Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alpha Wien 3 stars

Buchfeldgasse 8, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

#99 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3374 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Made our first trip to Vienna very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was certainly good value...can't fault anything and the selection of food served for breakfast was excellent. The situation of this hotel was brilliant for walking into the city no need for public transport....will definitely stay here when we visit Vienna again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The breakfast is the best EVER!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only complaint is that there is no air conditioning and I didn’t count on it being so hot and humid. But I knew that going in so it’s not really a complaint.

    The breakfast is the best EVER! And the staff was very helpful, loaning us an umbrella when it rained, giving us suggestions on where to go and how to get there. Overall, a great place to stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    after booking the hotel I've called them up to ensure...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    after booking the hotel I've called them up to ensure there is a parking at the hotel. after brief conversation I was ensured that I will be able to park at the hotel. on my arrival one of the first questions I've asked was where is parking entrance. in response I got a blunt answer there is no parking spot available. the stuff member wasn't apologetic and just handed me a piece of paper with few parking location. it took me almost 2 hours to find an empty parking and it cost me almost 40 € for 1 day. this hotel shouldn't advertise themselves as one with parking if you book 2 rooms and they don't have even 1 parking spot for you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Overall, it was an excellent stay, close to everything; cafes, tram lines and city/tour area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's not the hotel, but the people next suite over was a bit over bearing and rude. knocked on our wall several times when me and my daughter were having a conversation.

    I love the breakfast variety, and 24 hour tea time in the lounge. Staff were nice, friendly and helpful. I will stay here again when i return to this beautiful city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Overall, our stay positive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible door lock system on some room i.e. our room on the 1st floor and others. Guest had to really slam the door in order to close it. That was extremely annoying when other guests are coming home late at night. When we questioned that at the reception, the gentleman just said, it is for security reason.

    Breakfast was very good, clean rooms, comfortable beds and the convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.8
    Proximity
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was right next to elevator. Th room ends before it starts no bath robe or slippers shower also very crammed no toiletries parking nearest was 1.4km

    Proximity

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    All in all very highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi quite slow but other than that we cannot really complain about anything.

    Very well located within walking distance to the City Hall and the ring road. Also, the underground station is only a few metres away. The room was spic and span and we found everything in order at all times. Breakfast exceeded our expectations! Staff members have been very helpful whenever needed and they even prepared a snack for us to take away as our return trip was very early in the morning hence we couldn’t have breakfast at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, good restaurants just a few minutes walk from hotel and supermarket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside hotel due to road works being carried out

    Comfortable rooms, hotel has road works around the corner and work starts at 7 am every morning! Free tea and coffee all day and night, free fruit and nuts anytime, staff very obliging to assist and always with a smile

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Already done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. No fault of the hotel but roadworks close by and all over the city which often hindered walking.

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Nice room.good breakfasts with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff, well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning was poor and we could not regulate. Room was small and hot and it was difficult to sleep.

    Well located hotel in quiet neighborhood near sightseeing and restaurants. Excellent breakfast at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    It was quite good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since our room was on the roadside portion of the hotel there was a lot of noise from the street.

    The room was quite nice and decent sized. The location of the hotel was also OK. Close to metro station. Breakfast was good. Stuff was friendly. Lots of nearby eateries. Good value for Money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.9
    Breakfast was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude. Room was so small you had to get on the bed to pass each other. It was not close to anything. Laundry was outrageously expensive.

    Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice one
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C level was not self adjustable, and no proper double beds, so my wife wont agree to go there on my next trip.

    The staff were ever so helpful . Christian and Ms Oberhauser were very helpful and ever so nice. they made up for the deficiencies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel for Vienna visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very pleased with everything.

    Good breakfast. Good lift. Fine room with good wi-fi. Quiet and clean. Plenty space. Very close to Museums Quarter and Rathaus etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Good location, near metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didnt work, fridge didnt seem to work kept nothing cold or even cool, no instructions on how to use the safety box, no amneties to make coffee/tea in room, not even a pen in the room. Fan in bathroom on all the time, but thankfully when door shut u cant hear it. Room is tiny, so if more then one person you'd be scrambling over each other. sadly very noise as well, as nice as floorboards are, meant you can hear everyone walking along corridor and cleaners pushing trolley at 7am. Doors and the locks are very loud too. I definately knew everyone locked their doors.

    Good location, near metro. Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is plain, but that was perfect for me (& the scrambled eggs very just delishious! )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable in quiet hotel. Very well located within a 10 min walk of beautiful park and townhall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'bar' was simply a cabinet.

    Room was very clean. Bed linen and towels changed regularly. Great location. Great breakfast. Complimentary coffee/tea available all day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    I love the quiet location, safe and access to amenities is easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low vaulted ceiling on one side of bed. I hit my head a few times. Also, the soap dispenser is a pain to try and get the soap out. No shampoo, conditioner and lotion.

    Dining room staff were great. Friendly, efficient and happy to serve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Side street location, quiet but near the center, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    Side street location, quiet but near the center, good connections everywhere (U bahn stop round the corner). Breakfast excellent, scrambled eggs best I´ve had in any hotel, good variety of food and plenty. Large, comfortable room on the 5th floor, large windows and fine sights over other buildings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely informative staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was not very efficient.

    Within walking distance to a lot of city highlights and very near the underground which we found easy to use whilst in Vienna. The hotel offers facilities for making tea and coffee for their guests at all times.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Good area, lovely clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although tea and coffee was available 24/7 in the lounge, it might have been nice to have the things to make one with in the room? Only a minor thing though! Everything else was great!

    Staff were lovely and welcoming. The room was spacious and had everything I needed (air conditioning, hair dryer, towels, a safe - even a fridge in the room to keep my water cool). Bed was reasonably comfy. Hotel was very clean, breakfast was fine - not loads of choice of hot food but a reasonable buffet style spread. Hotel was a stone throw away from Rathaus underground station which takes you very quickly to the centre (only one change) or you can easily walk into the centre in around 20-25 minutes. City parks nearby which make a lovely stroll. Hotel was in a nice area, didn’t feel unsafe at all even as a solo female traveller.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Vienna is a beautiful city and well worth a visit. The Alpha is a clean functional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, there was little choice and many items weren’t replenished when necessary.

    Location was good with easy access to public transport and walking distance from the centre. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.7
    good breakfast, good wellcoming, good location, clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it’s not possible to sleep because of louds. cleanin service starts at 7:30 am. there is no carpet along the corridors each floors. doors closing so loudly which makes you wake up.

    good breakfast, good wellcoming, good location, clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was very close to the beautiful Rathaus, and also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has very thin walls I suppose, since I could hear everything that happened on the corridor. We also had some construction work happening right outside our window, which started at 7am. Fortunately for us, we were already up by then, but I could see this being an issue for other people.

    The hotel was very close to the beautiful Rathaus, and also very close to the Rathaus underground station, and only a few minutes walking distance from other important sightseeing locations, so the location was quite good. The process of checking in and checking out was a breeze and took us only 1 minute each, and we left our bags at the hotel after checking out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was clean and spacious. The location is great; near to the tourist sites, there is a metro station just a few minutes away and many restaurants and supermarkets near by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect place for a short stay with great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the power sockets in the room were out of order and TV was still old 36cm tube type...

    Great location, close to metro station and to some of interesting locations (like City Hall and Parlament house), with museums just few minutes further down the road. As for breakfast, you have enough of everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed a very pleasant break in Vienna in the Alpha Wein
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The water was seldom hot enough for tea at breakfast and throughout the day. Lots of TV Programmes but not many in English. The weather was hot during our stay and there did not appear to be air conditioning ,

    The staff were pleasant and helpful. Location of the Hotel on the doorstep of the Rathaus Underground, variety of food at Breakfast,reasonably priced restaurants, easy of access to Historical interests, parks and shopping made for an excellent break at this Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    Poor value - I will not return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Impossible to log into the free WiFi Digital TV did not work properly - most channels were highly pixelated Shower height adjustment was broken so shower head always at lowest point - nbo good

    Not much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location, good staff, construction noise made it difficult.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction on the street right outside our room- began with a jackhammer at 7 AM. The room was small but well appointed. The staff was responsive but not pro-active - did not refill bath soap.

    Location was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, tired fixtures and fittings such as shower screen broken. No tea and coffee in the room.

    Convenient location, friendly staff. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and pleasant accomodation in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To perfection there are missing some things, which you will consider as commonplace, like easy accessibility of cutlery in the dining room or you will be surprised by missing door from the wardrobe in the room. Bathroom was also small for two person.

    Breakfast have lot of specialities like lot of types of different cheese, olives, really tasteful bakery products, wide offer of tea etc. Room was nice and location is perfect. Near city hall and city centre. Near are also pleasant and comfortable restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The ventilation in the Bathroom wasn't very good.

    Clean and warm. The location is fantastic, it was quiet but gives you very good access to tourist sites and many supermarkets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Great position and very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design of the rooms could be more romantic, furnishing is a little basic.

    Excellent breakfast (sweet and salty) and very kind staff. The position is great, in the centre and right next to the metro station and tram stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    I am quite unpretentious about hotel's conditions, but Hotel Alpha Wien was over the limit for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. My room was just twice bigger than the bed in it. If I open my luggage then I block the way to the door. I can bet that the room that they had shown me at the Booking.com web site during booking was not that small. 2. The road works were underway in the street, and their jackhammering started around 7.30 am during my first day, and 7.15 am during the second day: one could not sleep after they start. And during the first day the hotel's technician started to walk around all rooms since 08.00 am (loudly shouting in the corridor 'Technik!!" before knocking at the doors) trying to replace electric lamps or smth like this. 3. The towels had some unpleasant chemical odour: smth wrong with their laundry

    The staff was very friendly and helpful The location is very good: a walking distance to the centre, and very close to good restaurants, etc The breakfast was very good Wi-Fi was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    never ever
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was like a little pocket. It's not comfortable for business or for leisure. Terrible elevator - only for 1 person or for 1 luggage and with the doors! Also, the receptionist in the morning ordered a taxi that couldn't issue a proper cheque and it costs more than I was informed in the evening. Also the receptionist in the morning wasn't careful enough and charged me with 3 Eur more even though the price on booking.com site had had included all taxes. Do they think that if you stay for 1 night they can cheat you like this?!

    Breakfast only.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be down early to get the better selection at breakfast!

    Location, friendly staff😊The fact there was tea/coffee facilities at anytime just help yourself!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Very good in general, but poor wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI WAS TERRIBLE.

    Free Snacks, Coffee and Te available 24/7 at the Lobby. Metro station is at 200 meters away and a supermarket at 300 meters. Very close to Ratahaus Park.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Really nice hotel, walking distance from underground station Rathaus. Great value, highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to say, maybe more heat in the lobby/ lounge area.

    Diverse breakfast, coffee & tea at guest's discretion non-stop, very nice quiet room and comfy bed. Linen and towels were changed daily. We had a late flight back home and we were happy the reception kept our luggage for a couple of hours. This way we managed to visit one more museum, care free. Very good service overall. Highly recommended if you are looking for a nice, quiet, civilized place to stay in central Vienna :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Cozy hotel with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was OK but we booked for double bed and we were given 2 singles. The room (409) had loud noise coming from the street during night. The toilet lid had yellow stains below as it was very old.

    Excellent location and very nice breakfast. The room was clean with a nice flat TV screen which is not shown in pictures. All personnel very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Better than we could have hoped for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Everything was just right for a few days break. The staff were brilliant. There is so much to see / do in Vienna and we will return to this hotel for more!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Coffee and tea is free and available 24h.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single rooms are 2.5mx2.5m. If you are claustrophobic, you'd better book a double room.

    Coffee and tea is free and available 24h. Staff at reception very helpful- 24h.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was super good.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating did not function well in room 502. It was decently warm, but I had a medical condition and so it would have been better for me if it did work to its full power.

    Breakfast was super good. The bed was very comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Great value to have a comfortable stay and see the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a comfortable area to sit close to the lobby. You could make fresh tea and coffee any time of day-good selection and free -made the hotel very welcoming. A good breakfast. Lots of local cafes and restaurants - easy and interesting walk to all the sites in the centre. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel for city tours
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprisingly spacious room with large wardrobe and enough space for luggage. Very friendly hotel staff at the reception and in the breakfast hall. According to availability possibility of earlier check-in (we arrived around 11am). Delicious breakfast. Coffee and tea available all day long in the breakfast hall and without addition charge. Strong wi-fi signal. Great location: just 5 min from underground (station Rathaus) and about 10 min from city center. Everything was just perfect and it's a pity we stayed just one night. If I would plan another trip to Vienna I would stay in the same hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.9
    Good like location , 2 min walk from the metro station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old , and the furniture

    Good like location , 2 min walk from the metro station and 15-20 walk to the old town center . Not bad breakfast. Quiet street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    cosy, warm and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    only difficulty I had found was using- as in body shower/ other then that everything was good

    Great location, great timings for breakfast & good room clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and room wasnt cleaned every day and towels didint change. Pillows were uncomfortable. In addition i reccomend them to put better tv and english tv channels as well. Tv was poor.

    Breakfast was good and stuff was very kind. Overally it was great. Location was perfect. Also free coffee service at the lobby is a good oppurtunity for people to rest and chill .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Our first stop on our Austrian adventure., and what a choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no complaints.

    This was our first stop on our Austrian adventure and the locality of the hotel to the Xmas markets and the city of Vienna was excellent. The lady on reception was very helpful assisting us with directions to various markets etc. I would recommend a taxi from the airport as driving and parking around Vienna is not easy. There is a great restaurant within 500 metres of the hotel. It was the only hotel that provided free hot drinks, nuts and fruit 24/7.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    A brilliant good value hotel for exploring Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so friendly. The location was perfect for exploring the Christmas markets of Vienna. The nearest Ubahn stop was so close. Breakfast was also excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Good value for money in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer tea and coffee making facilities in our room.

    Tea, coffee and fruit available in foyer 24/7. Reception staff very helpful with local knowledge and recommendations. An excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seeping with windows open allowed a LOT of street noise in throughout the night. Peaceful sleep was neigh on impossible.

    Description of the hotel was as described.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Great location for everywhere in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small

    Great location..the Rathaus Christmas market was a two minute walk away. Underground also very close. Very comfy bed and lovely and warm. Friendly staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    My stay was very enjoyable. Very good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not find any faults during my stay.

    The room was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. The location is good. Very good value for money,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    It's a comfortable hotel in a good area for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on a quiet street so no problem from traffc noise, but it's close to the places you want to see or public transport. There are plenty of restaurants close by. It's nice that you can get free tea and coffee whenever you want to or even buy a beer or wine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    The staff were pleasant, warm and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was too small there was barely enough room for my suitcase.I expected a lot more out of the room from the pics I saw in booking.com.i was disappointed l. Overall the hotel and staff were good

    The staff were pleasant, warm and hospitable. Cosy ambience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for single travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One lumpy pillow & thin towels

    Very good value single rooms. I travelled with a friend to visit the Christmas markets & it was perfect for our needs. Often there is no discount for single rooms but these smaller rooms were great. Excellent local restaurant next door.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely little jewel in a gem of a city I hope to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car service from the airport offered by the hotel is significantly more costly than you can find on your own with a little effort.

    The scrambled eggs were the best I have ever had! The breakfast selection was surprisingly diverse. 24 hr. Tea, hot chocolate and coffee were very welcoming when it got cool out. Little know Hotel in a convenient location I would be happy to stay there again if I am ever lucky enough to return to Vienna again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    A very enjoyable holiday in a perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested a double room but was allocated twin beds.

    Excellent combination of great location,great accommodation and breakfasts and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Vienna Xmas Market trip
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have tea/coffee making in room

    Very clean, great breakfast and location near to Xmas market, u bahn, airport shuttle and trams.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent. Will recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing comes to mind!

    A very good experience on our first trip to Vienna. The hotel was near to U-Bahn, easy walking distance. Very quiet area, ideal for sleeping. Our room at the front was very quiet. Very clean, maid service every day replacing towels, instant hot water in roomy shower and a fridge in the room was an added bonus. Reception staff couldnt have been more helpful with printing and offering free tea and coffee after we had checked out before our flight home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Met the expectations but could easily improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we think could be better : in a city like Vienna, having a kettle in the room would be really nice. We stayed on the 4th floor and unfortunately we could listen a lot of noise from the corridor and floors above.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff. Very good breakfast, plenty of choices (only scrambled eggs/sausages/bacon as hot food). Really nice bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location walking distance to Centre, tourist spots, shopping area and also easy to access public transport. Friendly helpful hotel staff. Good variety of breakfast. Connection Wi-Fi is also good. Big room we received upgrade. It was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was central, clean and the staff were pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no tea or coffee making facilities in the room but free tea and coffee was available 24 hours in the lounge / breakfast area.

    The hotel was central, clean and the staff were pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Nice location nearby City Hall (Rathaus), walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are rather basic but clean and comfortable.

    Nice location nearby City Hall (Rathaus), walking distance to most attractions. Very helpful staff. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice breakfast with good coffee, very friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms could do with some renovation. The whole place is rather utilitarian, lacks any charm one might expect in Vienna.

    Nice breakfast with good coffee, very friendly and helpful staff at the front desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    A very good value hotel very near the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very good value hotel very near the centre. Standards are very satisfactory and the free coffee machine when you come in from the cold in the evening is good and welcome to wind down with. Bravo Alpha!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious breakfast! The complimentary 24/7 tea/coffee and fruits in the lobby were a nice touch, and the good-quality Demmers tea was a pleasant surprise. Overall this is a cosy, clean hotel on a quiet side street near the city centre and the public transportation stations, and we’re definitely coming again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Best place to stay on our five week holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional customer service and breakfast! Highly recommend to any traveler visiting Vienna. Location is great! Only minutes to walk into the heart of the city and the Underground a block away to access further places. Many good inexpensive places to eat nearby. Clean, comfortable and very good shower with plenty of hot water...... Needed an airport taxi at 4:30 in the morning. The hotel staff arranged a wake up call and cab arrived on time. They even packed us a lunch for our trip to the airport because we were missing breakfast. How sweet is that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Everything we expected and more, convenient location and really friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger shower area.

    Free coffee and tea all day and fruit bowl available a very nice touch. The beds were clean and comfortable. There was a safe in the room and it was free. Liquid soap and shampoo/ body wash in bathroom. There was no bath only shower (plenty of hot water) but the shower area is quite small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Wonderfull stay in the beautiful city Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water leakage in the bathroom was disturbing!

    Great location very close to U2 metro station and many resturants aroud . Very clean and spacious room. The breakfast was really good, also the free tea and coffee in hotel lobby were really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    3 Nights at Alpha Hotel Wien
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near the Rathaus and metro/ tram station. You can go to the main attraction by foot. Great breakfast, coffee and drinks available for free anytime. Great hotel. Highly Recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second visit to this lovely little hotel. Great breakfast and friendly staff. The 8th district is a lovely area of Vienna - some lovely restaurants within a few minutes walk, a very quiet and non-touristy area and yet it's only a short, pleasant walk into the centre. We'll certainly stay here again on our next visit to this lovely city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was within minutes walk of the beautiful Rat Haus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decoration of the room was da

    The hotel was within minutes walk of the beautiful Rat Haus where there was a tube station and also the stop for the airport bus only 8 euros.There were also 2 good bars/restaurants which were reasonably priced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Nothing to fault-
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From start to finish when I was able to check in early to when I returned to collect my bags on day of departure and told to help myself to coffee. Staff so nice. Cosy sitting area alongside breakfast room enables guests to sit and chat over a drink. Great value for money and great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Good location at the center of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, clean rooms, the staff, free coffee at the lobby, they were all perfect. This hotel wotrhs the money you pay. It is 5 minutes walk to Museum Quarter and Vienna University. So you don't have to worry about transportation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    The location was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was average. There were not many options to choose from. In addition, there were not bottled water or coffee in the room. You had to go to the reception to drink water (no bottled water, just water from a jug). In the reception area you could also find a coffee machine and prepare your coffee. The carpet in our room could be cleaner.

    The location was really great. 1 minute walk from the metro station and the Vienna Rathaus. The VAL1 (Vienna Airport Line 1) bus has a station in the Rathaus square - so convenient! Very close to the city center, and the main sightseeing. In addition, there are some really good cafes and restaurants in the neighborhood. Nice room, quite clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alpha Wien traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: