Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Der Salzburger Hof 4 stars

Kaiserschützenstraße 1, Elisabeth-Vorstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#49 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1211 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good if we had a airconditioner fitted in the room as it did become quite hot in the hotter months this would definately become a larger issue. I think you maybe able to hire them as portable but we just made do.

    Location, Breakfast, Staff, rooms, bathrooms, hotel in general was clean modern and was fantastic. Breakfast was a huge selection of food, lacation being only 200m from the train station was super convenient bit still very walkable into old town and shopping areas. Approx 1-2k , but they do have buses available if you dont want to walk. Salzvurg is great !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the rooms need a bit more light

    The Check-In staff were very helpful. They upgraded us to a larger room for a nominal upgrade fee, when they saw that we were travelling with a toddler. A great gesture to start our stay. The breakfast was good. Breakfast room has lots of activity books for kids. A 3 Minute walk to the Train & Bus station. Nespresso Machine was very appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Super helpful, friendly front desk staff. Hotel was great. Everything exceeded our expectations. Really good cold beer in bar after a long day of sightseeing. Parking and air conditioning is a must for us. Both great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, great hotel.

    Great hotel, great location, great staff, great breakfast. Everything was great, enough said. Except maybe stay away from the hostel rooms unless saving a few bucks is important.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was disappointed you didn't have double duvets.

    Great place, very convenient as it is right in the city center. Excellent customer service, Max was exceptional and consistently showed a genuine interest in wanting to make us enjoy our stay in Salzburg (Cheers Pal). Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice and warm hotel. There is rice for breakfast good for Asian people. Clean and very good location, it is close to Salzburg main train station, shopping mall, restaurant and supermarket (about 5 mins to walk), not far to old town and followers garden. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looked more nice on the photo. It was not a big deluxe room as we booked. It consisted of two small rooms for 4 people. And it was quite noisy because of the road and the buses stopping.

    Clean room. Good breakfast. Parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really expensive for the facilities they offered.

    The location is ideal if you are planning to make early day trips since it is near the train and bus stations. The breakfast was also superb. Lots of food and drinks to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The convenience to the railway station is excellent however,the area as such is not too good. Many over drunk n loud people in groups hang around the railway station making it unpleasant to walk around the hotel area.

    The convenience to the railway station is very handy. Good rooms n nice decor. Very nice breakfast n great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is conveniently located to the train station which is also a terminal for some buses into town. The hotel itself is a 20 minute pleasant walk into the old town. Breakfast,which is a separate cost, was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok but - I seem to be allergic to hotel rooms with carpets, unless the carpet is cream and it’s clean. This hotel has maroon dark carpet that could have any amount of dirt stuck in it without you knowing.

    Spent one night at the hotel and it was not bad. The common areas are quite new but the room I stayed in looked a little dated. So the rooms are themed, which is a special feature of the hotel. The linen was really fresh(white linen) and clean and the towels looked fairly decent. The bathroom was not too shabby looking. The breakfast spread was quite decent - there was no shortage of food and it was definitely a decent breakfast. Overall the hotel is not too pricey and it’s really close to the train station / bus depot so you can catch any mode of transport to get around Salzburg. So it’s really convenient. They also have a nice lobby and I think they serve sundowners every afternoon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should add more English TV channels and breakfast choice selections

    We booked one room for four persons , comfortable even in small space ,we still got places to expand our four luggage. Bathroom was indeed very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me, nothing.

    Very near train station, 5 minute walk. Within walking distance of old town Salzburg. Quick drive to air port as well, lots of taxis at train station. Very near river paths too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were 2 twin beds in double bed. One bed was good but the other was exteremly bad. It was realy uncomfortable.

    Breakfast was amazing. Silence in the nights is so good. Location and facilities also were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located near central station, so some streets aren't that pleasant to walk along, but nothing drastic.

    Very comfortable room, great staff, the manager arranged for our breakfast to be included into the rate, as there was confusion during the booking with Booking.com. Breakfast is excellent. Parking is 12 euros (overnight), but the hotel will allow you to park for a reasonable time during the day. Plenty of parking spots nearby, not expensive, free from 7pm to 9am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double bed were actually twins next to each other

    Breakfast starts already from 6:30, perfect if you need to leave early. Parking literally next to the hotel for free

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a shared bathroom room , the thing I don’t like , while booking nobody had ever mentioned that is the hostel block , that’s why it has got a shared bathroom thing , the room was absolutely perfect cozy , and it has got a wash basin inside , along with all other amenities like tea coffee , electric kettle , hand wash , tissue nice towels , but the shared bathroom has got e weird smell all through , probably they should keep some bathroom freshner over there

    The hotel has got a huge spread of breakfast, and their coffee machine is amazing , I had my best cafe latte and hot chocolate drink at this hotel . The hotel location is perfect , I couldn’t get a better location than this in Salzburg

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-con did not work well, the room got very stuffy the night we stayed in. Had to leave the window open, which let street noise in.

    Very close to Salzburg train station (easy walk, less than 5 minutes). Very well equipped room. Love the Sound of Music theme of the floor we stay in, very charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was conveniently close to train station. It had charm and character. 20 walk from Salzburg sites, but staff helpfully guided us to inexpensive public buses from station into Salzburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound isolation can be improved. The shared bathroom lacks basic parts such as places to hang the tower etc. The electricity was out when we wanted to use the water kettle; the staff helped to get the electricity back.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bathroom appliances better to be renovated. I preffer more light in a room but it depends.

    Good location close to city railstation, but not too close. Ordinary but nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Considering the money we paid for this hotel, our expectations were much higher!!! 2. We had better breakfasts in *** hotels!!!

    Most of the staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was rather cold in the room. I found it noisy as well. You could hear the cars from outside.

    I like the size of the room - we had suite, paintings on the wall, breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen a little shirt for me. ...would have rated the checkin experience better but after arrival at front desk, and after I had received a room guarantee, found a later message saying the system was in error

    Staff is wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the room furniture was too used, it should need renovation.

    Nice, modern furnished hotel with an idea. Parking places. Great breakfast. Nice walk to the city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet hotel. Very good bed, amazing breakfast. Excellent location 5 minutes from the railway station, 15 minutes from the historic center. First-class reception service. And most importantly: Salzburg is beautiful .....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow wifi connection in the room. No spa area in the hotel.

    Breakfast was Ok. Location is at 30 minutes by walk from Old Town. Room was big and has facilities for tea / coffe .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not friendly just ignore you when you walk in or out. Location was near the main train station where druggies and gangs hang out in the night time. Didn’t feel safe.

    Breakfast was not spectacular but nice and staff in dining room were lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar not very impressive. White wine served in small bottles (like a plane!), and not chilled! Shame as there are some great Austrian whites they could serve!

    Brilliant location -3 mins walk from station. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.hotel modern, funky, clean.staff friendly and efficient. Family room spacious and perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception personals were not that kind. When we checked-in reception arranged our room, can not be used with lift. So that i needed to ask her to have another room for using lift for my mom. (she can not walk that easy).

    Everything was okay. Especially their open buffet breakfast service was perfect. Especially they prepare white steamed rice for far-east customers who have rice instead of bread in their meal. Room was cozy and good. Location was perfect. it took only 5 mints to central railway station and bus stops.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    location is good, very close to main train station yet quiet. I got the Mozart floor, the interior design is cute. Breakfast is really good and tasty! Overall a great hotel for short stay, definitely recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite cheap. Especially the room for our 13 and 11 years old boys was below our expectations. With the sink in the room and the toilet on the coridor. Our younger son initially refused to stay in it, but for one night only, we convinced him. The hotel is far from the city center, so expect to walk 30 min to get there. We had to pay 12 Euro to park our car in the hotel’s parking even if the parking lot was not full.

    Very comfortable beds. Very good, rich breakfast. Very helpful and nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have got some "temporary" room, last time room was normal..., now they give us some room on the mezzanine floor. I don't know if its because we have booked over bookin.com or something else.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wakes up several times because of neighboring guests. It was small compared to other hotels that I stayed before.

    Breakfast is very good! All staffs are friendly and helpful. It is closed by Salzburg bahnhof.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff especially at the reception was a bit unfriendly. We had two single beds moved together which moved with every small movement and for a couple obviously not very comfortable.

    Very nice decoration and walking distance to center. Very good and big breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fain residual smell of cigarette smoke in the room, bathtub was difficult to use as a shower, limited parking.

    Super comfortable room, an excellent breakfast, close to the main train station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information in the room regarding heating and / or air-condition. Without instructions it was not easy to change the temperature in the room.

    The best breakfast service I ever had. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I could check-in earlier and it was not problem to check-out a little bit later.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite far from city (20-25 mins walking). Room needs renovation (old carpet, old curtains and chairs). You only get two capsules for nespresso (we paid for 3 people in room) and there is a notice that each costs 50c but in the end we didn’t have to pay so not sure why the note is there.

    Very close to main Train station Nice touch of nespresso machine and tablet in the room. Breakfast is very good. Staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The overall experience was fantastic. ...the staff were really welcoming and the accommodation was very clean.The room was very spacious with extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range to choose from.We hope to return again soon.Once again many thanks, The Davis family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were a group of 4 people who arrived after 3pm, our room was ready for check-in however our room was not set for 4 people. Staff had to come to make up the sofa bed for the other 2 people. The sofa bed was very uncomfortable and hard. The hotel could not provide firm pillows only soft floppy ones. We also had to call staff for towels, tea, cups and soap as the shower had run out. The room was very poorly serviced. It was dusty especially along the corners of the carpet. It looks like they need to do a good clean. One male staff member was helpful, however every other staff member we came across was hopeless. Despite being close to the station which is convenient, the location is not in a good area (a bit dodgy). I wouldn't stay here again.

    The location of Hotel Der Salzburger Hof is very close to the main train station and buses that travel all over Salzburg and surrounding areas. The breakfast has a good variety of foods and the seating area is spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have appreciated bench space in bathroom, but overall hard to fault.

    Loved that it was very close to public transport (main hbf was 100m away). Liked that it was very clean, heating was excellent. Daily housekeeping was good. Breakfast buffet had plenty of options for vegetarians (especially cooked plant based options) and beverage options were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Its a perfect hotel. The rooms are huge, the property is at a walking distance from the train station and its about 8 euros to the city centre. The reception staff is extremely helpful and friendly - they told us all we needed to know about the city and what to do there and every single recommendation was great!! The breakfast is very good and fresh. Would recommend this property very very highly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast didn’t offer much of a selection of gf products. Bathroom had a small heater hidden under the sink and very difficult to reach and switch on. Hotel is located at a very busy junction so very busy and noisy road.

    kids loved breakfast, so much to choose from. Proximity of the hotel to the train station and main busy stop was a bonus as well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower cubicle a little small We arrived approx 21:00 Sunday, bar open but no food service not even for a simple sandwich.

    Room spacious and clean Excellent nights sleep. Very good breakfast Convenient for train, buses and taxi's Nothing to really dislike

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The coffee making facility is immediately behind the room door and it makes it very difficult to access

    1. Very convenient location - easy access to train station and also to buses for local travel 2. Comfortable room and huge shower area 3. They have variety of TV channels in English

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We ask to have one large bed And we got two saperate beds that always move one from other So wa heve a "hole" between the beds It is not comftable to a couple sleep this way. There is a bad smell in the Bathroom for the three nights.

    The location is Excellent. Breakfirst Excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything

    The hotel was a block away fro the train station where the buses are located to all parts of the city. It's a great location and only a 20 minute walk to the old town. The staff at the hotel are so friendly and the breakfast buffet has something for everyone and more. Rooms are big and very comfortable. The hotel is like new.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the breakfast set-up, it gave many different options for those with different taste. The hotel had a great location to the main station for city transportation. It was literally a 2-3 minute walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are busy roads to the side and rear of the property, which the hotel adjoins. If I went again I would upgrade to an inner-facing room. The location is not that great for walking, but its only 2 minutes to the bus station where the bus services are excellent and cheap (particularly with the recommended Salzburg card).

    Very good staff, friendly helpful and professional. Good bathrooms too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    It was beautiful, in a homey kind of way! Lots of lobby room, comfy seats, indoor and out. Just really perfect. We had six people and everyone loved it. I had the penthouse room and it was magnificent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In room coffee had a charge.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Fit was a little with four people but wasn't bad. 10-20 minute walk from Salzburg's main attraction. 5 minute walk to the main train station. DEFINITELY pay for the breakfast, it was delicious with a wide variety of foods available.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Heplfull staff - shares info to enjoy their city. Booked concerts for us and they seem to enjoy their duties. Close to the train station - just an easy walk away. To get to the old city is a longer walk but it is along the river and allows for stops to admire the architecture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Despite the fact of having booked a king size bad, like in many other hotels in Austria, the only option you can get is two single beds put together.

    Location! It is located just 2 blocks from the main train station and a hub of bus terminals to take you everywhere in the city and also to some options of places out of the it such as the Konigsee Lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apparently some misalignment between Booking and the hotel causing a poor customer experience.

    Great new bathroom, and very good breakfast. Convenient location in relation to train station. Ok distance from centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is super close to the Salzburg Rail Station which makes it very easy to find. Hotel seems recently renovated so it is really lovely, clean and cosy! The hotel also has a bar and breakfast buffet to fill your morning up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 4th floor room was very hot - with no a/c and very noisy if the window was opened. I would not recommend this room - but the hotel overall was nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular

    The staff were nice, the bed was comfortable and the location is very central. We had a good experience and would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk into town But once we figured out the best way it was ok

    Room was lovely but the bathroom was a bit small, but not unlike most others. Breakfast was lovely and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Friendly, helpful and well-prepared staffs at the front desk. The give sufficient travel information and town map to us without asking, impressive. New and well-organized room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more parking available . It was a struggle to find a free spot .

    Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit , freshly baked bread and cakes as well as a great selection of meats cheeses as well as eggs and bacon . A good start to the day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Somehow breakfast didn't quite match the rest of the hotel's qualities. The scrambled eggs were way overcooked. The food selection was a bit sparse. There were many guests when we arrived and the staff seemed to be having a difficult time keeping the breakfast items stocked. It wasn't a bad breakfast, just not as good as some hotels in the same price range we've stayed in in Germany.

    Very nice property within a 15 to 20 min. walk to the old town. Staff was very friendly. Room was quiet, clean, comfortable and air-conditioned, which helped as it was quite hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Iron and iron stand was not provided in the room. The hotel has arranged a common place at basement outside the wash rooms where you can iron your cloths . This place is not suitable for ironing as nothing is available for hanging the cloths and you are also disturbed by the people using the wash rooms.

    Home like environment in hotel Beds were very comfortable Staff was very curious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staffs insisting on taking Eagles Nest tour through packaged tour organizers, although its very easy to take bus rides to Obersalzberg (Eagles Nest) and costs less than half the price taken by the tour organizer.

    Location of the hotel is near to the train station and bus terminus. Comfortable room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit small. Also, facing the street and very noisy for most of the night! Very noisy. Also, parking is extremely limited. Cannot be reserved. There are public parking garages nearby, but some of them seem to close for the night. Street parking is limited.

    Clean, friendly place. Breakfast buffet is awesome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good!

    neat clean hotel, great value for money, brilliant location with a short walk to the main train station, which had many eating options as well as a grocery store.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were given a room with blocked view entirely and to my surprise, when I asked the receptionist how to get to Hallstatt from Salzburg, I was replied with "I don't know, you have to search it on the Internet". I then get a very detailed instruction from the tourist info guy at Salzburg train station. It would be great if the hotel staff is a bit more knowledgeable or at least, direct me to somewhere I can get info since I believe many people come to Salzburg will try to visit Hallstatt as well. Overall, the staff is just trying to complete there duty and stop right there, no extra effort to help guests. One more thing, although the wall painting in the room looks awesome in daylight, it looks a bit weird and creepy at night. The hotel should consider to have bed arranged so that guests do not have to look into a dark figure on the all at night.

    The location is great, the hotel is in good shape. Room is clean and reception hall is decorated nicely; especially, the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was poor.

    Great staff very helpful. Clean. Good facilities. Easy to reach from Salzburg HBF only around 400m. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit away from the old town - 30 min walk or need to use bus/taxi. If main purpose of the stay in Salzburg is visiting old town, then I would recommend to find a place near the old town (though 30 min riverside walk from the hotel to the old town is nice if you like walking!)

    Family owned boutique hotel. Clean, modern and nice breakfast. Friendly staff. Close to the main train and bus station, very convenient place for transport for excursions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a four star hotel. Something is off about the rooms - they are dark, interior design is horrible, toilets stink really bad, my room was unclean when I checked in (which was helpfully changed quickly by staff ), carpets look and feel a bit old and dirty, the rooms are noisy facing the main road, one street down is a really dodgy part of Salzburg. At best a two star hotel. It's probably a limited supply of hotels in Salzburg that such hotels get four stars.

    Blue ray rental, friendly staff, close to the train station, breakfast okay, electric kettle and coffee machine in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very efficient, sometimes their efficiency got in the way of their smiles. That being said, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

    An excellent hotel in a very convenient location for walking to the many attractions of Salzburg. The hotel is very clean, rooms are creatively decorated, location is quiet during evening/night hours. They offer an excellent breakfast with a greater selection of foods that most hotels. Easy access to buses, if needed, and a 5 minute walk to Mirabel Gardens, and 10 minutes to the Old Town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the desk they wouldn't give us the price online from booking.com (showed them from our phones), and they wanted to charge us more than 20 Euros more per night. We had to use an Internet connection with minimal security there to book it online right in front of them first to get the lower booking.com price. Then they charged us 3% of the bill while using a terrible exchange rate so they could charge us in dollars WITHOUT ASKING OR TELLING US THIS! My fiancé didn't notice this in the small print on the receipt afterwards. By the time I saw it it was too late. Our credit card does not charge a foreign transaction fee and doesn't use ridiculous exchange rates, so we would never ask to pay in a different currency. How it's legal to convert the payment currency without asking or informing guests is beyond me. The hotel room was run down with old carpet and furnishings. They put money into things like tablets and blu-ray players instead. I would much rather stay in an updated, clean hotel than have gadgets that I have no need for on vacation. They had a Nespresso machine but you had to pay for pods. The weird quotes and decorations gave off the vibe that they were trying hard to be hip and quirky, but it was more like old and weird.

    Near train station Quiet Updated bathroom

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving at 10pm I was told I was on the fourth floor and lift was around the corner. I looked in lift and only three floors offered so went back to double check. Oh there's no lift to the fourth floor, you'll have to walk up the last flight (two actually, to 404). Then she said, somewhat unwillingly, 'I could help if you can't manage', but without moving.... I managed and opened a room with suffocating heat. I spoke to reception about the temperature and was told, very defensively, that it was an economy room and that was what I'd booked. I pointed out that it didn't tell me that 30deg heat was compulsorily included in the room... it was the defensive attitude and resistance to dealing with the problem that I found surprising. Excellent customer service it ain't. The room was very very tired. Decorations and fittings from the 1980s I'd say and so, combined with the lack of air conditioning in an attic room, I think that Euros 140 per night was excessive. The hotel was convenient for me as I was travelling by train and I enjoy walking but it was not centrally located to the main area of town.

    Excellent breakfast with helpful and friendly serving staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was weak in certain parts of my room. The study desk was a little dusty.

    Location is very near the train station. Also that the hotel sold the Salzburg card which was convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even that was written that parking is for free , they tried to charge us for that

    Perfect location , very good bad , coffee machine in the room, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice abt the property.

    It was a very guest friendly hotel in the new part of Salzburg.Staff at the hotel was gud Genof, Max, Less, Natalie n Katharina we're very helpful n proactive...always smiling n helpful nd gud listeners....will def come bck here

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Der Salzburger Hof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: