Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kärntnerhof 3 stars

Grashofgasse 4, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#80 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1825 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As the weather was very hot, air conditioning in the room would be useful. The fan didn't help very much.

    Breakfast and hotel excellent. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff! Perfect location for exploring central Vienna. Breakfast was very good. Only complaint is that there was no air conditioning when temps were around 28C (high 80s F).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Christiane Hörbiger Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem is the crackly floor, very noisy and no air conditioning

    Friendly, efficient staff, clean nicely furnished stylish hotel, in a good quite location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms don't have air conditioning. This is a great disadvantage in a hot period.

    Rooms were spacy and very clean. Breakfast superb. Staff most kind and helpful. I liked the vintage style. It is a nineteenth century hotel newly refurbished in the highest standards. Every corner is beautiful and in good taste. It is not for those who look for another boring Sheraton or a Hilton.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have been another English channel we thought, as well as the BBC World News. This was the only one (along with CNN) out of over 30 channels available .

    Convenience of central location and yet it was quiet considering this! Also the breakfast and general cleanliness were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    Lovely traditional decor and elegant homely atmospere. Very warm and helpful staff. Excellent central location with shops and restaurants nearby, yet very quiet as it sits in a small cul de sac just off the main streets. The reception warned us that the rubbish truck can be noisy early morning, but we never heard it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was lovely and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Brilliant location and perfectly sized rooms for a short stay seeing the sights of Vienna.

    Great location, very close to the centre of the old town we walked to most of the main tourist sights but also great transport links of travelling further afield.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some non-dairy yoghurt would have been a good addition, or some gluten free crackers.

    Gluten free bread provided (packaged) and lactose free milk. The staff were super nice and helpful. The location is perfect! Quiet room and comfortable bed, a great sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No in-room bar, no vending machines. Have to go to Reception for drinks. Only one small elevator, but hotel is not large and only 5 floors. Walked down from 2nd floor easily.

    Location conveient for U-Bahn, trams and Sightseeing buses. Also witihin walking distance of Stephanskirke, many restuarants, cafes, bars. Quiet room. Breakfast room pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all to criticise. I didn't think they operated an airport shuttle and I would probably not have used one anyway - the CAT service is fast and efficient and gets you to the centre in only 16mins. The Kärntnerhof is only a short walk from the CAT terminal - or you can always opt for a taxi !

    I stayed at this hotel previously 5 years ago, so knew what to expect; I was very happy with it then and was equally so this time. It has the air of a well-run family hotel; the staff are discreet but friendly and helpful, the rooms are spotless, the beds comfortable, the décor is traditional, restrained and elegant while the breakfasts offer plenty of choice for the average traveller. It was just as good as I had found it the first time and its location can hardly be improved upon, central but in a quiet cul-de-sac within walking distance of city centre attractions like the Hofburg Palace, the Spanish Riding School and the State Opera. Thank you to all the staff, and don't change a thing !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During warm weather our first floor rooms were provided with fans but atmosphere still a little uncomfortable.

    Walking distance from many of the places to visit. Most helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little expensive, but you are likely paying for the location.

    The hotel's location, spaciousness of the rooms, and the breakfast were the highlights of our stay at this hotel. The hotel was located within walking distance to Stephanplatz and the U-Bahn station at Schwedenplatz. Even though the hotel was in the middle of everything, it was a quiet retreat at night, being located in an alley away from the main streets. The rooms were spacious and comfortable for the stay (we stayed in a deluxe room). The breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious. Overall, a great place to stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except the hotel driver. The last date we stayed in Austria, we booked the taxi from hotel to Vienna airport. But it wasn’t taxi, it was the hotel driver. We asked the price for this 20 mins trip to the airport, the hotel staff told us it was € 43. But after the ride, the driver charged us for € 49 without any reason. We asked him why the price was up?! But he just said “this is the price”. I thought that everything was excellent about this hotel, but it was ruined at last by the hotel driver. If he is keep doing this to the hotel customers, it definitely effects the hotel image and reputation.

    I love this hotel was in vintage style but very new and clean declaration inside. The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was very clean. This was the most comfortable room we stayed in our Austrian trip. Especially liked the vintage lift. Breakfast was great and in good quality. The lady serving us was very nice and with smile all the time. The receptionists were helpful and nice too. Location was excellent. Very crowded outside which you didn’t need to be afraid even you went back hotel late at night. But once you entered the hotel street, it’s was quiet. A few minutes walk to metro station. And many restaurants nearby. We were totally satisfied with this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft.

    Everything was fine except the bed. It was a bit too soft. I got a bit back pain. Price was a bit high (124 euro/night/12 sqm.) but i think because of the location. Staffs were friendly. Breakfast were a small but good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk staff were REALLY helpful. They moved our room when we pointed out our window was over an outside restaurant and therefore noise in the evening would be a problem. They also helped with reservation of rail tickets online. Couldn’t praise them enough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy at night as we slept with the windows open. Having said that, we did sleep well and the bed was very comfortable.

    An excellent location for city centre walking. Very obliging staff, they were polite, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise was really irritating. When the person in the room next door was drying her hair, it was as if she was in my room. I couldn’t sleep and I was very annoyed. I guess the wall between the two rooms is just too thin. But for such an otherwise lovely hotel, it was extremely disappointing.

    It was a lovely place to stay. Breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is small and a very personal service from the staff and I enjoyed that. The room was excellent, clean and beautiful and the location was very good, a lot of restaurants and shops around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my 2nd time staying there. I like the location, atmosphere, professional staff. It is a little small room for single person but sufficient. The atmosphere of this place make me feel comfortable staying in vienna!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decoration of hotel and room. Quiet location though with few steps away from restaurants, supermarket and tram stop. Cathedral, Hofburg palace and Opera house are within walking distance. Very helpful staffs. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was in a single room and found the bed to be on the hard side. I was sick for two days and really noticed it.

    Nearly everything was great, particularly the staff, the choices at breakfast, and the size and cleanliness of the room. The hotel's location was particularly good because it was in the old town and near St Stephan's, trams, metro and the airport bus. The hotel had an old world charm which was particularly lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    This hotel was more than perfect ! Also in the perfect position for tourist sightseeing. We loved Vienna and would love to return and would definitely return to this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in room (although available in reception/lounge)

    Location excellent for city centre and old town. Close to good restaurants and bars, also convenient for underground stations when travelling to outer attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’d be better if there is kettle inside room, but you can get hot water/tea at reception

    Chic hotel, beautiful interior, lovely elevator, nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drink making facilities in bedrooms, small bath towels.

    Very helpful and knowledgable staff, excellent breakfasts, lovely interiors, great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no air conditioning in the room, so I just wonder how it would be look like in the summers.

    Perfect location in the heart of the city center. Accessible to all iconic places just by walking. Perfectly clean. Sufficient level of breakfast. Polite and helpful staff at both reception and breakfast hall. We stayed in triple room and the room size is just enough for three people. The hotel has been renovated and it looks cosy and stylish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room was small but very nice and clean .

    Amazing location , very near St. Stephan Cathedral and Kernerstrasse . Wien Mitte station of the CAT Airport train also nearby . Small hotel, warm and cosy atmosphere . Very clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower/tub had a very small plexiglass partition. Couldn't take shower without being squeezed into the very front of the tub and even then the floor and entire room got wet.

    Room was large and furnishings were nice. Location was great. Staff was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In case you are addicted to modern style - this could seem a bit gloomy, though, it's just very authentic

    Stays in a very centre. Personell is very friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Bedroom was rather small for two people. The shower in our bathroom was bad... Just a warm dribble of water! I just feel like there is such a hype around this hotel, about how beautiful and stunning it is, and it’s got all these great reviews, but it’s just nothing that special. It’s absolutely fine - clean and good location, all you need for a city break, but because of all the hype around it we inevitably felt a bit disappointed.

    The bed was possibly the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on. The continental breakfast was nice. And the location was great - walking distance to most of the main tourist attractions in the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff forgot to make our room one day, and upon informing reception, we were told we were too late in informing them, the responsible staff finished her shift at 4pm (it is to be noted we were out sightseeing from 10-5.30pm). This was not the reaction we had expected, nor the back and forth to get anyone up to our room to at least change the towels and pick up old tea cups... Very disappointing.

    Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea & coffee facilities were in reception area so had to go down to make and take back up to the room, minor criticism really, probably just the Austrian way.

    The hotel is in a great location, 3 minute walk from the central area, room was spacious and light, comfy bed and lovely bathroom area, would stay here again next time we visit Vienna.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No view at all from the room. The bath had the half glass wall thing which didn't help water splashing all over the floor, didn't have many little amentities such as laundry service, slippers, bathroom kits, etc.

    Located right in the city centre but slightly off the main street and it's not so busy. Close to the Ubahn Schwedenplatz. Friendly staff with good service. neat breakfast, warm and comfortable room, cosy and nice decorations, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd book a larger room next time. Sunday breakfast gets really busy in the breakfast room.

    All staff very friendly and attentive, breakfast is excellent for a 3 star property, sufficient selection and very flavoursome food. The location can't be better, we took a bus from the airport and it took us no more than 5 min walk to the hotel with luggage. Plenty of bars, retaurants and cafes just round the corner of the hotel. Tasteful interior design.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was very hot and the bedroom a little hot, with no in room temperature control. A kettle in the room would be great for Brits! Limited toiletries provided - hand wash and combined shower gel/shampoo.

    Traditional Viennese building- loved the lift and the decor. Good breakfast, helpful reception staff. Great location- easy to walk to most places. There’s an excellent restaurant next door (Buxbaum).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tub didnt really hold water so you couldnt get a hot soak in. But, thats a pretty minor issue.

    The pillows and the attentive staff were my favorite parts. The location was key. If you want some night caps, the restaurant next door has nice prices on wine. Everyone was really helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facility in the room for an early morning cup of tea bit tea available later in the day from reception

    Beautiful, elegant hotel, centrally located, large rooms. Tasty buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    coffee/tea facilities in the room would have made things easier when you wanted a hot drink first thing in the morning or when you had been out all day. hot tea was available from the reception but meant carrying a hot drink upstairs - not a huge issue but one to consider maybe

    the staff were excellent from concierge to breakfast staff bedrooms were comfy and clean situation of hotel excellent close to centre but just tucked away to make it a little bit quieter than the main road

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slippers in the room would have been nice.

    Very nice and beautiful hotel, great location near the old city. Friendly and helpful staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was tasty but cramped. The room temp was warm and there was no sheet on the bed.

    Location was wonderful. Easy to get to the airport via bus. Great restaurant and music options. Very close to Stephansplatz but away from the hubbub.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing I can think of. It was all great.

    Located in a small alley in old town, near shops and sights. Wonderfully helpful staff. Very nice breakfast. Older building very nicely maintained. I was saving money, so had a smaller room. But larger ones are available. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have had tea and coffee-making facilities in the room (although free tea was on offer in the reception area in the afternoon).

    The hotel is in a fantastic location, within walking distance of many of the main attractions in Vienna. The decor was stylish and sophisticated. Our room was spacious and clean and the bed (and bedding) was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious and substantial.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 3 different rooms. One location had some chimney smoke come in our room when it was very windy.

    Great small hotel in a great 1st district location. There are different levels of rooms to choose from. Staff was wonderful ! Parking onsite 20 per day. Breakfast very good. Covered all the bases. 3 min. Walk to St. Stephan Church.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Madame Rosa Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, but rather small breakfast space. No minibar in room.

    Perfect for a family, bathtub useful for small kids. Clean room. Nice breakfast, but rather small breakfast space. Location beats everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was very good. Immediately we got informations and advices about city, how to use tram and metro. Very nice plus very friendly and comfortable feeling.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views, lift didn't go to 6th floor so had to carry suitcases up from 5 the floor. Had expected a proper 3rd bed, it was a pull out bed so had nowhere to sit as settee was made into bed.

    Centrally located. Near restaurants and near tourist attractions. Breakfast was nice but very small area to sit with tables very close together.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bathtab difficult to enter,not safe espeacially for older people

    location was great.wellkept hotel decorated with good style,pleasant staff and atmosphere

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was intermittent while I was there.

    Excellent location and staff. I had a small room for one person, but it was smartly designed and perfect for me. It was clean and a huge relief to walk into after traveling all afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small (I booked an individual room), but I guess it is normal in city center (and for one person only). The room was however extremely confortable and nice (very good shower, nice bed, etc)

    really clean and nice ambience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from early morning delivery lorries out on the street was not ideal, and with lack of air con it was a toss up between leaving the window open (more noise) or closing it (room got a bit warm). Would think twice about booking this hotel if staying during hot weather. Otherwise no problems.

    Very good location for exploring the historic centre. Room was comfy and tastefully decorated - we chose a medium twin and was worried it may be too small but it was a decent size with nice high ceilings. The period building (a former brothel!) with original lift was very agreeable. Staff were helpful and super efficient and the breakfast buffet very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Medium sized room was very comfortable. Breakfast was in the best tradition of Austria. My wife claims it was the best ever hotel coffee she has encountered. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Superb central yet quiet location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We thought the location was great. The rooms are fine, the bathroom was dated and you don't get given any toiletries which is a shame when most people travel with just hand luggage. The rooms are very warm and you need to have the fan on at night - no aircon. The breakfast is good, although there is just one coffee machine and you spend a lot of the morning queuing for this. The staff were friendly. All in all good location but expensive for what it was.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small elevator was very busy in the morning!

    The elegant decor, the excellent breakfast, the clean and private room, and the great central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee for the breakfast could be better

    Hotel with soul of old Vienna. Great location, close to main attractions, but in quiet place . Convenient parking for a car, what is very important in this part of city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no aircon in our room and it was very hot outside. There was a fan which made it just about bearable and we left the windows open as it wasn't noisy. It was explained that because the building was listed getting permission for aircon was almost impossible. There was aircon in the reception areas.

    smallish room but very comfortable with good shower room and very comfortable bed. Plenty of hanging space. Quiet too as it looked into a central courtyard. Loved the terrace area on the 5th floor.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little warm - no air conditioning. But the fan and open window did make it a nice temperature at night.

    Beautiful Art Deco. Staff extremely friendly. And provided great advice for visiting city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a handrail/handhold in the bath/shower to assist with stability for the older guest.

    We loved the buffet breakfasts which included freshly baked bread and cake. The ladies in charge of the dining room are very helpful and do a brilliant job ensuring that breakfast runs smoothly at all times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air condition in the room, and when it's hot outside it can be a problem.. there us only one small fan in the table and it's not enough.

    The hotel is very small and kind of boutique hotel, the room inside is amazing!!the location of the hotel is perfect!! Right near the main shoping street and near bars and restaurants. It's located in the center of vienna, the breakfast is very good, and the staff are very kind!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff super kind, arranged my room for a very early check in and offered me a breakfast upon my arrival. Very nice location, very central but in a very quiet dead end street. Hotel is renovated, room is nice, bright, clean. Breakfast with good options

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    August weather was warm, and rooms were very warm to sleep in - no air conditioning only a portable fan, so it was challenging to sleep well.

    Very clean rooms and great espresso machine for use at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning would be a bonus, although it was helpful to have a fan in the room.

    Loved the old fashioned lift. Great staff, so helpful & friendly. Excellent location for sightseeing, yet in a nice, quiet cul-de-sac.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IT IS A RENOVATED OLD PROPERTY. COMPARING PRICE WITH PROPERTY, IT IS SO SO.

    ITS OKAY FOR STAYING SINCE IT IS IN HEART OF CITY. NEAR BAHNHOF, SHOPPING AREA ETC.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Dom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No a/c in the first room we stayed in and the fan was too small to keep us cool.

    Great service, comfortable rooms. They were very accommodating to our requests.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our first room there was no air conditioning just a fan but otherwise great.

    Great service from start to finish. Very accommodating and rooms were very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was no air conditioning... just a couple of fans. It's August and mid/80s! Breakfast room was a bit tight every morning.

    Breakfast was pretty well-stocked with good choices. Room was spacious compared to most European hotels. Staff was excellent with information and assistance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not have air conditioning in most rooms. They did not provide face cloths or hair conditioner. The juice at breakfast tasted artificial, like it wasn't fresh orange juice. (Perhaps my expectations are too high?) We stayed at another hotel close by and enjoyed their juice press to juice every morning, but we did pay more at that hotel.

    Loved the Decour of the hotel, very classy. Love the wood floors and beautiful fabrics in our room. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. This hotel room was extremely clean and did not bother my asthma. I did not detect any annoying room fragrance that many hotels seem to use. Location was perfect. The best asset of this property is Vladimir at the front desk! He was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of manners of next door's guests. Had a little rest thanks to them.

    The location is excellent. I had a single small room, quite basic but comfortable enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Christiane Hörbiger Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately, it was very hot whilst we were there and the suite did not have air conditioning. Both bedrooms had fans, however, which did help. A small bar fridge in the room would have been nice. Cold drinks need to be ordered from reception.

    The location was fantastic, within walking distance of all sights in Innere Stadt and close to the U bahn station. There were many restaurants nearby. We stayed in the Christiane Horbiger Suite which was perfect for our family of four. The bathroom was large with a bath, shower and a double sink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have got a very small single room with an even smaller bathroom/shower. It was ok. The hotel contemplated to give me a larger single room but it was not cleaned, yet when I arrived.

    Location is excellent. It is an average 3 star hotel and meets the expectations of a traveler who spends little time in the room (awake).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little bit cramped, but not really an issue when you're on a city break, as you don't spend much time in it. A mirror in the bedroom (not just in the bathroom) would be an improvement.

    Old-world charm combined with comfort. A lovely small hotel. Very central but still extremely quiet. (So tucked away it's a bit difficult to find, but worth the effort.) Excellent breakfast included in the price - lots of choice and all very fresh. Staff all friendly and efficient. A nice roof terrace too, and a lounge area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I traveled with my daughter. Upon check in we were given an extremely small, dark room on the first floor, we are not big people but could not move around in it. It was dreary looking. The room had no air conditioning. We had prepaid for the room. My daughter went to the front desk to ask them to change the room to a bigger one with ac. She was advised that none of the rooms in the hotel had ac. This was surprising to us as we thought all hotels would have ac, maybe motels or inns would not. She was told that we could move to a larger room for a fee. We paid 20 euros per night more for a bigger room. We were given a larger, bright room with a small table fan - same type of fan in the first room. There was no mini fridge or complementary coffee/tea facilities, as well there was no complementary body lotion, only body wash. The breakfast was adequate. We noticed there was air conditioning in the dining room. I would not recommend this hotel, there are lots of hotels in the area. I suggest checking for ac and appropriate amenities before booking.

    The best thing about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that would have improved it for us would have been if the room (particularly the bathroom) had air con. It was a bit hot at times!

    Beautiful hotel - the decor was very chic and the rooms really were lovely. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is ideally located - very close to the main area with lots of shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance but also off a main road so it wasn't too noisy. The area felt very safe. We had a fantastic time and would definitely go there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Bar, although limited drinks available from reception

    Comfortable beds, large room, quiet location. As the weather was extremely hot, air con would have been a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was excellent - the only thing that could have been better was tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Everything else was perfect.

    Excellent location, really helpful and efficient staff, really quiet, clean and comfortable room. Our hair dryer broke and it was replaced immediately. Staff always willing to offer extra help and advice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been amazing to be served breakfast on the roof terrace

    The hotel was exactly as described! Beautifully furnished, spacious rooms, a wonderful breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kärntnerhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: