Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Austria hotel reviews
  3. Vienna (state) hotel reviews
  4. Vienna hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel de France Wien

Reviews of Hotel de France Wien This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Schottenring 3, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#118 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 5902 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi a bit erratic. Signal at times a little weak. This was only a minor irritation, it just meant waiting a little longer!

    We were upgraded to a suite and it was great. Lots of room and the facilities were excellent. Fantastic choice of food at breakfast and plenty of time to eat. The hotel was in a superb location ideal for all the sightseeing we had planned. Definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Good hotel for a visit to Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillows are very soft but extras were provided instantly when requested.

    Great choice for breakfast and friendly efficient staff. Excellent location for transport to the airport using the U2, U4 and CAT. Station a minute outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    7.1
    It was spotless clean and ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had a lovely view of nothing. Just a if building and windows looking back at me. I'd love to rate this higher.

    It was spotless clean and ideally located.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were a little bit too soft.

    Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast buffet and great location if you're visiting the Christmas markets. Rooms were also big and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    9.6
    A lovely hotel spoiled totally by a terrible breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast experience was terrible. Told to find a table which we couldn’t, had to find a dirty table and ask for it to be set. This happened on both mornings. Hot food was cold made worse by having only cold plates available.

    Beautiful room, great staff and great location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.8
    Great place! It was totally worth my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was great, they had a huge variety of food, from, from hot meals to fruit and cereal. Great location, near one of the main train stations in the downtown area and main touristic attractions

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it has been a very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor of the room was a bit old - not sure if it was deliberate or genuinely dilapidated.

    The breakfast was superb. The room was clean and spacious. The location was ideal - very close to Schottentor station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities are very old. The carpets and the furnitures were very old. The bed was not comfortable enough for a 5-star hotel. In general the hotel is very old. Also, breakfast was average.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    10
    A comfortable stay in a well appointed hotel with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing negative to report

    Very comfortable room with kettle for early morning tea! Clean and well appointed bathroom and food choice at breakfast was as good as we've had. Situation of hotel close to metro and tram a bonus

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    7.1
    - The location isn’t too bad (15 mins walk from the very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were stay in the most expensive suit and the televisions just way too old fashioned. Only bath tub no shower cabin. Pay for minibar and for TV channels. Remember it’s a 5* hotel and a suite...

    - The location isn’t too bad (15 mins walk from the very center) - nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    excellent stay and i would recommend it to any visiting the christmas markets in vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not enough english language channels, room was a little to warm; difficulty in getting to breakfast room for a person that can't walk up steps

    location; very large room with very large bathroom; very good breakfast with all the standard items; staff very friendly and helpful.; very close to rathaus

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    8.8
    Staff was friendly and solution oriented.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Precaution should be taken for insecticides (most of dead) which are come in the window even in winter.

    Staff was friendly and solution oriented. Excellent breakfast and comfortable bed. Good location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with Viennese chique at a reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little too hot at night.

    We really appreciated the generous size of the room and the traditional feel of the hotel. The location was excellent with good travel links on the doorstep. Friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly, I got room keys upon arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom facilities (toilet, bath) require renovation, towels looked very old and worn out

    The staff was very friendly, I got room keys upon arrival (way before check in time). The location is great for downtown visits (on foot or by metro)

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    7.5
    Tres agreable.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant is closed in the weekend and in the evening!

    The breakfast room is very busy in the morning, but service is still good. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    10
    Had a very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had a very enjoyable stay. Clean, comfortable, quiet, food for breakfast was good buffet style more warm than hot, still enjoyable. Hotel still close enough ( within a 15 min walk ) to most of the best tourist attractions, some really great shopping and restaurants. The only real issue we had was trying to find a tourist map that had good directions. Found one with big bus tours. That was ok.google maps was a major help.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely city and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit tired and dated. Not enough care taken (carpets are stained, for instance). Probably only a 3* by UK standards. Housekeeping came into our room and turned on the lights - twice - early one morning while my daughter and I were sleeping!

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing,WOULD NOT BOOK AGAIN!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can not believe a hotel claiming to be a 5 Star catogory ( as quoted by your receptionist when I quizzed him ) doesn’t have a restaurant or simply change up sterling to euros. Staff I felt would rather be working elsewhere or are just very down and depressed!

    Location was best thing going for it !

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please see above

    Super Room, Great location, marked Breakfast down slightly as staff rather to keen to clear tables whilst we were at the buffer ( twice ), also the room air con was not too good so had to leave a window open.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.3
    That was a good pick for a short stay. I could Imagine staying longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With the heating on it was a bit too warm, and the window could only be fully opened. Air conditioning was not available to adjust it.

    Perfect location, pleasant atmosphere. Nice comfortable beds, decent breakfast. My mom and I were satisfied with the stay all in all.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast pastries were good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathtub was very narrow and the room was way too warm. I slept with the windows open most nights just to cool down the room. At breakfast the scrambled eggs were not good and were obviously from a mix, not fresh eggs.

    The breakfast pastries were good. There were many options for coffee and espresso. The staff was very good. The vintage chandeliers in the bedroom were a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.6
    Very good position, not far from the centre .
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be better if the fitness room w’ll be occupied by multifunctional trainer. 😊

    Very good position, not far from the centre . Good staff. Excellent continental breakfast . Cleanliness.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    Great Choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture is a bit old & dated. There is no need to replace soap & towels every day...it's not good for the environment!

    Breakfast is really abundant - lots of choice. Staff are extremely helpful. The hotel is quiet and excellently located close to the metro and city centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    Wish this the then beautiful place to prosper not degrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to chance 3 rooms, the interior and the feculitues didn’t correspond to the booked room(( eventually we got what we wanted. The quality and the choice of food has decreased considerably since my previous stay, which is disappointing...

    Location and very friendly staff (that was my fifth stay at this hotel) Nicest people at the reception, helpful and professional

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really nice and helpful, the arrangements were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked in advance to prolong the stay and then needed to ask for it again upon arrival and then again after the initial period was finished. The breakfast in the pictures wasn't the 100% the one offered by the restaurant (no salmon was offered during our stay). I think a restoration for some parts may be a good choice.

    The staff was really nice and helpful, the arrangements were well organized. The rooms were clean and the breakfast had a variety of choices! The location is central.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.2
    I really liked the two-level configuration of the suite and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The big thing missing from this hotel is a restaurant and room service. It appears there was a restaurant connected to the hotel, but it’s closed.

    I really liked the two-level configuration of the suite and the balcony overlooking the Ring. Location next to the Schottentor public transportation hub is ideal for getting anywhere in the city.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the lifts was out of order and saw no activity whilst I was there for it to be repaired.

    Great location. Short walk from City Centre. Excellent buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked a bit more luxury ie. fluffy white towels, better toiletries, cups and saucers with quality tea and coffee selection and mini bar stocked with more than just water and orange juice.

    Nice big room. Good breakfast. Bed was comfortable and clean. Would recommend particularly for location. It's not luxurious though and I would have liked that based on the star rating.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    6.3
    Old-fashioned, a bit worn-out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Insects invaded the room from the open window. Even though curtains were closed. Only hotel that did not in any way note our 30th wedding anniversary although informed ahead. Not even a card in the room.

    Big room with romantic furniture.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great location 5 min walk to the Rathaus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location 5 min walk to the Rathaus.Tasty breakfast and helpful staff.The room was big,bright and had a wonderful city view but if you prefer silence you should ask for a backyard view room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.1
    THE WORST five star hotel with the worst internet connection!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ATTENTION! We absolutely did not like the internet connection. It was a disaster. We were not able to use it at all. If you need internet connection DO NOT visit this hotel! The staff was not enough good for a five star hotel in Vienna.. Furthermore, it was completely unprofessional. I visited 2 other hotels in this travel and this was the worst one. I do not know who gave it 5 stars.

    We liked the location, because it was almost perfect. It was comparatively near to the city's main streets and attractions. In addition, there was a station next to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    Beautiful Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some small amount of street noise.

    Well we were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a Suite 😍, the Hotel was lovely the staff were delightful and friendly. Conveniently placed in the city close to public transport and walking distance to many eateries. The Breakfast was outstanding and delicious. Highly recommend staying there while in Vienna.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    10
    My only complaint is that the pillows were very soft and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My only complaint is that the pillows were very soft and gave no support. These need to be replaced.. my room was 137. Otherwise everything was excellent, staff were very obliging and supportive. The breakfasts were good and varied. The hotel arranged a taxi to the airport for our return, which arrived on time with a very good BMW and smartly dressed driver. One particular note is that on arrival Receotion noted that it was my Birthday and wished me a Happy Birthday. A little later in our room there was a knock on the door and the Hall Porter presented me with a large bar of chocolate and a Personal Note from the reception Marina and Mervia. This was totally unexpected and represents everything we enjoyed about our stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    I would stay there again! I can't stay enough good things about the place..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They did not have air conditioner - only in the summer months. so it was too warm in the room since no A/C was available during my stay

    The location was excellent!!!! the staff was excellent! the bathroom in the room was large and clean The hotel appearance gave a 1st class feel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable stay regardless of the points raised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Mattresses were a little hard Bar prices were too high, that's why it is always empty whereas the restaurant across the road is busy. There is a definite lack of restaurant facilities in the evening.

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, comfortable beds, good shower and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar deserted most evenings and never saw the restaurant open - not a huge problem since lots of eating establishments nearby. After a full day of sightseeing, would have been nice to have a meal right there. Rooms a bit dated but was nice to be in a non chain hotel where each looks the same. Hotel must of been very elegant at one time - sort of suited Vienna! Next time I would take washcloths as we weren’t supplied with any.

    Location could not have been better! Breakfast buffet superb. Twin room and bathroom very roomy and quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.2
    Classical Vienna Elegance and Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no air conditioning and the temperature was warm for us at night so we had to keep windows open which worried us a bit for security. It was around 23 degrees which felt like summer to us. Only thick hot duvets were provided at first but a blanket option was provided immediately when we mentioned how hot it was, which was much better. At reception there was sometimes a small queue and staff on the desk seemed to get a bit stressed. Overall however the staff were very obliging and kind in taking care of our needs.

    The breakfast was fantastic, really tasty and good choice. Fresh products and lovely fresh breads and croissants. This is a beautiful traditional hotel with gorgeous chandeliers and antique furniture. Our junior loft suite was spacious and quiet apart from some street noise, and had a lovely view over the city to the hills. Most of the staff were polite and extremely willing to help with any problem which arose.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    9.2
    Good but could be significantly better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Wi-fi is not adequate for downloading tv, movies. BBC World Tv didn't work. Room service menu very limited.

    Good breakfast, location excellent, staff good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.2
    The Suite was huge and very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms would be perfect if the Bathrooms intallations were a little bit more modern. I will still repeat.

    The Suite was huge and very clean and tidy. The Staff very helpfull and the location could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay for a weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel, good location near public transport and the University. The breakfast was lovely and the room was very comfortable, with plenty of space.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    4.6
    See above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spent 1 night in room nr 210 and paid 150 EUR for that. To my surprise the window looked to a "Lichthof" and faced a fire wall. In my opinion a 5 star hotel should not have any room looking to an inner service court. Also the bathroom's wall covering was below any quality namely in the shower booth the grout was black here and there. Never again to this hotel.

    The bed was good. The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    10
    A great stay with POSITIVE surprises! Definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    None

    Besides all the good aspects mentioned by other reviews, my experience came with extra positive surprises. I was given a spacious top-floor room with a separate bathroom, a cloakroom, and a toilet room; plenty of space in the main bedroom. Moreover, the manager left a very sweet gift one evening for a special occasion of mine. Very thoughtful indeed!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No proper croissants on Friday morning and no bread to my liking. Had to ask to have toast made.

    The young guy who welcomed us, dealt with my luggage and parking the car. That was a bonus. I don't know his name but he looked asiatic. The staff at reception were also very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could be updated at some point.

    Top floor suite with views in two directions. Full length windows that open plus wooden movable shades that roll across the floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was nice, the lobby premises was nice and the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning did not work and the room was hot as a sauna, it was impossible to have the window open because of all traffic outside (noises) , the room was not properly cleaned and also in general it gave a scruffy impression. The WiFi was not reliable either. I Asked for an extra towel from the cleaning personel and the answer was just no.

    The breakfast was nice, the lobby premises was nice and the personel in breakfast restaurant as well as reception was good/ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    8.8
    very convienent central location with great accesibility to vienna underground
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    located right in the center and next to the metro is perfect to get to any destination in Vienna. We used the airport train to and from and while we had to change trains twice it was still a very convenient way to travel. rooms are clean and bathroom was very modern for a classic hotel with good amenities. breakfast was ok with a good choice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.2
    Majestic old building, with renewed facilities.
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms surrounding the small courtyard are relatively dark even in daytime.

    Majestic old building, with renewed facilities. Staffs are kind. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    10
    Great stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a beautiful hotel, located in the circle and very convenient to walk about any place. The people are very friendly. Breakfast was outstanding but they do not serve dinner. There are restaurants located within walking distance to enjoy a wonderful meal. I highly recommend this hotel as a fabulous place to stay in Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    - Excellent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Excellent room - Large and clean bathroom - 30 seconds walk to a metro station - Great breakfast + breakfast staff were very kind and helpful ! - Awesome location - Well designed hotel - Great checkin staff ! very friendly and helpful ! We really enjoyed our stay !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.3
    Met all our expectations for a memorable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We could not find any faults , the restaurant was closed and it would have been handy for an evening meal but no big deal

    The whole package , comfort, location ,food and facilities a great combination,the short walk to the underground ,trams and local film festival were particularly good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.0
    Location was quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is by no means 5 star hotel, interieur is very dated, our room smelled badly, you could hear everything from other rooms. Internet is slow, you need special login for every device you want to use. Breakfast average. I have been in few 5 star hotels in Vienna and this one was the worst.

    Location was quite good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great place, with good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 years ago there was a tourist info sepcialist helping you with ordering tickets and planning your trip, and now there was none. (We got help from reception with ordering a guided tour, but it's not the same when other people are nagging around on other issues, and less personal). The other thing that was missing was the fresh omlette stand on breakfast made by request. Both where things I was really looking forward to use and enjoy again, part of the reason I came back to this hotel, and they were gone. So I was a bit dissapointed. The hotel is still great though.. The bus line arriving there from the airport was cancled, so now it's a bit difficult to get there using public trasport, and we ordered a taxi.

    Close to city center and the rathaus, U2 station and the tram to Grinzing. The room were renewed, spacious, quiet and very nice. Good facilities. Free wifi which works great. The bed and room in general were comfortable (the floor is covered with a rug). We had full control of the A/C. Reception were nice and useful, and helped with ordering an organized tour. Great breakfast. You can ask for hypoallergenic covers for the feathers filled pillows and blanket.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    10
    The location was great for all Viennese attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was great for all Viennese attractions. There was immediate access to the streetcars and subway. All the sites of the old city were within a 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.1
    Like much of Vienna, beautiful building but staff a bit "by the book"
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar was dismal - often couldn't find the bartender, no ambience at all. No concierge, and staff, although nice enough, didn't provide much help with finding restaurants, etc.

    We had a large airy suite with 1 1/2 baths and two small balconies with nice views. The location was great for our purposes. Breakfasts were delicious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommend the hotel, for its facilities, location, excellent breakfasts and staff.
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perhaps some of the younger, less experienced staff were not quite as familiar with Vienna as they might be.

    All of the above met my expectations. Cleaning staff and desk staff are polite and generally very helpful. Since I attended a conference at the Juridicum (U.of Vienna), location was perfect, as well as with respect to the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2018

    5.0
    Too old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too old. I haven't seen CRT TV in the last 10 years before visiting this hotel. Wifi problem at a room I can hear all the hall sounds because of bad soundproofing. Also I can hear the sound of water going down the pipe.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    I enjoyed the central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning didn’t work on the fifth floor. While they gave me a fan, the room got very stuffy.

    I enjoyed the central location. It was elegant , the staff was very helpful. The breakfast was enjoyable. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    Close to Perfection at a Reasonable Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a popular hotel, with reason. We wanted to rent two upgraded rooms, but unfortunately they only had one available. So really, nothing to complain about - just book early so you get the rooms you want.

    The staff here were amazing. We asked, and they definitely delivered. The accommodations were very lovely and comfortable, the location perfect - but if we return, it will be because of the staff - absolutely superb. We honestly can't thank them enough for helping to make our visit memorable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Everything about the hotel was splendid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Special Offer - Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the rooms we bookef smelt of smoke but the staff wrre extreemly apologetic and gave us a better room.

    Everything about the hotel was splendid. I even got a Birthday wish and a cake!! Breakfast choises excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel is within Innere Stadt, the first district, which is the old town where all the points of interest are in. It is a quicknwalking distance to the Hofburg, St Stephans Cathedral, the Albertina, the Opera House, etc. There's a train station and a tram station just outside the hotel providing excellent access throughout the city. The hotel staff were professional, very helpful and quick to respond. Breakfast was very good although as an Asian I would have wanted rice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I love this hotel. It’s beautiful, the staff was professional yet welcoming and warm. Our room was completely comfortable. I recommend this hotel while-heartedly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Quiet room in a hotel with a ’classic’ feeling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well, for those who expect a modern hotel with flat screen tvs and wifi at hyper speed, this might not be the right choice.

    Quiet room in a hotel with a ’classic’ feeling. Comfortable bed and nice decorations. Excellent location, close to subway, food, and just a few minutes walk to the city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    8.3
    Great Hotel, phantastic Room - we were booked into a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TVs in the Bedroom and Salon should be exchanged ASAP for newer models (they are so cheap nowadays) since the actual ones seem to be first generation LCD TVs. Also recomment to add for the Suite an Apple TV. Breakfast is lower than average compared to other, similar hotels in vienna - I'm used to a higher standard in Austria. Please no Scrambled Eggs from a TetraPack....

    Great Hotel, phantastic Room - we were booked into a wonderful suite on the 3rd floor. The room, Bathrooms and Bed were super and it was absolutely crean - even on tom of the picture-frame. The interior was very nioce and i loved the design as well as the super high ceilings. Very nice staff as well - thanks a lot for everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    9.0
    Super place, super city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The aircon in the rooms and breakfast room was fine, but in the lounge and reception area it was very noisy, making it difficult to relax there. We were there in a bit of a heatwave, but the hotel ambiance and temperature otherwise were fine. This is a minor quibble, though, and otherwise our stay was excellent!

    Nice big rooms and bathroom, with good sound isolation. We were overlooking the street behind the hotel, but with windows closed there was no traffic noise. Breakfast in particular was excellent, both in quality and in presentation, served in a nice bright room and with friendly & helpful staff. The restaurant was closed during our stay, but this wasn't a problem for us - so many options nearby or in the city. Location is good, on the Ring, a few yards from Schottentor U-bahn and with an underground car-park nearby. We did have a problem with the first room, but desk staff responded quickly and moved us - no problem.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    10
    Thomas G.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thomas G. Lung it is very good front office manager in the hotel she has helped us in so many ways I would like to thank the hotel about having a excellent manager like her thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.1
    The hotel itself is charming and in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room has some problems in terms of the quality but it is overall acceptable. The breakfast showed a low quality and the room feels like a waiting hall at a train station.

    The hotel itself is charming and in a very good location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    The fantastic breakfast and the overall hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quality of the Wi/Fi could have been better in the room. The WiFi signal in our rooms were very weak.

    The fantastic breakfast and the overall hospitality

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient location to historic sites, cafes, restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor WiFi, no clothes iron although this seems to be the norm in Europe. There was a trouser press! Bath tub/ shower is quite a step to get down from.

    Convenient location to historic sites, cafes, restaurants and underground. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast great. Liked the hotel’s architecture and historic vibe. Accommodations comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    4.6
    Poor staff quality, inconsistent rooms, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One incident ruined my stay with the hotel. Taking Vienna's weather into consideration, we had shortlisted this hotel due to its location and the fact that it had air conditioning. We were already tired of non-ac accommodations throughout our trip and were looking forward to some additional comfort with this hotel. However, at check in I was given a room where the air-conditioning did not work. On informing the reception about this, I was offered a small table fan for my room, claiming they did not have any other rooms available, neither any technician to fix the problem at that hour. My booking was non-refundable and I had specifically paid for services they were not giving. After a lot of argument with the reception (person named David), he agreed to give me another room (which magically was available now). However, this room was even worse that the one I already had. When I come back after half and hour requesting for some other room, I am told that now they don't have other rooms, they don't have fans anymore and I should just keep my windows open and sleep. After a few minutes of arguing, I was again offered a small table fan (which they earlier claimed was no longer available). So first the hotel charged me for air-conditioning, which they don't have, then the hotel refused to change my room, when they had a spare room, and at last they refused to give a fan, when they had one. This problem was resolved by the front desk manager NEXT DAY morning, but it still left an impact on my stay here.

    The property location is amazing. One of the main tram and metro station is right outside the property at 100m or so. Hotel rooms were decent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    10
    Good Hotel & Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A true example of excellent hospitality! The hotel is beautiful, located very near to the transports and an underground parking spot. Since the weather was really hot and there has been a little issue with the air conditioning they exchanged our room with an even better one. Everything was absolutely flawless, thank you!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    5.0
    Location is not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is a terrible design. The hotel is not well organized and the room was a joke. I felt claustrophobic and happy not to be in the room. The window was milk glass and once opened you look at a wall. Very disappointing.

    Location is not bad. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2018

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Air conditioning was not working at the restaurant where breakfast was served which made it a bit uncomfortable. Also, bathroom needed some renovation work and carpet was old.

    Location was excellent and staff were friendly and helpful. A little overpriced for what it offers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.2
    Good facility and location; courteous and helpful staff; decent rooms; good buffet breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee could be better; made-to-order omelettes would be a lot better than not-so-firm scrambled eggs; sausage quite ordinary; good selection of juices, but not fresh, hence the taste is so-so. Mattress in the room could me more firm.

    Good location; bus, tram and train connection less than 50 meters from the door; several attractions with in walking-distance of the hotel. Good breakfast buffet; could be improved.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    7.9
    I was quite satisfied overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs a bit of renovations here and there. New sheets and blankets would also be nice. Wall papers somewhere with small stains, but these are only small things if to be picky It is also a bit "outdated" as a five star hotel at the beginning of 2000. But if you like such a style (not modern) with huge lamps, old style red carpets, a lot of golden decorations in the hallway I can recommend this hotel.

    Nice place and good location close to metro , bus and tram stations. Was nice atmosphere and very good and tasty breakfast! Delicious! What was vey nice is that I was given a better room than reserved!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning is non-functional, it was turned on for max fan speed and still, I hardly could feel any cool air blown into the room, so it got hot sometimes. From other opinions on the net it seems it has been an issue for at least a year now. Very poor WiFi, it's possible to surf the net but uploading photos or live video-chat is impossible - maybe location on 6th floor had to do with that. A slow ceiling in the bathroom, I could touch it when taking the shower. Also the toilet is located very close to the wall and the door. Inconsistent room service experience. For first 4 days the lady cleaning the room sneaked in to clean up when she noticed we're out for breakfast. Then on 15th August (a holiday in Austria) there was knocking at the door before 8AM but the other day the room wasn't cleaned up to 1PM. Very late check-in, I wrote to ask about early check-in and it was not performed. We had our baggage stored and came back after 2PM (the check-in time) but the room still wasn't ready so we got an upgrade to a junior suite which was being finished for us. I also noticed at least one other pair of guests that came afternoon and their rooms were not ready.

    Very good location, close to U-bahn and tram station, walkable distance to strict city center, close to good restaurants/cafes and some grocery shops. Very good breakfast options. We got upgrade to junior suite - very spacious. Both room and bathroom very clean. Good amenities like fridge (although it was also a bar so there was not much space left for own stuff), hair dryer or even a shoehorn.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel de France Wien Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: