Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elefant 4 stars

Sigmund-Haffner-Gasse 4, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#21 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1495 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems, really though the shower enclosure has a funny door and if you’re not careful, you will get water on the floor.

    The bed was great - nice and firm. Decor was charming, location was perfect for exploring all parts of old town Salzburg, nice breakfast buffet with espresso coffee machine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a great hotel. Stay here. You won’t be disappointed. It’s in the heart of Old Town, quiet, clean, well maintained and decorated, and a great breakfast. If you stay elsewhere, you are missing out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small, dingy room, seating and bed not overly comfortable but worked. Room picked up noise from outside.

    This was a return visit to the Elefant. We loved the location and the staff, particularly Peter. Our room was very small and the seating not overly comfortable. But - you can't beat the location!!!! Breakfast was complimentary. Location was the best - you could walk EVERYWHERE in the Old Town and across to the New Town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food at the restaurant downstairs was not up to expectations. The dessert was fun and different but the main course consisted of 3 small pieces of meat, 3 asparagus spears and a dessert spoon full of cold mashed potato. Had I eaten tomatoes, there would have been a couple of small tomatoes on the plate. My partner's meal, the same, had so much gristle and fat in the meat, it was virtually inedible. I would have loved an electric kettle to make a cuppa :) I would suggest asking for a room with view, if staying at this hotel.

    Hotel was well located for getting out and about. Even though it was sited in The Old Town, it was only a short walk across a bridge to the New Town. Our room was very clean, comfortable and spacious though it did not have a view of any kind. The hotel provided breakfast, which was adequate for our needs though some variety over the length of stay would have been appreciated. Super impressed with the staff, particularly Peter on the front desk. We would happily stay here again if we returned to Salzburg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I assumed parking was included in the price when it said 'parking available'. It was my mistake but it did add on 15 Euro to the price for a days parking

    Quiet, comfortable, good breakfast, fast WiFi, great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very unique way of getting through the old cities security features...you have to be able to follow directions letter for letter. Then the wonderful city opens itself up, beautiful !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is good but service was a bit slow.

    Location is right in the old town of Salzburg and easy to walk to anywhere. The receptionists was very lovely. The restaurant is good but service was a bit slow. Breakfast has variety of choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was great, parking at first was confusing but ended up being perfect-close by and cheap. We kept our car parked for the entire next day (after we checked out). It made our stay headache free:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Occasional issue with the lift not liking the 5th floor, other than that a fabulous hotel, centrally located and brilliant, friendly, very helpful staff. Could not fault the restaurant, quality of food and service either. Nearby venues could do with learning lessons in customer service from the Hotel Elefant team!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do not provide a kettle in the rooms unless there is a request

    It was a quaint little hotel with an outstanding location in the beating heart of Salzburg. The Getreidegasse , with its amazing shopping , is just 20 seconds away . The rooms were very spacious and comfortable . The staff were very friendly and ready to help in any way possible . The breakfast was healthy and tasty . Overall , the hotel was very good and I would recommend a stay in it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, they’re all in good but the public wifi is slightly slow in connection but still acceptable.

    Friendly staff and they are very helpful, and trying to answer our questions and provide the information as much as possible. The location is very strategic and accessible to the most tourist places like castle or shopping district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we had a rental car, parking was pretty difficult as you had to park somewhat far away in a complicated underground parking lot. The staff however was very accessible and once I gave them a call, the parking lot was easy with their guidance.

    The staff was incredible, the location was great right in the heart of the UNESCO Old Town, and the rooms while somewhat simple were clean and did the job. We booked pretty last minute and the price was good. Overall a very good stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Church bells are noisy at night but the hotel and double double windows that blocked it

    We happened to have a very large gorgeous room. Love the charming restaurant and cafe in front of the hotel and the location of the hotel steps from all the classy shops and city sights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast, staff only cleared plates after you left table so ended up with a pile whilst you were sitting there in between courses. Not a personal service. Our room was comfortable and clean, but both room and bathroom could do with updating for the cost.

    Fantastic location. Very good breakfast food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was as described, very comfortable bed, good shower, spacious room ( double deluxe) quiet, good breakfast, central to everything. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfectly located within the downtown walking area. Elefant has a reastaurant that seems to be popular amongst residents and non-residents alike. We, too, enjoyed a lunch on the terrace. The breakfast was moderate.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location! Our room was refurbished and had a little bit smell but not enough to effect comfortable sensation . It was quiet as well. The restaurant of hotel elephant serviced traditional Austrian food.The staff of reception was smart and very kindly to let us leave our luggage the day we checked out ,thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in room was not bright but not a big no-no. It was still a wonderful stay.

    Loved the location which was in old Salzburg. The restaurant was also good.the staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast buffet spread was large and varied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a window with a view of other buildings. If you get a street view it could be noisy.

    Location, location, location. In the heart of Old Town. Can walk to anywhere from here. Great room. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, parking is little bit tricky to the public parking lot that is 10 mins walking distance. Staff showed us clear directions but driving through the old town is narrow and challenging for less skillful drivers (I did enjoy myself though).

    Very very friendly and helpful staff! Great breakfast. Most guests are in their 60s+, which shows that it is a high end, classy, and respectful hotel. Well known hotel in the old town. Very convenient to everywhere! Highly recommended overall!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was beautiful, lovely spacious rooms, the elephant theme ran throughout the hotel, loved the curtains, easy to find, location ideal, being only minutes walk from everything including Mozarts birthplace, we had a room on floor 5, so had a view over the rooftops of Salzburg castle, nothing was too much trouble for the receptionists

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, around the corner from cathedral, Mozart birthplace, easy to public transport, 15 minute walk to train station, 5 the floor King size bed had an amazing view of the Fortress and Cathedral! Very quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike. It suited us fine.

    The hotel location was perfect. Centre of old town and in walking distance of everything. The room was excellent. Comfortable bed. Good bathroom. Breakfast was brilliant. Everything was fresh and loads of choice. Helpful staff. Rooms etc very clean. Our room overlooked the main 'road'. {no traffic, pedestrianized} The windows shut out all noise if required. Air conditioned and comfortable. Cannot fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first day i came in hotel i could’t find the area to reach the hotel (( the hotel inside private area for shopping)). I called the hotel for assistance and someone he replayed, i spoke with me badly. I told me wronge code number to open the gate and the gate sure will note open. He yell at me like am his child not customer!!!!! I asked him to come to see what is the problem and he refused!!!! After time he come with anger face and he realized the code he gave me was wrong, although he didn’t say sorry for his behavior. On the other hand, there was 2 persons (one a man, and girl) working on different shift. They are good and supportive.

    Only the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location in centre of old town Salzburg, within a short walk to all the major attractions and loads of shopping. Well appointed, clean rooms, with very comfortable beds. Included breakfast had a good selection of healthy hot and cold foods. Adjoining restaurant provided one of the best meals of the two weeks we spent in Munich and Salzburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in the old town; comfortable, spacious, well-appointed room; plenty of character in the hotel, provided by the age of the building, the antiques spread around; the place had a feel of quality and comfort, without being opulent, and I'd recommend it, I'd be happy to stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I choose this hotel because good reviews, but I would like to express my disappointment about this hotel. The staff moved our room when we were out, ignoring the "do not disturb" sign we have hung on the door (what's the use of the sign then?). They even took all of our bags and items that we have arranged in the bathroom and on the table, moving them to the new room (according to them, they've mistakenly given us the room, but the new room is in the same category. We're confused, what's the mistake?). Then, it was really noisy in the new room because of loud music from below. We were told that the music will stop "very soon", but it only stopped at midnight. What we are most concerned about is the breach of privacy. First, getting in our room while the don't disturb sign is displayed, and second, going so far as to removing all of our items. This is very serious.

    -

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was not a King, bed was uncomfortable and only had two skinny comforters and no top sheet. Also thought when I upgraded my room I would be getting a tub shower vs a capsule shower. Pictures online showed a tub shower and we got a capsule.

    Great staff and service. Amazing location. Fine for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was fairly small and no kettle or hot drinks but other than that was a nice clean room.

    Breakfast was good, European based so don't go expecting a full English. Plenty of choice though, lots of breads, ham, cheese etc. Bed was comfortable and shower was nice and powerful /hot. Lady on reception was very helpful with giving us plenty of help and ideas of where to go.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were friendly, rooms were fine, breakfast was great. You really cannot ask for a better location for visiting Salzburg. We also loved the restaurant and ate there both evenings of our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the breakfast room was very pleasant, the breakfast buffet was a bit dull and uninspiring (the fruit salad looked tired and the croissants were cold and hard). Our room was on the small side and had two narrow single beds.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an old building and therefore has a lot of character. It occupies a great location in the Old Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no help with the luggage. Strange reason given: "we are a small family run hotel"...while manager is discussing w. receptionist. Since the hotel is located within the pedestrian district and parking outside the hotel is uncomfortable, to say the least, some help with the luggage would be very welcome. No trolly available for hanging clothing, no place to hang cloth in entrance, thus repeated trips to the room to get all luggage in. And all this during the Easter festival when most guests bring their sunday best. All together a less then nice beginning of our stay there. Departure was a rerun of the arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no help with the luggage. Strange reason given: "we are a small family run hotel"...while manager is discussing w. receptionist. Since the hotel is located within the pedestrian district and parking outside the hotel is uncomfortable, to say the least, some help with the luggage would be very welcome. No trolly available for hanging clothing, no place to hang cloth in entrance, thus repeated trips to the room to get all luggage in. And all this during the Easter festival when most guests bring their sunday best. All together a less then nice beginning of our stay there. Departure was a rerun of the arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    The breakfast was delicious-a good variety of food. The amenities in the room and the bathroom were generous. The young lady who checked me in was gracious and professional. The furnishings were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is a wonderful hotel in a great location. The staff were excellent, very friendly,helpful & caring. The room was a great size with separate seating area and a small balcony. A great place to stay for birthday celebrations. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you to all for a truly great time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flip the mattress so it's not sagging in the middle.

    I love the crispy bacon for breakfast although on the overall, there is an opportunity for variety so guests that stay for more than one night is not faced with the same spread every morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room extremely quiet and comfortable. Bed was king size and just the right amount of firmness (and even extra pillows although you have to know where to find them—in drawers built into the foot of the bed). Great breakfast variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, though when we asked at reception they provided a kettle and cups.

    The breakfast was good, choice of fruits, cereals, savoury and sweet options. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We are a family of 7 adults so we needed 3 rooms to accommodate everyone. They were very helpful and gave us a room with a pull out sofa so that our daughter could stay with us in a much larger room. The beds were very comfortable and rooms spotlessly clean. The rooms were beautifully furnished and the bathrooms modern and luxurious. We were very happy with the location and they were very helpful directing us to the nearest carpark

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much as not like, but something to be aware of. It’s difficult to drive to the hotel, so if you have a lot of bags it might be a problem. Call ahead for parking instructions (I didn’t and had to move my car).

    The hotel was clean and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was very good. The location was superb! It’s a 2-10 min walk to every major sight in the city. We attended the Mozart dinner concert and it was a 5’ walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing at all that we didn't like.

    The decor of this lovely old building was very tasteful and the bed was extremely comfortable. Robert, on reception, couldn't have been any more friendly or professional and was only too happy to help us organise a walking tour of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms without any charm Breakfast poor, at 9 o'clock there were only white Semmels left and they could not provide any brown buns ....no table service at all etc

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a kettle in the room.

    We had a large room with view of the mountain. Quiet and comfortable. Lovely breakfast with good choice. Restaurant next door was also v good for dinner. Location is perfect for sightseeing. Plenty of powerpoints.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing bad to say. Everything was great.

    LOVED this hotel! It was perfectly located within the city to walk to bars and restaurants. It was super clean, staff was friendly and very helpful. Hotel bar was really cool too!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The option to have a full English breakfast

    The very friendly staff, helping us to buy the Salzburg card - a MUST! The great location, right in the middle of the old city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The location is great, of course, near everything in the old town. The room was very comfortable and had a small view of a cathedral. The breakfast room was elegant, with linens, and kept clean and orderly by very competent attendants. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing about room 409 - it is unusually warm and the thermostat didn't seem to control the temperature. Once we opened the windows for awhile the room cooled down. This wasn't a big problem once we used the open windows.

    Room 409 is right by the elevator but no elevator noise. Bed fine, bathrooms very nice. Breakfast was plentiful, typical european, not great but not bad and worth the convenience. Coffee machine worked well. Excellent location. Monica in particular was very helpful with sleigh ride recommendations. One of the male staff members gave an excellent choice of a place to eat - Zwettlers. Would stay again. Wifi speed OK - we were able to view youtube videos. Here is one Ookle test result: Test Date: Jan 7, 2018 12:25 AM Download: 3.03 Mbps Upload: 0.805 Mbps Ping: 33 ms Connection Type: Wi-Fi Server: Vicenza

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best feature of the hotel is location, we were in town to visit the Christmas Market and attend a concert, all easily accessible. The bar and restaurant were good, we especially enjoyed the local nockerl.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took too long to replenish the buffet breakfast bar items and some items were not replenished, during the breakfast period. The hand basin water tap was sensor. activated only, which was annoying.

    Excellent location and room with a lovely view and good amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Room was beautiful decorated. Very quite room with plenty of space. Location couldn't have been better, only 5 minutes walk to the castle or the other side of the river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked our room 3 months ago on Booking.com after a family member recommended it. Unfortunately our room & bathroom were extremely tiny there was hardly any room for our luggage and we had to shimmy around the furniture. The heat was so high but we had no way of controlling it and had to open the window to keep the room comfortable. The shower also had some mold and not as clean as the other hotel we stayed in Austria. Interestingly, our cousin booked a room very last minute and got a larger room at lower price(~30% lower) so guessing there is no perk in price or room type for booking early on Booking.com

    The staff and location of the hotel is excellent. It's very charming and quaint. The included breakfast buffet was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is off site and difficult to find. The staff is aware there is a parking problem but acted as if our inability to find the parking was our problem. When asked if there was acceptable street parking the staff kept directing us to the discount parking for the property. The discount isn’t worth the “hike” and confusion. Staff should prepare written directions for guests.

    The location is the best part of the property if you want to be near shopping or the Christmas Market.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed. Mind the GAP. Although the bed was comfortable, the double bed was in fact 2 singles pushed together, which honestly always irritates me, especially when you like to have a double bed to be cosy. Smoking Bar. one point i made at reception at check-out was that the one thing i didn't like was that the hotel bar, is a smoking bar, even though the whole hotel is non-smoking. i was told that the restaurant and bar are now no longer owned by the hotel, which in a sense lets them off the hook. However, when they are kind enough to give us a little voucher to entice you into the bar, it is a shame we don't get to use it, for the smoking reason. The chap inside the door with a fat cigar put us off before we walked in. Blunt. The reception staff at check in was functional, and blunt. It worked fin, but it wasn't a Warm welcome. The stay made up for it. As did monica in the morning.

    The shower was quite good, nice power and nice temperature. The location for the centre of salzburg was pretty good. The breakfast in the morning was nice, and if you asked nicely they will even whip up some freshly fried eggs if the scrambled version on tap is not your thing. The reception staff in the morning were super friendly and chatty. All in all, this was a nice hotel to stay in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only one thing - no tea/coffee making facilities provided.

    Reception staff were very helpful and welcoming, (especially Monica). The room was exceptional, with a settee, easy chair, coffee table, TV and mini bar. the bed was very comfortable. All facilities were spotless.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gracious staff, abundant breakfast buffet, excellent location just a few blocks from the main square. Air conditioning and heating. Would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No faults!!

    Calm, clean, efficient and helpful. Excellent hotel with a very good quality breakfast. Hotel in an ideal location as centrally situated in the old town. Take bus 10 from airport to centre of old town. 20 mins, 4 per hour.Ticket 1 Euro 90 if you buy at the paper shop in airport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a turkey or chicken ham in your selection at breakfast instead of having all pork. Otherwise the rest was alright.

    Best location!! You walk out of the hotel and find yourself on the shopping streets. Nice room too. You can’t enter the old town by car, you have to park your car in the underground garages available outside the old town then walk to the hotel; the roads are cobblestones so pack light :))

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Great location right in the middle of old town. Nicely ,updated old building, well designed and maintained. Great breakfast. Nice staff. Comfy room. Restaurant and bar in the property. Restaurant menu was pretty standard. Good drinks choices at the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very, very good. Especially Monica and Robert. Cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. Incredible location and a wonderful place to retreat to at the end of the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No daylight in room. Windows facing wall two foot away but everything else made up for this.

    Fantastic location for exploring old town. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Adjoining bar and restaurant were also top quality.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Need to park far away and to drag your luggage to the hotel( 10 minutes at least). Not obvious getting to the hotel with a GPS since the old city is a no car zone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst and tiniest room in building, one floor above the supply closet. Poor air movement and bathroom fan would not shut off. Terrible view. Dangerous steps up to room, beware. Shower was tiniest ever, maybe 24 inches. Also the safe malfunctioned and could not open so we had no access to wallet or passports. Staff said they tried to call 4 colleagues for help..no help until next day..frustrating. For the same price stay across the river please.

    Historic location in medieval center cobblestone streets. Breakfast nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What is not to like?

    Love this hotel! It is quaint, yet modern, and very comfortable. Thank you Monika for making our first visit to Salzburg very special!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing. One would have to be very nit picky or a rather difficult guest!!!

    A large enough selection to satisfy all. Very good coffee, breadrolls, lovely breakfast room with historical ambience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found driving into and parking in the old city area very trying.

    Great location, in the pedestrian zone. Room - large entry, nice bathroom but bed space small. Very good breakfast. Beautiful city. Busy tourist destination even in off season, be prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was extremely small, but usable and it was new. Overall the bathroom is very small. There are no bellman or door attendant, there are three or four steps to enter the hotel and we had to struggle with our luggage.

    We got a Superior room and it was very spacious. The hotel is an old fashion hotel but kept very nicely. The breakfast buffet was excellent! The lady at the front desk was very nice but the evening gentleman needs some customer service training. The location is outstanding, close to everything in town, we walked without a problem (60+ years old). The room had a nice closet and a small fridge. Our room in the third floor was quite. We stayed six nights as we used it as a base to visit several places in Austria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Could not be better for sightseeing and shopping.....restaurant attached is great...room is smalll. It very clean and efficient..Breakfast included and very nice....elevator available. We will likely return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The room was spacious, the staff we great, the location was right in the old town, walking distance to all the sites and the restaurant there was great. It was my favorite hotel of all the hotels I stayed at while in Europe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For 300+ EUR, even when factoring in the great location the room was tiny and not what you would have expected from the description on booking.com.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I did not like is the automatic sink in the bathroom. When washing your face it would turn off when you brought your hands to your face... This is just a poor design decision with no control by the staff, but other than that everything else was excellent.

    Breakfast selection was very good and varied with hot breakfast options. Location was in a nice, clean and safe place. Room was small but clean and well maintained. I liked that there is a restaurant and bar downstairs if we need a quick bite or a drink. t is close to a lot of things and within walking distance. Actually we just walked everywhere from our hotel as it is in a great location. I would recommend this place and probably stay here again because we had such a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know where to park. It' not the hotel's false, though.

    Love the staff, breakfast, and location. One of the best stays for my entire Europe trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking isn't very convenient, but that's just the way Salzburg is. The hotel does discount the price of parking.

    Breakfast was great. The room was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked around edges so floor was wet. No tea or coffee facilities in room. Hairdryer was broken

    Hotel is full of old world charm in old city. Room was top floor good location. Restaurant is wonderful. Location of hotel couldn’t be better.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only sparking Mineral water in the room, no still.

    Great location, lovely boutique hotel. Staff very helpful. Despite predominantly pedestrian area taxi will come to the door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very nice and the staff was great! We had trouble finding the hotel due to city maintenance. They were very helpful getting us to the hotel with an alternate route and even offered to park our car in the garage for us!!! The restaurant was amazing! I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Elefant traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: