Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt 5 stars

Rudolfskai 28/Judengasse 15, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#34 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1381 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly and upgraded our rooms. We were traveling with kids and they made sure that we had adjoining rooms. The location is perfect - right in the middle of Altstadt.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive buffet breakfast. Though it was delicious and the view from restaurant is lovely!!

    The bathroom was gigantic, the beds super comfortable, the room was very quiet and the old features really added to our experience. Right in the heart of the old town. It really was perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - book here wish we stayed longer

    Such a beautiful hotel - walk right out to the main shopping area and then out the back to the river - rooms are gorgeous the staff are lovely especially the front desk guys and Martin who checked us in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service in the bar one evening was very poor even though there were only two tables occupied. Feedback provided to the hotel directly.

    Spacious, clean, comfortable rooms (we were upgraded), friendly staff and a fantastic central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was broken on arrival, however staff carried bags to room and lift engineer attended very quickly.

    Staff v helpful. Room spacious. Food excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. The location of the property, including its old world charm, were exactly what was needed to unwind and enjoy. While parking was not available on site, it was a close 5 mins walk away to a garage.

    The staff was fanatsic, as were the amenities of the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing negative to say about this hotel.

    Everything It was a beautiful hotel. The rooms are all different. We as a family had three rooms, all stylish. The staff were amazing, so friendly and helpful. It was in the middle of the old town. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The superior double room had two single beds next to each other rather than a double bed. When i tried or my partner tried moving close the beds just move apart and hv to stay on separate beds.

    Right in the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for one double-sized bed, but I got two single beds together. Also, the walls and doors in the hallway were dirty and not covered. We joked that nothing can be done in the city after Mozart passed away. If you claim 5 stars, the walls and doors should be presentable.

    Location ideal, right in the middle of the city. Parking price great! The staff was friendly and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a boutique building. We were surprised with size of hotel. But considering the location in the old town it is acceptable. The furniture is classical and little old

    The location is perfect in the heart of old town. Everything is foot steps away. If luxury is not important then this is the right hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff upgraded us free of charge. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The room was super quiet despite the hotel being located right in the middle of all of the tourist action. My best friend and I were traveling together. She loved the luxurious bathroom. She even made time during our visit to take a bath (not something she often gets the chance to do). We would recommend the hotel, and I am considering booking it again for an upcoming stay in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting inside the rooms is a bit depressing.

    Great location. A few minutes walk from the old town and the bus station. The bed was so comfy, I fell asleep instantly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance from road access is hard to find. The name "Radisson" is so small and overlay by the other name "Alta..." or something I hardly remember.

    location is right in center of the city. Room is big comfort and convenient considering it is renovated from an old building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went to the bar and when we were ready to go, it took 45 minutes to find someone so we could pay the bill. Parking is in a public lot a few blocks down from the hotel.

    The room was huge. Staff was very friendly. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The television: really bad in choice of channels and quality of sound and image; screen dark and non adjustable The closet: as dark as a cavern The lights: they do not give a soothing lightning and are badly planified

    The view, the comfort, the silence, the beauty products and regular servicing of the room; Top reception staff and attentive general manager Comfort all over the place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our check-in was a bit frustrating due to not having a good idea what the parking/unloading situation was like. We arrived with a rental car (which we were not needing to valet since the car would immediately be returned to agency), and there was no good place to park while we checked in. One entrance is on a main road (facing river) with a bus lane adjacent to the hotel and the other entrance is in a restricted area we could not access by car. The bellman said to just park on the sidewalk for a few minutes. That worked out fine, but I feel the hotel's website should have more of a warning to know what to expect and provide some kind of suggestions.

    We were very pleased with this property. On check-in, we were upgraded to a suite, and the accommodations exceeded our expectations. The property is a broken up, so getting to some rooms requires some navigation, but nothing that created any problems. The room was very clean and we loved the roof-top terrace with views of the river. The back side of the hotel empties right into the old city where plenty of attractions are within easy walking distance. Breakfast offered extensive options and the service staff were pleasant and attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and the facility was beautiful. Located on the Salzach River in Altstadt (the old city of Salzburg), the view is spectacular! Breakfast combines to-order eggs with a comprehensive buffet, and the rooms are well-appointed. We'll definitely be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two beds had been pushed together and parted during the night! Bit noisy in the morning but it was a price worth paying for the super location. Found a dusty old hat under the bed so obviously it had not been cleaned under for a while!

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Gave us good advice. Hotel full of character. Very good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loved the location of the hotel. Moreover, all the staff members at the reception desk were really helpfull and friendly. I would definitely have this hotel as number one or two option if I am planning to visit Salzburg again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is not good if you have a disability, stairs are very steep entering at the front. Breakfast is not great and I would not advise to pay extra for this. Would have preferred a kettle in the room instead of the fiddling around with the coffee machine.

    Beds were comfortable even with my back trouble !! I loved the bedroom, very traditional and the furnishings were tasteful. Had some nice toiletries in the bathroom so no need for taking your own, a separate toilet also which is more convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The temperature inside the hotel was a bit too much warm, but this is quite common in good hotels in cold places.

    My room was actually a small suite, with a very nice leaving space. It was perfect to work but also to relax on the sofa!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accomodation is hard to reach by car: there is a public garage at 5 min`s walking distance. Made it a little difficult with the luggage.

    The hotel was nice, clean and perfectly located within the center of Salzburg. I was upgraded into a junior suite, which was spacious and absolutely quiet. The bed was very comfortable. Nice restaurant. Friendly staff, particularly in the restaurant and cafe.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All the staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were huge and comfortable. And the breakfast was plentiful, everything we could possibly want was on offer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, it surpassed our expectations.

    Our room was much larger than expected (it was huge!). The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived a little earlier than expected and arrived at the hotel before the official check-in time, the staff were happy to see if our room was ready for check-in and allowed us to check-in early. They were also very helpful by ordering us a taxi to take us to airport when we checked out. The hotel location was in a great location, allowing for easy access to most of the city by foot. Our room was very clean, and there was even chocolates on the pillows when we arrived. The room offered great views of the famous Salzburg fortress and the city skyline. We came across two restaurants/eatries in the hotel (once casual, and one a bit more formal), we only ate in the casual one it was very well decorated, with a good selection of drinks and food. Allowing us to escape the cold and to fill our stomaches. Over all I would highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is 300 metres away from the hotel. We arrived on a Sunday and there was no drop-off parking available.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, comfortable and the staff (with one exception) could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking. Parking is far away from hotel and its price 20€. Breakfast wasn't included, it cost 20€ per person, but the main awful thing was at 6:30 the garbage truck made a lot of noise for half an hour. And nothing can stop it. Was it's woken up us.

    Location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Bar closed at 10.30pm evicted from bar to sit in lobby at 10.45! So noisy in our bedroom till gone 3.00 am (presume night club next door?) even with windows closed.

    Clean and has some charm. Helpful staff who allocated us a room upgrade without even requesting it before we arrived.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A little noise from a local bar on thursday/friday evening.

    Friendly staff always had a nice word during our 6 day stay! Fabulous location round the corner from taxi rank, the lots of the main sights, chic shopping and array of cafes and bars. Our room had a view up to the cathedral and fortress, most charming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    OH yes! The girl in the cafe did not know her drinks nore could she suggest anything local.

    From the moment we checked in it was perfect and the restaurant at the Radisson was fantastic the manager on that night was the best i have encountered in my five weeks driving Europe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all we are hotel owners also in Greece so we know very well how to run a hotel for excellent results ..and this hotel includes everything ,beautiful location exactly on the Main Street at the old town with the shops and from the other side you are frond of the river with beautiful views ..also the restaurant that you take and your breakfast it is amazing for the atmosfaire and the view ..the rooms are very clean and they give you also and flip flops ! Chic furnitures ..comfortable bed .the staff extremely kind and polite ,they give you good advises to visit the best places in Salzburg ,thank you very much for everything ,Evangelia &ΑDonis from Greece

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building. Lovely staff. Fantastic large and gorgeous room with great views. We were given an upgrade and everything about our room and view was stunning. Room 301. Staff absolutely amazing. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would recommend everyone to stay here, you won't be disappointed! The charm of this Hotel is next level, our room was HUGE with a super comfy bed! Location is perfect, and what we really enjoyed was having a coffee last thing when we returned after a long day in the cafe downstairs. The breakfast is amazing, give the omelette a go - so good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The manager, Hamood, made our stay very pleasant indeed. He was always ready with a warm greeting and a smile every time he saw us. It made us feel like his special guests :) He helped us with bookings and suggestions for places to see and was always willing to answer any questions we had. Thank you Hamood for making our stay a really pleasurable one. (I do hope I have spelt your name correctly!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isolation, the shower needs better glass door, the water runs around it, the floors literally move when someone walks and not to mention the parking situation. Please call the front desk and arrange for car pick up on the main street in front of the hotel. Do NOT DRIVE BEHIND THE BUILDING LIKE THE NAV SAYS. if you do and you follow that stupid sign that says the hotel is in the back, you could get stuck in the back if you happen to get passt the ramp (in our case some one behind us opened the gate. So when we realized this wasn't the entrance, it was for Taxi's only, we could not get out. Luckily someone was behind us again and opened the ramp. If you get stuck call the hotel to give you the code for the key pad, otherwise you might pay 100 euros to get a code from the police.

    Old property with history combined with modern touch. It is a historical building so it is lacking some noise isolation. On the other hand I used to stay at new hotels that were just as noisy from the door slamming etc. This hotel is amazing and in the center. Beautiful. The staff is awesome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access from lobby to our room was slightly convoluted. Lots of stairs to climb and need to exit to an external courtyard to get to our room in a separate annex building. Quite a hassle when it rains and snows. Would be ideal if passage was sheltered and indoor. Our room location was not ideal for elderly or wheel chair access. The door handle to our room door was broken and couldn’t be fixed. We got in and out of our room okay throughout our stay though we felt rather insecure. We were not aware that the hotel is situated in a limited car access zone. We had a car transfer arranged to pick us on check out and our driver drove as close to the main entrance of the hotel to allow ease of loading our luggages into the car. However, we couldn’t leave the restricted zone after and our Driver had to go to the local police station to pay a €100 fine. Just a note to check if you are arranging your own car transfers.

    The location of the hotel was fantastic! Short walk to Christmas markets and shopping street with lots of options for food. It wa very close to ice skating rink too. We love the freshly cooked breakfast each morning with views to snow-capped landscape. Our room was big and spacious, fitting two queen size beds, very comfortable for us and our young child. Love the floor heating in our spacious bathroom too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It can be noisy in the old town but this is not the fault of the hotel Some staff were not well trained in food service but it was Christmas so perhaps some new staff

    Lovely old feel of property Spacious rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture smell in the room, but it did not ruin the atmosphere.

    Personnel (all of them) were truly friendly and professional. Firstly they proposed us free upgrade of the room, secondly they have give a nice consultation about the city and its sightseeing. Third of all, proposed several nice places to have dinner, excluding their own cozy restaurant with a nice river-view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking situation. Cost of rooms vs. the quality of the rooms. Potential noise from bars and streets below. Not enough power outlets in the rooms.

    I have mixed review about this hotel. No question that it is a great location for sightseeing in the Old City area. Downside to this location is that it is filled with tourists and potentially noisy. Our room was not that noisy - we were in the rooms that look down onto the interior street of the old city. We were not in a river view room, which I ended up being happy about because there are some Irish bars down below on the river view side which can be very noisy. The rooms are definitely dated and the lighting is pretty poor. We paid a fortune for our rooms, since it was the week after Christmas and that is a busy week in Salzburg. I didn't think the quality of the rooms matched the price we paid. However, I don't want to be too negative, since it is a great location for sightseeing. The hotel service is impeccable - very helpful front desk staff, bell service and in the restaurant. The breakfast was great, and the restaurant has a beautiful setting overlooking the river. I do want to rave about the restaurant. We were in Salzburg for 2 1/2 days, and the restaurant at this hotel was by far the best restaurant we ate in during our entire stay. We wasted time and money eating at touristy restaurants in the old town, not realizing that for pretty much the same price we could have a much higher quality experience right in our hotel in a beautiful, quiet setting. The dinner menu had vegetarian options for my daughter, they provided excellent wine recommendations and you must try the Salzburg Nokerl dessert, which they specialize in. Superior service in the restaurant. Only other downside is lack of power outlets in the room and the parking situation is difficult. In order to access the hotel and offload your luggage and obtain valet parking, you have to pull up to the back of the hotel on the street that goes along the river (the front entrance to the hotel is on a pedestrian-only street in the old town).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On our first morning we asked for breakfast to be delivered to our room. As I am not a big breakfast eater my partner ordered for one. it arrived on time and was ok. When we returned from skiing for the day at 17.45 we were shocked to see that the tray still sitting there. They had not replaced the only flannel in the bathroom, not topped up the tea bags and no cups. We were here for five days and as a result ate out every evening. They did not seemed to be bothered when checking out why we only had one breakfast and not eaten in the restaurant. Not Five stare by a long way.

    The bedrooms are very large and comfortable. Depending which room you are staying in the views will vary. We had room 216 which overlooked a small court yard and was not adjoined .So not much of a view. However this resulted in one of the quietest rooms I have stayed in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are many stairs in the hotel, even stairs to the elevators. The staff were great about transporting our bags for us, so this wasn't a problem but I would be wary if a member of your group has mobility concerns. Also, the shower was poorly designed which made it awkward to use (there just wasn't much space even though it was a full size tub and shower). Neither concern would prevent me from staying here again.

    We were warmly welcomed and all our bags were gathered and taken to our room. The bellman kept our stroller at the desk so we could retrieve it easily when we went out. We were kindly given a free upgrade to a beautiful suite with a view of the river and it was stocked with snacks and champagne for us. The location was excellent, very near the old part of town we wished to explore and easy to walk to shops, bakeries, cafes, and restaurants. The hotel staff were great about storing our suitcases after checkout and hiring a cab back to the train station for us. We would happily stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toiletries and tissues in the bathroom were not replenished from the day we arrived and one bathrobe was taken away on day one and never reappeared ...

    Lovely comfortable bed; fabulous location; friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to get a drink at the bar was almost impossible- there was never anyone serving there and we were told at 11 o’clock that we definitely couldn’t have any drinks

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a journey to get to the rooms through the different buildings.

    They were very kind and upgraded are rooms. They were very helpful with all of our questions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head not great would of been nice t have bath & shower in a suite . To get checked in on time after an early flight .

    Staff are lovely & room was clean . Heated floor lovely .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe's service was terrible. Breakfast overpriced considering we could get it much cheaper nearby.

    Staff very polite and helpful. Room was lovely, comfortable and had all we needed. Bed comfortable and bathroom very luxurious (for a standard room)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a bit outdated and smelled of cabbage. It didn’t look like 5star for the price we paid. Not enough lighting in the room and it felt a bit dull.

    The extra snacks and the location was awesome. The staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was a nice size. Quite spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very small for the price paid plus loud booming music from nightclub at the base of the hotel on the river side. We were offered complimentary breakfast when this was mentioned to the hotel manager.

    Very central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard to find hotel entrance (confusing), access from lobby to rooms was difficult for guests with lots of luggages, key chain was very heavy to bring around

    Great location to surrounding attractions, staff & porter very helpful & we got a free upgrade to suite (best of all!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a handheld shower with no holder to put the shower head in. To use the hairdryer you had to hold a button on the wall as well as on the dryer itself to use it. My boyfriend had to hold the button on the wall for me to be able to dry my hair. Our room (101) was located directly over the bars and the music would come on around 10/10:30pm. It wasn't loud enough to hear the lyrics but a constant thump thump of the base, as well as the usual bar noise. When we left we asked for the front desk to hold our luggage and they said no problem at all they will put it in a secure place. We came back an hour later to use the Ladies and our luggage was sitting in the middle of the reception area. We had to ask them again to put it somewhere and they seemed to be annoyed that we asked for it to be moved from the middle of the room. If you want tea or coffee in the room be sure to ask for cups as the cups provided are too small for the small setting on the Nespresso and not able to hold a tea bag. All of these things would be manageable however given we paid £500 for two nights we expected a little bit better and were disappointed.

    The staff were all very nice and very friendly. The location of the hotel was perfect for the Christmas Markets and exploring the old town. There is character in the hotel (ceiling molding, wood floors etc.) that you don't always get in new hotels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have used a double door for the connecting rooms, as we could hear our neighbors in the suite next to ours moving furniture, talking, coughing, etc.

    Everything was perfect, well almost. The people next to our room were moving furniture around and coughing and were just loud. But the hotel is amazingly beautiful dating back to the 1300's and the location was unbeatable, as it was situated in the middle of Old Town just steps away from everything. Our room was enormous as we ckecked in one hour early and was upgraded to a gorgeous suite. The price was also wonderful for the quality, history, and location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Our second time staying at this hotel and will definitely go back! Service is excellent plus a immaculate hotel highly recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is very expensive and not worth that much money as it is on the booking website (26€ per person per night). We stayed in a room where we had to cross an open patio and with the cold and the rain it is very annoying, because we had to close the umbrella to cross the reception and then reopen it again for the patio. Didn't like that from the third floor to the zero there were no staircase, only elevator that sometimes was full.

    The property is on the old area very near the most things that people want to see - so the location is a big plus. Loved the friendly service and how helpful everybody was.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was tired. However it was acceptable. What was not acceptable for this standard and priced hotel, was that they did not supply disposable or any bedroom slippers. We asked, housekeepings' answer was that they were out of supply. Hotel was very frugal with the shampoo and shower gel. It was not enough for 2 persons. Smacked of cost cutting !

    Size of the room and bathroom was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Get rid of the tub and put in a nice walk in shower.

    Great room and friendly staff. Wonderful dinner at their restaurant with the best waiter I’ve had in years.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fire in the hotel during our stay which was very poorly dealt with. General bad communication by hotel during the 2 hour evacuation of guests in the early hours of the morning. Besides this, reception staff were not able or prepared to offer good advice around general basic questions about how to get around the area and merely wanted to refer you to organized tours.

    The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wooden floor was not impeccably vacuumed. The beverage in the minibar has not been refilled the next morning.

    Excellent choice for an old building (heritage) hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to improve housekeeping. We arrived 4:20pm and our room isn’t ready yet. The next day, after long day out, we come back to a room that wasn’t cleaned/made up. Cleaning also is not very thorough. Hair and crumbs are left in the room.

    The location is perfect. Right in the Old Town near restos, shops etc. I love that they offer valet parking too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Hamoud at the front desk was very helpful and really made our trip to salzburg amazing through recommending all the right places to visit as well as assisting us with the reservations. The staff is what made this hotel the perfect place to stay. Also very comfortable and in the perfect location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sign for the hotels is a bit small, may could be bigger so anyone can see it.

    The view is to die for! Its better than other hotels, seriously this hotel needs to be on top of the list!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maid service was so so. The beds and bathroom were picked up and everything but compared with our last hotel there were some small things that were left out. For instance, our room wasn’t vacuumed daily and there was some trash left. I’m nitpicking, yes, but this is on the higher end too so just sayin...overall though it was a fantastic hotel experience. Also I did read some reviews that stated their AC didn’t work but ours seemed to work just fine.

    The location was superb. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the river which was incredibly nice. It wasa very large room particularly for Europe so having the extra space definitely helped.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is very good which is easy for us to walk in the old town. Meanwhile, the staff in the restaurant is very friendly. Due to his career in Nikko Hotel, he talked with us in Japanese and provided us special sweets to welcome our stay in the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the large room sizes and location to shops, restaurants, and the festival happening that weekend was right outside the back door of the hotel. The building was quaint and had a lot of character. We took a day trip to Berchtesgarden and the bus stop was very close to the hotel. The train station was a short taxi drive away, but a bit to long to walk to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no issues. The old school ambience was perfect for the place. The place was welcomingly warm when it rained. I would go back if I can afford to again.

    This was my first time in Salzburg, so I did not have any idea what was in store for me. The hotel is situated n the Old Town area so it was so easy for me to walk around to see all the important places listed. The breakfast was pricey but I think it was worth it. The view from my breakfast every morning was fabulous! It is an expensive hotel but the value was equally given.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent and the room was a great size, very comfortable for a 3 night stay. Valerie in the cafe was very informative and gave us some great tourist tips.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, it is a hotel converted from some old buildings. So don't expect something like international 5 star standard. Avoid the rooms in the roof. The walls (roofs) are in an angle, very easy to bump your head. The worst is that the shower is under an angled wall as well. So, for an average sized adult, don't expect shower with water coming from above. I had to hand held the shower head all time. Plus, the air conditioners make funny noise in every 2 or 3 minuets. All in all, the facility needs a overhaul!

    It is along the river. So some rooms have nice river view. The courtyard in the middle of the hotel is a nice and quiet place for a drink. The hotel building itself is an old building with hundreds years of history. The breakfast is very nice, both setting and food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in the heart of the Old Town - could walk out everywhere to coffee shops, restaurants and concert halls. Very spacious and comfortable room with plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in staff was helpful, but other than that, the staff seemed inexperienced and reluctant to help (I don't think any of the staff past 10pm were older than 30). The concierge was on her phone taking a selfie snap-chat when I went to ask a question and seemed surprised that I showed up. The hotel is very open to the public and the rooms do not automatically lock, so you have to lock yourself into your room whenever you return. I had to take the key off the chain, for some reason they use the heaviest key-chain I've come across, every. In the end, it's definitely still a Radisson.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic and within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. This is one of the most beautiful cities I've been to, and the hotel offered close proximity to the fortress as well as the city center. My room was larger than expected and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking the car is difficult since the hotel does not have its own parking lot and since public parkings are quite busy or far away. No valet service proposed. No cradle for baby proposed at the check-in.

    The special layout of our room, coping well with the existing old building. Comfortable, spacious and quiet room. Large and good bed. Extremely well located at the heart of the old town of Salzburg.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking nor valet parking. We had to park in a public parking garage several blocks away. Also, no loading/unloading zone in front of hotel which was on a busy street. So, unloading and loading the luggage from our car and checking in was a little stressful to say the least. But, the staff was very helpful with unloading/loading the car and pointing us in the right direction to find the parking garage. So, if you have a car, not the best, if not the hotel is really nice with no complaints.

    Very nice, renovated, hotel in the old section of Salzburg. Great service, staff, and fabulous location! You can walk to almost everything. Very clean hotel, nicely decorated, great air conditioning, and nice restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where shall I start .... stained bedding . Cracked toilet. Baldly fraied curtains. Room remined me of staff quarters. Very disappointed paid good money for a sub standard room 2* room not a 5*

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    shower stall extremely small, bedding extremely hot, hotel does not have a lighter blanket as an option. Its a problem we find with a lot of hotels including hotels in the states

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is a big minus especially since they do not offer valet parking. We have been in other hotels located in city center, but they had agreements with different parkings and the hotel staff would takeover the car and park it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Parkingspace, you need to be lucky to find a spot to park your car. The view out of the window was right onto a wall of the next building.

    Big Rooms, everything was clean, awesome & nice staff, breakfast and restaurant are REALLY good!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled of stale cigarette smoke, the beds were uncomfortable, the multiple doors to the bathroom and toilet would not stay open, so no cool air could flow into them. The breakfast was absurd at 26 euro, very limited room service menu, and there were no pool or spa facilities nearby. Definitely not up to european 5-star standards.

    The air conditioning was wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in an excellent location on the river and in the old town, walking distance to main attractions. The breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Radisson Blu Hotel Altstadt traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: