Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gasthof Hirschen Schwarzenberg 4 stars

Hof 14, 6867 Schwarzenberg im Bregenzerwald, Austria

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came here with a colleague for a visit to some clients in Austria and we found this hotel online by case. We were so positively surprised!! It looks like you are in a fairy tale..the dinner at the restaurant was delicious and the same for the breakfast! Rooms super clean and beautiful! The staff wears typical costumes and they all are lovely and kind!! I will surely go back there and advise it to family and friends!!! Keep up the good work!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff not very friendly, and not particularly good value for money. 50% more than other hotels, (possibly due to it's history.)

    Nice hotel in peaceful location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant Menue is small and does not reflect the healthy aspects enough of modern times.... the quality is excellent.

    The history and the environment is wonderful....the breakfast and the staff is lovely and I recommend this hotel.....anytime

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much snow :)

    This is a place with culture and tradition. In a beautiful village, the hotel is a remarkable old chalet I can only recommend. It is a place full of history which offer more than standardized industrial and undifferentiated rooms. The dinner was there excellent in a beautiful dining room. The buffet breakfast was even better. I reserved a room in the old part (not renovated) to add even more to the charm. I regret I only spent one night there, coming back from Zell-am-see which had no charm compared to this old village. Very friendly and helpful reception and the owners speak french and English.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the external Wälderhaus without knowing it before. The rooms are very small! Roome rate is not. Rooms in the main house are reported to be be very loud from trafic.

    Historical ambiance, nice garden, good sauna area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely basic, particularly given how expensive it was. No fridge, no furniture, the thinnest, cheapest curtains that let all the light through. The room got so light and hot once the sun rose, with no air conditioning. Maybe ok for super early risers. The room was also very small. Our friends stayed in an equal room which was slightly bigger, they also got a fridge so maybe it's pot luck. They were also disappointed overall, again given the price.

    Pretty building in a nice location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't stay longer - but I will be back :-)

    The staff were extremely helpful and the welcome was the warmest that I have received in any hotel in recent years.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like tge location of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfasts were amazing and the hotel decor was beautiful. We loved using the sauna and our room was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely breakfast (great choice of local cheeses) and I would recommend eating here in the evening as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no complaints at all

    A great authentic experience!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the nicest breakfasts you can wish for with charming staff and excellent accommodation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very attractive old hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Restaurant spectacular and a great value.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really loved this gasthause aspecially breakfast and dinner was very delicious. Also staffs are so kindly and helpfull We recoment here. Thank you:)

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thought our room would be in the hotel itself but it was in a newer building that was adjacent- it was still nice but not what we initially had hoped for

    Great bar where you can hang out, delicious food at breakfast and dinner, beautiful decor, friendly staff, easy distance to skiing

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The selection at breakfast appears a bit limited after some days. The room had less historical flair than expected, although being in the main building. The spa can get easily crowded and loud.

    We stayed three nights in the main historical building. The building itself is amazing, with beautiful bar, restaurant and traditional Stuben on the ground floor. Extremely friendly and kind staff and great details (we found a book as a gift in our room upon arrival). Nice spa, with two different saunas. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The reception staff was a bit formal and "steif." I would have preferred a warmer reception and friendlier treatment.

    This was a romantic and historic hotel. The surroundings were absolutely breathtaking. It was wonderful to be given a "welcome glass" of champagne.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are very tall the "classic traditional room" head height might be a problem. These rooms are in the original part of the building. Located on main road through village on a corner and so traffic noise at certain times of day, week or year might be an issue for some people? In September, midweek and only for one night not a problem for us.

    Location, easy parking, very Austrian clientele very few other tourists, very friendly helpful staff, attractive traditional building.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Maybe the only thing to be improved is the WiFi availability. It was poor inside the room.

    The hotel was perfect, the staff very friendly, the room was in the "old" building and it was wonderful, with a lot of space in it and a very comfortable bed. It is a place to come back someday.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dog owners should note that they are not allowed in the dining or breakfast rooms but only outside (suited us) or in a smaller back room.

    If you want to be in the charming old building you must say so when booking. Staff very friendly and helpful. Terrific breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we stayed in was a little outdated and not a nice as the rooms shown on the website.

    Great service and helpful staff. Access to Access to hiking and biking trails. Hotel had high end eBikes to loan - nice touch! Food was wonderful - exceeded our expectations.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This house was built about 260 years ago. Despite its renovation to turn it into a four star hotel, it has kept its style and history.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    dinner was wonderful, great staff

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I wish we could stay more.

    The room, the breakfast, the view, location, the gourmet dinner, everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely quaint ambiance.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: