Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Panhans 4 stars

Hochstraße 36, 2680 Semmering, Austria

#13 of 15 hotels in Semmering

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    5.0
    NICE BREAKFAST, Nice location, beautiful view from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very old fashioned. The length of the bed was too small, good for a child maybe, not for an adult. The price / quality ratio is bad - not a good financial deal for a short stay for skiing

    NICE BREAKFAST, Nice location, beautiful view from the terrace

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little room, old carpets, old furniture, very old bathroom. The swimming pool was closed, the gusts could use a pool at another hotel, 1 km far from hotel Panhans. The reception staff answers on telephone "Hallo", you must ask "excuse me, did I reach hotel "Panhans"

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing, not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    poor maintenance, worn-out and stained carpets, out of date bath and toilet, bad smell in room and loby

    nice old building, good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    Nice experience. Dissapointed because of the swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location needs urgent renovation. Carpets on the floor are old and destroyed. Swimming pool is out of work.

    Very quiet place. Wonderful area. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Nice room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Stunning views from a grand, old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor in our room was a little tired as was the spa area. A few elements of the spa and the pool weren't working though the hotel had arranged for guests to use the pool at another hotel.

    The views from the hotel are stunning, and the location is great - very accessible walk into Semmering. We also had a very good meal in the restaurant and enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.9
    The view, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The attitude of the staff is totally unprofessional especially at the breakfast - we came a little late on the first day for the breakfast (around 09:50 because we arrive quite late the night before travelling with 2 kids and the employee was so impolite, almost insinuated to go without having any breakfast!!! Dinner which normally is served until 21:00 - they would take away the food (buffet salad) 1/2 hr earlier. The carpet on our floor was damaged and old, also the furniture in the living room (the pull out sofa was deteriorated).

    The view, location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.8
    Well, this is a really neat hotel with professional staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had to request a room change, as the one provided was nothing close to what we were expected. The old building had rather poorly furnished and decorated room (I can't speak for every of them, but the one we've got and another in the same building we got asked to check). Thankfully there was no problem in changing our room at the next day for a room, located in a new building, and let me tell you, the room was significantly better, than what we've got in the first place. The beds were more comfortable (and taller - old room has low beds), furniture newer (and more furniture pieces), toilet room bigger and the heater worked better. Sadly Wi-Fi was worse in this new room and at the evenings was constantly losing the connection. Very strange, considering WiFi repeater\access point was right in front of our room. Evening restaurant staff left polarizing opition. They are professional, no doubt, and did their job well, but I have no idea what's up with their tight attitude. Not a single smile or a sign of a warm hospitality was spotted throughout the whole stay. No free soft drinks at the evening restaurant. Yes, I get it, you make money like that, but most of the people order a glass\bottle of wine anyway, which is reasonable to have a price-tag on. However mineral water or juices, which are free in the morning bufe, are paid as well?

    Well, this is a really neat hotel with professional staff and a status earned through so many years of operation. If you want to stay at Semmering with style, there is no other hotel to choose. It is located within 4-5 minutes drive from the skiing slopes and grocery store. Mountain panorama view from the room was pretty good. The staff was overall great and helpful. The food was really good. I would highly recommend everybody to go with half-board option, as their suppers are amazing. Morning bufe was pretty rich and tasty.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    7.1
    Not knowing anthing seems to be a virtue!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Two stupid questions. I expected fillet, not tough sirloin steak for dinner. The room telephone did not work and nobody knew what went wrong, nor did they care! But the staff was very helpful, trying to find accommodation in Vienna. The hotel was classified as 5*, but turned out to be 4*. The view was uninspiring. I was looking forward to visit your hotel since I was a boy, but was rather disappointed.

    Breakfast was very good, so was the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous room, with a fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The elevator was broken for 5 of the 6 days at the hotel; which meant walking up and down 4 flights of stairs. No explanation was ever volunteered as to the reason or why it was taking so long to repair.

    Fabulous room, with a fantastic view

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    10
    Nature, culture, style and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a room with panoramic views and assumed that would mean a room in the main old building. But I was given a room in the new building behind the main building, and while there were mountain views, they were partially obstructed by the hotel. I felt the room was still very good value for money (because it is nusually spacious, and I did have some mountain views). But I would have preferred it if there had been clarity from the start at booking whether the room was to be in the main building or the annexe. Also: Booking.com did not give me the local number of the hotel, but a central one which was harder to contact. Furthermore, booking.com's directions on how to get there by public transport were wrong. The nearest station is Semmering, not Muerzzuschlag. And somehow the arranged picking up from the station did not take place.

    The views from the dining room towards the mountains were magnificent. I went to have dinner early in order to enjoy the views while it was still light. The food was excellent and varied, and the chef was willing to cater for special needs. Both the range and quality of food for breakfast were outstanding. The hotel also offers cultural attractions: A concert in its beautiful festive room, and an art exhibition. My room was very large, light and comfortable. Staff at the reception were very helpful and looked up train connections and arranged for a concert ticket. There is a nice atmosphere in the hotel, and as a single traveller, I appreciated the friendliness of both other guests and staff to chat with at dinner, if I wanted to. I didn't explore their sauna and other wellness facilities since I felt my walking gave me enough physical stimuli. But I would make use of them during a winter holiday or perhaps in bad weather. I was lucky with the weather, and the area is actually a walker's paradise. I particularly liked the possibility of starting different kinds of walks right from the hotel, without the need of public transport. I would definitely go again and recommend the hotel highly: a classy hotel with a relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Good access to Skigelande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good access to Skigelande.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.5
    Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff, rich& tasty...
    • Group
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff, rich& tasty breakfest

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.3
    A short ski-trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was out of order:(

    The half-board diner was really good!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    10
    Excellent place out of noisy cities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere, attitude, excellent menu in the restaurant, attention to each detail, calmness-everything for good rest

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.6
    Panhans hotel Semmering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is great!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.1
    being told we could use a swimming pool and facilities 1,5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    being told we could use a swimming pool and facilities 1,5 Km away to find that swimming pool also closed for renovation work

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Pleasant stay in nice surroundings and great old style hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nice view on top of the mountain, nice old style hotel with a nice atmosphere, friendly and flexible staff, wonderful cafe latte, ability to hike

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    Elegant hotel with amazing history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our short stay at Panhans and would love to go back one day. It is a charming, elegant hotel, just like in the movies. And the view!

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: