Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hohenstauffen 3 stars

Elisabethstraße 19, Elisabeth-Vorstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#34 of 117 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1497 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Extremely fulfilling and deeply satisfying. Needs a second time around!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed longer in this beautiful, clean and safe city!

    Bruno, at the reception, was super attentive to our needs. We were given the rooms at the pretty house next to the hotel. We were in 2 huge and spacious twin bed rooms with very comfortable beds. We had a bath with toilet, plus an extra shower. Breakfast was in a beautiful setting with a good variety of choices. The location was extremely convenient and very close to the train station which was our mode of transport. We walked to all the areas we needed to visit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    A warmly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually nothing. Just you need to know no Air conditioner in the room. And room is small indeed but setup is quite smart.

    Ideally location, super nice hosts and always make you feel like at home. It's dark around hotel in the night but it's safety.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The location near and walking distance to the Central train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is maxing and walking distance to the main train station The Hotel is an Antique Gem With all the facilities needed For summer they provide you with an electric fan The owner Manager “ANDY” is very Helpful accommodating and Very friendly as well as the other Hotel staff Breakfast is amazingly good The hotel Decor since I like antique stuff is very Beautiful The Dining Room is spectacular awesome I had a Great Time in this Hotel and Highly recommended

    The location near and walking distance to the Central train station The owner manager is so cool and very Friendly and Helpful and very accommodating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy street in front of hotel, not good for sleeping with open window.

    Good location, close to main train station, about 20 min walk to the center or by bus 25, very friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    The woman at the front desk was so kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old school but not in a bad way.

    The woman at the front desk was so kind. She called a cab for us and explained to the driver where to take us. The parking for the hotel was convenient..just down the street. The hotel location was ok. The hotel itself was clean and pleasant. Good breakfast. Walkable to the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    peaceful gret hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel located 4 minutes from the railway and bus stations few restaurants nearby and big spar store/ the staff super polite nice and helpful big rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    We did enjoy our stay,ideal for two nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no actual bar, you had to get drinks from reception, not much choice of drinks.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Hotel was good for two nights and good location, was relatively easy to find.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.6
    Good breakfast and really friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really old and really basic furniture. Carpets should have been replaced years ago. Does not meet current level of expectation for a normal hotel room.

    Good breakfast and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Would recommend, especially for travellers arriving by train--less than 5 minute walk. Very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the front desk was wonderful--very warm and friendly. Gave my daughter and me excellent suggestions re where to go for dinner and drinks in Salzburg. Good and varied breakfast every morning, beginning at 6:30. Good location--a short walk to the river and foot bridge to old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    There was an extremely unhelpful and rude man at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was an extremely unhelpful and rude man at the reception - think its the owner of the place also there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is pretty basic in most hotels

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was located close to the train station, but wasn't in a very nice part of town. The breakfast choices were a bit limited.

    Bed was comfortable. The night was warm and there was no AC, but because we were able to open the window fully, we were comfortable while sleeping.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good hotel but not excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t know why room is so warm (hot) although outside temperature was around 18 at night that made us feel a bit uncomfortable. No air con.

    Cosy room, good breakfast and friendly staffs. 4 mins walk from main station and super markets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    I was lucky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    kind and comfortable. The room seemd like a house rather than a hotel :) Big bath tab was there though they don't describe about it. Thank you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant small family-run hotel close to main station and not too far from the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    A nice room with comfy bed and clean bathroom. Room had large window opening to garden. Continental breakfast was excellent. Friendly staff and a good overall experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Can do better ... avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC and no fans. Sweltering heat. Windows had to be left open while melting in bed ... but a lot of street noise made for lousy sleep. Rooms dated.

    Relatively close to Mirabell Gardens or to river path that leads to the old city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff when we checked in was quite rude. Someone opened the room door early in the morning, without even knocking the door. Not cheap but is Salzburg...

    The location is good. It's a quiet area and free parking is great. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is correct.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every was perfect for our family. The parking was full , but they did every thing to park our car. The breakfast was excellent. The bad was very comfortable. The boy from the reception tell us for perfect place for good food and draft beer. 20,25 min from the center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful when arriving to the hotel. Our room was very nice, clean and breakfast more than satisfying. Ms. Linda (I suppose) as one of the owners of this lovely place was incredibly helpful when planning our tour around Salzburg. She gave us many tips and "background" information about Salzburg summer festival. Thanks to her tips and route proposed we had an amazing time there and had seem most of the beauties that the city has to offer. We will definitely come back again! When it comes to the location - not far from the centre of the city, 10 min tops on foot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel next to railway station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room I stayed in had — to my suprise — no bathroom. Shower and sink were inside the room (with a carpet) I slept (next to the bed). That and the fact that there is no air condition available is, I think, hardly tolerable for the price of 75 Euros (for a single room in railway station hotel). + the lack of a bathroom should be mentioned at the homepage.

    very nice owners, excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Exceeded our expectations - thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building works opposite started at 7am; not hotel's fault of course. Bedroom pictures could do with updating.

    Location, 5 mins walk from railway station. Quirky/old style but clean/comfortable. Excellent staff. Excellent breakfast. Walkable to old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Linda and Heimo (hope I have spelt correctly) were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little kettle and cups made available in the room would have been nice :)

    Linda and Heimo (hope I have spelt correctly) were very friendly and helpful. For the price, comfort, cleanliness, the proximity to the main station, the lovely and very good quality breakfast and the helpful/friendly people, this hotel is really value for money. It is a nice and leisurely walk to the centre of activities. I didn't return to the hotel till 8.30pm. I'm a female travelling alone in July, I feel safe at the hotel and the surrounding area. Perhaps when the sun sets earlier, lone traveller should make his/her way back to the hotel before it gets dark as the hotel is located in a quieter area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    I would rate my stay 9.5/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a small hotel seems to be run by a family. They are very friendly and lively people with orientation towards the servicing the guests. We had traveled with an infant and it was a lovely stay. The hotel is situated next lane to the main train station and thus walkable from there. The walk to the main attractions is also not very long and thus, location is excellent. They serve breakfast in the hotel and it is very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    A family run hotel with a long history and special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A family run hotel with a long history and special atmosphere. Clean and comfortable room. Quiet place, no noise can be heard from the outside. Polite personnel. Good breakfast. Five minutes to the railway station. I recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Close to train station and FORUM 1 (a small shopping centre).
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television noise from the neighboring room can be heard in my room. Ear plugs are needed for good sleeps.

    Close to train station and FORUM 1 (a small shopping centre).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful couple proprietor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, but weather is cooler at night during my stay, so no problem

    Very friendly and helpful couple proprietor. Old charm of European hotel, and everything is very clean. Good location about 5mins walk from station Great value for the price paid Comfortable bed Buffet breakfast, although basic, it’s nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    The single room is really tiny but okay if the goal is to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single room is really tiny but okay if the goal is to just sleep, shower and get out. The location is slightly far from old town where all the sites are. That said, the hotel is super close to the main train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The staff was very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and friendly. The rooms were clean and excellent. The breakfast was awesome. So many choices. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.0
    good shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2,5 km walk from city center, we really do not understand how this could be advertised as a good location you should do something about the bad smell

    good shower

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast and near to the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room is far too small,I suspect they change a single room to a double room, could not even put our luggage properly. Hot room with only one big window. Is was super hot after shower.

    the host was super nice. Breakfast was good, lots options for fresh fruits, meat, bread and dried fruits. A few mins walk to station which was good for us,we did not drive. Salzburg is small anyway so you can walk to main visit place in half hour

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Super friendly owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking location could be better described/communicated.

    Super friendly owner. Located very near the train station and a 15 minute scenic walk to the old city (be sure to walk along the river to get there for a quieter more relaxing walk). Has an elevator. Great variety for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Friendly family hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delightful and friendly atmosphere in this family hotel. Well furnished room. Excellent breakfast. Location very close to the railway station and an easy walk onto the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location for getting around and a short walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for getting around and a short walk to the train station. Owners/staff lovely and very accommodating when I wanted to watch an hour of the Royal Wedding 😹 They also recommended a couple of very nice restaurants not far from hotel. We would stay again. Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the four poster in the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts was very friendly and helped us navigate the off street parking. He also made excellent recommendations and mapped out a route from the hotel so we could see all the sights without becoming lost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    We really liked the location since we could catch the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We really enjoyed Hotel Hohenstauffen.

    We really liked the location since we could catch the train easily. It was very quiet and convenient to walk to other areas in the city. Wonderful spacious room, great breakfast and very nice staff. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff is great, very helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near to the train station has pluses and minuses. That time it was good for me, as I had early train, but area is not attractive in tourist point of view and you need to walk 10-15 minutes to get to central Salzburg.

    Staff is great, very helpful! Price is an advantage. Breakfast is very good. Coffee set, tablecloths are so cute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    All staff I met there are really very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a bit old but it's beautiful.

    All staff I met there are really very nice and helpful. Location is good that it's very closed to the train station and bus station. Nice breakfast is served.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    100% money/value ratio!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For me the bed was a bit hard :) but it was definitely good for my back. The street can be a bit noisy, but nothing serious. One of the guests decided to take a shower 7am on a Sunday, which was very noisy - but the hotel can not really do anything with "unbehaving" guests.

    The atmosphere was really nice, the room spacious, the bathroom was as well really great. Also the staff was very nice, all of them with whom I met, even when we arrived back to the place late at night from the city centre. The main attractions, like Mirabell Palace and Garden or Mozart's Residence or Birth house, or even the Dome District are reachable on foot as well. There is a nice restaurant not too far - the PitterKeller - if someone wants to go for traditional and tasty Austrian food for a good price. The free parking place is something that not many accomodation offers in Salzburg (not even for a price). Many positive aspects in one place, I definitely would cosider staying here in case of a future visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no refrigerator and could hear next room's door sound.

    Staffs were very friendly and nice. Close to the main station so it was easy to move around. Breakfast was pretty good too. Very old style deco.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The room was beautifully furnished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no complaints

    The room was beautifully furnished. The breakfast was delightful and delicious! Extra information was given to us to enjoy Salzburg. Thanks!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel, very friendly with great info about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A gem of a hotel, very friendly with great info about the City and the recommendation of the Salzburg card! The decor is arty, well furnished and clean. It’s not a modern hotel but I loved it for that reason! A winner!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Recommended stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room for 2 was just a bit small but was still good enough for 1 night stay

    very helpful staff, she gave us very valuable tips. very good breakfast. good location, ca. 15min walking to the old city by the river.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    Really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if there was a double bed instead of two twin beds put together.

    The hotel is close to the train station, which was exactly what we were looking for. The building itself was very lovely. The room definitely looked better than in the pictures!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is my personal preference, but this hotel is quite old.

    Breakfast was quite good. Parking place was ok. Location was not so bad, if you do not mind to take a walk 10 minutes to Mirabell Palace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Good location, a few minutes walk from the train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Good location, a few minutes walk from the train station, but not far from the city center, either. The staff was really nice and helpful. They have a fantastic breakfast, too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room in the hotel building had a small window only but the separate building next to the hotel had a bigger windows

    easy to find the place and parking is good, convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    The place looks like the time stood still there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is not well marked, so it's difficult to spot it in the night.

    The place looks like the time stood still there... since the 70s. It has its charm.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Amazing, quiet, amazing staff, close to places of interest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was awesome. The only thing we didn't like is that we stayed only a single night before having to leave Salzburg :(

    The location is close to the city centre, in walking distance to most sightseeing places. Even if it's close to the central railway station, it's in a very quiet part of the neighborhood. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was the most pleasant and polite we've ever experienced! Definitely recommending this place when staying in Salzburg!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Nice rooms. Friendly staff, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, two bedroom apartment was spacious and clean. Friendly staff. Only minus was that all parking spots were full so we had to park our car quite far away at street. Very good price-value-quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for a quick Salzburg stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was not ideal for a couple. The towels in the bathroom had hair on them, though the rest of the room was clean.

    Having the train station at 3 minutes by walking is both positive and negative: you can reach the city centre in 15 minutes top but when you're coming back to the hotel the area does not feel safe and you have many erotic shops around the corner. Very lovely and helpful staff, definitely buy the bus tickets at reception instead of the bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Warm and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed one night. Our reception was welcoming. The room size was very good and breakfast was excellent. We needed somewhere local to the train station and this hotel fitted the bill perfectly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Felt very welcomed and greatly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's unfortunate that the hotel is close to a couple of xxx rated shops which are difficult to avoid seeing, so not ideal if you're travelling with kids.

    Lovely staff, lovely rooms and lovely breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    great location for a stop over, good breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are not many restaurants or cafes in the immediate area - its residential, but only a short walk back to the station where there are coffee shops/ supermarkets or its a 10 min bus ride/ walk to a more central area.

    the location is ideal near the main train station only a 5 mins walk and you can stroll into Salzburg old town within a 20 min . The owner was very helpful and provided a map and indicated all we needed to know for a few hours in Salzburg , plus the directions and bus numbers. She even sold us a bus ticket that got us to the airport the next day..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Lady at reception was very friendly and basically draw...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lady at reception was very friendly and basically draw optional city tour at map to us. Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast table was rich and plates were filled up all the time. Very pleasant experience!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Thank you for a wonderful stay. Highly recommend Linda and her amazing staff at Hotel Hohenstauffen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Staff were so friendly! Happy to give advice on local attractions and easiest way to get there. Wonderful choices at breakfast. Linda went beyond expectations to provide a meal for her guests on Christmas Eve, as most local restaurants were closed. Great personal touches like daily supply of delicious home made shortbread biscuits at the front desk for all to enjoy. And we did! Thank you for making our holiday so enjoyable! We look forward to coming back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Very good location 5m away just from main train and bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location 5m away just from main train and bus station ,the staff it’s really friendly and helpful and the commodities are fair for the price. Recommend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.9
    Well located. A bit basic and dated but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated

    Wells located. Short drive to airport and 15 min walk from the old town. Surrounding area not great but ok. Friendly welcome. Our room was quite small and quite dated but clean and comfortable. WiFi decent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Lovely, helpful staff. Fabulous and filling breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was a delightful, traditional hotel. Our room was beautifully decorated and well heated, but not too hot. There was always plenty of hot water in the morning and evening. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Good place to atleast experience staying similar as local salzburg house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking on their rooms can be smelled on the floor hallway

    Location from the station is the best thing, a bit of walk to the center (could be too much when it’s cold) breakfast fast limited but okay for short stay. Reception was helpful and friendly, rooms were old style but spacious . Try St Peter’s restaurant, costly but amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was pretty small but it did have a lot of closet space

    The staff was very helpful and patient. Breakfast was quite good- great variety. Good location - 4 minute walk from the major tram/bus station. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Good location: near to Mirabel palace and train station, 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location: near to Mirabel palace and train station, 15 min of walk to the city center and gas station with shop 24h "on the way". Free, but small parking included. Very pleasant and familiar service. Clean and comfortable rooms. Tasty breakfast. Free and fast WiFi. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent service,location was good and warm atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were superb and very friendly.They made us feel at home.The size of the room was also great.The atmosphere was really cozy.Definitely one of our favourites.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    All in all, this is a small, older, family-run hotel, and we enjoyed our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was not very good. My parents wound up going to a nearby coffee shop every morning after breakfast to try to get a decent cup. Also the hair dryers were pretty ineffective, but this wasn't a big deal for us.

    This is a cozy, older hotel with a 2-person elevator. Our rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. Our group had rooms with a full bath, and the bathroom was great! - huge one-person soaking tub. I took two baths in the three nights that we spent there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with our choice of hotel, just what we were looking for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Possibly tea & coffee making facilities in the room.

    Lovely welcoming atmosphere, loved the more traditional feel of the hotel. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a little busy at breakfast time as the room is quite small but we only had to wait 5-10 minutes.

    Very friendly family-run hotel, close to the station and easy to walk into the centre of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Reasonable for cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the place a little difficult due to the small sign for the place but this is not uncommon for Europe. The shower was VERY small but again not uncommon for Europe at times. It was spartan accommodations (but that is what you get for the price). It was strange that there was only 2 outlets in the room - one by the door and other by the bed that was taken by a clock.

    It was an inexpensive stay and the breakfast was good overall. The location is not bad from the Alt Stadt (15-20 minute walk) and the front desk was EXTERMELY helpful in suggesting where to got since I only had 1 day in Salzburg. Nice people running the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    I really enjoyed my stay here. Friendly, efficient, caring ,wonderful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't fault this hotel. There was nothing that I didn't like. Superb, excellent !

    The most welcoming and friendly hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in..literally from the moment I arrived until I left, nothing was too much trouble. It was like staying with friends rather than a hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant hotel with a family vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked to have tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Very close to train station, which is one reason we chose hotel. Friendly hosts, good breakfast. Enjoyed sleeping in a four-poster bed. Also, yummy homemade Christmas cookies in reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely family hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we missed our breakfast on the 1st day as the guy at Reception during check-in just didn't inform us that it s included I know it can be our fault... but we used so many hotels and just couldn't keep all info in my head where brekky included and where not. A kind reminder at check in that breakfast is included and when it s served would be greatly appreciated! :)

    Lovely family hotel :) Interesting interior, rooms are furnished in princess style, looks unusual but cute :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.8
    Gracious host, great location, and a most relaxing and comfortable stay in Salzburg!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit more lighting in the room, especially near the table, would be great. (We do realise that Europeans prefer warm light in their rooms and living areas.)

    Winter came early during our visit but our well-insulated twin room on the upper-most floor was really comfortable, quiet, and cozy despite being located next to the lift. There were ample closet space; same for the shower/toilet area. Breakfast was great, and the host family (owner, his wife, and children) was friendly and most helpful. The main train station (with a major supermarket) was about a 5-minute walk away. There were also many restaurants, cafes, and supermarkets near the hotel. But the best thing is that the city centre and major attractions was just a nice stroll away along Salzach River. The fact that it's near the train station/bus terminal made trips to Hallstatt and Berchtesgaden, for instance, a breeze.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Lots of character and charm in this hotel, and it's a great location to reach the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This family run hotel has a lot of character and charm. It is warm, cozy and personable. The room was clean, the staff were pleasant and helpful and it's in a great location to reach the heart of the city. We really enjoyed our stay here.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    7.1
    Short trip at a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a non-smoking room, but could still smell smoke from other rooms on the floor.

    Convenient location near the main train station and tram/bus to the centre was frequent; good wifi connection; friendly staff; good breakfast spread; everything you need for a short trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent position for visiting Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our twin bedded room was dated but large, but felt it was a bit of a let down. The bathroom was more modern and more functional.

    Very friendly family run hotel. Quiet, clean and tidy, excellent position, close to main bus terminal and center of Salzburg. Breakfast was good, being replenished all the time. Helpful staff to advise on where to go and what to do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable cozy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water was a little slow to come up in the showers.

    The owners speak excellent English and it's family run. They provided very good information on where to eat and visit. The room was of good size and the bed firm and comfy. It is only approx 200-300m from the station so it's convenient. Breakfast was also good and they start at 6:30am - perfect start for a full day's trip.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Lovely location, superb hotel and genuinely caring staff/owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel is lovely and very handy for public transport. Our bedroom was amazing -four poster bed! Not sure if all the rooms are similar! Breakfast buffet was plentiful and beautifully presented. Staff were really friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Had one of the most enjoyable stays at this hotel. It was a shame we were only there for one night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was a surprising find! Even if the room was small it was functional and had everything we needed. The water pressure from the shower was excellent, and I had one of the best sleeps during my travels thanks to the great bed! The breakfast was also excellent, it was authentic in true European/Austrian style, with great spread of cold cuts, cheese, salad and cereal. Would definitely come back here to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: