Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Maxglaner Hauptstraße 7, Maxglan, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#63 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1275 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smallest bathroom/toilet I have ever been too. It took one day to get used to it. Also our booking was for three people and it seems two rooms were originally allotted. But the actual room was a three bedded room. Room was good except for the cramped toilet space so we did not notice the discrepancy. It ws only on return and after comparing the confirmation from Bookings.com that we realized that we may have got the wrong room. That also explains why it appeared overpriced.

    Very freindly staff. Breakfast was good. Room was clean and confortable. Located next to a supermarket and not too far from city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator inside the room and sleeping slippers. Also one pillow was not stuffed properly.

    Friendly staff, accomodating because they let us in before the check in time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the best! Beautifully and thoughtfully presented, in a lovely dining room or on the gorgeous terrace with lots of flowers and colour. The selection of foods was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were several steps up to the main entrance which could be tricky for the elderly or those with heavy luggage.

    The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we sat on the balcony in the sun which was an unexpected treat. The twin room with ensuite was fine and also had an extra area where one could sit by open windows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    Perfect location. The owner was very helpful with information. They were so nice to let us check-in 2 hours early when we arrived. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel after checkout while we roam the city. Room and breakfast were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall everything is great. Just limit parking space but you can park on the street, Hotel is at least 20 minutes walk from oldtown however, it has a team stop right in front of the hotel.

    Room is clean and large enough with nice balcony. Breakfast is excellent, i recommended everyone not to miss it. All staffs and owner are nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are absolutely satisfied with our stay in this hotel! Our room was cosy and it had a modern design. The bed was very comfy, we also enjoyed the balcony. Moreover, the breakfasts were delicious! It is a great place for people who like an active way of sightseeing - it takes about 15 minutes to walk to get to the historic centre of Salzburg. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been more comfortable

    Provided gluten free as requested with good variety. Interesting artwork. Nice terrace. Very friendly and helpful staff. Easy bus from airport and into Salzburg. Staff advised on booking tours and buying Salzburg card

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like.

    The owner, his wife and staff were friendly. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was delicious. We had a room at the back of the property with a serene view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, only a short bus ride from the Old Town of Salzburg. The bus stop is conveniently located across the road from the hotel. Very helpful, friendly staff. Great breakfast, with eggs cooked to order. Free parking. A great stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator

    The staff was really helpful, especially because we arrived so late at night and still they are very accommodating. Likewise, Bus terminal going to the city center was only on the other side of the street, therefore, it is convenient if you plan to commute by bus. Hotel also sells the Salzburg Card so you don't need to go extra to tourist info point just to buy one for yourself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really friendly, they gave us really good recommendations for the restaurant near the hotel. The breakfast buffet was outstanding and they made for us scramble eggs on request. The hotel has also free parking spaces.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good located in Maxglan! In the middle of the Airport and Old City Centre. So it's in walking distances. Also the Stiegl-Brewery and the Austria Salzburg Stadion are not far away!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on premises overnight. No way to get food or drink in the evening, we had to go out quite late and find a restaurant.

    We stayed here as our flight was cancelled late on a Saturday evening. Quick taxi ride from the airport, cost around €10. The room was small but clean and comfortable. Good shower. Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - more amenities can be provided (no slippers, limited cable channels, no carpets, etc). - The basement Family room is not well equipped(no intercom, room decoration was non existent). It was cold as well. It is not worth the money. We complained and was upgraded to the suite.

    - the breakfast is good. - the location is convenient. The bus stop for line 1 and line 10 is just across the street. - Penny supermarket is 3 mins from the hotel. Note that on Saturdays it closes at 6pm, Closed on Sunday. - Hbf(20 mins), downtown,shopping street, funicular (all at Karajan platz is 6 mins) - One of the staff members (most probably the owner) was very courteous. - the suite is nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not use wi fi prior to the room being ready. Room was tiny Size of shower was too small. Could barely move in the shower Elevator not on ground floor.Have to walk up stairs to get to elevator Male owner not a nice man. Female owner was very nice and helpful

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet is rather small

    Great location as it is just about short walking distance to the nearest station to get up to the mountains. Also, within 15 minutes walk to town where all the main shopping area and restaurants are located. Quite ample area to park car and you’ll get beautiful view of the river and mountains if you choose room with such view. Breakfast is nice especially the yogurt. Most of all the staff are super friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room/bedding could use more than one pillow per bed, other than that, very comfortable.

    Easy check in. Staff very friendly, English spoken by all. Breakfast was good, typical European. Eggs can be to order if you ask. , otherwise, soft boiled.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area is a little small and although we had no problems getting a table as we ate early, some people had to wait for a table. Breakfast was good

    We had a triple room which was very roomy with the extra bed in a small area off the main bedroom giving privacy. Beds overall are great An enjoyable stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Far away from the railway station (almost 25 minutes walking distance) and the connecting transportation is not easy to find.

    clean, small room but meet all my needs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe a little far to the city center if you don't like to walk, though public transportation was super easy to use.

    We all really enjoyed the breakfast, the eggs were cooked to order, and all of the food was very fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle/drink making facilities in room. Room safe difficult to operate. BBC News channel on television would be useful for guests who can't speak German/French but speak at least a little English.

    Easy links by bus to airport and main train station. Level 15/20 minute walk to centre of Salzberg. Quiet. Good variety of choice for breakfast. Friendly co-operative staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We Brits would like tea making facilities in the room...

    bed comfy...loved the enclosed balcony..even though cold outside it was pleasant to sit out. Great continental breakfast selection with eggs if required.Family run and quiet hotel.8 mins from airport!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a charge for Wifi but since we didn't use it, I don't know how much it was. We would have thought it would be included.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was extensive and delicious and the buses to/from airport, train station and Altstadt stopped directly across the road from the hotel. Easy walk to the Altstadt too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfasts, good espresso and friendly staff :) Also the location is very convenient, even though the parking is on the street in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was the worst one during our whole trip which had 16 nights. Poor decoration in the room, poor breakfast, poor English of receptionist.

    Convinient to the trainstation by bus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and bathrooms were really cramped and it was very warm as we went in summer. Not much ventilation too.

    Great location at the center and access to public transport was great. Very friendly staff too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Early morning breakfast on the last day was really disappointing. For not eating Beef and pork, we were provided with just bread and butter with yogurt. Could have arranged good breakfast for family of 6. We come regularly to Salzburg, but will not come here again.

    A bus stop right outside hotel, Breakfast on the first day was very good. Staff at the reception on 16th evening was very friendly and customer service oriented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing wasn't below expectations.

    In fact everything was actually a little better then we dared to hope and reception was very friendly. Therefore I gave in all points highest rating. Old city is 10 minutes walk from hotel. There was sufficient space on the street for parking car free of charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures shown on booking.com are deceptive. The rooms are much smaller and old looking than shown in the pictures. The bathrooms are way too small. The smallest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel.

    The beds were comfortable, the bus for the city comes right outside the hotel, the owner is very helpful, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Family room was spacious but rather bare and did not have inside access to breakfast room

    Very friendly helpful staff, great breakfast, bus stop across the road

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that I remember.

    The room is clean and easy access to bus which is opposite the hotel. The staff are very very nice, very accommodating and so heplful. Will definitely recommend to friend and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our three teens were placed in a room one floor down. That was not ideal.

    The employees were very kind and helpful from the clerk who checked us in to the waitress for breakfast. The breakfast was served on a lovely patio and was absolutely delicious!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, perfect as it is.

    This hotel is a gem, staff are very helpful and speak good English. Clean rooms, beds are very comfortable, breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice. The location is very good with public transport just across from the hotel and within 5 mins you are in the centre of Salzburg. It is quiet around the hotel which is lovely after a day in the centre. Very good internet connection.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator stops at middle of two floors. Need to carry luggage up steps which was quite unprepared to do so. Bed is too soft for comfort and so is the pillow. June is too hot without air -conditioning in the room.

    Toilet big with space to put things , location quiet but close to places of interests Lighting in room good. Open air terrace restaurant is quiet and pleasant. Staff friendly. Room airy when open window. Location close to Old Town, can walk there. Breakfast good with varieties of food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no complaints.

    Very helpful of them to have suggested to re-enter Germany via Road 1 rather than the highway, to avoid lengthy delays at the border post.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No kettle in the double room but was provided upon request.

    It was a very cosy hotel and we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the rooms. The triple room had a double bed with a sliding door and then a single bed. This was perfect for our group as one of our travellers doesn't like snoring. Right opposite a bus stop which took you straight to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were polite and helpful, able to provide an umbrella as we had to venture out after a thunderstorm for an evening meal. We ate well at the Stiegl brewery (!), which was 5 minutes away, and there's also a nearby Italian restaurant at which we had previously eaten and the food was excellent. The hotel may be a bit far out of the centre for some, but there's a tram stop directly opposite the hotel, so it's easy to get into town (and in our case, early to the train station, which took 15 mins). Hotel was comfortable, quiet and we slept well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid closed our windows while out and about...came back to a very hot, stuffy room at end of day since there is no AC and we were on the top floor. My bath towel had a bit of a stale smoke smell.

    Eating breakfast on the outside deck! Easy walk into the Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very cute hotel. The bed is comfortable and the room is extremely clean! The bathroom is large which is great. The only downside is that it is situated in the suburb of Salzburg and it is hard to find a restaurant nearby. I will recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very close to the city centre. The bus to the hauptbahnoff as well as the station stops right across the hotel. Joseph is really helpful. He arranges the sound of music tour for us which was last moment. And had valuable advice regarding planning an activity for the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    J

    Lovely property just on the outskirts of town. Fifteen minute walk to centre (even with my massively slow daughter!). Friendly staff, clean rooms. Parking not a problem. Really would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safe in room was problematic in terms of locking

    Breakfast and family atmosphere was great and friendly Delighted that we could book sound of music tour at the hotel Good location - enjoyed the walk into Saltzburg

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the fact that we booked a double bed room and they gave us a 2 single beds separated by a balcony door. The distance between the reception and the elevator has a few stairs which makes it difficult if you're carrying heavy luggages with you. The same thing happens to the second floor between the elevator and the rooms. There was not heating in the room not even a garbage bin. The Internet connection was really poor.

    The staff of the hotel was really kind and was willing to help you in every case. The hotel is in a very quiet and nice neighborhood!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of a funky smell coming from the bathroom.

    The ladies were all friendly and helpfull. The room was cozy and clean with a nice easter treat. Breakfast was great and enough for anyone to enjoy. Breakfastroom was also very clean and had a good vibe. Busstop to town right in front of the hotel and two buslines of wich one going also to the airport, so overall fantastic!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not things

    The hotel is very nice,good room , free parking , near bus stop , supermarket. The staff very nice , they provide information that help my Vacation in Salzburg very happy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little further from the city center then anticipated but a nice scenic route into town walking. All the bars, shop and restaurants right around the hotel were always closed so we always had to walk closer or in the center for food or drink and the room was a. It smaller than we anticipated for being a suite. Parking was scarce and hard to come by.

    The breakfast was good, the staff was friendly and accomidating. Bedrooms were clean and comfortable. Close by some great sites and the front desk booked tours and had them pick us up from the hotel. Very friendly and I would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking place (limited no.of parking places; 6 - 7 places only. Problem with parking if you arrived "late" ... you have to park on the side of the "street" which is not allowed.

    Value for money

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a enjoyable stay just the one night, the bed was very comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Was up early next morning to collect my daughter from the airport which was under 10 minutes away. I had actually left my wallet in the safe and they emailed me to go back and collect it. I would use this hotel again as it was a short walk to the center once you know where to go.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite has very clean and nice bedrooms, but when it comes to the bathroom I can't say it is the cleanest I have ever been to.. And steam and humid from the shower won't go out.

    The view was stunning. The hotel is right in front of the lake and you can hear ducks and swans swimming throutput the night when you can't see the lake. Furthermore when it gets dark you can see the stars all over the sky. And the restaurant serves decent dinner. Though the main dish is fish, vegeterian menu was excellent. Will definitely visit again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in a suite which was perfect as we were a couple travelling with a teenager and the suite afforded us all our privacy. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast had lots of choice. It is about a 15 minute walk to the old town, the walk is very pleasant however. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel is slightly outside town, but not too difficult to reach during daytime. staff are very friendly and breakfast was very good. room seemed a bit dated.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We originally booked a triple room, but the one we were given did not match the picture on booking.com. It wasn't presented very well and looked dour. If you book a triple make sure to check as they have 3 rooms. When we complained, they moved us to a double which would have been a lot cheaper at the time of booking. So we felt we were miss-sold. The double was better but the curtains didnt quite cover the windows.

    The staff and manager were friendly. They thought of little things to entertain our son. The breakfast was also nice. The bathroom was clean and the bedroom nicely presented.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the value for money but this is how it happens when you go one Saturday night before Christmas.

    Nice personnel, good location with a walk in the old town for aprox 15 minutes. The room was well heated and breakfast not wow but decent and cosy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you get into a triple room you find a single bed right by the entrance, which is absolutely inapropriate. Be ware to check your invoice, the hotel charged extra money for accomodation as compared to the rate booked with Booking.com. Although Booking.com made a refund, the impression of the hotel was completely spoiled. The hotel staff did not even get back to me in connection with my complaint.

    The hotel is modern.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite a long walk to the City Centre. However there are buses every few minutes and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.

    Friendly helpful staff and a lovely breakfast. You can take the number 10 bus from the Airport and it stops right outside the hotel. Tip: buy the Salzburg card for unlimited bus travel and entrance to many sites, including use of the cable car and fenicula railway

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel parking is too small, only 5 cars and the rest have to park on the street.

    The room was very clean, the breakfast was good (you have to order omelette if you want one but it takes less than 2 minutes to be served.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little out of the town centre, but was good for car touring, with easy parking available in the side street, even though we arrived after 6pm. The hotel is attractive inside and out, with original art works on display, a cosy bar area for evenings, and a small private garden area for daytime relaxing. We found it very quiet ... could even hear the clip-cop of the brewer's horse-drawn wagon well before it came past in the morning! Access from the hotel's location to the Centre of town, and other sightseeing areas is smooth and convenient by car. Not sure about public transport, as we didn't explore that option. Our 3rd floor room had very comfortable twin beds, extra pillows, a suitcase stand, a folder of helpful information for sightseeing options, and a window that opened! It was attractive, warm, inviting, and very clean. Spacious ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was amazing! The variety offered would tempt any taste. We were seated quickly, and lovely coffee and perfectly boiled eggs arrived within minutes. Such a wonderful start to the day. We would highly recommend this as a base for sightseeing, and will book here again next time we are in Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful owners who go out of their way to help their guests. Excellent breakfast. Very nice room. Buy the 24 hour bus ticket and you have very cheap transportation not only to the hotel but all around Salzburg.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was no clean. The room was large and with nice interior decoration but was dirty. The light over the mirror is full of dead insect. The bedside table had the trace of the coffee Cup ( from the last cusomer). Our cups was dirty. We fortunately find a market near the hotel where we buy cleanser for clean the room and stay paceful. Outside our room on the staircase there was a point incredible sticky ( It was no a good sensation for our food). The radiator in to the bathroom loud and really noisy. For sleep we should close It and of couse in the Morning the bathroom was cold.

    The location is top really near the center, and the staff really nice and give us all the information we need

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room didnt have flip flop. also the recycle bin was not proper.

    stuff were very friendly and helpful. the room was super clean and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel management was very helpful and they found that we are a big family so they reserved a table for us for breakfast. A great and quite place to stay, yet so close to downtown Salzburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound travels fast across the rooms' walls!

    It is a basic hotel, clean and suitable for those who have no particular quality standards. Staff collaborative and free street parking is a plus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only few parking spaces dedicated to hotel. If occupied, you need to look for a parking in the neibourhood. No ventilation fan in the toilet, only a window to the outside.

    Breakfast and friendly staff. Room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was right on a tramline that went right into the town center. Took 5 minutes. Some good restaurants a few minutes walk away. Staff were very friendly, breakfast was awesome. Very clean modern hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had just been spoiled by a far cheaper, much more spacious, luxurious and friendly hotel in Hall in Tyrol so this hotel had a bit too much to live up to! We knew we were paying extra for it being so convenient for Salzburg but the room (a triple) and its bathroom were much smaller and the staff were polite but did not go out of their way as they had in the previous hotel. Being pickier than usual though because of an exceptional stay elsewhere!

    Great location- bus stop right outside into centre of Salzburg! Little conservatory balcony to relax in while kids slept!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 rooms - one was quite warm due to hot weather - a fan could be helpful in this case, although we didn't have trouble sleeping. The other was on a corner with a cross breeze so stayed quite cool!

    I really liked that this hotel is a little bit away from the center - it was nice to walk through a real neighbourhood, yet still be close by the center attractions (easy 15 min walk or short bus ride, stop right across the street). The staff was friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast was great! Also near supermarkets and restaurants. We especially liked that the Stiegl brewery is very close by offering tasty and reasonably priced meals.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their breakfast could be more complete with a toaster. All served food was cold (I think as the local way) except for coffee and eggs.

    Take about +20mins from old city of Salzburg. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds uncomfy. A very small room for 3 people, directly one step from reception. A bus stop quite far. Hotel not in the centre.

    Free parking. Very helpful staff especially at breakfast. Wide selection of food for breakfast. Cleanliness. Small hotel with a family atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet access could have been easier. It worked well while logged in, but we had to log back in often. Fortunately, the password was simple, but it was a bit disconcerting. And there is no air conditioning. The afternoons were warm during our visit, and we were fine without it (nice cross ventilation) but a fan in the room would be a nice addition.

    Spent three nights at the Hotel Astoria at the end of a long driving trip. It was so relaxing! It's a small hotel in a nice residential area just outside the city. They have free parking, an elevator, a bus that takes you everywhere right outside the door, a grocery store across the street, and the Stiegl brewery a short pleasant walk away. The room was large enough to feel homey with ample storage space. Breakfast was beautifully done on the patio with lovely china and perfect boiled eggs. The staff, including the owner, Joseph, was gracious and helpful. We purchased The Salzburg pass at the front desk and were very happy with the choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in a single room and the bed was too small. The room in general as well. It was also a noisy room. Couldn't find if were the neighbors or other guests, but had to close the window and therefor was very warm inside the room. I find the relationship price-quality not that good. But couldn't find many other options in the city. So I guess Salzburg is expensive anyway.

    the breakfast is actually great. the location is not that bad if you like walking. I didn't use public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the tiny side. Noise from construction and traffic outside started at 6am so required us to close windows, but then room was a bit hot.

    Excellent breakfast, staff friendly and helpful booking tours. Free parking on the road was very convenient. No air conditioning but windows open wide if you feel comfortable with that. Safe in the room a bit confusing to operate, but nice to have. Wifi signal is strong and reliable. Good water pressure in shower!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very dark with only a very small high window. It allowed for little ventilation. I'm glad it was not hot. The room was also quite small, but adequate. We have never seen a smaller bathroom - though it was very clean and rather new.

    The breakfast was served on the patio and was generous and varied. The service was friendly. It was nice that we didn't have to pay for parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were lucky enough to get one of the few parking spaces alongside the hotel building. Arrive early if you want one.

    Great location just a short walk from the old part of the city. We had a suite which consisted of a good sized bedroom, a sitting room which had two single beds, and a large bathroom. This was ideal while travelling with our adult daughters. The beds were comfortable and breakfast was very good with staff asking frequently if we needed anything else and checking we had everything we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, had to sleep with the window open, which was noisy due to the traffic.

    Nothing was too much trouble, and helped us with our travel arrangements. Bus stop across the road.

    Stayed in June 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: