Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Löwe 3 stars

Oberer Stadtplatz 14, 6330 Kufstein, Austria

#12 of 15 hotels in Kufstein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 875 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right above the restaurant and the walls weren’t really thick, so we could hear the staff talk, move furniture and use the vacuum cleaner. Our windows were facing facing a busy street, where cars were driving past all night long. Beds and pillows weren’t comfy at all.

    The location the hotel was at and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one: the clients have to inform before the reception if they have to check in late in the night, as they close early.

    Very good position at the foot of the old castle, walking distance from train station. Classic building with wooden finishes that gives a "warm" atmosphere. Usual good austrian-german breakfast, with different kind of salami and cheese, as well as fresh fruit, yoghurt and cakes. Very good free wi fi. Many places to discover in the surroundings. A place to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were one night in the romantic suite. Which is a rooftop and is very well appointed, only the stair to get there was not the best, especially with luggage. Staff friendly, breakfast very good. Location top, parking a bit far away. We did not try restaurant or wellness. Would go again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clear how to get hot drinks on breakfast.

    Very traditional Tyrolean atmosphere and decoration, both inside the hotel and in the town around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a nice little hotel ... it is valuable for the amount of money you have to pay and it is in an excellent place in Kufstein close to almost everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appears a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment. Moreover, we have initially reserved a triple hotel room and then changed to a double plus single for a total of 3 people. Upon arrival they initially insisted that they did not have information on the change and we were therefore to have 3 rooms. Upon discussing it, they said they would tick the triple as a "no show" on booking.com and we were to pay only the single and double. This was fine, but we did not receive any "no snow" notification from booking.com, where our reservation still only shows the single & double, which makes their explanation that they did not receive notification of the change less feasible. Hotel parking is not available on site, but you can drive to a nearby public parking and obtain a discount for parking if you pay at the hotel (8 EUR per day instead of 14). The stay was pleasant, but the hotel feels overpriced for the current status of the facilities - deeply 80s feel.

    Rooms were clean, with all tipical amenities and the double was fairly large (not the case for the single). Breakfast was nicely put together as a buffet and coffee was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed 2 nights. The place is very charming and very well situated. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast/dining rooms in the ground floor are all newly renovated in a local style and have a lovely atmosphere. I stayed in 2 different bedrooms. Both were comfortable and clean. But some of the furniture in the smaller room I stayed in was very used and could do with some refurbishing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of hotel was good but location of room ( #224) was bad. Room overlooked a small plaza and hotel's restaurant. Warm night, windows open, noise from plaza and street until 2:00 AM. Hard to find staff as they were never around desk.

    Hotel was close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious room, excellent location in the town centre with view of fortress from restaurant terrace. Pleasant and efficient staff. Room to store bicycles overnight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There could have been more breakfast choice & a toaster.

    The bedroom & en suite bathroom were very roomy. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Excellent location. Sockets at the side of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were welcoming and aware of us being there for several days. Our room was large and comfortable. The hotel is well located in the centre of the city and right under the Fortress.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not good at all. Ordered three different dishes, none were tasty. Overcocked vegetables, etc, our worst meal n Austria. I saw previous guest liked the restaurant, maybe they changed the chef?

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    our room was totally perfect , had an amazing view at Kufstein Castle , so nice staff at reception , Car-parking perfect .and very good breakfast . perfect location at city center

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didnt work in the room at all. Sauna is way too dry to be that hot i recommend you check the air humidity... also the lights at both saunas are uncomfortably bright, not relaxing at all! Otherwise the saunabereich is very beautiful.

    Nice room, nice food (breakfast great!). Location couldnt be better. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot - not enough ventilation and it was very noisy overlooking a main street especially since we had to open windows for air.

    Clean and near train station. Staff were friendly. Stored bags while we went up the mountain.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and staff brilliant!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely clean hotel in great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Great to be in a big city (Kufstein) while having easy access to skiing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great, very central, convenient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was a bit too hot

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lydia (lily) at reception was wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, comfortable room, very good breakfast. Excellent location in centre of town and 10 minutes’ walk to railway station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy walk from the train station. Located across from castle. Many interesting things to see and do in area. Charming shops and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was clean and maintained, but it is straight from 80's without any major updates

    very nice staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice place to stay in downtown

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was too basic.

    relaxed atmosphere and not expensive in comparison to local hostelries

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    Breakfast included, nice dinner food. Central to train and downtown area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly have tea and coffee facilities in room

    Excellent location, good free breakfast, good size room and very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, right in the centre of town!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for old town

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the heart of Kufstein.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices in restaurant are a little bit steep (2 Palatschinken - 9 Euro!)

    Clean, very fast internet, very nice people. Good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticisms.

    Excellent and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good buffet breakfast and a good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rhe bread for breakfast could be crispier, fresher, the meals were very g ood. The staff worked very exact and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant hotel with all the essential facilities right in middle of town. Seven minutes walk from station. Lovely food!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I can't speak for all rooms but the room was a bit dated although still spacious and comfortable.

    I booked at the Hotel Goldener Löwe based upon a quick review and I am glad I chose the booking. This is a great hotel which is just a short 10 minute walk from the train station. I was pleasantly surprised at the fantastic meals, so much so that I ate there every night just to sample the menu. The new spa was the perfect way to end my ski days and recuperate. Lastly, the staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help me when I needed extra assistance. I will be back!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    1 double room first floor could be renovated, the second one was ok, the reception in the evening one floor below was very noising, no traffic noise during the night, beside the snowcat at 4 am

    Staff very very friendly very flexible and obliging, very clean Parking-house 1 corner further, reduction at the Hotel reception, no pre-booking Meeting point for local people marvelous breakfast 5 minutes walk to the station

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Insufficient room for clothes in our room and yet a lot of room for clothes in my daughter's room

    Pleasant area ideal for exploring. Large comfortable room. Friendly welcome and very good breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice location within the city centre of Kufstein. Friendly and helpful staff. Even so the room was next to the street, we could not hear any cars. The beds are comfortable, especially the warm blankets. We arrived sadly too late for trying out the new wellness area. Morning breakfast buffet was more than sufficient for us and we liked it very much that you can order eggs to your liking. So you get them freshly prepared. What a great start into a new day.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi is a nightmare, there is a "Golden Loewe" ssid all over but there is no connection in it. WiFi only works on some parts of the 1st floor! Breakfast is really basic, you often have to wait for refills, some staff doesn't speak other languages than German. We made a reservation for 4 people, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, but the children's bed was very very small. The neighboring building was being renovated, every morning we woke up to the machine's noise.

    Excellent location, you are in a middle of Kufstein. Modern design room, beautiful bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The Hotel accepts smoking in the diner room with the result that the stinch of cigarettes smoke was horrible and every where. A very nice Hotel, but as long they accept smoking as they do we never gonna put our feet there again.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the friendly 'Löwen- Team' - everyone was cheerful and helpful and made my birthday celebration perfect. The location was great to relax and explore the surrounding areas on our first visit there. We certainly hope to stay again.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Atmosphere is traditional Austrian, I like it but it is not to everyone's taste

    Perfect location for a overnight stay traveling onwards. Nice spa-facilities!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Excellent as usual.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    It was excellent as usual.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the old interesting town, short distance from the Railway station. Good Food and friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very helpful and friendly staff, great traditional food, wonderful breakfast the free sauna is a fantastic extra

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Location, the stuff, the clean, large rooms, perfect for the money

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and good value combined with friendly service. What more can I say.....!

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    expensive for the type of room we had

    central position, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    too hot in bar/dining area

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street location tends be noisy on summer nights

    Convenient and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could have some more vegetables

    Clean hotel, well positioned, in the city centre. Friendly staff and we could store safely our bikes

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy and use of wifi was not the best

    Centrally located

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smoking in general

    excelent cuisine

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed in the single room was so small

    Good Location , warm room , good Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi works only on reception.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Goldener Löwe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: