Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn - Salzburg City 4 stars

Sterneckstrasse 21, Schallmoos, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#77 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1057 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    good city centre location, close to tour collection points,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you have to reserve parking, but we didn't know that, we arrived around 11pm after a full day of driving and were told there were no more parking spaces and the closest secure car park was a 20 min walk away. They also charge for parking. the gym facilities are very basic and the air con wasn't working.

    good city centre location, close to tour collection points, shops and cafe's.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be a halfway curtain in the window for privacy. Can’t open the ceiling to floor length curtains during to day to enjoy the view or The window should be a one way mirror. Also i celebrated my 40th Birthday in this hotel. Staff did not even bother to greet me or make it extra special. :(

    Nice view. Short walk to Mirabell Palace. Lovely breakfast and lots of choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    A good place to stay a little out of the way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Their towels were on the scratchy side. Although the hotel is not too far from the old town, the railway station is about 15 minutes' brisk walk away, and almost too far to think about walking with luggage. OK if you're taking a taxi.

    The hotel was typical Holiday Inn - comfortable without being flash. Our room was an adequate size and well furnished. The bathroom was functional and also a good size. The hotel is located about 10 minutes' walk from the old town and most tourist attractions, and there are many good restaurants on the way.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far from the old town (15 ~ 20 min on foot). The breakfast was a bit expensive.

    The breakfast was delicious and the staffs were helpful. The rooms were equipped with air conditioner and you can even enjoy a great variety of tea free in the room .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    We loved Austria and after sussing out the public transport near the hotel we would stay again at HI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couple of minor issues , voiles needed at bedroom window for privacy from house over road opposite and shared balcony. Shower needed a different fitting for the shower head as it faced out into bathroom and was a bit of a challenge to stop the water going all over the bathroom.

    Comfy bed, pillows and air con. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Quite far from the center, especially for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite far from the center - around 20 minutes by foot and around 15 minutes from the train station. Expensive breakfast (we haven't tried it).

    Bed was pretty comfortable. Staff was friendly. The room was pretty clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    The room was nice, clean, spacious and light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room (so we wasted a few iced coffees after making the mistake of assuming we would have a fridge!)

    The room was nice, clean, spacious and light. The location was good, a 15 minute walk from the train station and then the same again the other way to the old town so it’s quite central.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.6
    I only liked there was public drinkable water in the...
    • Family with young children
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel only has a bed no more.. i would expect to have slippers ; no minibar no kettle no coffeemaker no soap the AC wasnt work properly and the light was no good in the room. Some of the staff was unfriendly and they were not helpfull such as they know nothing about the city and old town ..

    I only liked there was public drinkable water in the reception. And also the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Good place to stay with ligt luggage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a bit of walk from the railway station. If you are carrying heavy luggage, the wheels of the luggage can be easily broken.

    The service of the hotel is very good and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean and modern decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground parking very tight if your driving a large SUV

    Clean and modern decor. Good internet and staff very helpful. A block away from the bus that takes you to the airport

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are really small and the furniture was not to modern as other holiday inn hotels. they dont have fridge in the room. they don't change the used body lotion in the bathroom . the rooms are dark because the lights are not enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    A comfortable and satisfying romantic break to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Ground floor room with a view of a concrete patio and a wall at the rear. Emerging from a fire exit near our room to find a workman smoking outside. Poor soundproofing between rooms.

    The mattress was ideal for us, being thick and firm, plus having a choice of firm or soft pillows. The power shower. Tea & coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    6.7
    below expectation form holiday inn chain hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom is good and bed is good.

    There is refrigerator in the room. The hotel has old furniture with some renovations. The parking is with fee except in the front of the hotel which has very limited parking space. Hotel staff offers limited services.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Good stay for 4N at Holiday Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning could have been better. Also despite 2 couples booked together, room allotment was inconvenient. Housekeeping worked only in limited time.

    Comfortable, clean rooms with good view!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Expensive parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is too expensive. The coffee in the room is really not good. The free water is one of the worst. For the price we expected a mini-bar or tiny fridge.

    The room was really quiet. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast was extra. Cheap plastic cups instead of glasses. Room a little small.

    Good location. Helpful staff. Comfortable. Good value for money in Salzburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Great, quiet, comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, we would happily stay here again.

    Great hotel, large clean room. We had booked the ‘mountain view’ room and were given the best view of the mountains that the hotel has although this is limited as you can’t view a lot. Being on the top floor means you have the best view you can get though, and aren’t over looked by the opposite hotel - we would recommend asking for a room on floor 5 or 6 for optimum privacy and views of a few mountains and the city. There are sun screens you can put up in your room which is a great idea. Large bathroom with good facilities. Air con was a great temperature always which was needed! Hotel is 15 minute walk from the centre of Salzburg which if you want a little peace from the hectic altstadt but also close to a bus stop to the centre of Salzburg and the airport if you would rather. Staff friendly and we could check in an hour early which was a great help.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    I reserved for 4 nights but I had to come a day later and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I reserved for 4 nights but I had to come a day later and then stayed for 3 nights. I announced these changes the day before.The hotel did not give me any discount or anything and I was forced to pay for all four nights. The hotel said I must deal with Booking.com for an issue like this to get refunds. Can Booking.com give me any refunds ?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only drawback is that it is slightly further from town centre, and our room had a shared balcony with the other rooms, so we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time. It was also difficult to adjust the aircon. other than that, the apartment was good.

    The room was new, clean and well equipped. Plenty of supermarkets nearby to get your food. Staff are really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    The hotel was clean, close to bus stop. Staff were fantastic especially Leo the friendly bar manager.. Always willing to help. Our stay was great Thank you !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    The location, friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi wasn't working throughout my stay. I reported a couple of times, and no one followed up with me there after.

    The location, friendliness of staff and cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    2.5
    NOT Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no WIFI in first floor! cold room, one room card, facing the noisy street. We arrived at 12.00 at lunch time and given a 1st floor room in front of the elevator, and reception is refused to switch room because of fully booked. Worst experience in Holiday inn.

    breakfast is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Breakfasts!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both receptionists that I met would benefit from being more friendly and customer-oriented. Unfortunately, the TV, safe and kettle all didn't work in our room.

    The beds are very comfortable, the view is amazing. And breakfasts. The best breakfast I saw in a hotel in a looong time! You can even squeeze your own orange juice. Great hotel in general, definitely my high recommendations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just 15 minutes from city center. They provide free coffee and tea as well as mineral water. Very small but too thoughtful. Room is well-decorated. Bed is comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed every minute of our stay here, although it was only for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    We had a double room with a good sized balcony. The room was a great size, very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was excellent with a great shower, slippers, shampoo etc. There was everything in the room we wanted. Great kettle, cups etc and a mini fridge. The staff left the most amazing plate of fresh fruit in our room. We could not get the TV to work and a member of staff sorted it out for us within a few minutes of asking them. I found each member of staff in this hotel so friendly, helpful, polite. Any query you may have was sorted immediately. Well done to all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    I got a bad experience with the fount office, they don't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I got a bad experience with the fount office, they don't treat guest seriously (when i call to the fount office the one who pick up the call laugh so laud in the call ), and they racism to Asian (as me and my friend were come from Hong Kong). Somebody try to open our room twice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Average - fine for a one night layover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms way too hot and A/C didn't appear to work in two separate rooms we stayed in a week apart. Wifi appalling, slow and often completely unresponsive. Road-facing rooms offer little privacy and can be quite loud (you'll need the window open to cool the room).

    Spacious rooms, comfy bed, nice selection of tea/coffee in the room. Not a central location, but only a 10-15 min walk from centre of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    Average - fine for a one night layover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms way too hot, A/C didn't appear to work in 2 separate rooms we stayed in a week apart. Wifi absolutely awful so avoid if you will need to get online during your stay. Road-facing rooms offer very little privacy and can be loud (you'll need the window open unless you like to roast)

    Spacious rooms, comfy bed, not a bad location. Good selection of tea/coffee in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Salzburg Jan 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mini fridge. Aircon is only warm or hot. Room can get stuffy but the window can be opened for fresh air. Beware the road outside can be noisy at night especially with snow ploughs operating early morning.

    Full glass wall overlooking scenary and mountains. Short 10 min walk to river and tourist areas. Short cab ride (7€) to train station. Tour operators can easily pick up from this hotel. Opening window. Breakfast is good for only 11€ .Staff are very helpfull and all speak English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.8
    Bed comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very helpful or friendly , asked for fresh milk(to have a cup of tea and only powered milk in the room) but told no!! Rooms so hot, did have a big window but very noisy road so unable to sleep with it open. Air conditioning not working so asked reception to look at it while we were out. On our return was rudely told it's winter so they don't have the air conditioning working. Finally got a fan and that helped us sleep. Shame as everyone else we meet in Salzburg so friendly. Would not stay there again.

    Bed comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    It was clean , modern and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While advertised as in the centre of the city ( which it was) it was outside the main tourist attraction, for those not strong walkers prepare to use taxis!

    It was clean , modern and comfortable!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.1
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi is a disaster. It was always disconnected. If you use phones, pads and laptops, disconnection happens often. If you need to use a lot internet, the hotel is not recommended at all.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Room service is good. Room size is ok. Location is not near to city center, but a lot of buses pass through which is convenient. Restaurants and supermarkets are around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The room is clean and has a modern design, the window blind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of hotel is acceptable but bear in mind that you need to walk approximately 15-20 minutes to the old town where most attractions over there.

    The room is clean and has a modern design, the window blind can be controlled by switches. You can also relax as the room has a bathtub. The night I stay was just comfortable and had a great dream.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice and warm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price was higher than expected, but the trip was great!

    Nice and warm. The hotel was at 15 minutes walk from the city center, so it was great for what I needed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    The stay was very pleasant with friendly staff and the room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dustbin was not emptied on our check in day and bathroom was not exactly clean after first day

    Reception was great with friendly and helpful staff The room was big and spacious and faciltiy was only 10 min walk to City Centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.9
    Price was good for a place slightly out of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park in the open right next to the hotel - it’s free! If you go into their underground carpark - you have to pay (about 15 euros a day).

    Price was good for a place slightly out of the city. It was a 15-20 min walk into the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    Great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to adjust the aircon temp but it was still warm and humid even if weather was not that cold when we were there,

    Clean. Nice window view. Walking distance to train and city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was clean and the staff polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremly small parking places and very narrow drive in road My card was charged in advance although it was supposed to be preauthorised only.

    Hotel was clean and the staff polite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Not a real Holiday Inn material
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not professional at all , it was really so hard to communicate with them even though they believe that they were speaking English but they were not . We have tried many times both by phone and email before checking in to reach someone and leave many notes unfortunately none was replied .

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Positive experience - would definitely stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had a good experience overall - location was perfect for me - in between the Hauptbahnhof and the old town (15 minute walk either way), so plenty of good restaurants and bars (namely Fuxn and Urbankeller) nearby. Room was fine (showing a little wear and tear), bed was comfy, shower was good, plenty of channels on the tv to choose from. Not too much noise either, which was great - although the hotel does face a busy road. The buffet breakfast is expensive - 17.5€ - but it's possible to get a croissant and coffee for just over 4€, which hit the spot. Wifi is a bit hit and miss - but this is common across the several hotels I've stayed in across Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not up to standard for a "holiday inn" hotel. Our room came with a cracked sink. The breakfast wasn't great as well. The staff were not helpful at all. The only tours they helped with was the company they had a tie up with. If the company didn't do a certain tour they refused to help. I would not recommend this hotel to any tourist visiting salzburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location, nice breakfast, very friendly staff. I would highly reccomend this hotel for a short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We needed to pay for the parking extra, 14.00 per night. Shampoo, conditioner and shower gel was only given once upon arrival - those small samples are just not enough for 4 nights at the hotel. I was a bit disappointed with that.

    Nice room, we enjoyed staying at the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Bed bugs, noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Had numerous bed bugs bites after the 2nd night. - Room 612 is next to staff door with a threshold to the elevator. It is extremely noisy in the room when cleaning ladies move the wheelbarrows through the threshold around 8 am. No chance to stay asleep at all. - Could not find a way to report these issues through ihg.com. - Traffic noise leaks through windows. - The room is not that glossy as it might appear on pictures.

    + The staff was friendly and helpful. + The location is good if you don't mind walking 10 minutes to the city center. + Excellent wifi connection. + Good breakfast with lots of choices. + Floor-to-ceiling window with mountain view (a more expensive option).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay walking distance to the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the 6th floor the water pressure was hit and miss so the shower was ineffective had to have a bath instead. Also little disappointed with the mountain view expected to see the mountains not a rock face.

    Really comfortable bed and the room was very clean. Although on a main road the traffic noise was hardly heard. All the staff were very helpful and friendly in particular the bar staff. Breakfast was outstanding wonderful choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable. Value for money. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred something closer to the old city/restaurants, as walking in the heat was a challenge. Though I did take the bus on 2 occasions.

    The location was handy enough to walk to the city centre, staff very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.4
    Low cost, low experience
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I parked in the basement and I recall needing to get my luggage through 5 doors before I reached my room. I'm not exactly sure why they made so many extra doors. Getting around inside the hotel is a bit clunky. Also, the lift stops on the ground floor every time no matter your destination. The locker in my room was also not working. But then again, it was super cheap. So if you're just looking for a place to rest it's a good bet.

    The price was cheap and they had a free parking garage in the basement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Good locaion,clean and tidy room with good view from balcony,pleasant and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Had a slight problem with air con on first day not working but this was sorted straight away. Would have liked more details of excurions that were available locally.

    We had a private balcony with a nice view,no noise form road,supermarket just around the corner and not far to walk into town ( 15-20 min ).Taxi to main train station around 8 euro. Mini bar and safe available in room was a bonus as was air con. Meals were good value also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location wasn't as I was expecting- not a particularly nice walk into the centre. Room wasn't always cleaned thoroughly, e.g. hair in the shower when we arrived and we weren't given new clean mugs after using them the first day.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window was exposed. We shouldalways keep curtains closed.

    Nice and clean room big enough to fit me, my wife, and my 2 kids. Friendly staff. Nice experience in salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, parking limited in front while costs underground, WiFi needs to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    parking space in front is limited, my iPhone couldn't pick up the WiFi signal inside the room.

    Everything is good, but surprised that parking space in front is limited while it costs 7 Euro per night if using underground

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    7.9
    Great friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little isolated; with no nearby restaurants. Anyway you can use public transport to reach to city center.

    Staff at reception desk are great and very helpful. Beds are super comfy. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    The location was good and all the places like railways...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!

    The location was good and all the places like railways station, bus stand, market were at walking distance. The staff of the hotel was also very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    excellent people to
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room aircon was unusually hot and i had requested the same to be sorted to the front desk and was done promptly. although salzburg is usually cold and the temp.could well be preset to 24 deg. cel.and thats the reason we were feeling hot. but nevertheless, it was relatively colder after my request. Otherwise no complaints.

    wonderful front desk staff, room service staff and the restaurant staff. all happily entertained our queries with genuine thoughtfulness. room size and facilities were up to the mark.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely accessible to all tourist attractions by foot - but be prepared for a long walk. Minimum 20+ minutes each way. But that can't be changed! No mini fridge in room

    The closet/shelving in the room was nice. Bed was comfortable. Parking options are absolutely excellent! Breakfast is good. Kettle in room is nice :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of evening fellow diners disappointing. Room cramped by desk. More intense lighting needed.

    Breakfast.Good choice. Coffee vg. Coolness of hotel in a hot period. Ex bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was a little out of the way from the main part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were a little on the small side and the air conditioning did not keep the room as cool as we would have liked.

    The hotel was a little out of the way from the main part of the city and old town, but the price was very good and public transportation was easily accessible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    4.6
    Worst Hotel Staff that I have come across in my Life !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well I had a dismal experience with the staff at the Holiday Inn. At the time when I checked in I was told that the room was not ready and wont be available before 3 pm in an extremely rude manner. On the following day one of the Bar Supervisors Mr." K.L "of the hotel behaved very rashly and in bit of a racist manner and asked us to leave the restaurant at the hotel as the hotel was expecting a group of 40 odd travelers who were not staying with Holiday inn and had booked the restaurant for dinner. He asked us to either wait ant watch whether we could be served dinner after an hour or we should look outside. The weather outside was terrible and there was a hailstorm and we naturally could not leave the hotel. This is unheard of that a hotel asks its guests to go out and dine despite there being a restaurant. The said Bar Supervisor when was requested to behave properly with the guests of the hotel said he did not care what we said or did and we could complain to the authorities and he didnt care about it. The same Bar Supervisor said the same thing to an elderly couple with fairer skin in a much nicer tone. I didnt know that staff members of Holiday Inn had a color bias against people with a darker complexion. I would never recommend this Hotel to any one. In order to compensate or rather to contain my discontent the hotel did not charge us for the dinner which was around 30 Euros which I would have been glad to pay and never return to the hotel again. Booking. com should hence re check on their recommendations about hotels.

    the rooms were clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Average Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for Rude ( bordering racist ) behaviour by the lady manager - Though I am sure there would be a response to this review - as they seem to have been guided by IHG management to respond to all feedback - but I guess it ends there . Don't book Panorama Tours suggested - the conductor was unprofessional enough for us to drop out in the middle of the tour - our decision to save ourselves from a miserable experience . Salzburg is small enough to be seen on your own .

    Comfortable and basic standards - especially if you are used to Asian Hospitality standards . Generally the staff is good and helpful - away from centre of the city ( 20 min walk ) Clean and safe . Good quality of breakfast . Supermarket close by shuts at 8 PM . No decent restaurants nearby . We booked the highest category - mountain view - very okay room . Obviously will choose some other place even if it costs more .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    3d2n at holidayInn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Overall great hotel, with extremely friendly and helpful staff, who were very helpful in locating lost articles and book tours etc. Loved it and extended the stay another night. The icing on the cake was the diner at the hotel, served really good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.2
    Clean, but the bed wasn't really comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not queen bed, it was two twins attached.. Wasn't comfortable.. There was always gap between the two and they were deattaching all the time.. Not good for couple

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice clean hotel with friendly, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 10-15 minute walk to the old part of town where most of the sites are.

    Nice, clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff. It's near the train station

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    A Very Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beyond the control of the hotel, the weather was extremely bad (a lot of rain for three days) which made getting from the hotel to sights to see, difficult.

    The hotel was located near the train station and the bus station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay! Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is something that cannot be changed and that was probably the only downfall. It was a 15 min walk to the main centre. Which is not bad also there are buses that bring you to and from which the person at the desk can explain to you very well.

    The staff are super friendly and helpful. The man at the front desk organised a taxi for me. The room service was quick and delicious. The breakfast had something for everyone. The room was spacious, so comfortable, clean and had a nice view of the mountains.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Had a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not very central, but a bus stop is right across the street.

    Very clean. Comfortable bed and pillows. Near the supermarket and few minutes by bus to city centre and train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    The staff at reception were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed two full days. On the first day the room did not get clean at all and on the second day it was partially cleaned. I don't think the room was vacuum cleaned at all during our stay. also on the second day the tea and coffee were not refilled. It wasn't too bad after all but my expectation of a 4 star rated hotel was cleaner room.

    The staff at reception were nice. There was special offer such as two cocktails for the price of one which was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness could be improved, there were some hairs in the shower.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's 15 min walk distance to the train station and 15 min to the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Leisure Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very friendly, no problem with parking- there is the possibility to park in front of the hotel or in a garage for a fee, 10-15 minutes walking to the city centre, Billa right at the corner

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.0
    The worst hotel(so-called) I stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room in Holiday Inn from booking.com quite early, more than 8 months before my check-in date. I requested a upper-storey room, but a room at ground floor and opposite to the public toilets was finally arranged to me. This is really ridiculous!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.3
    Anyway, the staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The over-night experience has not reached our expectation, though the hotel has a four-star rate. The quilt cover sets caused my skin itching.

    Anyway, the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful city, shame the staff at the hotel wasted our time in it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't very helpful. Twice I went to the reception desk (around 6/7pm, so a busy period), and no one was there; a member of bar staff had to go and get someone (who appeared to have been chilling out in their staff area). We requested a space/further information on the car park when booking the stay. This was not provided, and when we arrived at the property, we could not park. I understand may be first come, first serve, but some parking spots had reserved signs on them, and reception could have at least responded to our request for a space to let us know if it couldn't be fulfilled. We were sent by reception (when they eventually showed up) to drive around and park on a random street. They provided false information regarding the location and times of where we could park free of charge and I ended up spending 18 euros to use a parking garage once I'd had enough of time wasting. We had less than 24 hours in the city and a lot of time was wasted waiting on reception and following their rubbish advice.

    They offered different types of pillow (soft, firm) depending on preference

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    9.6
    Value for Money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to say...

    Hotel is located very near to the station and near the city centre. Hotel staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms are very clean and good with maximum facilities... Value for money...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    Christmas Market visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in this hotel during a visit to the Christmas markets, it was about a 20min walk to the markets and the main part of town which saved us from having to get a couple of taxis each day. We arrived early in the morning and although we couldn't check in until later, hotel staff were happy to keep our bags aside until we arrived back that evening, gave us a map and pointed out the places of interest we may wish to go to on it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    6.5
    There was an extra charge of 10 euros which was not clearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an extra charge of 10 euros which was not clearly stated in their website and was not part of the final price of the room. We were only told during the check out.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.1
    Comfy and close-ish to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only negative is that our room was not cleaned during the day. We rang the office to notify them and they said the cleaners were still coming. We left the hotel around 9am and returned at 5pm, so found this to be a bit odd.

    The hotel itself is newish and well maintained. The staff friendly and polite. The hotel is a little further from town, which I imagine in Summer is not an issue....but in winter it can be quite a cool stroll. However, there is several bus stops / lines right next door too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    7.9
    Short Trip in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive. Far out from city centre without any great transit connection, you still had to walk quite a bit.

    Food was good. Staff was personable and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: