Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadt Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg 3 stars

Schallmooser Hauptstraße 1, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#54 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 8531 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had no air-conditioning - I guess the summers have become hotter and they need to install it. The room had no fridge, no slippers.

    The hotel was good, the location very agreeable, about 15 min. walk from the centre. The breakfast was nice served inside a little garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can provide coffee maker in room or in lounge. Not value for money. Location is a strong plus

    Location is good. Breakfast was same all three days. Only tea is free. No coffee maker in room. No coffee in lounge free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel's parking place was full (?) and I had to pay 15 euros 'parkschein'. Luckily enough I found a place outside the hotel.

    The hotel is old, but newly renovated and has a great style and a modern, pleasant design. The rooms are spacious with a wooden floor, very clean and comfortable. They have everything you need, even a tablet that can help your stay in salzburg. The bathroom was spacious enough. The breakfast was good, only the coffee could be better. The breakfast room was very big with a cute garden. Everything was designed with a great modern taste. The location is very convenient, at the end of a great pedestrian zone with many shops, restaurants etc. The old city is on the other side of the river, but this location is also great and quite. There was an automatic seller machine in the opposite of the hotel (in the front of the super market), that was very convenient, because we were able to buy water etc late in the evening, when everything in Salzburg was closed!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is any negative it would be that it is a bit noisy. Windows are double glazed so when they are closed it is great but it was hot when we were in Salzburg so we resorted to the fan provided by the hotel rather than have our windows open. Given the heat, it might be good to have a thinner duvet or a top sheet, but really we are splitting hairs here! It was a great spot to be.

    The location was absolutely fabulous- an easy walk from the trainststin, and to the old town down a pedestrian mall. There was a Spar across the road, an ATM as well and a taxi rank right outside the hotel. Numerous restaurants and retail outlets were in this area and there was plenty of atmosphere in the area as well. The lounge area at the hotel was great with lots of comfy couches, a big screen TV, toys for kids and tea and coffee making facilities on tap the whole time. Great selection of teas too! The staff were really helpful and we were able to buy our Salzburg card from the hotel. The room was small but adequate and had a safe to store valuables. Breakfast was terrific- well organised and a great range of food- yoghurt, fruit, various breads to toast, meats, cheeses, savoury spreads and jams as well, cake, croissants, eggs - scrambled or boiled... bottomless tea or coffee and juice... just great to keep you going the whole day long.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking fee is much especially for those who accommodated here.. parking lot should be free to park for the customers who travel by car...

    Great location, rich breakfast, very close to the center of the city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet unreliable and slow. Room too warm and no aircon but was too noisy to sleep with the window open. Staff could be a little friendlier e.g. at breakfast. Breakfast crockery etc. was cleared too quickly during breakfast, when still using, feels like being rushed.

    Great location close to Aldstadt. very nice breakfast with good variety. Comfortable bed and extra pillows issued on request.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately our experience was not as good as we had hoped. The telephone in the room did not work; we were not able to call or receive calls from the phone. We requested a new phone or a repair and although we were assured this would be done (by the second day during our stay) it was not. In cases of emergency, this would have been a real problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a bit of a weird vibe from the staff at the front desk but they were nice enough.

    Clean room with good light. Able to provide a cot for our room on request.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the breakfast staff were rather in a hurry to pack up , more than 45minutes before end of breakfast time , making U feel unwelcome .

    Very clean rooms , helpfull reception staff . A secure parking and good location . Necessary to use small room fans as too hot in room with double glazing and no good to keep windows open due to traffic and nearby taxi station . Nice to be able to have breakfast in inner courtyard .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning unit in the room was broke and we had to ask for a fan. Room and shower was very small.

    Breakfast was complimentary and it was walking distance from downtown area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great walking distance to old town. Good breakfast and has a very spacious courtyard. They provided an extra fan when it got too warm in the room. Staff provided directions on where to pick up busses.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Might be difficult for light sleepers with street sounds below.

    Location was great, staff was extremely helpful in helping us alter our Sound of Music tour date.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was on the whole good, however we arrived on all three mornings of our stay at 9.30 (breakfast runs until 10.30) to be told that certain things had run out and would not be replaced (croissants, eggs etc...). The air conditioning in the room is controlled by a central system, which means that it is on from 10 am until 7pm. This meant that the room was extremely cold (the weather wasn't even that warm!) and a huge waste of energy! We requested very politely at the reception for our room's air con to be turned off as we were very uncomfortable and were told by the lady at reception in a rather rude way that this wasn't possible. The hotel is quiet at night but if you wish to sleep longer than 9am this won't be possible, as a very loud vacuum cleaner is used along the hallway at this time! We liked the hotel for its fab location but it was disappointing baring in mind the relatively high cost.

    The room was very clean and the balcony was a lovely extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the air conditioning was set to a program time of 10am to 7pm, which would only benefit people who stay in their room during the day. The room was very hot, uncomfortable and stuffy through the night. The use of air conditioning should be left to the discretion of the individual guests.

    Great location. Close to old town, restaurants and sightseeing. Good breakfast. Clean, comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room size, the noise from outside, no AC

    The hotel is well located: 10 min walking to the city center. But, our room had the view to the street. Thus, there was a annoying noise in the room, even with the window closed. The room and the bathroom ware relay small. It was hot in the room because no AC in the room, also no chance to stay with the window open, because of the noise. The bed should have been a large double bed, but we had two twin beds, one stuck to the other. The breakfast is good, nothing remarkable. You can have the breakfast in the interior court, and it is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    lift a little slow ( very minor grumble)

    The hotel was very clean and the room was very good and quiet the staff are very well informed and helpful. the location is very good breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of AC

    Everything about the hotel was very good, except the air conditioning. It was very warm in Salzburg and the AC is controlled by some unknown source, and is available in the rooms only from 10am until 7pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to sleep due to the noise from the street. Rude staff at the reception

    Decent hotel at the beginning of pedestrian street, but very noisy. Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Cleanliness was not up to the mark. 2. Internet connection was very poor. 3. Maximum numbers of the TV channels were not working. 4. Room was too small than what we expected. 5. Who gives bubble gum flavored body soap in a hotel? 6. Not at all a Value for Money.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. It was within the walking distance from the city center. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location for strolling down to the old town and seeing the sights (10 minutes, max), then back through streets with a good choice of cafés and restaurants. Quiet and comfortable (we were in a garden room, so faced away from the road) - typical modern hotel style. Good range of breakfast choices, which we had outside on the terrace. Friendly, cheerful, helpful staff Parking on site, very easy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con unusually hot for time of year so room was stifling despite the fan. No toiletries apart from shampoo no tea making facilities in room

    goid Location lots of places to eat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man on duty at check in - no name badge - June 3, 2018 pm - was actually rude and continued to be rude throughout our stay. Refused to give me his name. The TV did not work, I reported it to him and he did nothing about it. Blamed everyone else but himself for his lack of service skills. Not a good fit for a front desk clerk. The room was extremely hot - no ac - on a main street so window could not stay open.

    The young woman who worked the day on June 4 was very helpfull and nice. She figired out the tv, one plug did not work, but could not find a jack to fix the problem. But she really tried. Keep her for sure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a fantastic stay. The staff were very welcoming & helpful. The hotel was clean & a better standard than expected. Breakfast was delicious & so much variety. Short walk to old town too. Really loved our stay. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the price and location, everything better than expected.

    Very good value. There were 2 rooms with one double bed in one and 2 singles in the other, when we had just booked twin beds, so we had much more space than usual or expected, and breakfast was included. Excellent location just near the beginning walking road into the old part of town. Able to open a window in each room for air, but could shut out noise overnight with double glazing. No noise problems. Not fancy, no mini-bar (although that suited us) but clean, comfortable and roomy, good shower. Highly recommended. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very basic with limited furnishings and decoration. Was quite noisy outside our window (which was open because of the 30C heat!) throughout the night.

    Very powerful shower and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms & Bathrooms Very Small. No Air-conditioning. Breakfast Options Very less for Vegetarians.

    Location is Excellent. Very Near to All the Places Reqd to Visit.Staff Very Courteous. Complementary Coffee & Tea Area was Very Good & Relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Most of the description the hotel provides is false. There is bad wifi, I could not open maps or buy tickets online, solution was to go to other hotels and restaurants to do my online stuff. Double beds are actually twin beds with very bad mattresses, iPads are hotel tablets that dont work, soundproof rooms are actually signs that ask guests to be quiet, garbage bins have opened tops so you can see and smell everything you trow in them ...

    The staff where helpful and nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t air conditioned, and they had a hot spell, but they provided a fan, so it worked. I discovered that very little in Austria or Bavaria IS air conditioned, so if this matters to you, find out before booking.

    Great internet, breakfast—I could get two extra pillows. Good location to restaurants and shops line the street to the river and old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not a “non smoking” area in the outside dinning/breakfast area.

    Nice hotel in a good location. Good value for money. Excellent staff Would stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Male staff might want to brush up on their small talk skills/hospitality, some of the rooms that have not been renovated certainly feel as if they haven't been renovated.

    Fantastic location, very close to the old town of Salzburg, without the price tag of Salzburg old town. Females o f the staff were simply excellent and welcoming, as well as helpful. Be aware that some of the rooms are renovated and some are not, renovated means pure bliss whereas the old ones are hot cubicles with a fan on the table. Parking (additional charge) was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No food and drink avaliable at night, but wasnt really problem

    Breakfast was great, room was extremely comfortable too. Staff on reception were excellent, even with regards to helping to book tours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is modern, simply furnished, clean, very good location, friendly staff. Perfect for a city stay for those who want comfort without luxury.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms overlooking road, traffics noise kept us awake most of the night. Would definitely pay extra for a room overlooking garden. Disappointed there was no complimentary coffee, there was tea of all descriptions to help yourself to, but no coffee.

    Great location for exploring Salzburg. Reception staff very helpful. Excellent choice for breakfast. Rooms good size and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have a fridge.

    The location was really good, it was close to both the main railway station and the city center. The room was clean and the staff were helpful and polite. The breakfast was enough for the value paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    > No place to really put the towels in the bathroom. > You can get some hot tea in the lobby (not in your room), but you have to pay for coffee. > The storage for your baggage, if you want to walk around on your last day after checkout without carrying everything, is available in the lobby, but not secured (just a room everyone can access).

    > Nice and modern rooms and the balcon is very appreciated > Location is really good > Breakfast was clean and nicely presented (but no grilled bacon, if you wanted to know)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit noisy- needed to have window open to cool down room so then got street noise- still got good nights sleep

    Very helpful and friendly front desk staff Good selection at breakfast and plenty of room Nice tea/ coffee station in lobby Convenient location to train station and pedestrian street into old town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no luggage lock on the door. It would have been nice to have it locked during the day, but we had no problems when returning.

    The staff were very friendly, especially one man at the front desk. He always had a smile on his face and was happy to help with directions or recommendations. The hotel overall was clean and modern. A nice location within the newer part of Salzburg. Very handy to restaurants and Mirabell Gardens. Nice walk over the bridges to the older part of Salzburg too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Will be good to have aircon.

    Location is good. About 15mins walk from main train station and facing Main Street. Spacious room and great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to have a few years to be renovated and for this price I was expecting a more renovated room and hotel facilities.

    The room and the hotel was clean and the stuff was very friendly. The location is very good in a walking distance from the main attactions of the city. The breakfast area also is quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice breakfast spread. The location was great. Maybe a 10 minute walk to (tourist) Central but away from the crowds and noise. Staff recommended 2 excellent restaurants off the beaten path. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic and plain. On the small side. If you get a room on the street side, it can be noisy.

    Great location. Just one street from historic tourist area. They have a bar and helpful, friendly staff. Close to laundromat too. You can drop off your clothes and pick up in24 hours or less. Decent bathroom with nice size shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom could have more than two hooks. Staff got the job done, but could be a tad more cheerful.

    Hotel is close to pedestrian zone and can easily walk to old town and most attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was included (buffet style) - good choice and good quality. The hotel itself is simple and unpretentious, but had everything we needed, helpful staff and everything worked well. Best thing about it was the location - very central - just beyond the end of the pedestrianized Linzer Gasse, which we thought one of the nicest streets in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant park outside the hotel to get your luggage. The room was very noisy from the outside street, no air conditioning, only a fan, we asked for one bed and got two. The breakfast ok, only scrambled eggs and nothing warm else.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as ours needs were met

    The room was perfect -clean and modern on top floor with balcony. Location was very good a short walk to the centre and historic area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not big and there were no air condition & hair dryer & minibar in the room.

    Open buffet breakfast was good Location was nice, 10 min walk to tourist attractions Nice seating area in the lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good, room is big and they arrange a quite room as my request. And there is a balcony in my room. Staffs are helpful!! Location is very convenient!! Just a few mins walk to old town street area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Our room was modern and comfortable. Location for us was good, a walk down the hill took you to the sound of music do re me garden then over the river and straight into the Old Town. Breakfast very good. All foods available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wi-Fi was a bit slow, quality of breakfast was somewhat mediocre (there was a lot of options though)

    The location was very central, the rooms are clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was staying on the third floor and the Wifi connection was intermittent at times.

    The location is great - a 10-15 minute walk to everything I wanted to see in Salzburg. Breakfast was great every morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nowhere to hang towels and clothes in the bathroom. Not a big room (only one chair). No trash can in the room (only in the bathroom). No soap dish.

    Really good breakfast. Nice location. Big windows. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incorporating AC in the rooms for the summer months might make it a better experience. We were there in Spring so it was not that bad with the windows open and a table fan. However, the noise from the traffic below (we were on the first floor) might be a problem.

    Very good location.Very clean and comfortable property. Breakfast included, so good value for money for Salzburg prices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room faced the street, it was quite noisy at night. The room was fresh and clean but very basic and small. Probably, 90 EUR is OK for Salzburg since the city seems to be very popular among tourists but in general it is too expensive for this type of accommodation.

    It is a nice but very basic hotel with an excellent location - very close to the city center but at the same time in a more tranquil and nice area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You pay what you get, but this hotel is below what I was expecting. The room is pretty small, and the toilet, but the worse thing is, the rooms smells bad :( we can accept all the “small” issue, but the bad smell is not acceptable.

    The breakfast was good, and the staffs there are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No ironing facilities within hotel. Shower gel had no scent but we could buy our own from the shop right opposite the hotel.

    Breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the older Reception staff was very rude and helpful. Others that we dealy with were efficient if not amiable. Despite the free tea bags and hot water available on the ground floor, we would have appreciated a kettle input room.

    The very central location. Excellent breakfast especially the mini cakes! Also appreciated the hot water near the Reception with teabags and milk which you could help yourself to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor and the staff from there a bit rude. For me it was expensive for what the offer.

    The room was clean and the staff from the reception was nice and helpful. the location is good, not in the city center but on the way between the city center and the train station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really good with a great choice of foods to suit all tastes. The staff at the reception were extremely helpful, courteous and professional. The location of the hotel was also excellent at the edge of the pedestrianised area and a short walk to the bridges leading to the main tourist sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very well located hotel with underground parking, rooms are nice and comfortable, internet is a little bit overloaded but tablet for personal use in the room is a nice surprise. Breakfast had a good selection of food. Overall it is good to stay and come back here

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all.

    The hotel is located just between the main railway station and historic city center of Salzburg (15 - 20 minutes by foot both directions). The room was large, clean and comfortable, Wi-Fi - stable and fast. The staff was very kind, flexible and helpful. Breakfast was reach enough. Cost/value ratio is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee making facility

    Good location. Walking distance to shopping center, main tourist attractions, Panorama sightseeing bus terminal and train station. Good internet connectivity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room assigned was facing the Main Street so very noisy sleeping with window open. No amenities given in the room

    The breakfast was good so many varieties to eat and the location was great, I can take bus in front of the hotel across street. Hotel also near to the Chinese restaurant if you fancy Chinese cuisine for a change. Hotel staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night receptionist was REALLY unpolite, sorry to say that but I like to leave feedbacks and be honest...I mailed the Hotel explaining I was driving ftom Holland and I MIGHT BE very late, reply, "NO PROBLEM, RECEPTION IS OPEN 24 HOURS PER DAY"...when there, at half past two, obviously not quite the normal/regulat time for a check in, right, BUT I MAILED the HOTEL, the window door was shut. I knock and we started playing something I am realy good about it, beeing Italian: talking with our hands...:-) Only problem, she ( probably! ) thought I was a guest, so to put my card in the outside thing, having booked whilst travelling I had no chance of printing the reservation, so no use of showing from faar away ( she was stubbornerly staying behind the desk...pretending to do something else...) my little pink piece of paper with details of my room...well, to cut a long story short, after a good five minuyes where I found out my hands swearing is pretty good, she finally opened the door. Next time, more polite, behave and relax. Thanks.

    Everything, from the place, modern but REALLY nice, to the breakfast, good and...lots. :-) Despite the quite bad introduction to this ( then ) nice place...read below.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very warm. Only way to cool down was to open window. As we overlooked main road this was noisy.

    The location was superb. 10 min stroll to old town along pedestrianised street past lots of lovely bars, restaurants and shops. Spotlessly clean hotel. Lovely powerful shower. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort and clean hotel very central in salzburg.good breakfast and helpfull personal.you can walk all turistic point in salzburg and very good restourant closer ( a few steps away) good choose for visit salzburg .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is in the different side of the old town so need to walk a bit far to reach the Fortress or the st.peter church. A lot of people waiting at the reception. Betterr have more staffs.

    The room is fine. Breakfast is good. Good value of money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't tell us train times at reception. I forgot to pack a hairbrush and would have liked to have been able to buy one

    Excellent breakfast buffet Clean comfortable room Excellent location No tea\coffee in room but 24hour self service in foyer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was small. But perfectly functional - water pressure was great!

    Location good, room very clean and everything in good order. The hotel car park was full when we arrived but staff directed us to a secure public car park only two minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom facilities outdated but clean

    Staff very helpful and friendly Tea making facilities with plates and cutlery allowed for relaxed atmosphere for bringing food back Drinks priced reasonably Excellent location Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location: bus number 4 and a supermarket is 5 meters from the hotel, 5 minutes walking to the city center. Breakfast was very good. Staff was lovely and helpful. Rooms was big enough, very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slow check in when we arrived. Bed a bit old but good enough.

    Good breakfast and excellent location to visit Salzburg. Close to car parks and on street parking available as well. The hotel is simple and confortable. Room size is just enough and no problems with the dog. The location is quiet but close to the city center and most of the tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked two rooms. My brother and his girlfriend had a double room which turned out to be huge with two double beds. I booked one room for myself and it was really small, smaller than some student dorm rooms. I personally didn't mind, it still had everything I needed - it was just strange to have such a big difference between the rooms when I was only paying £10 less. Also didn't realise we had to pay €15 for parking until we arrived.

    Everything we needed for a great stay! It's a perfect location near the old town. There's plenty of restaurants and bars around. Breakfast was great! Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast area reminded us of a school canteen but the breakfasts were fine.

    This hotel is in an excellent location to explore Salzburg on foot. Very close to the hotel you are into the pretty streets of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is perfect! We loved the location - just footsteps away from a pedestrian zone. The rate was a great deal and we would definitely recommend to friends.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Completely renovated hotel ... except for the bathroom in my very small room. I did not even risk to take a shower. Bathroom was cleaned, but very old fashioned, used and worn-out (see picture). Not at all in line with the price I paid and the rest of the hotel.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altstadt Hotel Hofwirt Salzburg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: