Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gutshof Zillertal 4 stars

Stillupklamm 826, 6290 Mayrhofen, Austria

#19 of 40 hotels in Mayrhofen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 428 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning shuttle was slow. Got the bus instead! Tea & coffee charged in room. Ski room too small.

    Good, international hotel. Breakfast plentiful. Good wellness/liesure facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn't too enthusiastic, when 12 of us rocked up. We felt like one of many guests. Hotel was on a main road quite a bit of walking from the main town centre.

    Nice spa and amazing breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We use BOOKING.COM extensively. We usually are very happy with the rooms we get when we arrive at our destinations , but for the GUTSHOF ZILLERTAL, in MAYHROFEN, Austria, things were different. I made a reservation for two rooms at the same price. A suite and a double luxury room. I recommend you read all the fine print when you book with Booking.com. There are surprises. In my case, we had to pay 70% deposit for the rooms, and on arrival, we found out that because we booked with Booking.com, we had to pay an extra 7,5€ for a bathrobe and slippers!!! The two rooms were quite different. Ours was fine; it was as described. But our friend had a very simple and badly decorated room for the same price. It simply was not a "DOUBLE LUXURY ROOM". There were no pictures or decoration of any kind on the walls, the furniture was not uniform, some pieces were not of the same design as others. The curtains were disgusting. There was an ugly chandelier, an armchair covered with a cheap false fur blanket, no waste basket in the room, etc.... but the worst came when my friend tried to change his room. The receptionist blamed the room choice on me and added that because I had booked with booking.com, there was nothing they could do about it!!! They could not refund him if he wanted an ordinary room that was much better looking and more comfortable. This is misrepresentation on their part. If hotels start giving less privileges when you book a room with BOOKING.COM, they should be penalized or they should leave the application. If it was not for BOOKING.COM, we would never have found out about their hotel. I hope something like this never happens again. As for the hotel itself, usually, in a four star hotel, there are large bars of soap, not the very small bars packed in paper, of the kind you find in a 2 stars hotel, there was no body lotion, the towels were very thin and there was no toilet paper, only paper sheets.

    The food was ok, but not much more, the wine selection was excellent, the service was excellent and the ski shuttle functioned, (only on mornings) but for a large hotel as this one, there were only 8 places each time. The experience became stressful as more people than the number of places showed up every 15 minutes. Happily, the people were courteous and there was no problem.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Weather, 2 days rain !

    Excellent property. Staff very friendly. Restaurant and food very very good. Room was spacious and super clean. Will definately go again. Can recommend to any traveller. Some comments on Tripadvisor or other sights are totally misplaced acc. to my opinion. We travel from US - to EU - Asia, 3, 5 and 6 star hotels. This property and management does a very good job. Highest rating in our opinion. R & A

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The curtains let through the light of cars on the road, but it was not so annoying.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and welcoming staff, lovely spa area. I had a very spacious double room which was beautiful and very clean. There is bike rental on-site, a frequent bus stop and supermarket just a few minutes' walk away. I had a couple of meals at the restaurant and enjoyed them as well. I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The small pool had hot water, a jacuzzi and really was for the winter season. Since we were there in the summer and it was quite warm it was not inviting to go in. Also, there were loads of kids jumping in, shouting and playing ... the pool is too small for that and it spoiled it for us. Right off a main road, so we needed to upgrade our room upon arrival (although we had asked for a quiet room) since the room on the side of the hotel had loads of noise from the road. It is an app. 15 minute walk into town and to restaurants.

    We stayed here for 6 nights. Beautiful views on the extensive garden and mountains. Lovely garden with lounge chairs. Comfortable rooms. Good beds and pillows. Good breakfast. The Hammam. Very friendly staff. Bike hire. Quiet at night if you ask for a room with garden views.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress is extremely soft. If you move a little bit, your partner feels like on a boat, very unpleasant feeling.

    Balcony with a view of the mountains, swimming pool, garden with a lot of deck chairs, personnel, food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is a little out of town, approximately 15 mins walk to the Penken lift and center of town. The hotel does provide a shuttle service to the lift during ski season.

    Lovely pool and relaxation area with an additional "Alm" sauna located in a hut in the garden.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not aware that room temperature was centrally controlled and I could have asked for it to be adjusted. Otherwise no complaints.

    Friendly and welcoming reception and restaurant staff. Bed was very comfortable. Separate bathroom and WC. Balcony. Well equipped facilities. Garden and view up valley from rear of building very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen closes at 21.00h; we arrived slightly before and needed to convince staff to still serve us; extra charge for bath robe / slippers for spa

    Nicely located outside of Mayrhofen with ski buses going to all relevant areas in front of the door. Nice view from the garden, excellent pool / spa area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dear Team! We absolutely loved your hotel - apart from trying to prenounce the name to Taxi drivers haha! I'm sure that will come in time. Everyone from the chap at the bar, the breakfast team & reception were helpful in every way! Hope snowbombing has been a good week for the town also & yes will see you again - maybe nxt time with my family x Kind regards Jody P.s if you find a blue flip flop it is mine so pls put that to one side. & if you could send me a duplicate invoice for both on my rooms that would be great. Many thanks Jody Wood

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were assigned was small with a tiny corner shower in the bathroom. But, they gave us a better room for the next 3 nights.

    We were on half board, and both the breakfasts and the dinners were excellent. Lots of choices for breakfast, including an espresso machine. There were 3 choices every night for the main course, including a vegetarian option.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ladies of the reception were not always friendly. Also the reception is closed after 9pm.

    The hotel offers a good breakfast, the rooms are nice and clean. The spa is perfect to relax after a day of ski.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I loved it all!

    Everything! Massive room with a huge, super comfortable bed. Amazing buffet breakfast with so much choice - eggs, bacon, croissants and other pastries, cereal, yoghurt, fruit salad, etc etc! Kind, friendly and extremely helpful staff! Awesome facilities!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's outside of town but of course we knew that before booking. The hotel does a good courtesy bus to the ski lifts.

    Great friendly staff, super communication before our arrival

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is out of town. We were told there were regular buses back to the hotel but we saw two in two days. We didn't mind the 15 minute walk back but were very glad of having paid to leave the skis at the rental place next to the lifts.

    The feel of the hotel is very traditional and a relaxing environment.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner was delicious, staff was very helpful and friendly, sauna and pool clean. Location not that close to the Penkenbahn, but free shuttle provided by the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I had one small criticism, it is that they tried to complicate the food in the evening. They should try to keep it fractionally simpler. The food they did was very good, but over complicated.

    Staff were outstanding and helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic hosts, superb breakfast, lovely suites, spacious, charming. Nice bar and delicious evening dinner. Complimentary shuttle bus to Penken/Ahorn was a bonus. All the staff were lovely. We had a great trip.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaners should not start hoovering at 6am and engage in badinage. The room had a dangerous shower and no bath and it was a disappointment after a day's skiing. I could not always park my car and had to park 300 meters away. They could not control the noise from Russian guests and the children were boisterous. Good hotel for young Families but not curmudgeonly old men like myself.

    Expected staple Austrian fayre with excellent breakfast and satisfying dinner with a choice of menu. The staff were friendly efficient and polite and the bedroom was very clean with a balcony and a vista of the mountains.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great atmosphere. Large selection for breakfast, vertical good quality. Albo testy dishes for diner. Sauna and swiming pool metody out expectation. I world highly recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personell service is not very prominent, had to ask for towels, had to ask for laundry a few times but they have cleaned it for free because of mistake, no water and soap in the sauna area, at the reception they don't explain that your breakfast table is reserved and you can not take any table.

    Saunas, breakfast, complementary candies when you leave the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pamela @ reception ... the perfect hostess (professional, yet genuinely courteous and engaging in personal conversation). When I left my camera bag at reception upon check-out, she called my cell phone to alert me immediately. She was the perfect person for her role. The breakfast buffet was astounding. The selection was incredible. The hostess was kind in reseating me with no sign of annoyance. A surprising number of "perks" at this "wellness hotel." You need to stay here a few days to take advantage of them.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bedding was below usual high Austrian standards. Strange taste in room design, bathroom old fashioned and tight, though shower was good.

    Spacious clean room with good wifi. Cooked breakfast Nice and extensive garden, and good pool area. Exceptional views from balcony Easy parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have been a few degrees warmer

    Friendly staff, comfortable beds, great facilities, excellent breakfasts

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    allow another 10-15 min for the shuttle to to the ski lift. not a walking distance

    big rooms. clean. good breakfast. nice spa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very large and comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noice from the road from early morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea&coffee, 2.50 euro for a bottle of water is a ripoff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely room, quiet child free swimming pool and excellent dinner and buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly far from main ski lift, but they had shuttle to get us there (not to get us back)

    Very clean, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast staff could have been more welcoming

    warm & cosy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food (breakfast & diner!) was delicious!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bath clothes in the room for spa :(

    Very beautiful rooms, and great bathroom! Perfect wi-fi speed! Good variety of dishes at the breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel myself in Gutshof like home, sweet lovely home!))

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Royal
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries are not up to 4*

    Friendly staffs, good foods and great facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    10 minute walk from town center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One ladie of THE staff in THE restaurant ( very skinny and short hair) she wasn't friendly at all!

    Nice rooms, staff ath THE reception was very friendly. Good diner and perfect breakfeast.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bar area too small for evening drinks. Drink selection poor. The small dining areas too overheated for comfort. Bathroom small and cramped, in bath shower outdated. Not as close to Mayrhoffen town centre as advertised.

    Breakfasts were great. Meals overall were good. Lovely room with view and balcony. Would recommend booking Traditional Rooms with mountain views. Great free wifi in all areas.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No comfortable seating area or lounge. Only a cold uncomfortable lobby with a couple of low tables . The bar was very small with only a few bar stools around it and nowhere else to sit. The staff in the restaurant are over worked and are not very cheerful.

    Good sized bedroom. Indoor pool and sauna area.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing !

    Delicious food and wine. Excellent SPA area. The " Romantic Room"-comfortable with beautiful view. Staff was very helpful and higly qualificated, especially the waiter Agnes in hotel restaurant. Beata and Zbigniew Debski

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was not up to a four star standard and it appears that they are cutting costs which comes out in the quality of the food. There were not enough staff in the restaurant to enable a service expected of a 4 star hotel.

    The location and the room.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee in the room should be inclusive. The hotel is a good 20 minute stagger back from town so bear this in mind.

    Very close to local skibus and green line stops. Helpful staff - refired a huge wood fired oven late at night to reheat our pizzas. Vast 5 course evening meal if you go half board.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Did not like the dinners at the hotel ... Well, as they say, tastes do not))))

    Liked the location and the views from the windows. No excessive bustle of the city and at the same time, the proximity to Mayrhofen. The cozy hotel with a swimming pool and comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Advice given re hotel taxi service, wifi had to be reset every day, dinner was of poor quality

    Breakfast was of good choice, sauna area was ok, room of good size

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds in the old building were not comfortable. The temperature in the pool and in the sauna area should have been higher. The food was on average. Only bottled water (no tapped water) was available in the restaurant at the price of 5 euro for a 75 cl bottle. The WIFI was not stable at all.

    Nice skiing areas close to the hotel (bus/taxi needed). The hotel is situated in a more quiet area than hotels close to the lift in city center. The pool had different massage functionalities and several saunas close to it.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - nothing to mention

    - good location, a little bit out of town - great food, 5 course dinners and afternoon snack - wellness - free shuttle to nearist ski lift in Mayrhofen

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Service at night is very poor. No night staff or security officer in the hotel to solve any problems or to help in case of emergency. In the new part of the hotel there are no (or not yet) emergency exits. I did not feel safe at night.

    Great location Great food, wonderful breakfast Lovely wellness area Shuttle service to Penkenbahn Great shower!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All tables are reserved, even for the breakfast, if you happened to get a table that you don't like, you cannot change it anymore

    Sauna, nice view from the apartment, terrace, breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very clean and well supplied. The staff were helpful and easy to approach. The breakfast buffet was fabulous. Delicious food.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was very compact.

    Staff were absolutely lovely, hotel spotless, facilities excellent and the food was glorious.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Great hotel, excellent staff and very nice meals

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was too small.

    Very nice personal, excellent dinner, amazing spa area.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The overall hospitality was simple great! Awesome food, good options to choose from, good facilities, and ab absolute value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some waitressing staff could have been a bit friendlier.

    The rooms were lovely

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Food was very good and drinks compare well with the rest of the town.

    Very friendly staff in all areas.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff are mist helpful and hotel has great facilities. Close to many places to visit.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To pay 5.00 euros for anything from the mini-bar. Free wi-fi for only one mobile phone.

    Great Facillities!

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    great food great spa facilities nice staff good rooms

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: