Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Haus Am See

Obertraun 169, 4831 Obertraun, Austria

#3 of 8 hotels in Obertraun

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2512 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Rustic hotel with a beautiful lake view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Obertraun is a small town and doesn't have a lot of restaurant options. The hotel has no elevator, but that wasn't a problem for us.

    We paid for a lake view room and were not disappointed. It was one of the best view rooms in our experience. We liked the close proximity of the boat to transport us to Halstatt. The hotel was very close to the train station and an easy walk with luggage. We'd like to return and explore the ice caves, which are in close proximity and take advantage of the hiking opportunities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful Place, Excellent Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendly and helpful. Property very clean an well organized. Breakfast, included, was delicious and plentiful. The views from the terrace in front of the hotel were breathtaking! A wonderful stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    The location of this hotel is simply unbeatable - right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit small, but if the weather is nice you might spend all your time out on the balcony anyway.

    The location of this hotel is simply unbeatable - right on the Hallstättersee, with a fantastic view of the lake and part of Hallstatt. It’s also right next to the docks for two different boats that go to Hallstatt, and a 5-minute walk from the train station. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is good too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Best Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the balcony was breathtaking, the location of the hotel is the best in the area, 5 minutes walk to the train station, 3 minutes walk to the bus and restaurants and just next to the ferry. The place was very clean and quiet and their continental buffet breakfast was simply great (Forget English Breakfast in Austria). Thank you for the unforgettable stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location, well connected to the local attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small.

    Great location, well connected to the local attractions. Nice and cozy room. Very good breakfast with a beautiful view overlooking the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay to the full.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the breakfast was a little bit poor.more items are to be included like beans,fried eggs or scrambled eggs and bacon.

    The view from our room was stunning.the latest cation was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Dreamy destination.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Loft with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We highly recommend this b&b. Away from the crowd. We took a little boat back and forth to halstatt. We had a little tour while our guide motored us across. Took about 15 minutes. There are buses too. Lovely views and a path along the lake to walk. You can rent bikes nearby. The proprietors were so friendly and did everything they could to make people comforable. We went to the Halstatt museum, so interesting and artifacts going back to the b.c.`s. There is a place to swim. You can kayak. Take a walk into the nooks and crannies of halstatt, amazing. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow room and especially the bathroom.

    Very nice place. It was clean. The room was quiet as well as the whole hotel. The owner was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Hausa Am See a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like

    Hotel Haus Am See is an excellent choice for staying to see the area. We like all facilities, friendliness of team working there and accessibility to all attractions. A jewel on the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful traditional hotel in an amazing lakeside venue. Quiet, comfortable and very friendly staff. Lovely breakfast and great coffee! Brilliant holiday - thank you!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Great lake view, quiet place, very friendly stuff, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great lake view, quiet place, very friendly stuff, good breakfast. Easy check in and check out. 5 minutes drive from Hallstat and Dahsteinbahn. Ferry terminal is also just by the door

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Scenery from balcony is really breathtaking, is worth to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of any

    Scenery from balcony is really breathtaking, is worth to take a room with lake view. The room is clean, bed is comfortable, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    3.3
    hotel location is very good directly on the lake but the room and the bathroom are too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room and bathroom too small. have to fold in to sit on toilet. washbasin with spots of black mold. whole room smells moldy. breakfast was ok but too less variety. no smoking rooms available. smoking even forbidden on the balcony. too much noisy guests.

    close to the boat landing stage. good view out of the balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Room was basic but staff were wonderful and so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot of space in the room and bathroom for 3 people. Variety of restaurants was limited as town is small.

    Nice breakfast with beautiful view of the lake. Staff were very pleasant and extremely helpful. Beds were comfortable. Location was great - a few minutes walk from the train station and taxi available to take us right to the cable car at Dachstein-Krippenstein. Took the ferry to Hallstatt and bus back. Nice quiet alternative to the busyness of Hallstatt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Location is close to lake, good lake view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, even for single person. Small Plastic cubicle as shower/toilet, one can hardly sitdown on toilet as part of it is under the wash basin.

    Location is close to lake, good lake view. Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The location was amazing and the town was not very busy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing and the town was not very busy while we were there which was ideal. Free car parking right at the front with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    awesome! It's totally worth it to stay in this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it is quite convenient to sightseeing. The only inconvenient is that Obertraun is 10min from Hallstatt by bus. How convenient isn't it?

    Our room is just beside the lake, which has awesome view! Though we should walk on 5 min from obertraun dachsteinhöhlen bahnhof to hotel, it's totally worth it! When you walk down the path, you can merge in the nature and enjoy the charming atmosphere. By the way, breakfast is great as well! And you and enjoy it near the lake. After that, we take kayak offered by hotel for 1 hour. It was awesome experience to us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice breakfast and good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water at night and no one staffs hotel later in evening so we had to have cold shower. The room is small (although common in Europe) I felt claustrophobic in the design/layout of room. It didn’t meet my expectations based on reviews and was more expensive than what I would expect for the very basic quality of property.

    Nice breakfast and good view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice place, comfy bed, alots of water activities good for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place, comfy bed, alots of water activities good for summer time and not far from Hallstatt take cruise 20 mins i'll come back again in next summer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was just perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I understand this is not a 5 star hotel but I believe all guests would appreciate if there will be a couple of items more for breakfast , like eggs sausages and croissants.

    The location was just perfect! Exactly on the lake and just next to the dock where the ship leaves for Hallstatt. 2 mins walk there is also a bus stop which takes to the cable car to Obertraun and to Hallstatt. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was clean was well. The view from our balcony is just breathtaking. No frills but you have what you need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    A very simple hotel with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, not so demanding design... The breakfast was rather OK, than good.

    The view to the lake. You should choose only this kind of room. Breakfast near by the lake.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location for a relaxed visit to Hallstatt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is relatively basic, but is OK. No lift.

    Location next to strand/beach on one side and boat-station to Hallstatt on the other side, panorama from room, direct access to water from the garden. Room had balcony towards the lake (extra cost). Private parking. Breakfast was standard, but good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    One of a a lifetime experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came with my dad to hallstatt for the first time , and now i plan to come back again with my husband to this hotel and nowhere else ! The owners were super kind and helpful , the view from the room is just breathtaking , i sat on the balcony for almost an hour just meditating , i highly recommend it for everyone to visit . The breakfast was great and everything was neat and clean .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, really comfy bed, gorgeous views and right by the lake where you can swim. Boat over to Hallstatt leaves from right outside the hotel, €10 return of €7 one way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    The managers were very friendly and most accomodating to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning or even a fan would of helped to cool down the room.

    The managers were very friendly and most accomodating to all request made. View from our room was spectacular. The lake, though on the cold side, was refreshing after a day's visit to Halstatt. The town of Obertraun was quaint with its bike and foot paths.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Nice place, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was perfectly located. It takes less than 10 minutes to walk from the train station to get there and it's right in front of the lake. Even if you get a room with a window facing the other side, the beautiful mountain and village are certainly a nice view. The guys are very helpful and there is a place where you can get a boat to Hallstatt right next door for 12 euros per person. The breakfast was quite complete and again, great service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful time at Haus Am See
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toasters should be placed in the common kitchens.

    Wonderful team to look after us. Thanks a lot for the wonderful stay, lovely breakfast and a very helpful and smiling team. Meinrad F and Kathrin look after the guests smilingly and as if they are looking after their own elders and children. Location on the lake is a highlight. Hope to visit the place another time in this life.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing location, amazing breakfast with gorgeous view of the lake. Very helpful staff, on late arrival staff assisted check-in over the phone. generous single room with compact ensuite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    Tranquil little town near by Hallstatt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet is outside of the room , i am not quite sure if it mentioned on the terms when booking . it doesn't cause too much trouble for me anyway if i notice this condition , i would pay for different type of rooms . this could be just my own mistakes

    very quiet and nice room for a solo traveler , the view from the balcony is breathtaking in the early morning various choice for breakfast and the room is clean . They allow to keep luggage in the hotel if you arrive before check in time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Worth spending more to stay in stunning lake-view room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our double room was a bit small. And we needed walk up two storeys with our luggages as there was no lift.

    The hotel has magnificent lake view. It absolutely is worth spending more to book a lake-view room with a balcony. We were lucky that there was a fireworks display at the lake on one of the nights we stayed. The experience of seeing the fireworks display at the balcony was unforgettable. There is a bus running between Obertraun and Hallstatt several times a day. So, there was no problem for us to visit Hallstatt while staying at Obertraun. The quality of the hotel breakfast was good too. I particularly liked the boiled eggs and fresh vegetables. The dining area is just beside the lake. Hotel guests who don’t stay in lake-view rooms can enjoy the beautiful view at breakfast time. The hotel host is friendly, helpful and has sense of humour.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Romantic stay in beautiful Obertraun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel but important to note that ferries from Hallstatt to Obertraun stop around 5 pm. We took a bus instead. Bring cash as credit isn’t accepted for either option.

    This is such a cute property located in beautiful Obertraun, just a short ferry ride or bus trip from Hallstatt. The service here was excellent! The front desk were so kind and helpful to us, we really appreciated that extra touch. The rooms are fairly basic but they had everything we needed for a short stay. Be sure to bring toiletries, such as shampoo. What we appreciated most about this hotel was it being situated right on the beautiful lake. Having our morning coffee and delicious breakfast by the water was just breathtaking. An evening dip in the clean lake during this heat wave was so refreshing. If you’re there on a Wednesday evening, you get the added bonus of having some local Austrians dressed in traditional clothing play music from a boat on the water. Such a romantic setting and definitely a highlight for us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Owners went out of their way to assist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners went out of their way to assist. They even ran out to stop the boat across the lake while we checked in. Lovely breakfast on the terrace. Much more peaceful and economical than across the lake in Hallstatt. Wish we had taken more notice on our booking information that there was a community kitchen before we arrived.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Small hotel, with views to kill for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a kettle in the common kitchen, but having separate facilitues for making tea and coffee in the room would have been good.

    Best location ever - right on the lake, next to the ferry stop! Eating breakfast on the hotel terrace with the whole vista of the lake spread out before you is an unforgettable experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    It’s right in front of the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s right in front of the lake. However, there’s a limitation in after hour public transportation. So if you want to spend more time in Hallstatt, it’s more convenient to have your own vehicle.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Fun quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surprise deposit of 140 euros for a parking space. Admittedly, you get the deposit back when you return the parking space card from your car, but stil...nothing tells you this before you arrive!

    Very fun place, great owners, close to the next resort with a small convenience store, and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous view on the lake and mountains from the balcony,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No pastry for breakfast, no coffee machine. Price is a bit too high.

    Fabulous view on the lake and mountains from the balcony, great location - near the boat station, hence easy to get to Hallstadt which is on the other side of the lake. One can have breakfast right near the lake and admire silence, calmness and beauty of the place. Sport grounds are located nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.6
    Commertial ,weak faclilities,perdect loxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel maneged exatly commecial and the rules of owner. i have a traveler and i never faced similar application all over the europe and world to take extra 20 euro for late arrival . This shoukd be given as a service becouse guest are prefer thls hotel.also check out time 10:30 never applied on any other hotels in the world standart is 14:00 check in 12:00 check out.İ decribe this owner as a thief .Even thls was written on thelr web side on booking .com. The breakfast was poor. Both his wife and owner is polite but no body go and stay any hotel for just polite relations .the rooms are decirated the cheapest tools .the bad is not confortable toliets are bad You feel cheap in the room. İ will recommend the owner to target evaluation of 9 or more .People will feel to come again .

    The wiev from the room,the location of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    I was in Obertraun with my boyfriend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in Obertraun with my boyfriend. I have to say, that I booked our accommodation in this hotel very late. It is very unavailable region. In the end it was very good holiday. Especially surrounding was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was clean and our Room lookee like a new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean and our Room lookee like a new. Really clean and asti i am a tall person, bed was Kong enough for me. Pillows and seets were too fluffy for me nyt my better half liked those a lot. There wasnt Anu aircon. Sopii If u voisit There in summer IT Will Be hot in room. View from own balcony is amazing and it is nice to sit there when sun goes down. Essu access to Hallstatt, 5km. Biggest dissapointment was breakfast wich was poor! Nothing warm except eggs! Crapy juice and some can fruits...really!?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Exceptional View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls a little thin but didn’t bother us.

    Property had great location, good space and best of all-the VIEW! The lake view is the way to go 😁 We enjoyed the balcony and slept wonderful. Quiet area and very relaxing. Shower was good and so was space...it’s Europe after all. Hotel staff very hospitable and nice at check in, check out, and breakfast. We would certainly stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    The location and the view from the hotel is absolutely great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and the view from the hotel is absolutely great. I enjoy the evening walk near the lake and the park. The surrounding is quiet. Have a very pleasant stay during my trip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    We booked the last room they had, small double and yes it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were not sound proofed from hallway, but after 10 we heard nothing!

    We booked the last room they had, small double and yes it was small but bigger than we had thought! The area around the hotel was a nice surprise! A big play park and swimming area. Beach no, but the park was nice!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    the capo of hotel was super cute and nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the capo of hotel was super cute and nice ! really good place to stay ! nearby the lake and is easy to go everywhere ! in front of the hotel, thereis a ship wharft , but just few times ! but even can go to hallstta by bus !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    view is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    view is perfect. the location is one more railway stop from Hallstatt. so the town is very quiet and peaceful. you can take bus or boat to Hallstatt. and, the breakfast prepared by the host is amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Nice place, great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice place, great host. Thanks for everything you did for my aunties. They were so happy to stay at your place. Hope you like Thai dessert made by my aunties. Recommended ☺️☺️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    Fabulous location and worth to pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a so so level of breakfast. The room is pretty small but not too small so good to go.

    It locates at the fantastic site. Worth to pay such amount. Pretty decent space of parking lot. You can expect a breakfast at a very nice place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    We were very happy and enjoyed our stay very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Loft with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like.

    The Manager was fabulous. Very friendly and could not do enough for us. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was terrific. Location was great. Fantastic view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Great lake view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great lake view! Woke up in the morning with lovely bird humming sound and soft wind. Host was very nice. Impressed he asked every guests for drinks and served coffee and tea :) Perfect location to move across to Halsutart by taking ferry. I will definitely visit Haus Am See for sure! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Peaceful, Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room. The toilet is tiny, I don't know how a 1.7m and above person uses it. Already tiny toilet, there is no where to stow toiletries in the shower. There aren't hooks in the bathroom for clothes and towels. Shower drains very slowly, need to declog. Room is very small, suitable for a few nights. Visited in June, Spring-Summer season, houseflies are annoying and they kept flying into the room, also at the breakfast place.

    Peaceful, beautiful lake view, great breakfast. The gentleman serving breakfast was exceptionally polite and warm. Love the breakfast. Walking distance to train station Obertraun. Right next to ferry jetty going to Hallstatt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Location near bus stop and boat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast poor , small room with mountain view. You should book a lake view if it available. Overall not worth 148 Euro ( charge fee for tourismusabgabe 2 euro/person and service- charge 7 euro/person )

    Location near bus stop and boat A bit far from train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hotpot in the room. Only had one hotpot in the kitchen, but it disappeared at night. Maybe some guests brought it to their room.

    Breakfast is great. The room is clean. The lake is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is strong bleach smell in the room, especially toilet. The facility is old. But u have a very nice view outside our balcony.

    Near the station and pier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and perfect Hallstattsee view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only comment is to better provide more kitchen utensil. I couldn’t find a pan to cook a noodle.

    Great location and perfect Hallstattsee view. Vending machine inside hotel is a credit. Overall nice choice to stay when visit Hallstatt, Dachstein.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    View and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior design of the room could be more thoughtful to the guests. For example, a rack in the shower room for soap and shampoo. Provide tissue paper, especially for the single room. These things might be trivial but can be greatly enhance the comfort during the stay.

    View and location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Snug homestay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic kitchen. Does not have stove or oven only a microwave oven

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Good location. Quiet and serene surroundings. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Location is close to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is close to train station. Bus station is nearby just 3-5 mins distance. Can take bus to Hallstatt lahn and cable car. I enjoyed the breakfast beside the lake.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Great location, right on the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Great location, right on the lake. We had an attic room which wasn’t real big but had a beautiful view from the window. Beds were comfy and the breakfast was sufficient with tables and chairs right on the lake. Staff were very friendly and parking easy. Restaurants in easy walking. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful views but average quality rooms and poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I would have expected modern spacious rooms but they were cramped and out-dated.

    The view of the lake was superb, and there was ample private parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Don't get the single room and the stay will be almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single bed is pushed up against the wall, which makes sleeping on one side uncomfortable. The wifi was very slow. The restaurant was closed when I was there and the only other one close by was not a good standard. If you get the single room, you have to share a toilet.

    The building is beautiful. Sat on the side of the lake, get a lake view room and enjoy the amazing view. Breakfast was very good. The location.....You are away from the main tourist traffic of Hallstatt but there is bike hire, or a regular boat, there is also free parking at the property. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Right next to boat (not ship) to Hallstatt (in mid May, not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no bad things for mr stay this timing :)

    Right next to boat (not ship) to Hallstatt (in mid May, not sure other season if boats run), peaceful place, 6min walk to the Obertraun station, flat road no problem for suitcase, helpful owner, comfortable terrace, beautiful park next to for a walk, breakfast buffet with some cheese, ham, vegetables, drinks, egg and breads! I would recommend to stay this peaceful place rather than in Hallstatt.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.3
    The hostel was conveniently located as near to the bus stop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager has left the room key in a box outside the hostel for me to pick up as I have arrived at around 7pm (email quoted that arrival after 8pm requires an extra fee of euro 5 as late check-in so I have no idea if that will be charged on my credit card). And there is no kettle in the room for boiling water, which was very inconvenient thought that was quoted in the confirmation booking email. Can only boil water in the pantry (for all guests). Beware that there are no elevators.

    The hostel was conveniently located as near to the bus stop and a few minutes walk to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Would absolutely come here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had nothing but a positive experience here.

    Obertraun and the Haus am See staff are absolutely amazing. The room we had had a small balcony that had a lake view. Every morning it was magnificent to open the blinds and see the lake and mountains. It doesn’t get much better! Obertraun is a quiet rural community of about 700 people nestled in the Austrian Alps. I would highly recommend this community of friendly people and the Haus am See specifically. My thanks to the Haus am See owners for an absolutely wonderful vacation. You work tirelessly to make your patrons feel at home and welcome. John and Jane Hansen - Canada.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and extremely convenient„ just next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too soft

    Great location and extremely convenient„ just next to the pier to Hallstatt, quiet place for vacation! The owners are very nice and generous. Also car park available for drivers. A great hostel that really recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    disappointment, only a great location, that's all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old and simple, can't be considered as Hotel, maybe a guesthouse no AC, limited parking space so you relay on the volume of visitors in the property and in the next door properties very simple forfeitures, not changing towels, etc we faced a bad attitude of the owner, arrived for breakfast at 09:29 (*we misunderstood and thought that it is until 10:30) but even that we arrived in the last minute the lady in the dinning hall refused to allow us to eat and claimed that we are late.... wrong behavior of someone that makes it leaving on guests.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location next to Hallstatt lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a bit small. The bathroom only had sachets of shampoo, and no other toiletries (like facial tissues). Unable to understand why this hotel is rated 4-star. Breakfast spread was good though.

    Good location next to Hallstatt lake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is a little bit small,but still OK

    lake view is perfect breakfast is ok although not enough choice price is much more reasonable than Hallstatt\ close to the train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    Good location with quiet environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t understand why the hair dryer is only given when we checked in rather than leave it in the room. This is a common practice in other hotels. This gave me a bad feeling like the hotel did not trust its customer. The room is real small even though it is written 19scm.

    Good location with quiet environment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Nice hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Either A.C. or a window is necessary...

    Perfect location...lake view from rooms... clear rooms... good breakfast.. friendly hosts... restaurants nearby...very scenic surroundings....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.7
    Very nice staff, good breakfast, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Loft with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    For 100EUR per night I expected something more than small room, with small window and small bathroom. I used to stay in better places for less money. It is so expensive just because of the location near the Hallstatt.

    Very nice staff, good breakfast, clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet and peaceful with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee making facilities in the room.

    The view was amazing, sitting right on the water and with the mountains covered in snow looking right back at you. A very peaceful place which is great when you need some rest and relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view of Hallstatter see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing view of Hallstatter see. Quiet place. Good breakfast. Walkable to all places: Obertraun bhf / Hallstatt bnf / Dachsteinseilbahn / Supermarket. Easy to go to Hallstatt. Really recommend if you want to stay over night in this area. Don’t need to spend more money to stay in Hallstatt. Obertraun is a better choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The view from this hotel is spectacular across the lake - we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from this hotel is spectacular across the lake - we couldn't believe how beautiful it was. The couple who run the hotel are very friendly and we thought it was a great place to stay - value for money compared to staying in Halstatt, with a much better view!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't know payment was made automatically before 6 p.m on first day by my credit card which was input when i made reservation on website. The host said it was policy of Booking.com for hotel. I never get any information about way to payment in advance, i just found 'i don't need to prepayment and i can pay at the hotel.' I hope to pay by cash, but payment was made already, i couldn't change it. I recommend that you'd better check way to payment with host before arrive hotel.

    It was really nice experience to me stay at the Hotel Haus Am See. Clean room condition, delicious breakfast(they have decaffeinated coffee also), friendly host, beautiful view with balcony. Even the room and toilet is a little bit small, but it is not a big problem to two people to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    The view was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel would be perfect if we were in the 90’s. Unfortunately, the furniture was too old and the room was too small.

    The view was amazing. The breakfast was fine. There was a lot of parking places. It was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    It would have been nice to have coffee and tea available in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have coffee and tea available in the guest kitchens. We did pay a lot for one night and I just wanted some tea before bed. Thanks

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: