Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HartlWirt-Hotel-Gasthof 3 stars

Lieferinger Hauptstraße 120, Liefering, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#21 of 36 B&Bs and Inns in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 474 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor made squeaky sound when we moved about in the room. The sound proofing was not good between floors.

    The property has a great restaurant. We had a dinner and were all very satisfied with both foods and service. There was ample parking space. The location is in a short driving distance from the old city and in a quiet neighborhood. A small elevator was very useful to carry up our luggages.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment methods are not flexible. We were in a group and we would like to split the bill. In this case, one person paid and we need to transfer the money back - this could be easily solved if the hotel split the bill.

    Breakfast is good and everything was fresh. Room accommodation was in good conditions and room was clean. Staff was very helpful. Parking is also with good area close to entrance

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was mostly tidy, however when we arrived we found a pack of medicine pills in the toilet which looks like its from the previous guest. For the price I paid I felt the room was very basic ie there was no kettle available. Sound insulation was alright but we can hear when next room was talking.

    Hotel staffs were nice and helpful, they offered good advises getting to and from the city centre during our stay, we left our car at the hotel during our stay and took bus to city centre and it was very convenient, about 15mins ride. Parking was very easy and the hotel wasn't hard to find following a GPS. Lift was available for the upper floors so moving luggages up and down wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no air condtioning. This did not affect us much, but in very hot weather could be a problem. No night staff. office closed. Food/meals/dinner wasn't available all day every day.

    Very welcoming. Bed comfortable. ensuite well apportioned. Food very good. All staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were pretty awful and the “double” bed was actually 2 singles pushed together. WiFi was hit and miss in the room. Also the restaurant was so warm it was uncomfortable.

    Hotel was really cute and cosy. Restaurant served very nice food and staff, particularly in the restaurant were very friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    maybe the bed could be harder but that is only my preference, a bit of outside of Salzburg, but after driving is a nice walk to the city

    delicious food in the hotel restaurant and very good breakfast, free parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor sound insulation, we could even hear what the neighbors next door were saying... Old fashioned decoration from the 60's A bit far from the city center.

    Free parking, good wifi, good breakfast, friendly staff, reasonably priced restaurant on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air con so the window needed to b kept open to keep the room cool. That let the noise in from the chiming church bells every 15 minutes and then hourly chimes on the hour throughout the night. A complete peel of ringing at 7am was a good alarm clock.

    Cosy atmosphere with the locals using the bar facility.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ... It's really not easy to find the bus station, especially after sunset. My suggestion: Do not only rely on the poor explanation of the receptionist, but provide a tiny little map for this purpose!

    It's extremely easy to get to the center (and return) by bus. But... (see in the criticism section) Also, the hotel restaurant is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were comfy but very poorly ventilated. Fans were an absolute must to keep the temperature comfortable, and the ones supplied were noisy. We had to use noise cancelling headphones in order to sleep. The windows do not open far enough to provide adequate ventilation by themselves. The place could really do with AC. This was the only thing that needed improvement - Otherwise it was lovely!!

    Breakfasts were excellent and the staff were very helpful and willing to please. The restaurant was particularly good. Excellent food! Wifi was fast and easily accessible. 10 mins walk to the S-Bahn to get into Salzburg. Ample parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do have to drive 15 minutes to get to town, so you do need a car.

    Quiet, pastoral. Very nice receptionist helped us with good advice, answered our questions. Good service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really, perhaps tea / coffee facilities in room would have been nice.

    Staff were lovely & personal, breakfast was simple but nice. Dinner meals were excellent. Quiet location in regards to traffic noise etc. Bus route 14 straight into town down side street behind hotel & up stairs at bridge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughter and I stayed in separate rooms and they were unfortunately 2 floors apart. The WiFi also didn't work at all in my daughter's room.

    Comfortable beds and good breakfast. Friendly staff and clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at the rooms but was fixed a day before we left.

    Super clean room (most especially the bathroom). They offered an takeaway breakfast when they learned that we won't be able to have it since we are leaving early morning.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not so comfy but we slept.

    Friendly staff. Decent night's rest. Had an enjoyable dinner at the restaurant on site. Nearby path through the woods was full of lightening bugs! A pleasant treat during our after dinner stroll!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Very good Hotel, good shower, good bed and good breakfast. You need to drive over there due to is far from the city center. The restaurant is very good and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a nice quiet location Spacious and very clean single room Meal (al fresco) was very good and reasonably priced. Waitress at dinner was very helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No good view from window.

    Hotel with car parking. Room is spacious. Kitchen is very good with reasonable price. Staff very friendly. We travelled to city center by bus. Bus frequency is very good. Every 10 min normal time. At night every 20 to 30 min.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mattress was too soft for me

    The Stuff was just amazing, they have been very friendly and always willing to help. The busstation is closed by, so no problems to get into town. I would stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is excellent, and food was delicious. It was a short walk from the train station, located in a quiet residential area of town just a short train ride (a few stops) from Salzburg. The beer garden is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the houskeeper doesn't do a good job! She doesn't really clean!

    The at the reception was very nice and helpful, the man in the dining room at dinner time as well! Very nice also the breakfast lady! The hotel is very typical and the location is quite and nice!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy place including church bells all night through, traffic in the street and mosquitos in the room :(

    nothing extraordinary comparing value/price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came to the hotel they gave us avery little room that was suitable for one person. Instead of couple room. Only a day after they gave us the room we orderd.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was noisy ie when someone close by flushed a toilet we heard it. Breakfast was very dull and the coffee was awful. Overpriced overall

    Location was good for getting into Salzburg

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was not so comfortable, mattress is too soft or old, not sure. Hotel is a little bit far from centre.

    Staff was very friendly and food was great. Bathroom was new and very clean. Parking was free.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was very nice. We were only a 10 min bus ride from the city centre which was very easy to make use of and very close to the hotel. We wanted to stay an extra night because we really enjoyed the location and the staff were very accommodating and helped us with purchasing bus tickets etc to make the best use of our time there. We would recommend this hotel, it was good value for money. Parking just outside the hotel which was free to use.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wanted to stay outside Salzburg but with easy access. This place was great for that. Very helpful staff and the food was delicious. Ate there both nights of our stay. Food was delicious

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Air con

    Breakfast good but basic

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closed restaurant

    Nice accomodation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is little far from city center.

    Staff are very nice. The location is very easy to find.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smell inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue for me was that it was very smoky. The bar downstairs causes the rooms to smell heavily of cigarette smoke.

    Good hotel, great staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city center and old facilities.

    Clean bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and restuarant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, even smaller bathroom. Bed was under dimentions promised.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no air conditionig, and outside 34 celsius.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, very nice view, clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY GOOD ACCOMODATION,NICE AND FRIENDLY STAFF,NICE LOCATION , VERY GOOD BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely accommodation. Good value. 10/15 mins out of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent price and location, large and easy to access parking and very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main door was loud. I could hear in my room guests coming and leaving whole night.

    Clean and new bathroom. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in the bar restaurant

    Great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast The room was to small

    Friendly staff, large bathroom

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great traditional hotel with amazing traditional food and beer. Only a short bus ride away from the centre or a brisk 45 minute walk.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke from outside courtyard constantly drifted in to yhe restaurant.

    Really friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from city center, free parking facilities in return

    Nice restaurant with terrace, good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not ease to get there.

    Staff was exelent with all of the information and also helping us with suitcases.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great restaurant below too!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleaner rooms, more exciting breakfast.

    The staff was very polite and kind.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Smoking in the bar/restaurant. To go to the non-smoking side of the restaurant you have to walk through the smoking side. I could also smell the cigarettes in the hall outside the bar/restaurant at times.

    Parking was easy and on site.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    loud church bells on early Sunday morning

    only 15 minutes by bus from the city centre, tickets possible to buy at the reception nice and cosy room good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a lovely stay. Enjoyable meal in the restaurant. Accommodation clean and a good size. Staff very helpful. Good location for sightseeing - away from city centre but close to travel routes.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Air conditioning.

    The fact that the staff went out of their way to accomodate us. Also when we came home from our day's outing the bar was still open until midnight for coffee or drinks from the bar. The staff was friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bells on the nearby church tower may affect some on one side of the building but I slept through most of them!

    Location was out of the main town but easy to get to and away from easily. Getting to the city centre was easy by bus. The staff were very helpful No ac may be a problem at times. The food was absolutely superb, both breakfasts and evening meals

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nearest bus stop into Salzburg centre was a short walk away, but the bus didn't stop as requested on the way home during a thunderstorm, and although alerted by other passengers, the driver wouldn't stop until the next stop! Only other thing was that there was no aircon, only a fan on a very hot series of nights, and impossible to leave a window open as church clock very close and chimed regularly.

    A reasonably priced restaurant on site was a bonus. As it was only a sleeping place to visit Salzburg, lack of lounge etc was no problem.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms too hot - no aircon but not expected. My stay was during a short period of very high temperatures.

    Traditional family run hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. Large shady terrace to have a quiet drink or meal.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The day that we arrived the weather was insanely hot - this of course was not the fault of the hotel. But, we were traveling with children and wanted the family room so that we could all be together. This room was located above the restaurant and just off of the street which was fairly busy. Because there wasn't any air conditioning, we had to open the windows and fight the street noise and that of the restaurant below which kept us up until close to 12:30 despite an 11:30 restaurant close due to some other guests enjoying their time on the restaurant patio. The location was close to the highway but not near to town and traffic wasn't friendly getting into Salzburg for dinner, sights, etc. It's a clean and decent night sleep, just don't recommend it in the summer.

    The staff was the best part of the stay, they worked with us when we realized that the hotel wasn't going to work for us the 2nd night. That was appreciated very much.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great park for kids walking distance, charming hotel. Easy to get around the area from the hotel with a car. Restaurant was delicious. The hotel is older, but well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little hard to find at night.

    Clean, very Austrian decor. Quiet. Beds were very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff is very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room 34 - little bit too small, lack of airconditioning.

    Friendly staff, free parking, simple public transport to the Salzburg centre.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff and place

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi sometime is not working

    Best location for self driven,fortunately indian cook was Very helpful on food.quite n peaceful

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air condition

    Friendly hotel, free parking,

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - Public transport connection

    - Good clean rooms, with a fan for the heat - Very good restaurant - Convenient parking

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning

    Quiet location Really great staff

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor wifi

    neat, clean room great staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location out of the centre of town, staff, quality of meal, the shower

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far from the town centre.

    This is a small hotel with friendly and helpful staff. They serve all meals and the typical Austrian food is good.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse HartlWirt-Hotel-Gasthof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: