Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Goldenes Schiff 4 stars

Adalbert-Stifter-Kai 3, 4820 Bad Ischl, Austria

#7 of 11 hotels in Bad Ischl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 435 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Small but comfortable stay with beautiful views over the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even with Navigation the hotel is difficult to find. You can either travel down a secluded dirt road or navigate a long one-way system around the town. Signage was limited.

    Location very central to the town with a relaxing atmosphere both inside and out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Mildly inconvenient. Wouldn't stay again or recommend to others.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hot water only available intermittently for 2 days. No air conditioning. (it was hot). Unable to use credit card to pay because terminal was down. Took my credit card photocopy with signature instead. No compensation offered for inconvenience of no hot water.

    Pleasant registration staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    Does not worth more than 50 € per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t value more than 2 stars. On the pictures there were only renovated rooms. The room we stayed looked very old, small and it was extremely hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Very warm and friendly family-run hotel perfectly situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very warm and friendly family-run hotel perfectly situated in the centre of town. Clean and modern room. Very thoughtful and helpful staff at reception. Excellent restaurant situated on the riverbank. Excellent base to explore the local region. Definitely want to return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing important... little bit surprised about RESTAURANT... dinner - reservation needed limited parking - could be problem, but they helped us to find extra place 👌for little money

    BAD ISCHL and all region atmoshere 👍, great breakfast, very nice room with all equipment, hotel in quiet place and still in centre close to everything (THERMEN) , reception 👌.... we will come back again with pleasure

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.3
    great location and nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    elevator small and old, have to wait for long time

    great location, although little hard to find with cars since too many one way streets and construction sites nearby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.9
    Well Located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is used by bus tours and it was very busy and noisy in the breakfast room if we coincided with them. Also there is 1 lift and it continually was tied up moving the tour groups and their luggage in the mornings. The staff, reception and breakfast staff, whilst acknowledging us, did not engage with us. Perhaps just too busy dealing with tour groups

    Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The hotel is in a very central location, close to bus/train station for day trips out, and easily walkable around the town Wi fi was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    We stayed in the top floor Sky Suite which had a great view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Large tour groups stay at the hotel which means that turning up to breakfast early meant there were no tables.

    We stayed in the top floor Sky Suite which had a great view of the river and town. Very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    More of a boutique hotel. Make sure you are on the 3rd floor or above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish they had a gym instead of their "wellness" facility. Rather overpriced at 148 Euros for a basic double room - no view, no goodies in the bathroom such as shampoo/body lotion. We thought the price was 118 Euros but apparently although we had booked a double room, that price was only for 1 person. So we ended up paying 30 Euros more for one night. You had to use the bulk sized existing shampoo/shower gel that was fastened to the wall.

    Breakfast was great. Bed large - actually the traditional 2 twin beds pushed together to make a King-size (U.S. King). Location great for town. We didn't like the location of the first room we were allocated as it was right next to the elevator but there was no problem switching to a quieter location. Like the bath robes. Nice to have a minibar that we could use to refrigerate things and it wasn't one of those 'sensor' types.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    EXCELLENT BREAKFAST BUFFET, FRIENDLY SERVICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    POOR APEARANCE AT FRONT ENTRANCE TO THE HOTEL VIA THE CAR PARKING. UNSATISFACTORY ONE ELEVATOR TO SERVE ALL GUESTS AND PORTER SERVICE WITH GUESTS LUGGAGE WHEN FULLY OCCUPIED AT CROWDED CHECK-IN AND DEPARTURE AND AT B/F TIME.

    EXCELLENT BREAKFAST BUFFET, FRIENDLY SERVICE.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall the hotel did well but you comparison to other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel did well but you comparison to other hotels in Austria the breakfast was disappointing. For a 4* hotel the communal lounge facilities were limited. The staff were excellent throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent family holiday in the heart of Salzkammergut region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely friendly staff, nice, comfortable room with breathtaking view, very good breakfast (e.g. freshly squeezed orange juice for free). Quiet, charming neighborhood, the hotel situated directly at the river, only a few minutes walk form the city center. Excellent restaurant for dinner/lunch with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Very excellent restaurant but a little bit too expensive
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is right in the center and it is very convenient. Nearby there is a famous cake shop--Zeuner, and also a restaurant in the same building of the the restaurant (not part of restaurant) is highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Hotel Goldenes Schiff was a part of making Bad Ischle a great place to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have liked an iron and coffee making facilities in the room.

    We loved the view over the river, the central location, the friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel, conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier. The coffee was terrible. I visit Europe from the US with certain expectations. One of them is that Austria has amazing coffee. This coffee was NOT amazing. It was very weak with a bad flavor.

    It is very close to everything interesting in the town. Easy walking distance to the Therma, and even closer to Zauner.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast A+
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hotel parking space is not sufficient for all guests. That was a bit inconvenient, though the hotel staff found solution in the public parking space, as well they covered the parking cost. Overall the room was showing a very old aspect. Though everything was clean, it was, by all means, very old.

    Breakfast A+ Designated room to keep our ski gear. Helpful staff - though some left the impression that could be a bit more friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Great location, staff and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower/bath with moveable glass is very difficult and leaks out water to floor. This could be improved to make safer particularly for older people.

    Breakfast service, location, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    it is an elegant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is an elegant hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is small

    location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Best location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable stay in a central location, although not a memorable building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very good selection of food at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    everything was awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    everything was awesome

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay in old Austrian village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Room with a little balcony and view over the river - charming old Austrian village around the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for a short visit - if you get a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really easy but acceptable rooms.

    The location of the hotel is great, the breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    8.8
    good place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    some strong smell in the room. got the window open all time to let go the smell.

    location. staff. breakfast. clean. nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmoshohere, location and staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    4.6
    The hotel is ok but not worth the money. Its ok, more like a 3 star but 4/5 star prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were very hot

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    3.3
    Over priced ,overrated and poor room although we were promised an upgrade free of charge they
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only its position and car park

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.9
    Location, big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of air condition in room

    Location, big room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    9.6
    Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centeral location. Clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Bad Ischl is small and the hotel is located in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No view on my room. Toilet not very pleasantly designed. No toiletry. Breakfast is average. A few steps after the lift to get to another side where my room is located.

    Bad Ischl is small and the hotel is located in the center of everything. Lobby is a bit small and room is of old fashioned but still functional. Staff is helpful and informative.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    just stayed for a night so wasn't expecting much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    only complaint was the wifi signal wasn't very strong!

    just stayed for a night so wasn't expecting much! the room even though a side room was comfortable and the breakfast was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    Our room was spacious with a lovely view overlooking the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was spacious with a lovely view overlooking the River Traun. The bed and shower were good and the windows could be opened for fresh air. The breakfast was good. There is a supermarket very close. There was no noise from neighbouring rooms. A kettle was supplied. It is centrally located for access to all the sites. The restaurant is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    5.4
    Late check-out available.
    • Solo traveller

    No communication between reception and housekeeping staff. Vinegary towels. Unable to lie in because of the noise through the wall. And personally, the carpet floor.

    Late check-out available.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    3.3
    free wi-fi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No toiletiers You should climb by the fire escape stairs to the luxe rooms (carrying your own luggage as there is no luggage service!). There’s no valet parking either. Plus the parking lot is too small and there are usually no places to park your car. Only bedroom is air conditioned, other rooms and the bathroom are boiling hot (because it’s the roof level and the ceiling is partly made of glass). Rooms are designed poorly and tasteless, planning is very weird (there are two rooms connected by the bathroom with the toilet right in the middle - so if you’re trying to go from the bedroom to the sitting area you might actually get in the way of someone in the bathroom - and the bathroom doors can’t be closed from within). We were unhappy with this hotel and we tried to ask the manager if we could reduce our stay without penalties but the manager (he introduced himself as “the chef”) was immediately rude to us, saying: “What do you want me to do? Our hotel is very good and if it's hot, just close the curtains”. I understand that some hotels have non-refund policy, but there’s no crime in kindly asking for the solution if you really don’t like the place and there’s absolutely no reason to be rude and arrogant. Also there was a very ugly incident in the restaurant. There was information on the web-site that the hotel restaurant is open until 11 PM, but warm food is available until 10 PM. It was 10:15 PM, I was hungry and I went to the restaurant to see if I can maybe get some salad and drinks. The restaurant stuff were extremely rude, they told me that they were already closed and that I was stupid and didn’t know how to read.

    free wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    Very good location, both close to the station and the center...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing really. Value for money. Very much recommended.

    Very good location, both close to the station and the center of the town. The rooms were spacey enough and the river view is fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Really friendly and helpful staff ( we arrived earlier than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Really friendly and helpful staff ( we arrived earlier than checking in time and the lady at the reception helped us to move in earlier); the location of the hotel is just perfect; rooms are light and big; I noticed that the hotel staff is trying to introduce some modern services (Apple clock, you could choose the type of the pillow you want)-that's commendable

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    The location is wonderful, the staff are friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wall was thin for my personal liking. I could hear toilet flushing and showers from the next room.

    The location is wonderful, the staff are friendly and the breakfast was really awesome. Close to the amazing Cafe Zauner!

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    7.9
    It was a great hotel to stay in while in Bad Ischl.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no plugs to charge your phone near the bed at night.

    It was a great hotel to stay in while in Bad Ischl. The hotel was close to everything, there was even a garden show on while I was there and I got free entry! the staff were really helpful if I needed anything, directions or recommendations. And the WiFi was also great!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    8.8
    Friendly;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only one small lift for a very busy hotel BREAKFAST ROOM WAS OFTEN TOO BUSY WITH HOARDS OF JAPANESE TOPURISTS

    Friendly; helpful reception staff NICE ROOM WITH ALL FACILITIES

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location of the hotel is excellent. It is located in the city center, close to the thermal bath and the view is great (we had a room in one of the upper floors; when booking a room at this hotel, make sure to ask for that as well!) Staff is friendly and helpful, the services provided by the hotel are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    I love this hotel and town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Late proposal for Silvesterpackage

    I love this hotel and town

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    10
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints of any kind

    Very clean Very helpful staff Great location Good food Have encouraged friends to book We plan to come back next year

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Location & space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location & space

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's so pool. But eirothermen spa is 1 min walk

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    7.9
    Everything nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Needs urgently air conditioning cause at hot periods you can't sleep.

    Everything nice

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    10
    Great corner suite with lovely views along the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great corner suite with lovely views along the river. Good restaurant with varied menu and friendly, professional service.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.8
    Terrific Location, fab breakfast, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrific Location, fab breakfast, lovely staff. Loved the massage bed and enjoyed delicious meal in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.9
    Location, excellent WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of air conditioning

    Location, excellent WiFi

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    Hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed at this hotel in 37 degree heatwave. Lack of air conditioning did not make for a pleasant experience.

    Hotel in good location.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    8.3
    Great location, friendly staff, decent breakfast and decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff, decent breakfast and decent restaurant

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    No air conditioning, and it was a very hot night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air conditioning, and it was a very hot night.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    excellent location, very good breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    almost no wifi in my room

    excellent location, very good breakfast, helpful staff

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: