Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Zell am See 4 stars

Esplanade 4-6, 5700 Zell am See, Austria

#35 of 50 hotels in Zell am See

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1631 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad staff Bad room service No iron no water bowler everything is charged compared with other hotels and the prices. I ordered a coffee from the kitchen they took around 45 mins and when i asked them they informed me that they forget the order and the room service for the coffee is 7 euro extra as a service charge on the price.

    the location Clean rooms Bathroom clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    The hotel is 4 stars and there is no kettle or coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 4 stars and there is no kettle or coffee machine in the room. The most annoying thing was that I paied 330 € for my son staying (5 years old) which is written in Booking.com he's staying is free of charge. They told me that they doesn't accept the policy that mentioned in Booking.com and thet their own policy. One more thing, my room was in another building and the only way to go there was underground tunnel and it has stairs... it was very bad stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.8
    Will not return. Hotel is overrated, perhaps a 3 star.hotel. Needs major refurbishing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is getting old and needs a lot of TLC. The pillows are horrible. Very noise from one room to another.

    Beautiful walks and cute town. Restaurant personnel very friendly and food was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    One of the worst I tried in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have had an issue with the manager assistant of the restaurant, Very bad behavior and lack of professionalism and during dinner we found some hair in our food and his reactions were absolutely unacceptable. Although we have explained the problem we have got not even a word from the management.

    One of the worst I tried in my life. Staff are not friendly specially to gulf region families.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    View, location, friendly staff, rooms and beds are perfect,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the food is not to everyone's taste. No Air Condition for the hot days,

    View, location, friendly staff, rooms and beds are perfect, big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    Worst hotel experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else... I’m a frequent travel who traveled the world... this hotel by far was the worst! staff were very rude including the reception manager... there is no room service after 9 and no drink after 10 ... not even ice! Ironing your clothes in the room is not allowed as per their policy so you have to send it to them which they also charge you for!!! The food provided under the booking package no one could eat! And you have to check out by 10:30am! ...As I mentioned earlier... apart from the view ... there is nothing to vote for! If I knew all above in advance I wouldn’t have booked there

    The only bonus the hotel has is the location and the view from the suit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort room equipment was very poor, like in 2-3* hotel, cheapest furniture and bathroom equipment Wi fi in the room was breaking every 20 minutes

    Perfect location, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Small Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really liked the hotel. The only problem is that sometimes Zell am see gets little too warm and there is no AC. The other thing is what they call the snack which a pice of cake and that the included dinner doesn't include the drinks

    The location is beyond amazing The breakfast was good The dinner was good The Staff were among the nicest and most helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    The location is amazing, especially from the lake side.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way of parking is hard and tight. The staff needs more training. No room service after 10:00 pm.

    The location is amazing, especially from the lake side. Breakfast is good and the tables are available on the garden are very close to the lake, highly reccommended for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.2
    first and last
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1-hotel private parking not free!! im their guest why they charge me? 2-No AC, this is the biggest and best hotel in zell am see 3-There is a game behind the name of type of room, example: the title of room "family room or suite" but in reality its only for 2 adult if you have kids they will charge you extra as they did with me. 4-Room service, if you order anything even water or spoon they will charge you every single request. I will not stay at this hotel again.

    in center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    The staff were polite, the breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was poor! Housekeeping would show up only if asked for! We asked for tissues and were given but the next day the other housekeeper took it. The bedsheets were old

    The staff were polite, the breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful location, stunning view, close
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a high middle eastern population, which you should be aware of, since it is in central Austria and not probably expecting that. But in no way was a factor in having fun or doing activities in the area.

    Beautiful location, stunning view, close to activities, and great food. Loved it loved it loved it!!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    Expensive, rooms were warm to hot as there are No A/C in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not comfortable including pillows. Toilet was separated from the bathroom. Flying insects in the rooms. Spiderwebs were in the Balcony. Internet provided to one of the rooms did NOT work during our stay.

    Location, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very hot.. very noisy... one elevator and it's very slow... car parking Is tight and no space ... dinner options were very limited... front desk extremely slow... the amount of money paid was not worth the stay

    The location was good near everything.. that's it

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Best food in zell am see
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to upgrade the rooms to 5 star furniture. Because really it's so poor.

    The hotel resturant have the best kitchin the food thier is so exceptional and very very good hi end. I give 7 star for the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Bad hotel 2 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C Old furniture Very noisy Bad breakfast Don’t accept the room if it’s on the back side the train will wake you up Lots of insects even in the food “breakfast “ 10€ deposit if you want adopter You will not enjoy at night in the balcony because they are using large lights for the building First and last time

    I got two rooms one of the room with lake view “only” the view was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful location. Make sure to go for diner before 9pm. They close 9pm sharp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I request to chang the room. So Mohammed from the reception give other room but he didn't till me its lower category. Until I find out my self. The staff in the restaurant are not polite.

    The location. The reception manger is very helpful and the reservation as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The best breakfast I have ever tasted in my life especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best breakfast I have ever tasted in my life especially hummus. If you reserve a room in this hotel never miss the breakfast. Location also is very nice. I would love to visit this hotel next times.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train passes right behind the hotel and is VERY noisy!! Room for 250€ much too small! Terrible matterass, very uncomfortable. In summer there are A LOT of Arabs around with lots of children. Nervous atmosphere and not at all a relaxing holiday hotel. In general I did not like my stay here at all!

    Position on the lake is nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.. But if you a light sleeper like me the casino downstairs may be a bit annoying late at night

    Everything.. Location, atmosphere, friendly staff, breakfast buffet was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    3.8
    We will avoid this hotel next time visiting this area!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn t enjoy our stay, because they gave us a room in the Casino Building near the hotel not in the main bulinding and there is a railway at 4 m and trains pass every 20 minutes and make a horrible noise! Lack of food variety, old furniture and the hotel is overpriced for what they offer!

    The location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Brilliant would have liked to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a huge balcony and 2 sunloungers which were great . We had sun on balcony till lunch time which was a bonus. Half board was great value and as some of the guests didn't like each menu the waiter Ivan mixed things up for them so everyone was happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.3
    Location & breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are without air conditioner , last year they offered me a fan .. this time upon chick-in I requested for a fan & they confirmed that it will be delivered to my room but they didn't .. few hours later I've contacted the reception to remind them but and they told me the hotel doesn't provide fans !!

    Location & breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.2
    Below our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Balcony was full of scary poisoning spiders and the staff at the reception hardly took action and upgraded our room, which obviously were for free to please us.

    N/A

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, not comfortable sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst beds and mattresses ever experienced in all the hotels I have stayed in. We where a couple and When I asked for a king size mattresses and bed covers (rather than two queen size mattresses and two separate covers) hotel receptionist sarcastically replied that king size mattresses are not available in the hotel and in whole zell am see.

    The location was. The breakfast was good but need more variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Generally was a good stay and hopefully some improvent to be considered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the noise during sleep (it was too much) Breakfast meat is limited to pork, should be varies between pork,beef and chicken

    Location is excellent Staff are helpful Rooms style is very nice and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful. But the only disadvantage is that the reception is on the first floor and the rooms and the rooms are on the higher floors, when you are going to your room from the reception you have to go downstairs so you can reach the elevator to get to the rooms. But still one of the best hotels in europe.

    Everything. Specially the delicious kinds of cake at the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    romantic palce
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had to pay for the drinks at the end and they didn't tell us that it was not included in the package.

    the atmosphere the location the balcony the dinner

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    Highly disappointing! Don't book
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old fashion. Room was very small (family room), looked much more spacious on the pictures. Pool is not worth mentioning, just for kids to jumps around. Classic SPA is tiny, two little sauna' s with one shower and 4 chairs. All not good looking or inviting. Grand SPA costs extra, not sure for what since it is also quite small and not the newest (at least does not look so. Dinner was bad. Everything was pre-cooked and held warm until it got served. Dishes were an assembly of ingredients without real plan behind. Salad bar was sad too. Vegetables were apparently pre-cut the day before. Nothing was freshly made, but gave the impression it was bought in a bucket. Nothing positive to mention regarding the food. Service was OK, but there is big room for improvement. All of this for a self confident price, way too high for what was offered. Not to be recommended.

    Location on the lake is nice, same as the look of the historical building. That is about it what is positive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Food was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bad could be bigger. Also pool are should be restricted to diving. I guess that’s why they told me that in second spa which they charge children are not allowed. During the dinner we ordered 2 bottles of water for 2 of us. We get 0,7l bottles per person. When I asked do they have small battles they told me they do. I don’ understand???

    Food was very nice. Great location. Very helpful and polite staff. More or less everything...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing getaway at an iconic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our nice room was located a bit far from the reception and the pool. We had to pass a cold corridor on the way to the pool, which itself is a bit too small and outdated. I briefly got stuck in the elevator, which was not pleasent at all.

    Very helpful staff, both at the reception and in the restaurant. Location excellent, on the lake and in the heartt of the resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Exceptionally beautiful hotel in an exceptionally beautiful resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The secondary bedroom in our suite had no natural light other than from the living room into which it opened through glazed doors.

    Having a sauna in the penthouse Grand Spa every day after skiing was a great treat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful building, very nice staff, clean rooms, good location by the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed at the hotel for one week last year. Our room was located in the main building and we loved it. This time our room was located in the other building and we had to go by a tunnel to go to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. The tunnel was cold and not comfortable to pass it in the morning :(

    Good location by the lake, the building is beautiful. Clean room, very nice staff and a welcome drink :) The Spa is excellent. A very good restaurant, especially the breakfast which was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.9
    lake view from the window is priceless :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms are outdated, dirty walls, dirty carpet, bathroom tiles from year 70’. No iron in the room, you have to pay 5 euro for t-shirt ironing, no possibility to make a tea or coffee in the room. Its posh hotel but you get shampoo and washing gel in the same bottle? , no hair conditioner. Regular spa is poor and for more sauna variety you have to pay additional money unless you are guest of most expensive rooms.

    Location is perfect, lake view from the window priceless. Food in the restaurant very tasty and wide. Reception and restaurant service is great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    Loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All good.

    Loved everything. Location is amazing. Staff super helpful and friendly. Restaurant staff great. Clean, comfortable rooms. 2 bedroom suite is only suitable for a family thought, as the 2nd bed is in the sitting room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and accommodating with excellent meals but some minor service problems let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-out was disasterous. We waited more than 35 minutes and asked 3 times for our bags to be collected and no-one ever showed. It ruined what otherwise was a great experience. Also, it wasn’t great that you could not individually control the temperature in your room and wifi was not accessible in the restaurant.

    Bed was comfortable and view over the lake was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    I stayed 1 night so when I reach there the offer me a...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed 1 night so when I reach there the offer me a parking and they took the car to the parking next day was my check out I ask for the car they send the driver to bring the car every thing was good I was going to intelaken it’s mean 6 hours of draving Fainally when I rech to my next point I found a big accident in front right side of the car The accident it’s from grand hotel staff and they didn’t told about it When I call them they said please come back to Check the car !!!! I said check the camera Any way don’t trust to give your car to the driver

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    The location and the views of the lake from the room are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't very well maintained.. there were spiders and insects everywhere in the room and the balcony. In addition, i saw a rat in my balcony! It's a shame that i couldn't enjoy the amazing views of the lake from the balcony because of the rats, spiders and insects everywhere. I didn't like the dinner in the hotel, the set menu options were very limited and the food wasn't that good

    The location and the views of the lake from the room are amazing. The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    This is my 3rd time in this hotel and I love this hotel near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is my 3rd time in this hotel and I love this hotel near the lake and I love the small city with nice people and the place is very quit and the view is amazing so I recommend this hotel and I love it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.7
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bed sheet was not comfort and clean - No Bathrobe was provided in bathroom - Front Desk Team was not friendly & corporative - Check out time is too early 10:30 - They need to put coffee machine in the room - Details provided to me forHoneymoon package was not clear

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Indeed a grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was included, it is an hotel food, had better.

    The Grand hotel stands to its name, it is a grand hotel, for a 4 stars hotel it is a superb hotel, highly recommended, at least by us after staying in a deluxe room with a lake view. The stuff was amazing, reception stuff amazing, dining all stuff superb. Every corner of the hotel is well thought and you can see that someone really cares.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.2
    I will not come back to this old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't as expected to be, the latrine was far away form the basin. Moreover, if you are an arab make sure to bring your own Shataf. The staff behavior was at the rock bottom unfortunately.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    I loved it the location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron in the room if you ask they will charge you :( if you book for massage and changed your mind you will be charged there is no flexibility in their rules, everything by the book

    The staff were friendly and joyful, clean hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I took have board, but i was shocked that it is not iclude water or juice at dinner, and i have to pay them. Also, food is repeated and i was bored with the same food. Desserts are same no changes for the whole stay.,

    Location is great..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    We had stayed here before and this was our honeymoon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing to dislike. this is our 3rd stay here and it just get better and better.

    We had stayed here before and this was our honeymoon. This hotel is absolutely brilliant. The food, the staff and the location are simply class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels need upgrading. A lot of Arabs stay here

    Great location. Beautiful hotel, a classic but well maintained and updated. Excellent breakfast. LRgevrolm with view of the lake and mountains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    enjoyable real grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light outside the room was too strong and it was not turned out till 12 at night although we asked for it to be turned of several times and since 8 pm another thing, there were two spiders webs in our room

    The location was so close to the main city center and the metro station, the view to the lake was over the moon, and the staff were really helpful especially Suzane another thing that we really enjoyed was the paddling boats of the hotel, we took an hour and a half trip in the lake and it was splendid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful and comfortable and happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I find that conditioning and parking are not free

    The hotel is clean and its rooms are excellent but it does not have air conditioning and its location is very excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    6.7
    Great hotel except cleaning service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the cleaning service, they leave the dirty towel without changing or provide new one specially we were a family with 2 small kids, not providing shampoo and shower gel, small spiders in the room.

    The location was so great and love the views from window, absolutely I will suggest that hotel for people who love the nature the view of lake and green mountain was amazing , stuff in the reception and concierge are so kind and helping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I send a request to the hotel to get a room in the third floor but they told me that they didn't receive it. They charged as for a children while they didn't charged my friend who reserved later and when I asked them, they said that it depends on the season and I think it's not fair

    The location was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Fantastic location but hotel needs re-furbishment and food quality could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is quite dated and rooms needs upgrading. Food quality was average compared to other hotels in Austria.

    Location of the hotel with fantastic views across the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    The location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff, they forced me to rent another room because I didn't mention by mistake that we are 4 persons two adults and two child's while I was booking a family room with 4 beds!

    The location only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    4.6
    waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many think we did not like.when we check in.they tell us there is tea time included on half board.when we go to saloon for tea time at 16:00.there was macaroni and very bad taste soup are free.tea and coffee was extra charge.this was the first tricky.second tricky to be become at dinner all ingredients in food very bad quality even breads.we could not eat dinner for two night.at morning there was no english breakfast tea sack. I ask waiteress to bring she say is finished advice me drink earl grey tea bag.I tell her call manager then they bring english breakfast tea bag.they did this for two day.shower sink to be empty sending the waters to dump in two hours.there is big trash container in garden all day stay there like a fabric and morning at 08:00 clock they move it to approach the trucks this cause noise while sleeping.hot weather windows are open.finally one more thing I have seen in garden while at dinner time.I told the lady manager she even could not speak about this matter.I become unhappy and nervous with this hotel.never again.

    Location and parking facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location and half board is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was not fair, in addition to that they request 127 Euro/ Night for each kid So i have to pay additional 2400 Euro!!!!! This is totally unfair, i told them the price should be incliding kids under 11 as we have booked 2 room Suite and Grand Suite which has by default 4 beds in the suite! They said hotel policy every kid have to pay 117 euro per night! I told her can i refund she laugh and said booking reservation is non refundable So i paid the extra and i have told her loadly in front of all the people on the lobby " I promise you i will not come back and i will report this to booking" She says fine! This lady was the hotel manager 👎🏻

    Location os wooow

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    I would love to come again to zell am see and to the same hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price policy .. they charge per person not per room . I don't know why .. but the proce was very high per person .. We enjoyed our stay to the maximum even the rate was ver very high .

    1-Location ... as if zell am see was built around the hotel .. it is the best location ever in zell am see . 2- hotel design !! Amazing .. breathtaking .. classic .. very elegant .. you feel like living in a palace . 3- Room .. three levels suite .. two bed rooms .. three toilets .. private sauna .. and balcony .. a panoramic view of the lake .. 4- restaurant : halve circle glass walls white wood frames makes it one of kinde . Food was amazing . 5- parking .. I had a parking at the front easy access to my car but of course not free .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall is very Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -There were very bad smell coming from the bath room.

    -The hotel on the lake. -Location of the hotel is heart of Esplenade. - Rooms were re-enervated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    3.8
    The city is beautiful but hotels are very poor and expensive. I will never come back to that city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very hot as no AC available and when opening the balacony door a lot of spiders live on the door frame disturbing any guest sleeping by their net and movement onto the room celing , insects and mosquitoes are everywhere inside the room . Half board is breakfast and dinner but very tricky as they suppling limited cheap menue .

    Lake Location near the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Nice location, but
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price shown in booking.com was not honored by the hotel! They claimed that the price was based on 2-people occupancy even though it is a unit that can easily sleep 4+ people (two-bedroom suite with two queen beds and one sofa bed)! I ended up paying almost double the booking price just to accommodate my children! The half-board included in the price is not very good, both variety-wise and quality-wise! Also, the breakfast buffet could be extremely improved. It seems the hotel failed to consider the background and food preference of the majority of its guests. No A/C in rooms. While the weather outside is beyond beautiful, it can only be enjoyed in open areas like a terrace or a balcony, but the design of windows prevents adequate air draft inside the rooms. The fact that I need to use stairs to get from the parking garage in the basement to the lobby, then walk to the elevator to get to my room is an old design and was a bit inconvenient - but it is an old hotel after all. Check-out time is at 10:30!!! That's too early considering that the check-in is at 15:00!!! And no chance for a complimentary late check-out either!

    Very nice staff. Beautiful view on the lake. Adequate parking space. Location is very close to everything in the town. It is very lively.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The train passing under my window every 20 min and even during the night! Better pay more but stay with lake view!

    Location, lake view, food during prepayed dinner, outside sitting !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    This was my second time visiting the Grand Hotel. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amazing location, food, and service. The view of the lake from the back of the hotel is nothing short of spectacular. At breakfast and dinner, they cater to your every need. And the food is out of this world delicious. It's like eating at a Michelin starred restaurant! Everything about this hotel says 5 stars. I plan to visit every summer from now on. It is one of the most beautiful hotels in Europe!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.4
    I like the location of the hotel and the surrounding areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the toilet and the stairs in the suite also the cleaning is poor as well as the facility such as the iron , before it was available but not any more, dinner is not that much nice

    I like the location of the hotel and the surrounding areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    next time ill not stay in this hoel
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no AC in the room, my room was very hot and the weather was cold

    I like the location of the hotel, the breakfast was good , the dinner was not good, the stuff r very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Two-Bedroom Suite with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can't book more than two people for one room even if its two bedroom in booking.com. Than the hotel will ask you to pay more. For Ex. My booking was about 430 Euro for the two bedroom p/n the hotel charged me 740 Euro. I called booking they said: If you don't agree to the rate we will cancel it..

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except the stuff

    Nothing to share because I got shocked so I decided to leave the hotel early morning and come at night for sleep... except the stuff are so friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.8
    Avoid this once grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Avoid this hotel. The fact it is operated as a package destination for Middle Eastern customers is not the problem; even though it is curious to see predominantly Arab men and women in niqabs and hijabs in a small Austrian hotel and town. The problems with this hotel include it being overpriced, the rooms too small and poorly furnished and the advertising practices misleading. Using Boking.com to secure a price/room is only half the story. The hotel subsequently emails you (if you have children) wanting to know their exact ages so they can add further charges, up to 80% of an adult. This can result in your room charges almost doubling in price.

    Great location on the lake front and dining rooms/bars/terraces are well furnished and spacious. It was once a Grand Hotel with great history.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful but crowded and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded area and railway crossing that frequently closes and nobody can cross. Be vigilant and watch out for crossing train, cars, bicycles, motorcycles and people. Beggers at hotel entrance. Do not spend more than 3 nights as the area is small and crowded specially in seasons.

    Beautiful location specially with lake view rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    6.7
    The rooms which comes with lake view has the best view ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is not good at all. There is a train passing next to the property, so you can not sleep really well. There is no AC in all rooms in the hotel, so it is hot in July and August. Rooms are too small, and the parking garage emtrance and exit is too small and you have to pay for the parking everyday.

    The rooms which comes with lake view has the best view ever.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Great location, with not comfortable stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few Staff serving the property The staff are not friendly If you need something, you should go down to the receiption to collect ! imagine! Car park costs 10 euro per day ! Come on ! The dinner is not suitable for arabian people at all ! The room is not that clean Couldn't sleep because of the train passing sound (24/7)

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Best location in zell am see, staff bad dinner noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner poor poor 200% and not good for arabs at all, irons not allowed in rooms, rooms which has city view noisy coz of the train and cafe's and no air conditions and small

    Location 200%

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    5.8
    Service personal wasn't enough professional for a 4*S...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service personal wasn't enough professional for a 4*S hotel! The maintenance of the hotel was cheap and not good . The restaurant offered amazing meals and the SPA was really great! Besides the fact that at one point people were outside the sauna taking pictures with other guests trying to enjoy the wellness aria... of course naked! Therefore the wellness experience was not that positive. The response of the staff was :"nobody was at the reception"... this should really not happen in such a renomated Hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    great location poor, cold cooked breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we opted for the cooked breakfast, bacon eggs etc... however on both mornings we ate the food was cold. give the high prices I think its reasonable to expect better!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    Luxury Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The iron can not be used in the room. The room keychain is heavy.

    Very luxury hotel but it is very costly. The hotel need some modren touch: - using electronic key card, no one know use the iron keys - Coffe machine in the room now is available in the most of 4 & 5 stars hotels. Regards, Mr Al Hanashi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    I can't wait to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fabulous! A perfect place to relax and de stress. The position of the hotel is wonderful, the welcome we received, the delicious food. Nothing could be improved upon

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.9
    Nice little May Day Holiday break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Lateral Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room and bathroom. Dinning room staff are clean and professional but could do with a Maitre'd to organise and avoid waiter confusion at the table. Car parking charges at the hotel.

    Superb location. Great staff. Food good. Good ambience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    7.1
    definitely not a 5 star hotel but what a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Private Sauna
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pretty run down compare to what we expected. furniture is old and some pieces were broken (i attached some of the pictures): burnt out bulbs, missing bathroom window door, itchy bed sheets, scratched furniture badly retouched with paint to cover, a broken restaurant chair..etc. Also i wish the room door could be locked from inside. interestingly we have a private sauna in room but not allowed an iron board because "safety reasons" and was recommended to use hotel pressing facility that costs 6 euros per t-shirt. also i wish hotel was more transparent about the room location at booking time, we had a bad location (people in public park next door looking at us while we were in laying in bed) and we had to beg the hotel for change of room without charging us a penalty. by the way they tried to charge me higher tip than i wrote in receipt. And for the guests from GCC region: السيفون بغرفتنا كان معزول بغرفة صغيرة كنها كبت جنب الباب .. لا مغسلة ولا شطاف .. و اذا تحتاج المغسلة لازم تطلع للصالة

    location is excellent no doubt. café menu's prices were reasonable. staff did their best whenever they could. still not as pro as you would expect. i realize it is not 5 star hotel, but still could be better: for example we went to the café at 5:20 pm and the waiter told us they were done for the day until dinner time! that was weird!

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: