Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel de France Wien 5 stars

Schottenring 3, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#115 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5723 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints. Everything was fine.

    I had a small single room with a single bed in order to save money. The facilities in the room were basic but great value for money for a hotel based in the very centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The internet connection was - lets say - average. It is certainly not a high speed connection.

    The hotel is well located, just 5 min walk to the city, about 50 m away from the U-Bahn. Due to the location it is almost impossible to get lost. The stuff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They took the amount of the room again, and told me that the money that was taken from my account just booked, but not paid. For this reason, they made me to pay again. Still I did' t receive my booked by you money back.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need refurbished. All hotels now make a big deal when checking in about “no smoking policy” in rooms. (We are no not smokers). The room we got smelled badly of a previous smoker! Do we fine the hotel for allocating us this room! We also did wonder if their aircon is so old and smelly too! Every item of clothing smelled badly after our stay. Terrible pillows if you can call them that. Receptionist was not friendly and did not smile. Would not stay here again .

    Location good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room furniture was a bit worn. It needed a usb connection of some sort.

    The location was fantastic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel overall is a bit worn. I would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Lift was not working for 4 days. Windows were not closing fully, so the noise from the street was there. First room I got the window was faces a wall. No AC working. Staff back chats about client, they did not know I speak and understand perfect German. Staff were unhappy with their jobs - arguing with each other all the time - so it reflects in their dealing with the client. Mini Bar Service check comes at 7:30- 8:00 a.m. which makes it feel you are at a hospital and not hotel. Cleaning staff make a lot of noise outside the door so that you leave the room soon. Breakfast was good, but no change in 6 days, which makes it boring. People in Vienna say, it's the worst 5 star at Vienna.

    The bed quality was ok. It was clean. They were willing to keep the luggage in the store after check out and also helped in keeping the meat frozen before my departure. Thanks for that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was excellent.

    The hotel is in a great location. Very nice staff. Lovely comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast. I have no problem in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with the air conditioning but by the time we realised it wasn't working well it was time to leave and forgot to mention it at the reception.Bad luck!

    Very nice , comfortable room,excellent location, varied breakfast. I was visiting Vienna for my birthday and I was very impressed with the hotel staff when they congratulated me and offered a very tasty birthday cake. 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small negative, probably unavoidable - the shower water temperature was not constant. Be careful not to be shocked by sudden cold/hot!

    A superior hotel with attractive, opulent decor, helpful and friendly staff, good buffet breakfast, well situated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was too small and I felt like the room needed an update overall though it was still a great experience would stay there again

    Eva and the rest of the restaurant staff were simply amazing. Breakfast was great and there was a great selection. The reception staff we very friendly and helpful. Loved how responsive they were.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    none

    Comfortable spacious clean room, toilet and bath. Quick check in and pleasant counter staff. Tram and bus stop just outside hotel and 200m next to metro. Also walking distance to st Stephen Cathedral and Hoffburg palace. Many eateries nearby too. Breakfast was superb with wide range of foods and fruits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have booked the room having a chandelier but our room did not have it. We complained to reception then mailed to Booking.com. Not offered to change room with chandelier though it's a spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath/Shower. Shower screen kept moving off bath edge whilst showering. Annoying. Also lack of English TV

    Comfortable large bed. A/C. Good sized windows Mini Bar & T & C Making Rooms serviced daily Staff very helpful & polite Best location .. tram, metro ,Hop on Hop off Bus. Walk most places. Good cafes / restaurants / shops close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    Great location; right at the Schlottentor subway station. Friendly, helpful staff and terrific breakfast buffet. Room was comfortable & clean. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I only have positive's for this hotel.

    The hotel is very centrally located - literally few steps from the metro station - Has a very grandeous look - Very friendly service - we were provided a free upgrade to a junior suite which was indeed very big - with a beautiful view - Bathroom was also quite big with a separate room for toilet. The breakfast was excellent with lot of items and choices available. The front desk was indeed very helpful and provided useful guidance and tips for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room in permanent semi-darkness due to absence of natural light entering room.

    Large spacious room, comfortable bed, breakfast excellent ,helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wiring and TV very dated.

    Great sized suite (upgraded) with tall ceilings and lots of space. Good breakfast and super central location. Free use of Wifi and umbrellas, the latter was important on a rainy day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three stories with no elevator. After you’ve been out walking all day, it was hard climbing those stairs. No air conditioning and with us being on the 3rd floor, it got a little toasty in the afternoons. We kept the windows open and an oscillating fan going so it was ok (our stay was in May). One of the staff working the front desk was not very helpful when we inquired about transportation, etc.

    Location was excellent. They upgraded our room so that was unexpected and appreciated. Loved the “antique-ness” of the hotel. The building was from the 14th century and they furnished with antiques. Definitely not a “modern” hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Large bedroom. towels changed daily and bedding after two days. Breakfast excellent. Plenty of choice. Such a good collection of cold items, we never looked at the cooked alternative. Coffee poured on arrival at the breakfast table and topped up as necessary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating. Old air conditioner that was waking me up almost every night- while being turned off...no view from the window - and I mean no view at all, couldt even see what was the weather like etc. Very depressing room. Tv channels very limited. Breakfast ok, but some bun rolls and bread were old...for this type of the hotel I would expect better quality. I wouldn’t stay there again.

    Hotel is very close to the main square with all restaurants and shops etc. Very close to the underground and tram stops. Perfect location. Staff friendly, helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were terrible( need better quality-firmer)

    Location is very good , the metro station is on the corner. Breakfast is very good with many options (cold cuts-pastries-vegetables-fruits and eggs). Staff upgraded our room to the suite which had 2 floors , very spacious . I definitely will recommend the place and stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a deluxe room. Compared to the pictures, it was not as nice. It missed the Vienna style experience, for which I specially booked the hotel. It was annoying that on the day of departure, we were disturbed twice in the morning by the cleaning crew, asking which time the room would be available.

    It was nice that upon request lactose-free yoghurt was arranged the next day at breakfast. In general breakfast is ok, but not special and with high occupancy it is quite noisy. Arranged transfer to the airport was good and not more expensive than a taxi. Location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning controls not functioning correctly. Opened the window at night to cool the room down. Only a minor issue not worth complaining about.

    Perfect location, close to the old city. Tram and subway very close. First class breakfast, with wide choice of European and traditional hot breakfast meals.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows need to be much firmer.

    Excellent breakfast. Very good size rooms and very well appointed bathroom. Location spot on for all of the major tourist venues in the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel like a palace, old-fashioned, Viennese style. Room was fantastic, very cosy, with second floor with bed, and with fantastic view. (Staff upgraded our room to the suite insted of double room and presented a bottle of champagne), it was unforgettable experience, everything was perfect. Hotel highly recommended! Especially breakfast!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Old fashioned room Old bathroom Cleaning of the room and bathroom was far from expectancies Internet Wi-Fi signal was very poor The room number 125 has a view for the backyard There was no mobile signal in the room To the opposite of above conditions the hotel expected to be paid from the first day of stay

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. Location was very convenient. A lot of the sights were in walking distance and the underground metro station was less than 40 mtr away from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were assigned a room at the back of the Hotel which was right above the metro station, Whenever a train went in or out of the station the whole room rattled. This rendeed our sleep until late at night impossible. The air conditioner was faulty and after several requests it was not repaired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was vast but inedible for a breakfast- pickles, olives, broccoli and cauliflower?! Also very neat heavy with no veggie options. Housekeeping came in repeatedly (3 times in an hour on last day!) so a bit of consideration of privacy would have been appreciated. Very dated decor. It was ok but am sure there’s better in the city.

    Location was great- walking distance to Stephansplatz and MuseumQuartier. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Had trouble using the hotel-provided PC. Staff were really too busy to help.

    Staff were unfailingly dedicated, cheerful, helpful and a joy to know. Wonderful site location, particularly if you go native and use the U-bahn and trolley.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good for a weekend stay in center of Vienna, got a nice surprise on arrival with a free upgrade of our double room to junior suite. Polite and helpful personal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly. Particular mention of the porters who were brilliant helping us with the car and our luggage. Position of hotel in Vienna was ideal - only 15 mins. walk from cathedral and Hofburg. Very grand building. Excellent breakfast. Far exceeded our expectationew. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price you pay, I would have expected at least a complimentary bottle of water in the room...

    The rooms are very spacious and the hotel decor was amazing. A truly Viennese experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had at first was spacious but the air con was down when I did a check. The receptionist sent up people to investigate and also brought in a fan to make us sleep in the same room. So I went down to request for another room but I was refused to get any compensation. The staff was not very helpful and suggesting us write a review to Booking.com if I have any issues. Eventually we had to change to a smaller room reluctantly without any discount or condolence from the hotel.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Internet connection, some of rooms really uncomfortable...old bathroom fixtures, low ceiling on a 5th floor not convenient for tall guys..., very slow elevator.... how it could be 5 *?

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints about the hotel.

    The hotel was good, the rooms clean and comfortable, internet was free and of a decent quality. The breakfast was average but perfectly adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only staid one night. Location is good, next to a wide boulevard, with some nice bars and restaurants in the are. Centre is within easy reach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very faded grandeur. The bedroom carpet was old . The shower was over the bath and not very powerful. This is no way a 5 star hotel. Only just a 4.!

    Excellent breakfast buffet. Spacious room.Good location for tourism.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very nice, very well located with a very good buffet breakfast. Our room was comfortable with a large bathroom. The Wi-Fi worked very well for three devices. My birthday was there, and the management surprised me with a petit birthday chocolate cake in the room, which was very nice from them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lovely touch, by bringing a beautiful note and cake up to the room for my husbands 50th birthday and also upgraded our room, such a lovely touch to start our break

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a little hard for my liking but otherwise this is a great hotel!

    Excellent breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent service from housekeeping staff, restaurants and bars nearby and excellent location for travelling by underground!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    A large very grand room. Staff excellent, helpful and friendly. Generally quiet atmosphere. Splendid breakfast. Excellent position for walking in central area. Near tram stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Isn,t that enough?

    Very little. Not as described on internet. No air con til we complained. Restaurant only open weekday lunch time. No pianist in bar. Gym had moved from basement to sixth floor and the noise woke us up early mornings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor WiFi access. Made it difficult to communicate with friends who were staying elsewhere.

    A wide variety of choices at breakfast. The room was comfortable but not much of a view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were a bit flat for my liking, and the air con was such that the room was quite warm at night.

    Large room with comfortable beds, a large bathroom with bath and shower, plenty of wardrobe space. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Great location just by the Schottentor underground/tram station. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bad smell from sinks, toilet not clean enough, smoking area outside main entrance caused smoke reaching the room (1st floor) when windows were open, wireless poor and unstable, leak from shower side

    location, breakfast, spacious room, wired internet connection ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star hotel, at least the room that we stayed in was not. The rooms are a bit old and outdated, the tv is old, etc. One of the sheet had some dark pieces of plastic or something all over it's side and as soon as we pointed it out to the front desk lady, they changed it. Breakfast was ok, but i found a mug that was not washed properly. Our floor(6th) looked very different from the others, cheaper and i think the rooms they offer on booking, especially if it s a deal of some sort are the cheaper ones. All in all, like i said, not a 5 star hotel.

    Central location. Great breakfast. Huge rooms. Cleanish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no Air Condition and the room was very warm at night, I had to open the window to let some cold air cool down the room temperature, but when I did, some flying insects came in!

    Room is spacious, clean, and food was very good with less variety on breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door was short so bedroom floor would be flooded after shower. Also breakfast lack of changes. After two days you will be tired of the same food every morning.

    Bedding was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet a bit slow, around 4Mbps at the very best, and sometimes disconnected A bit noisy - thin walls, I could hear one neighbour snoring, and the other neighbour's TV. As of April 2018 there is loud construction on the heßgasse side of hotel. Housekeeping kept entering my room without knocking as early as 8am while I was still in bed, despite DND sign, not at all ok. Housekeeping made a lot of noise in the hallway and other rooms. Given the size and layout of the hotel and multiple elevators (combined with poor signage) I found myself lost almost daily. Old television (15+ years) with poor picture, room felt a bit old/tired in general

    Tyler at the front desk was helpful and friendly - thanks Tyler! The rest of the staff too. Comfortable bed Excellent breakfast service Big windows, heavy curtains

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    see above.

    The hotel was very comfortable, the breakfast was good, the staff were excellent. However the hotel is beginning to look a little dated and the carpets in the corridors give this impression ( there are similar comments on Trip Advisor) . We expected the chairs to be elegant French style rather than comfortable and basic. The internet gave this impression of a deluxe double room- it was a bit misleading - the photos were actually of one of their suites at 400 euros/night. However the central location for sight-seeing was the most important aspect and it was next to an underground station on U2 and central tram stop. This was ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were not comfortable. My room is nonsmoking room, but always it smell smoking. As usual all hotels put drinking water with complementary, but this hotel didn't put drinking water. The doors are noisy when people close doors. Bathroom was really very bad as a 5 star hotel, poor and cheap decoration, no counter in bathroom. One day, i forget to put don't disturb,, lady enter room while we are sleeping. (Its really upset me). The breakfast not nice.. very very normal. We used in other hotels (4 stars) to see chief cooking omlate and other things,, but Not in this hotel. The photos in booking.com is different than the room i see.. it seems they put only photos for the best room they have. Overall the hotel is bad as a 5 stars hotel.. 3 stars is enough and more than enough for it.

    The location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furnishings very old very uninteresting very outdated. Not enough electrical outlets and none are placed strategically to a good place Breakfast was ok but very boring v

    Very nice staff very clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Wish breakfast would varies from day to day. 2. Shower door was too short and not tightly sealed to prevent water from shower to bathroom floor.

    Location is great. Staff are very accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had higher expectations based on star rating and location and previous reviews. I think the room was a bit 'tired', only the bathroom was in a better condition. It is not possible to see through the window, which was explained by the fact that the room was facing a building and not a very pretty view overall... Breakfast was OK but they had apparently a broken coffee machine so they could not serve coffee from the kitchen but all guests needed to use a coffee machine in the breakfast room, and queuing coffee took quite a long time (3 nights).

    All was ok (i.e. not great but ok), No luxury but a decent bed and braekfast, and if you do not plan to stay in the room a lot, this choice works fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we were given was outdated and not like the ones in the pictures. It smelt of smoke. Reception staff were not too friendly and did not help us in our quest to get around and find something to eat on the first night.

    The convenience of hopping on and off the transport nearby. One of the bar staff being friendly and helping us. The room was clean and bathroom well equipped. Bar prices not too dear for city centre. We only used it as a place to rest our heads after a busy sightseeing day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heating was not on in the bedroom but staff were quick in resolving the problem.

    The room was very spacious, and clean, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, abundant and with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service Long wait to use the hot water in the shower Air heating system was broken Staff was not responsive to my complains

    What I like the most of this hotel was that it was well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the kindness of some employees serving at the breakfast.

    The crew was particularly nice and very Professional. The crew for breakfast was ok, some were very nice, some were less... It was quite hot in the room but was ok to leave the window opened, and the room was really well soundproofed. Special thanks and special mention to Matea at the front office!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot water in the shower was occasionally a little hard to adjust, but it wasn't really a big deal.

    I picked Hotel de France Wien because of its location. I have stayed there for several years now, and have always been pleased. I am especially happy this year because I received a free upgrade from a single room to a two-floor suite. Anytime my hotel room has an internal staircase, I'm going to be pretty stoked about it :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds pushed together and two separate quilts. Not cosy!

    The breakfast was superb. The staff were very friendly but professional. Room very clean and comfortable. Hotel in perfect location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room is not hygenic, view from the window was the restaurant of the hotel :( and the people at the reception should be more smiley and helpful, very cold accueille.

    THE location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe a couple of TV channels showing films and programmes in English. Firmer pillows on bed.

    Location brilliant, Breakfast excellent and staff very obliging and friendly. A very good hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - There are no spa and sauna - Renovation and replacement of rooms furniture, especially for bathrooms, are required - Mediocre breakfast for five star hotel in Vienna – there are no salmons, delicious refreshments, free fresh juice and sparkling wines

    - Traditional hotel with very cozy and well decorated in old classical style Lobby. - Excellent Location - Highly qualified, friendly and hospitable staff in all departments: reception, main restaurant, Lobby bar and housekeepers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    In our bedroom there was 2 parts one part with wardrobes and bathroom and main bedroom in other area. lovely. very big room. very good pillows and duvets. staff very nice at desk.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything apart from the location. It is certainly not a 5 star. Found out after I had booked that other web site listed it as a 4 star hotel.

    The rooms were horrible. Beds were very small and every time you turned you were hitting the wall. Location was good. On the second day when the bed was made up but they had left hairs on the pillow so not dust properly. Had two rooms both were very hot and the same .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely staff, spacious 2 floors room/suite (40sqm) on 6th floor, beautiful decor, beautiful views, comfortable and clean bedding. Really enjoyed our stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fr. Ingat the duty manager. Absolutely unprofessional and impolite and who does not know how to handle the situation. Came back to the hotel on second day of visiting historical Vienna. As I arrived in the room decided to laze around and eat in. Looked around and I couldn’t find room service menu. Eventually I was handed a piece of photo copied paper after 15 minutes of waiting and was told that this is the room service menu, there are barely 5 items on the sheet. You don’t expect this from a 4-5 stars hotel. Anyway decided to eat out and on the way will see the duty manager too. At the reception became a big scene as Fr. Ingat refuse to listen to me but only wanted to tell me her side of the story. As there were two other receptions were standing next to her just kept quiet and seeing what is going on. There is no word of politely or apologize for the whole situation. I am attaching the room service menu here for all to see. I hope the management will take time and look at the footage on cctv too. By the way I still have copy of room service menu should anyone want to view. You will lose many guests if you employ this kind of duty manager like Fr. Ingat.

    The valet parking services was excellent. The location was good. The ease of booking

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we found chewed gum in bathroom sink, then in the new room they moved us, we found skid marks in toilet. Very dirty and definitely do not meet 5star standards.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bar was very harsh/ need to look at whole bar ambience

    Breakfast was lovely and location super. Also staff very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I find the bathrooms a little old fashioed. Who needs a bathtub? I would clearly prefer a barrier free shower, which given the available space in room 137 should not be a problem. Showering in a bathtub is not comfortable! AC did not work. I could not get the temperature to the level I wanted

    breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee at breakfast was never hot.

    The breakfast selection was excellent and the staff very attentive. The room was warm and the bed so comfortable. Extra pillows would have been nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the decor and lighting. All staff very helpful, friendly and attentive. Exceeded our expectations when they produced a birthday cake in our room for my husband’s 70th birthday together with a letter of good wishes for his future. A very personal touch.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff, especially those at reception, were helpful and very friendly. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was excellent. The location is central and close to various forms of transport. We strongly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    PILLOWS!

    We liked pretty much everything about this hotel! The location was great, staff was nice and helpful and the room was nice! They just really need to get new pillows! We had to ask for more than 2 pillows to make up for one, but even then, all of them are so soft that it feels like nothing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although breakfast was good, the menu remained the same from one day to another. The orange juice was not freshly pressed. The breakfast area can get a little crowded at times, and noisy from plates clanging in the kitchen (some ambient music would have been nice). The biggest downside, however, was that our room had connecting doors to adjoining rooms - and these were decidedly not soundproof. We could hear our next door neighbours talking (normally, not loudly), coughing, opening their suitcase and arranging items in the closet. Luckily there were only brief times when our schedules matched, but it could have been much worse - we were literally hearing them almost as if we were all in the same room.

    Rooms were very spacious and clean, bed was quite comfortable. Employees were attentive and efficient. Breakfast was very good and offered many choices, from eggs and bacon to cereal, yoghurt, pastries. There was a small business cubicle where we were able to check in and print our plane tickets, and we could deposit our luggage with the hotel after check-out and explore the city for a little while longer. Location is excellent and allowed a quick walk into downtown Vienna. We enjoyed our stay with this hotel and would be happy to return.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de France Wien traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: