Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldener Ochs 4 stars

Grazer Straße 4, 4820 Bad Ischl, Austria

#3 of 11 hotels in Bad Ischl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 519 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Relaxing Room in Bad Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a large, comfortable room at the Goldener Ochs. It was an easy 5 minute walk from the train station. We were given our room when we arrived even though we were early. The location was great as it faced the river. The hotel had a nice outdoor restaurant right across the cobble street. It was relaxing for a drink and good for dinner. We paid more for this hotel than others but felt we got value for our money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location. Staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent breakfast with an abundant of choices. Room very well appointed, bed comfy and excellent amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, delicious food. The room we got was not one of the best in this hotel, I guess. Good location, parking 2€ per day. We had just short stay othervise I would request different room. Although I could find any information about room service we got delicous coffee in our room early in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice traditional hotel in a beautiful location overlooking river Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access could be better

    The place of the hotel is beautiful - overlooking the river Ischl and its bridges. The size of the rooms was vergy generous. We booked 2 adjacent rooms and ended up having a BIG apartment. Breakfast was nince especially when you can have it outside surrounded by flowers. Really liked the sauna zone. Even if the swimming pool is small. The town itself Bad Ischl is such a pleasure to visit + the beautiful Wolfgangsee. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay in Bad Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the fact that the toillet was seperate from the bathroom itself, but this could be because the building dates from 1800. Also the pillows could have been a little more confortable.

    The hotel is right in the city center, thus a very good location. The stuff was very kind and friendly, and the breakfast was really good. The room was big and the hotel is elegant. We had a very nice stay in Bad Ischl at this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Quite a decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is only 1 mirror in the room, which is in the toilet. The mirror and sink are fitted between 2 walls that are hardly 1-m apart,. When we brushed our teeth, our elbows would sometimes hit the wall. To make it worse, the hair dryer is fitted on one side. So the space at the sink area is really crammed.

    The bed is comfortable though the pillows are a little soft. The breakfast area is bright and nice. The selection is really good. There is a restaurant on-site which was convenient for us as we were too tired to go out for dinner one evening. So we had our dinner there. Food was fine. Staff were polite, though not exceptionally friendly. There is an elevator in the hotel which is great for us with huge luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with an excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice if there was staff available in the spa in the evenings to answer questions. At least multilingual signage would be a helpful substitute... especially since an Austrian spa appears quite different from those we are used to in Japan or New Zealand.

    We had a large, quiet room overlooking the central courtyard. A nice bathroom with a large shower and a separate toilet room. The indoor swimming pool was a refreshing plus. The breakfast buffet was huge with a particularly nice selection of breads.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast was amazing delicious good served a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wellness facilities were not so impressed... in pool the jakuzzi functions didn’t work. No salt room but saunas were ok!

    The breakfast was amazing delicious good served a lot of varieties. The bed was comfy, nice room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous place for relaxing and visit nearby Austrian towns.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I assumed that there had hot spa and well-equipped gym facility. This hotel has a decent indoor swimming pool without hot spa. Their gym room has cycling machine and running machine, but no weight machine. These are not a major concern because there is great spa facility just across the bridge.

    Beside good service and peaceful atmosphere, they had amazing breakfast as well as outstanding dinner menus. Once you settle in this hotel, there is no need to look for more restaurants. The price was reasonable or similar to other restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    Warm and comfortable
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My top floor room was too warm and flooded with light making sleep difficult. The single bed was very narrow and cramped. The bedroom decor was very uninspiring.

    Warm and comfortable Wonderful pool and spa. Great breakfasts. Excellent location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    With my wife we really loved the hotel and its atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    With my wife we really loved the hotel and its atmosphere. Great location, friendly staff, awesome wellness facilities. We will definitely come again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very nice hotel. The room was nice and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Excellent spa area with sauna, steam bath and infra red cabins. I had half board which was very good ( choice and quality were good ). I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, especially out of the main season when everything is quieter

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    Bad Ischl was NOT bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything

    The staff were extremely helpful. Our luggage was delayed and they did everything possible to help us. Breakfast was bountiful and the outdoor restaurant had a very nice view of the river going through the town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location & will stay again (just not in the summer)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My visit was in the summer, during a time when it reached 80-90F. The hotel is not equipped to deal with heat. There is no air-conditioning, no fans available to guests, and otherwise no air circulation. With rooms positioned directly above the sauna, it can get extremely hot and, for me, this prevented much needed rest. Windows can be opened, but if you have a light on, mosquitoes will invade, as there are no screens. Wifi was extremely slow and often I needed to connect my laptop to my mobile hotspot in order to complete my work.

    The location is on the river, walking distance to the most important places in Bad Ischl. The town itself is a great base to explore Salzkammergut's lakes and mountains, including the UNESCO-listed town Hallstatt. The staff is very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to visit. Every morning, there is a large breakfast buffet and, at the same restaurant, good local food throughout the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Really good hotel, well re-decorated, great rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was rather slow coming out one night, but it was so good we decided it was worth the wait.

    Beautiful large room, fantastic breakfast, really good quality hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    A Beautiful Property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No issues at all.

    This is just a great property. It's a short walk across the river from a beautiful little town. The view from our room was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice, clean and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was overwhelmed with a large party so service was somewhat disjointed.

    Only stayed one night. Nice, suite style room with a small balcony. Clean and comfy. Easy walk from the train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    6.7
    Spa facilities were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too cold and the temperature control did not work; water from the hot springs in the swimming pool was quite cold; breakfast was not impressive; free wifi only worked in the lounge.

    Spa facilities were nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    A desirable property in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property was ideally located and there was nothing to fault. The breakfast buffet was fabulous with so many choices. Comfortable bed with a good size ensuite. A very desirable property

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the temperature of Spa

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and sauna facilities were great. The room was large and gas everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Delicious breakfast, lovely pool and summer terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast, lovely pool and summer terrace. Room was quite spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    we enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wi fi

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Bad Ischl is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large comfortable room. Quiet. Good value. Best hotel on the trip so far. Bad Ischl is a nice little town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Lovely spa hotel by river
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely spa hotel by river All inclusive Helpful staff Fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    It was an awesome and enjoyable stay. I will definitely stay at this hotel should I visit Bad Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Extremely clean. The morning receptionist was consistently very helpful and efficient. Breakfast was extremely healthy and excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.3
    Wellness and pool area amazing!! Breakfast very good, if the beds were more comfy, we would come bac
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were super hard, didn’t sleep at all

    Loved the wellness Oase , so beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    staff, swimming pool, bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet

    staff, swimming pool, bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    4.2
    Haha......should not expect too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Mosquitoes in room on November. In room cleanliness. Etc

    Location. Spa. Breakfast. View

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Very nice clean hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    room very relax and clean, hostel manager very very kindly, thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Cool place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a little bit better but better than what I was expecting.

    Cleanliness, comfort, spacious room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel in an amazing part of Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location though a little difficult to locate at first. Room was great. Breakfast was awesome! I highly recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good. Nice clean and comfortable rooms. The view of the lake and mountains was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition

    Great breakfast. Swimming pool was awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location in charming little town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light and bright breakfast room. Spa area downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice town,comfort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Breakfast was very good,bed ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very good,bed ok.Very nice location,pleasant personal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    Fabulous pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous pool area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    No wifi signal on the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No wifi signal on the room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Perfect as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in Bad Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    --

    Everything was perfect. Thank you so much

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    The breakfast tastes really good and they offered a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast tastes really good and they offered a large room for me

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    A warm and inviting hotel with great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi coverage. Non existent in rooms.

    Great Hotel. Lovely cosy atmosphere, good facilities esp. spa. Would be a great place to spend Xmas.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Bad Ischl
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    --

    Everything was excellent as always. Thank you very much!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Very good brekfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All OK

    Very good brekfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Staff were wonderful, breakfast and dinner fabulous, spa was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great. The eliptical machine is rather old - with no shelf to place a book while working out.

    Staff were wonderful, breakfast and dinner fabulous, spa was awesome, pool was clean and lovely, lots of space to enjoy inside and amazing location right along the Traun river. Lovely walking/hiking around, and adorable town.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    4.6
    Breakfast is really tasty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is not 4 *. The hotel and rooms have fusty smell. We forgot burberry pants in the room, unfortunatelly the stuff did not find it. Hope, someone from the hotel is enjoying wearing burberry :)...you can' t find anyone at the reception after 6 pm. Sorry, really disappointed.

    Breakfast is really tasty.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi Fi did work in bedroom but couldn't get signal in bar downstairs.

    Really enjoyed our stay. Austrian quality and charm at its best. Sauna and pool facilities much more extensive than web images suggested. Best breakfast and meals in Bad Ischl. The steak on the last night was one of the best I've had. Very good staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.9
    The room, the decorations and the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were told the restaurant was open from 7 to 23 . On wednesday and thursdays however is "Ruhetag".in the evening a smaller card. BUT WE WERE NOT INFORMED ABOUT THAT!!!

    The room, the decorations and the food.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    9.6
    Great front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unclear as to which of 3 doors led to reception. Confusing hot water dispenser in restaurant, turns out that the teapot on top is non-functional.

    Great front desk staff. Nice room. Excellent 'lobby' with backgammon tables and comfy chairs aplenty.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.1
    the hotel spa is nice and special, the location is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was very basic and small like 2 stars hotel and not 4 stars. the beds was too hard. breakfast was poor.

    the hotel spa is nice and special, the location is very close to the center in a quite street.breakfast room is nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a good location, huge rooms, great buffet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was a bit unreliable - kept dropping out

    Nice hotel in a good location, huge rooms, great buffet breakfast with a large selection of both hot and cold items

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.3
    The pool, saunas, steam room, infra red room etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only the food I think and this because I'm not a Bavarian or Austrian so don't always want various offal meals or veal. Some diversity of the menu would make this hotel rate even more highly for me

    The pool, saunas, steam room, infra red room etc. were all very good and to be recommended. The masseur was also very accomplished and many aches and pains have been solved The room was also a good size and the view, overlooking the river, was verging on beautiful

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Very, very nice old hotel, beautiful location, nice wellness...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi doesn't really work, at least not in the rooms

    Very, very nice old hotel, beautiful location, nice wellness area, spacious room, lots of nice details, very kind stuff

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.5
    The place is quiet and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is quiet and friendly. clean. Spacious rooms. Very good breakfast, delicious diner .nice spa. Recommended for Relaxation ,or for a base Turing the lake area .

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    10
    A very lovely hotel in Bad Ischl, with super friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very lovely hotel in Bad Ischl, with super friendly staff, always patient with all my questions. Bad Ischl is not a big town. But this hotel is definitely well located, walking distance to everywhere, sit over the river and quite. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. I'll definitely choose here if I come to town next time

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    10
    Wonderful hotel with outstanding cuisine and bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful hotel with outstanding cuisine and bar. Very helpful at the reception desk for first-timers in Bad Ischl. Could not have been better! I will return regularly!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    8.8
    Hospitable staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WIFI signal is weak maybe because we stayed in the last room on the second floor; Toilet would be better if it becomes bigger; Garage could also be bigger, which now requires some skills to drive in and out.

    Hospitable staffs. Clean tower, sheet, bed, tube. Good quality furniture and has its own style. Nice breakfast, hot coffee and warm food. I would definitely come back again.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    8.8
    Bedroom was comfortable and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was unstable and slow.

    Bedroom was comfortable and cosy. Lifts were good. Sauna area was good.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, nice spa area, beautiful garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi not available in the room

    Perfect location, nice spa area, beautiful garden.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    9.6
    the property, the staff, breakfast, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    some of the carpets should be changed

    the property, the staff, breakfast, location food, Xmas decoration was just very fine receptionist was great

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location. Spa area. Breakfast. Spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    all

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    9.2
    Very nice lokality, plesant personal,excelent breakfest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice lokality, plesant personal,excelent breakfest

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Great room, comfortable, helpful staff, off street parking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great room, comfortable, helpful staff, off street parking (book ahead), great location.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    9.6
    Staf,servis,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staf,servis,

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    9.2
    Breakfast, Spa
    • Couple

    Parking was cramped and not cheap

    Breakfast, Spa

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    10
    restaurant, great breakfast buffet, friendly welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    restaurant, great breakfast buffet, friendly welcoming

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    10
    Very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room. The wellness area (pool, sauna, fitness room) is perfect. Breakfast is lovely. The hotel restaurant is good as well.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: