Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Goldenes Theater Hotel Salzburg 4 stars

Schallmooser Hauptstraße 13, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#71 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3105 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Needed more information in the room about exactly what is available locally. Something to browse at leisure or a link to a video of what tours and sights are near. A kettle was not provided in the room.

    Brilliant location but side rooms do not face the river so a clever mirror is placed outside so you can see reflection. Breakfast is fabulous. Staff helpful and speak good English. A great value for money experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has a bar but not much else for meal options however there are lots of places nearby to eat.

    Good location. Room was clean, tidy and well maintained. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is good. The staffs are friendly and nice. They even provide umbrellas for the guests to borrow. The rooms are clean and spacious. We have 2 connected rooms for 3 persons which is beyond our expectation, our kid is so happy about that. The hotel is near the town center where there are a lot of restaurants and shops. The old town center and the river are within 20 min walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing specific

    Breakfast very good. Bed very comfortable. Easy pleasant walk into town. Good restaurants nearby. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Nice quiet area to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did have troublenat breakfast time when there were buus groups t here too. We also couldn't get the air conditioner to work properly.

    It was quiet and away from the busy historical centre but still close to everything. We found a beergarden in the next street which made eating out easy. 5 minute walk from where bus tours left from, and the bus to Bad Ischl/Hallstatt went along this street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were European style - not our cup of tea but we didn't bother to ask them to change them.

    Breakfast great selection. Check in desk people were also very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was refurbished to very cheap standards appropriate for backpackers hostel. The neighbouring building have been used also as cheap accommodations. The air condition is very cheap and for very strange reasons the remote control is held in the reception by request. There is not a single hook in the bathroom for the towels instead they are stored on the cover of the toilet seat. I had a booking for 4* accommodation but found myself in hostel located in not pleasant part of the town.

    There is nothing to like, hotel was advertised as 4* accommodation but actually is 2* in not pleasant area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist were very friendly, warm and helpful. They suggested a number of tours and excursions to South of Salzburg and beyond - the Panorama Tour was excellent!! Bed was comfortable and room was quiet, very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room flooded the entire bathroom and needs looking at Used the hotel bar on our first evening but service was extremely slow - receptionist had to do both and certainly seemed in no hurry to help us Seems to be used by school tours so loud group were in reception area on couple of occasions with loads of kids racing up stairs and down corridors

    Good location for seeing Salzburg. Hotel was fine but few drawbacks. Breakfast spread was fabulous - everything you could want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of attention to detail eg there was not one hook or rail to hang towels in the bathroom. Never encountered this before - once towels were wet we had to drape over chairs !! Air con was good but it had a large bright blue light which illuminated whole room at night . Only 2 pillows and as they were very flat it was hard to prop up to read or watch tv.

    Good location Comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature wasn’t very hot but the AC unit didn’t seem to work very well.

    Very good breakfast and location. It’s so easy to see all of Salzburg! Walking distance to everything. We had a courtyard room and it was very pleasant and quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was as expected.

    Stayed at Goldenes Theater last year. Good value hotel close to the centre of Salzburg. Ideal hotel for short stay. Will probably stay there again. Good selection of whisky in the cosy little bar by the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed the sousages and freshly made pancakes on breakfast. Everyday the same sortiment of food. Super ultra small glasses for drinks in breakfastroom. Room fridge heats more than refrigerate :(( Not free parking for hotel guests.

    Cleanliness of room was perfect. Very comfortable bed. Perfect location of hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom badly designed and small.Bed are ok but needs more and better pillows.

    Good helpful staff.Location within walking distance of city,bedroom of good size with most amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No porters and when I arrived with my luggage and my cane -- I propped open the heavy, heavy front door and asked for help (I am 71) and no one would help me. Also, sheet was soiled on my bed and I had to ask the maid to change it. Only decent thing about the hotel is that is quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the old town. Stay elsewhere if you can.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door and toilet seat both very squeeky and noisy. Overhead attachment for shower head was ill fitted so shower head was mainly spraying onto taps and wall.

    Lovely breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking lots proposed by the hotel are actually located in a public parking on the next stree, so you have to walk from there. Breakfast is quite mediocre and rooms are small. To my mind, this hotel is overpriced.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negatives were that the hotel was very busy at times as it is obviously used by coach parties. Also our shower door didn't fit well (room 112) so the bathroom flooded every time we used the shower The bar area was lovely but the staff had problems dealing with serving drinks and running reception so took about 15 minutes on Saturday night to get drinks.

    The hotel was well situated in this lovely city. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There were some negatives (see below) but they didn't stop our overall enjoyment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 large bed rooms for 4 persons. 10-15 min walk brings you to the city center. The large parking lot is just one block away. The hotel offered a free parking ticket for one day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure was not good. You need to wait for some time in order to get hot water.

    Location is excellent. Rooms are clean and quiet. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water from shower leaks and ends up all over the floor. Breakfast would get a bit repetitive if you stayed for more than 3 nights. No air con so had to have windows open which meant the noise kept us awake. I was charged twice for my stay and when I called them, they refused to help.

    Great location. Clean. Nice powerful hot shower. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Breakfast is adequate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    When taking a shower water was flooding all over the bathroom floor. Door didn't close properly. Had to put towels on the floor to keep feet dry.

    Breakfast was good! Short walking distance to old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - all good

    We were upgraded to a suite which was spacious, comfortable and impeccably clean. Excellent position for visiting all parts of the city. Staff helpful and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The moving shower door made it easy to flood the bathroom - however I think this style is common around Germany so may have just been us!

    It wasn't advertised as a two bedroom place but was - which was perfect for us (2 adults, 2 kids)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked through Bookings.com it was around Euro 85.00. Decides to stay an extra night and same room cost Euro 98.00 or maybe more.

    The receptionist was very helpful and spoke perfect English. Breakfast was excellent, (scrambled egg, bacon, sausages). It was so nice we decided to stay an extra night. Overnight parking was very easy in secure car park across road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room is on the street side; it's nosier than I expected (I was hoping for a better insulation). The room was not spotless. No towel rail or hook in the bathroom. Where are the towels supposed to go?!?

    Location, easy walk from the train station and also to the main attractions

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub surface was peeling off in various places, which was somewhat disgusting. The shower head height was not adjustable, and also inconvenient was the small step from the bathroom, against which more than one person hit their feet. The lack of shades or blackout curtains on the windows was more than a minor annoyance.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great. The room was spacious and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness. Completely absent. Much dust in the room. The bed was full of hair ( not mine) it was someone’s. The view from the window was also not pleasant

    I really liked breakfast and the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage was public (not private), but was only a few blocks from the hotel...hotel patrons get a discounted parking ticket at the reception.

    the location was conveniently located near the pedestrian only shopping streets and on the same side of the river as Mirabell Palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    All ok except no tea,coffee making facilities in the room as is the case in most Austrian hotels.Why this should be so,I do not know.Even in the Far East all hotels have this.I would have enjoyed a morning cup of tea etc!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room is too small. My husband couldn’t turn around in it. The staff didn’t change my towel and just hang on the door.

    The location is great. With a lot of resteraunts around. Near main attractions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located within a short walk from the old town and close to a parking lot. On a freezing night the room was very warm and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the morning was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not warm enough in the room and I went to the receptionist and told her about it and she handed me a remote control for the air conditioning. I turned on the air conditioning and it all turned up fine after all.

    Room, towels, sheets were clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfasts were exceptional.The staff were very helpful. There are good places to eat nearby, the hotels recommendations were spot on. We were met at the hotel door for excursions booked in the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old fashioned bathroom. take over 1 minute to get hot water. map looks like its next to a park...but its an inaccessible mountain. 10 minute walk from the river.

    Nice and clean room. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was turned off at 8pm it was very cold in the room, friendly staff told us that they could not turned it on, they gave us remote controller to turn on heating on the air conditioning, which helped a bit but far from making us comfortable

    - staff was very friendly - it was clean - breakfast was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were basic and rather uncomfortable. Hard mattress and then ultra soft pillows creates a strange combination. Breakfast was good, but the juices were too separated and spoons would have helped to mix the pulp back into the juices. The staff were all a bit too casual. Did not feel that the staff really cared that much. Lobby looked a bit sad and could have used a pep up

    Central location of the hotel and big rooms to stay in. Breakfast was also on point and well taken care of.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the hotel were wonderful! Check in and check out were seamless and quick. We were looked for a budget friendly option near Old Town and this hotel checked every box. While it may not have all of the amenities of a larger hotel, the price was perfect, rooms are pretty large, the location makes all of Salzburg easily accessible, and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ventilation in the bathroom was a bit limited.

    The rooms and bathroom were up to date with comfortable beds, bedding and the bathroom was a good size. The breakfast provided in the nicely appointed dining room was exceptional - with a huge selection of breakfast foods available to choose from including scrambled eggs and bacon under the hot servers.Tees, freshly, brewed coffee, juices, fruit and cereals were all on offer along with a variety of breads and pastries. Excellant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Few little bits could do with repair in the room, i.e. wobbly floorboard, broken hook on bathroom door. And a full length mirror would have been good.

    Brilliant location on the edge of the city but easy walking distance and near lovely shops and restaurants. Good value price. Nice little bar for an early evening drink. Good buffet breakfast, lots of choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom had a broken shower screen and sink. The sink was rectified and shower screen best it could but not very safe with a child.

    Location was fantastic and central to see everything. Breakfast was excellent. Parking was close and secure. Staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location of hotel was good, a fifteen minute walk from the main rail station, close to a number of good restaurants and short walk to the old part of town. Size of room that we had was generous for a family of four, with two separate bedrooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater was intermittent. Breakfast was limited and quality was below average. Toilet came with liquid soap, toilet paper, towels and 2cups.

    Location and nothing else

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bed sheets had weird stains, but hope that's not standard, and rest of the room was super clean.

    Location is good - most places are walkable from there. Especially recommended when traveling by car, as it is easy to reach, but you can still leave your car and walk everywhere. Breakfast is rally good, except of the cafe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a triple room and was upgraded to a 2 room apartment, which we appreciate a lot. The staffs was very friendly and location is excellent, just a short walk to town center. Breakfast was pretty good too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Spacious and hotel friendly hotel. Accessible to all the restaurants and tourist destinations and would love to book it again .exceplent customer service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee could have been better.

    The location is great! Close to the train station, easy walk just over 1 km. 10 minute walk to the old town/city centre. Easy to go anywhere. Breakfast was great, coffee... not so much. Room was clean and spacious. The old town was beautiful and the small mountain at the "backyard" definitely worth a visit! The view from the top is beautiful as well as the way up.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lousy Shower

    The hotel is within a short walk to the center of Salzburg. It is also within a 12 minute walk of the train station. It is located right next to the mountain that overlooks Salzburg. There is a good breakfast and the beds were comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly in giving us directions and advice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit cold

    Very friendly personnel. Good breakfast. Room on the back side was very quiet. 15 min walking from train station. 10-15 min walking from old city center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to Altstadt 10-15 min.

    Everything was perfect. Very clean. Helpful staff. Wifi super. Room size eas ideal In a silent area and also sound proof in the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cold. Colder than the corridor. A/C remote control was provided by request. There was strong disinfectant smell in the room. The door is locked with simple key and the locker was quite loose, so i felt a bit unsecure.

    Very good location for a stroll to the old town. Good price for the location. Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs were terrifying! Very narrow, step, and not the greatest hand rails. Go slowly on them! The rooms were a bit tight, and a funny smell in the bathroom.

    The manager was lovely! He was so helpful and hardworking! Made it all the better. Pretty good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is made not for humans or lets say not for adults! The sink is just 20 cm wide. Heating system is air condition based and madr me healt problems

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady at the reception was unhelpful to the point of being rude. Also, car parking was supposed to be included - but all we got was a map of the area and were told that the streets had free parking till 9 am the next morning and to drive around and look for space. It was a very rainy day and quite an inconvenience. The reception area had a pretty coffee pot brewing (with only hot water though) and milk and sugar kept on the side - what's the point if you don't keep coffee powder and tea bags?!

    The location was the only good part. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely Hotel. we arrived at the hotel way ahead of check in time, but they were nice enough to provide us an early check in even without asking for it. Lovely staff and Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ramp in the entrance. But steps were manageable.

    All rooms were newly renovated. Breakfast was superb. Superb staff from reception to dining area. Great location. Walking distance to city center. Around 500m.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    The room was great. We expected two twin beds and instead got two rooms each with twin beds, which was great. The parking situation was difficult. The hotel has a card you are to use for the "cave" parking. The instructions from the person at the desk were unclear and it proved confusing. They also charged us twice for the room on two different credit cards. I had to contact them to remedy this. It was a nice hotel in a good location but the staff was not very friendly and the parking was difficult.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the services were really nice, I think it is a little bit overpriced.

    It is a really nice hotel located within walking distance of all the touristic places. The staff was helpful and friendly and the rooms were really nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service great breakfast and the concierge even made us a special cup of tea when we were early for breakfast. Close to the old town via street with only foot traffic for most of the way..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work half of the time and location was very inconvenient. Not good value for the cost.

    Room was a good design and reasonable size-very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The disadvantage of being on a main street (Linzer Gasse) is that if you want quiet, you must keep the windows closed. The soundproofing is excellent, though.

    I thought this was a pleasant and convenient hotel. First, I arrived a day early, and the hotel was sold out. The desk clerk (who may be an owner) called around and found me another lodging at a good price. Second, the hotel is conveniently located right on Linzer Gasse, not far from the pedestrian area of Rechte Altstat, and quite close to -- easy walking distance -- to the city center. Third, I thought the breakfast buffet was very good. The hotel does not have an attached restaurant, but there are a number of dining choices with a few blocks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location for walking into the old town. We were able to park in a secure lot around the corner. Good hotel and room was spacious and clean. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some comfort items could be improved. Such as quality of the towels, and amount of soap.

    Location is great - near the main attractions. It was clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very pricey for the average European layout (we opted to walk to a local backerei- 5 min away). Hotel is a tad pricey, however all hotels are about the same in Salzburg cost wise.

    The location was walking distance to the city center, which was our goal. It was easy to walk to from the train station which was a plus. The staff helped us book all of our tours and they had drivers pick us up from the front door (no extra charge).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the bathroom shower head was broken, not properly fixed with the shower hose, always falling down. My son noticed, that in the cheapest students hostels he had never seen something similar. We informed personnel about this problem, but since we stayed for one night only, they promise to repair as soon as possible , hopefully next guests will be more lucky.

    Altstadt is very close, 5-10 min by foot to reach restaurants, shops, museums, 15 min from Central railway station. Very friendly and polite personnel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing important enough to state here as a negative for the property. Just that I couldn't stay longer!

    Awesome location with a short walk across the river and to so many attractions, bars, and restaurants in Salzburg. Nice quiet rooms and large comfortable bed. The breakfast and parking are extra but worth it in my opinion. This was not our first time in Salzburg, but it was at this property. We will definitely be booking here again for any future visits. A++

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't find anything we didn't like about this hotel. Maybe tea/coffee making facilitites woud be good in the room.

    Hotel was in a great location - only 10 mins (max) walk to Old Town Salazburg, over the bridge. Hotel was lovely, room was clean, breakfast had great choices avaialble. The guy on reception was really helpful. Hotel also looked after our luggage after checking out as flight not until 7pm, thus giving us more time in Salzburg Town without carrying luggage around. Really lovely hotel, would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in Salzburg.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit away from city around 15 mins walk from the hotel to city.

    Great Breakfast offered. Very Helpful and friendly staff. rooms were really nice and comfortable. All required travel information was available at the hotel service desk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I would stay there again.

    The location was excellent, the staff were very friendly and were able to answer questions about Salzburg. The breakfast was fantastic with fresh bread rolls and everything else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Rather quiet. Very close to the historic city centre / pedestrian area (5 minutes by foot). Easy accessibilty by bus from the train station (3 stops). Good breakfast. Very friendly staff. Good price value for Salzburg. Recommended for a short city trip. We stayed for three nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very very very very very very bad internet Please do consider this hotel if you need good internet for your business travels Parking is approx 100 m away Breakfast is not satisfying The furniture and equipments are old

    Relatively close to the shopping area of Salzburg Clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on ground floor, looking on side street where was the reconstruction area. It was noisy in the morning. Bath tube is a little bit too small.

    Hotel location is good, close to the city center, 10 min walking, so you don't need a car at all. Room was enough big, clean. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was quite big and good. We got the hotel garage, what was convenient as you do not have to wary about the car. It is good value for the money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the cheapest but prices in Salzburg are high at the time of the festival (when we visited).

    Reasonable breakfast. Free wifi. Room for family of 4 was great as in effect 2 rooms separated by a hallway providing space and privacy. Easy walking distance to old town and sights. Given complimentary air conditioning ( usually charged for) by hotel as wether was hot- much appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Air Conditioning
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The door locking system was strange. You had to use the same key to lock the door and turn on the lights. So we had to use a flashlight to see the key holes. 2. Our room faced a side street so was a bit noisy but not enough of an issue to complain and request a new room. 2. The shower stall was too small. 3. The room safe was not screwed into the wall. 4. The room price was too high for the value I think.

    1. The location was good - about a 10 minute walk to Old Town. 2. The bed was comfortable. 3. The reception desk personal were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at the reception were not friendly and welcoming at all! except the young lady at the reception.

    Room was clean and comfty. Public parking was near by. It's about 10-15 minutes to the river and old town. There are plenty of restaurants near by the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Goldenes Theater Hotel Salzburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: