliable in the room (109), but there is a free one available (Freeware).

    Location, location, location. Close to Hahnenkamm Bahn, Aquarena, city center. The hotel has a ski deposit. The breakfast is great, the staff is very kind and helpful. The sauna (both hamam and finnish sauna) is a welcome relaxation after a long ski day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly staff; Birgitta, Anita and Melish (spellings may be dodgy) made me feel so welcome which is so important when travelling alone. Comfortable warm room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rooms look more modern in the pictures than what actually are but, still very we'll kept and even though dated style the quality was good, with a classic good style. Food was good but no snacks at the bar neither dinner option or lunch. Basically, no food apart from breakfast. Though, many restaurants 60 seconds walk.

    Location was great, 5 minutes from the lifts. Mark the barman and Brigit the receptionist were fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wish the hotel would also offer dinner and perhaps in the future this might be possible

    This is a traditional hotel located in the center of town with easy access to everything a visitor could need family run every attention is given to the guests and we had a wonderful time !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been handy for the kids to have a restaurant in the hotel.

    Spacious rooms, bang in the centre town. Staff were helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located right in the centre,behind McDonald's, if you arrived on saturday ,before 6.pm you still can get your supliment in Billa supermarket. Cable car to mountain is near by walk,so is hannenkam train station where you can push your trolly baggage approach to hotel site easily too. I enjoyed my stay very much,thank you to make room super clean and very comfortable bed and blanket helping good sleep. The balcony is a relax zone to enjoy softly breeze. The breakfast is rich enough in a nice ,cozy environment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were welcomed by very friendly hotel staff. We came to Kitzbuhel, tired from a long day on the motorbikes and asked if the sauna was still open, it wasn´t..... but no problem this was arranged in minutes. The rooms were fabulous, clean, plenty of space and nice mountain view. A hotel and staff which can be recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No problems

    Best hotel I've stayed in in years. I had a giant, comfortable room, decorated in Austrian style. The bathroom was huge and spotless. The staff were very kind and helpful. The location was perfect--in the center of town. The breakfast was as much as you wanted of just about everything. And there was free, powerful wifi. You couldn't ask for more.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    looks like there were additional hot options available to be ordered for breakfast, which local staff didn't offer to me.

    Location is superb, on one side right in the old town center, on the other a few steps from the ski lifts and rentals. Private parking relatively quiet, despite central location very clean and comfortable rooms and big bathroom. Healthy breakfast Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the first floor are very very small

    The ladys at the repetion are very kind and helpful, the waiter at the breakfast hall is polite and accurate. The rooms in the second floor is huge with two bathrooms, fireplace with sofas and balcony. The position of the hotel is perfect, you don't need to take your auto anymore during your stay!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had a great view of the Hahnenkamm and its surrounding area. I was very happy that they upgraded me to a double room with a four poster bed - pure luxury - with my hotel robe and slippers. The location was brilliant - everywhere was within walking distance. I loved the breakfast because there was a lot to choose from. I loved the choice of cereals and the optional extras of fresh and dried fruit as well as seeds and nuts. The bread was freshly baked every day. I was always asked whether I wanted fried egg and was always served 2. All the staff and management were very pleasant and willing to go the extra mile to make my holiday special.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and good access to town center and piste

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room beds are too small for an adult. Especially if you are over 6 feet

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no ski boot warmers in boot room but that is very minor

    breakfast was great! As are size of rooms!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location so close to the lift and wonderful homely feel makes this hotel stand out in kitzbuhel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all great!

    I loved the religious statues up the hall way - beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I prefer a separate shower

    Lovely room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were limited toiletries in the bathroom which, given the cost per night, was disappointing.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact that there is no spa area and it’s very loud from the club near !

    Location is perfect for skiers and non-skiers!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location was very handy, unfortunately there was a lot of noise from the street which did keep us awake.

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    could be noisy late at night, only if you sleep with your window open.

    spacious rooms, great breakfast, balcony. very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wonderful hotel - friendly staff and very 'Austrian'

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very accommodating staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better parking arrangements

    Great choice for breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such warm, friendly, helpful staff. Super central location! Charming Austrian hotel, will definitely be back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location, extremely clean, helpful staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing. Frankly THE PLACE TO BE !!

    Fantastic staff. Thank you Anita joseph and brigitta!! Just perfect in all circumstances 👍🏼

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    quite noisy at night

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely rooms, nice breakfast, great location, very friendly and helpful hosts

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off site due to parade fest and Spartan Race

    Location was amazing. Was close to great food, and drinks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff-reception excellent. Nice room and large terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I requested a "gemutlich" room as we traveled from the US to ski in the Alpine atmosphere - room was huge, Brigitta was helpful, breakfast staff friendly, and hotel very reasonable - a great 3d stay at 'the Grief".Carol

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No evening food, slightly strange decor and lacking in atmosphere as people all went out to eat and the bar was very quiet

    Large room, very helpful staff and a good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For a 4 star hotel we were very surprised that, having been travelling for several hours, they were unable to offer any food. Also would expect individual heating and cooling controls in the rooms for a 4 star hotel.

    The location was excellent and the room was excellent. Breakfast was also very good.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not really a bad point but the rooms are very warm when we arrived, a plus for most people I suppose. A quick turn off of the radiators and all was good

    Fantastic hotel with great service all round! We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived and the rooms were sorted very quickly even though there were 12 in our group. Staff couldn't do enough for us throughout our stay, even laying on breakfast early on the morning of our departure due to an early flight.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel was warm, clean and comfortable and has a central location. The room had a mountain view. Breakfast was adequate and a good selection was always available. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Kitzbuhel itself is a lovely town with plenty of restaurants bars and coffee shops. Transfer from Salzburg airport is just over an hour.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When I first walked in, I thought the hotel looked a little dated, then upon further look, I could see that each room was unique and special. All of the amenities were updated, the rooms were large, and the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast which was included had a good selection of food. We were there to ski at Kitzbuhel and the location location was great with only a short walk to the Hahnenkamm gondola. The staff were very helpful and friendly. In fact, one staff went above and beyond for my children. They are ski racers and we were there just before the Hahnenkamm World Cup downhill race. The girl at the front desk told us that the US ski team was going to be staying at their hotel. We asked her to pass on a letter and postcards for Ted Ligety, which she did, since a short time later, we received postcards which Ted had signed for each of our children. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no option to eat dinner in the hotel

    The staff was amazing !! Rooms are very big, comfortable and clean. Very close to the main elevators . Will definitely come back .

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The style of the room is unforgettable, we definitely loved it. It was definitely a great idea to take the room with a balcony...getting up and seeing the alps while taking in the fresh air was priceless. Staff was so very nice and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lighting in rooms was dull, possibly due to all of the dark wood. Shower head fixed too high so that the water sprayed around. Breakfast boring.

    Friendly and helpful staff Location

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - WiFi not working - Very limited parking - This is not a real hotel anymore, just a Hotel Garni (bed and breakfast hotel) - Not the famous old Goldener Greif anymore

    - Central location - Spacious rooms and bathrooms, nicely furnished in old Tyrolean style

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a most pleasant stay. The staff managed to combine efficiency with warmth. I felt that my custom was valued and was treated as a valued visitor.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small parking place.

    Great location in the centre of town near many restaurants and shops, balcony with nice view of Hahnenkamm, big room and two bathrooms, free wi-fi, minibar, friedly receptionists.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, very clean, beautiful views of the Alps, English speaking staff, easy check in and check out, comfy robes and slippers, wonderful breakfast selections. Kitzbuhel is the perfect Alpine town.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My wife loved the decor, the room design and layout, the balcony and the quality of the bed linen. I could not disagree! The staff were very friendly and full of helpful recommendations. Great hotel!

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all. The hotel ticked all the positive boxes so nothing negative to say about it.

    Excellent hotel. Better than I could of hoped for and the best hotel that we stayed in on our 10 day road trip of Austria and Germany. Fairy tale room with a balcony and wonderful view. Staff were very friendly and breakfast was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Minor hiccups arriving past midnight getting my room key

    Great location, lovely room, historic feeling, very good breakfast, quiet, family run atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fridge not working..

    Beautiful hotel in the very centre of Kitzbuhel. Great size of the room, two full baths (!), great furnitures, nice balcony, marvellous mountain view of the downhill course Streif

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Without doubt this was one of our favorite ski trips in recent years! Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff. We truly enjoyed the location it is within walking distance to the lifts, restaurants and shops. Our room was charming, spacious with a balcony and a great view of the mountain. This is true family run hotel where the atmosphere is so special that it really felt like home to us. All respect for the family members and staff who do a great job here; a true sample of excellent hospitality!

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Helpful front desk staff, great location near centre, train station and gondola, and large rooms that were serviced daily. Breakfast had everything you needed to fuel up for the day.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No frig in my room, no balcony, but the room size made up for it. . Would return for sure.

    All staff were really accommodating. Great location walking distance to the Gondola. Our room 407 was like a suite. Really spacious and enjoyable with tub. Nice view of the slopes. Excellent breakfast Buffet. Fabulous waiter.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing really, maybe WIFI could be improved, pillows a little soft (but I'm fussy about pillows!).

    Location central. Breakfast tasty. Room delightful. Bathroom big. Staff friendly. Ambience relaxed.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were assigned a twin room instead of a double, and couldn't change until day 2. Internet did not work in our room the entire time.

    Good location, nice breakfast, comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the wi-fi is weak, and inconstant, especially in the evening. a hot tub would be nice, but no where to put it

    extremely helpful staff, very welcoming, great breakfast, lovely old rooms refurbished well.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows were rather on the flat side.

    Location next to the lift is a given but the friendliness of the staff is what really made this stay memorable. The Austrians are the more welcoming bunch in the Alpine commune (especially compared to the Swiss) so naturally this is the place to be.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was a little slow, but I don't know if that's the hotel or just the entire area.

    Brilliant location and everyone there is very friendly. We will be staying next time we are in Kitz.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought that the main bartender could have helped the woman working there a bit more.

    Excellent place to stay . The staff was so friendly. Breakfast was super. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast food quality in the buffet was excellent. Breads, fruits, top quality. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    School next door started at 7 am and the children arriving was noisy

    Location,room size.two bathrooms

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Limited bar and food options

    Location

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location for skiing, easy walk to the gondola lift. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hans the owner!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very nice room and a pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great. Staff very friendly and helpful.

There are also 51 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: