Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Geblergasse 3 stars

Geblergasse 19-21, 17. Hernals, 1170 Vienna, Austria

#286 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5054 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Both good and bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a single room with a double bed in it. We had to close windows and doors just to walk past them. No air conditioning meant that we spent most of our time elsewhere. No appliances like hair dryers and kettles. Bathroom smelled like an Indian restaurant.

    The staff were friendly and professional. The bed was good. Location was good in relation to transport, supermarkets and restaurants. Very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.6
    The property is located in ~20mins walking from the city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is located in ~20mins walking from the city centre and a metro station is near the hotel. The room was clean and comfy. Perfect breakfast. Nice and supportive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Cozy and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could use a mini fridge or even just a kettle to make coffee.

    The room was comfortable and relaxing. Litghting was very nice because of the natural light, even in the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is very good , near to train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We reserved parking for our car in booking.com but when we checkin the staff told us there is no reservation because " there are so many booking , so they are unable to check the website regularly " !

    The location is very good , near to train station. Even though quiet street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Clean property with pretty good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never smiling staff was not helpful. When we arrived it was very hot in Vienna and hotel has no air conditioning and we’ve got room on sunny side with windows facing internal hotel yard, so this night was sleepless. On the same night hotel manager declined our request to change room. Hotel had ongoing problems with hot water and we weren’t offered any hot water for shower. On the breakfast it was only 1 person cleaning dishes and serving food, definitely not enough for such hotel size. We came for breakfast almost 1 hour before closing and most of the food was gone already.

    Clean property with pretty good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, basic, but very clean (linen, towels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed (practically, the mattress wood support) was a little broken and the lack of a cooler.

    Good location, basic, but very clean (linen, towels, everything), parking in front of the hotel (in weekend, free of charge), very nice staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Good place for someone with a car, central with P space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bland looking rooms, but functional.

    It has its own garage. Stuff was very helpful and let us use their own parking spot, cause garage was full. Very spacious rooms. Location was excellent - hard to find something closer to the city center with own parking place. Another plus for very pleasant and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.6
    No air conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioned , and there was a men on the roof by our window, and the Camara was not recording, but it was scary..

    Not much, price ok, but no air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance and the lobby can be redesigned or rearranged a little bit.

    Good location, close to metro station. Facility is old and basic, but you get what you paid for. Friendly staff. I also took U6 transfer to S7 to the airport, which is convenient (took about 1 hour).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Good stay and location for Vienna visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of smiles from some staff members. It made me feel that I was not welcomed there (I arrived before my friends). Later at the night, the staff was more friendly when my friends came. Maybe the previous ones had some unpleasant experience before.

    The three bed room was really big and comfortable. It seemed to be built a long time ago but very well maintained. The windows were the whole wall facing a garden so it was very bright and airy, so nice. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the room was on a roof terace and, besides the not interesting view, offered a slight feeling of insecurity. The lack of bathroom supplies.

    It's a basic hotel room, clean, good for a short stay. The location is nor very central, but easely reacheable by tram/metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are tiny, with very little storage space. The beds are too soft.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. The room was very clean, and even had a balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    As a whole it was a great staying in Geblergasse hotel staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't enough clean & wide for 3 stars hotel.

    As a whole it was a great staying in Geblergasse hotel staff was good and breakfast also great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Got exactly what we expected, great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't the hotel's fault that we got terribly loud neighbors, which we didn't like, so that doesn't affect our overall opinion on the fair experience the hotel provided.

    Breakfast (7€ = absolutely worth it) location (close to U6 metro station Alser Srtaße), clean bathroom, neat room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.3
    I stayed two nights and I regret it!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst experience I had in Vienna. Definately I’d recommend you to find another place. It’s overpriced, the location is terrible, staff is not very welcoming and I even got my price changed for no sufficient explanation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Convenient, clean and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the I didn’t really like was the noise. We’ve got a room on the first floor, close to the road and neighbours (that happen to be incredibly extravert at night). It was also some construction work going on. Of course, it’s not hotels fault, although, in order get some sleep, ask for more quiet room options.

    1. Such a clean place! After entering the room you can see and smell cleanliness. 2. Well located. It took us around 5 mins walking to the metro station Alser Straße. 3. Staff speaks fluent English. They are friendly and helpful. 4. Comfortable beds and rooms in general. The interior might look little ‘raw’ to some, but it was just enough for us. 5. Yummy breakfast and big variety of food to choose. Everything was fresh and delicious. Vegan and vegetarian friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    I really enjoyed bieng back in Vienna and found the area safe at night - it was very suburban.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really

    I thought the staff were particularly friendly and helpful. It was a smaller hotel handy to the metro and stressenbahn so it was easy to get around the city. Rooms were comfortable. Excellent value for the price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable rooms , very helpful staff , great breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed at hotel Geblergasse in May it was clean but basic, near the tram for city center ,great breakfast , clean comfy beds , decent sized single room ,staff were very helpful in giving directions I would recommend the hotel for a short stay in Vienna

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioner, it was already summer and it was warm in the bedroom. The shower.

    The location is very good! There is a metro station very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.5
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Key not working the second day and had to go down 3 floors again. The lady in the desk just asked me 'you staying until tomorrow, right?', which of course she knew as my stuff was still in the room anyway. Didn't like that kind of suspicious attitude. I'd rather hoped for a 'oh, sorry, here's your key working again' kind of answer.

    Room quiet and comfortable. Nice area. Great price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    Value for money but only for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, you hear evey move of your neighbour in the next room. Sometimes these are not what you prefer to hear. Old fashioned furniture with one of the least comfortable mattress i ever slept to.

    Located convenient close to the tram stops. Good brekfast and friendly staff. Good job of the cleaning team.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    The facilities are as on pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby coridors. Soundproofing is not good enough. If you are travelling in summer, mind that as there is no conditioning in the room, it is really hot to stay in the hotel. And it is almost impossible to leave windows open at night, as the noise from the street won't let you sleep. And warm blanket in summer with 30+ above zero is too much)

    The facilities are as on pictures. Rooms are clean and renovated. Beds are comfortable. The hotel is in a half an hour walk from the Rathaus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    One of Vienna's best budget hotels.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing negative I can say. I was satisfied with my stay.

    The location was perfect for the business I had to do in Vienna. It is close to the train station. There is also a shopping area not far from the hotel and I could easily go there if I needed to buy something. This hotel ranks very highly in terms of cleanliness.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.0
    Cheap price, not very far from the subway.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely hot and didn't have aircon, bathroom facilities were really old and a bit smelly. The neighbourhood is not particularly good. There was only one power socket and no fridge in the room.

    Cheap price, not very far from the subway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Outside the centre but okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very warm with no air conditioning, especially when traveling with a young child. The location is near a metro line, but it is not in a convenient area for seeing central Vienna, requiring changing lines to get into the centre. This is not a big issue, just inconvenient.

    The breakfast was good, and the staff were very friendly. We had a quadruple room which was a nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One side of bed against wall, unacceptable in a hotel. No kettle to make hot drinks- never been to a B&B or other hotel without until now. Heavy quilts, better to have light weight summer ones.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfasts for €7 were good value. Close to Alser metro & a few bars with food. Clean room & ensuite showeroom, soap, body wash & safe provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was fine and the staff polite and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine and the staff polite and efficient. There are extensive roadworks and construction nearby so it was pretty noisy at times and some larger groups of guests tend to hang around outside talking loudly. I liked the breakfast and the shower!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value. Just a bit of a walk from the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a smell in the washroom. No fan. Did not provide shampoo, only liquid soap. No hair dryer.

    Able to accommodate four adults with lots of space in the room. Large washroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The space of the shower was not big, so I was hiting myself all the time. The elevator was really old and opened the door before it acctually stops, so I was a bit afraid. And the bed was too soft, now good for our backs, but it's ok if you enjoy it.

    The room was not too bright, since there is sun all the time now, and the shower was good. And it was close to the subway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Large rooms, clean, position, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need for faster check-in. Another problem is that we confirm use of garage and have to wait two times 15 minutes to open it and since that is on one-way crowded street it is a problem because we managed to make traffic jam.

    Large rooms, clean, position, price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    The room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on check in were quite rude. The location isn’t very central and no assistance was offered on methods of transport to and from the city.

    The room was comfortable. The bathroom was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    No frills, but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints - you get what you need (bed and breakfast with no frills).

    Cheap at at around £50 p.night for a single room. plus 7 euros for good breakfast. The main advantage is the location, about 400m from the Alserstrasse U-Bahn - 5 minute walk. Quick and easy to make U-Bahn connections to any destination.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spacious, but nothing special. Just a TV, nothing else in the room like water kettle, mugs, tee or small things you can find in hotels.

    Parking is the best offer this hotel has, you can leave your car for 9 euros per night which is really cheap and have it when you need it. The room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.2
    Honestly, not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one socket in the whole room and not even one in the bathroom. The wifi signal was really poor. While watching TV (you could use this socket but you have to unplug it and not watch TV) the signal was lost and we couldn´t continue watching anything. No AC. We ordered breakfast for 2 days after reading the comments of other guests but, what a mistake!, the breakfast was so poor that we decided to cancel the one for the second day. And they consider it a 3 star hotel!!! It´s more a hostel than anything. It´s not worth it at all.

    Honestly, not much. There is no way this hotel can be considered a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    short and sweet first visit to Vienna and the hotel was very easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sextuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were the only let down to us as they were very poor quality and compressed to nothing which in turn gave me an another friend a sore neck. We asked for extra pillows and they would have supplied them but we left the next day so could not benefit from this. In my opinion they should make a small investment and buy new pillows.

    sorry we did not use the hotel for food or drink so therefore cannot comment about that. The staff were very friendly and helpful towards us. Our impression was that it may have been a converted hospital as opposed to a purpose built hotel but the rooms were of a very good size and everything was clean and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    It is old, but overall good hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only for the first day, young guests were noisy until late. The shower head was broken, So the water flew away here and there.

    The room is clean, they changes towels every day, I was satisfied with breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Fine for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable pillows. Had to weigh up dealing with noise from the street with window open or a hot stuffy room with window closed.

    Very convenient access to the public transport system. A decent place to stay for the price range.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    It was good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst Mattresses Ever ! they are worse than Air Mattresses, and not comfortable at all And the Mattresses are not wide enough

    The staff was nice, at least some of them It's close to some restaurants and the Subway (U-Bahn) I liked that we could do late-checkout (good for Races) to take showers after the race

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night receptionist was not collaborative and involved during the checkin. We arrived around 23:00h and he did't explained how to use the parking or where the room is, just gave us the key and showed us where the parking door is and continue to disregard us.

    Great room, and comfort of the bed. The mattresses were super comfortable. Next to the metro station (15 minutes to the City center) station, stores, restaurants, good neighbourhood and parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionists could be a little bit more happy.

    Really comfortable beds, clean, quiet and beautiful rooms.The hotel was real close to metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value. Not central Vienna but the subway system was easy to use to get to City Central. Hotel was close to subway, area safe to travel late at night. Great restaurants near by. Their breakfast menu is excellent with a great variety of food. I would use this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    2.5
    AWFUL RECEPTIONIST FRAU STEFANIA AND MORNING TAXI, SCREAMING WITH MENTAL ISSUES
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    NOT RECOMENDED, DO NOT BOOK, BE CAREFUL. The staff was awful, especially FRAU STEFANIA, awful behavior, racist, ironic, never helps, always stays at social network and get crazy nervous when interrupted. The taxi they are connected to, is awful, almost made us lose the flight

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    They do my special request, it was unexpected surprise for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was not a hairdryer in the room. I had to dry my hair at the window, with the wind. :D Was funny

    They do my special request, it was unexpected surprise for my girlfriend. Cheap parking, close the city center, everything okay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, clean, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our duble bed was getting separated all the time between, it was impossible to sleep on both of the beds together.

    Nice hotel, clean, good location. Perfect for few nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like the pillows, it felt like we were sleeping on a folded towel. Also, the curtains were a little bit dirty.

    The breakfast was AMAZING. So many different kinds of food. Exceptional! Big beds, very comfortable. Super friendly staff! They would always leave mini chocolate bars on the pillows. Loved it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Clean room, good communication, parking garage right across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small room, no refrigerator. The shower's door was broken. Powerful deodorant smell in room when we arrived.... I guess that was the only air refresher they had.

    Clean room, good communication, parking garage right across the hotel (extra fee but cheap). OK for a couple nights if you plan to visit the city and use public transport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Reasonable, comfortable, and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes you hear sounds from next room and corridor.

    Reasonable and comfortable. The room is not very big, but no complaint at all. You can relax. 5 minutes walk to Alser Strasse station. The bathroom water, heating, everything worked without any problems.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, average facilities, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No infant-bed was made ready for our 1,5 yo and the rather straightforward receptionist had explained to us that we should have mentionned that we needed to request one in advance (as if our daughter could sleep elsewhere). An infant-bed was brought to our room by the time we were back in the evening but it was partially broken, so we had to request a new one again the day after.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, quite central and close to public transport. The street was quiet and the night staff was friendly. The beds were confortable and the bathroom rather big. No extra fees for baby-beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is very affordable, staff very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It seems that beds don't have mattresses, something more like a sponge and is very uncomfortable - instead of two nights as planned, we stayed only one. You get what you pay for and our room was very cheap :)

    The hotel is very affordable, staff very friendly and helpful. Parking also at a great price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel for it's price close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hair dryer

    Good value for it's price, quite close to the center. Tram and underground station just a few steps away. The room was clean and big enough. The bathroom was also very spacious. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    I won't be back any time soon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy teenage guests ruined my stay. After listening to door slamming, yelling in the rooms and through open windows to their clasmates staying in the rooms across the courtyard, and other barnyard-like noise they made for two nights in a row (till 3 AM), I changed the hotel. What a shame! I stayed in this hotel for several weeks in a row, and all my stays were pleasant up to this point. The hotel took such groups of teenagers before, and either they were better behaved, or my room was far enough not to hear them, but there was no noise of this magnitude. After this, however, I'll think twice before coming again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    Great place for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a perfect location for a 3 day trip. Next to metro station, hyper markets near, a few cafes and bars around and just 40min walk from Saint Stephen’s Cathedral or Hofburg Palace. Room was relly warm, clean with comfy beds. Toiletries and clean towels supplied everyday. What more do you need.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Warmwater came fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No hairdryer. Garage spaces were very small. There was a slightly smell of old (cigarette) smoke in the room, or bathroom.

    Warmwater came fast. Staff is friendly. Small hotelbar + snacks. + coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were huge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were huge. The facilities were basic but ok. We would have liked a hair shampoo which they did not have. Very close to the U-bahn and a few restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Horrible smell of cigarettes in the bathroom. There should be a way to make an extra charge for "people" who manage to stink the place up so badly. They should not be allowed to enter the lobby, let alone use the rooms as guests. I am not criticising the hotel, just the bad manners of some of its guests. The screen door on the shower booth is busted, cannot be closed all the way.

    Good location, friendly staff, very good breakfast, good value for money! Room 416 this time. Faces the inner courtyard, which is quiet during the night. Two doors between the bedroom and the hallway, nice and quiet! Nice to sleep with the window open.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Great value, no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/pillow not the most comfortable, shower head a bit broken and rooms very basic but fine for the price.

    Very good value no frills rooms with large bathroom within easy reach of city centre by public transport and lots of eating options nearby. Convenient parking available in their garage (note, very tight) for 9 euro per day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    people working here are nice, room is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be better if there is some useful equipments in the room (e.g. kettle, glass for water or tea)

    people working here are nice, room is clean. a short walk for u-bahn and tram, quiet environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 417 this time. No direct heating in the bathroom, only what comes from the bedroom through the bathroom door; can be chilly inside. The bed blocks the bathroom door, so it can only be half opened, and one can get in only by slipping through the opening sideways :)

    Good location, friendly staff, fast wi-fi, good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.1
    Great breakfast and staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located far away from Vienna main station

    Great breakfast and staff; helped us quickly after having problems with our safe; were able to leave luggage at hotel for almost a whole day after checking out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    I just stay one night but I liked it a lot .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite old but it is worth to money.

    I just stay one night but I liked it a lot . The staff was extremely kind. It is located in a good area where there are lots of restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 311 this time. Possibly the smallest room I've ever got anyhwere. The room itself (without the bathroom) is no more than 2 meters by 3,3 meters. It's a small miracle they were able to put in all the necessary furniture.

    All the usual! Friendly staff, warm room, perfect Wi-Fi, good breakfast, good location for my needs, good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a very decent price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm, I couldn't turn down the heating. The bed is a little hard, but this could be for somebody a plus point. Although the hotel is quite near to the metro station, it is not very close to the city center.

    The room was very nice and comfortable. The shower/toilet is also very nice, it seems to be recently renovated. After a long time - there is a strong central light in the room, not only in the corridor, desk and bed which I often miss in hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Ok for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is by no means a 3*** one, mostly a 2**; it is located on a remote street; it can be reached by public transport (metro U6 and trams no 43 and 44; others are a bit further away), but one needs to walk about 300m until the closest station. Although protected from street noise, the inside sound insulation is very poor. Not only sound, also smells tend to get through / under the door. The bathroom looked a little drab and was smelly; the shower only has a very small space and a curtain that feels very uncomfortable. There was no fridge or minibar as I would have expected from a 3***. The guy at the reception desk tried to overcharge me and didn't bother to offer an excuse.

    The hotel is located in a somehow remote area which is basically very quiet; it is not very far feom the city center, one can walk for about 30min to reach the Opernring. The rooms are not lavishly furnished, but are generally comfortable. The wi-fi worked well. The breakfast (optional) is a good asset, quite varied and weel made. Real coffee and quite good, which is rare at this price. Well heated during a cold winter and one can set the heating level up to one's needs - I never needed to go to maximum, although I like to have a warm room and outside it was below -10 Celsius. Some rooms have balconies, mine didn't. It has an elevator and facilities for disabled people. There are some very useful shops and restaurants not far away. It has it's own parking space underneath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.8
    The money/location value was acceptable, overall satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff did not ask about my stay or if I am happy with my room. The room (120) was next to the kitchen/breakfast area on the first floor. It was very noisyyyy every morning and the staff stopped and talked in front of the door.

    Comfortable bed and warm room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.6
    Would not do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff, unfriendly. I was sick and asked for a kettle in the room to have hot drinks constantly and they refused. A kettle, a fridge a hair dryer are basic stuff, that are found in cheaper hostels but in this hotel they are a not found. I felt like i am staying in a very uncomfortable place. Treatment of the staff is completely arrogant and horrible.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room 201 this time, right across the elevator shaft, facing the street. Only one electrical outlet in the room, for the TV. There is another one in the bathroom, though. One or two extra outlets closer to the bed would be nice. The shower booth is very small for a person my size. It is not watertight; the floor is wet every time after showering. The regulator valve on the bedroom radiator seems to be broken. Whatever I did with it, the radiator heated at full power. Had to use the plain valve at the bottom to turn it down.

    Perfect location for what I needed! Very nice breakfast, big breakfast room! A nice, warm room (too warm even)! Friendly staff. For this price, perfect!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything great! Room 320 this time. Faces the street, but is high enough above it for the occupant not to be disturbed by noise. Great breakfast! Nice staff! Wonderfully fast Wi-Fi!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Amazing staff in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was not the most comfortable. The in-room (so not in the bathroom) shower was a bit interesting, but the shower was clean and well-working. All in all I did however have an amazing stay here and would definitely stay here again.

    Amazing staff in the hotel. I had two separate bookings but the staff made sure that I could keep the same room. Very clean room and bathroom. Very little noise from outside and other rooms. Great location with the tram located right in front of the hotel. Its a bit away from the 1. Bezirk but with the excellent public transport in Vienna this is not a problem at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed the view out of the balcony and the panorama of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom facilities (there was no hair dryer) didn't suit my expectations. The parking place was very narrow. You need very good driving skills in order to be able to park by the hotel.

    I enjoyed the view out of the balcony and the panorama of a Viennese street directly out of my window. Also the phone communication with the hotel staff was very pleasant and effective. As a result I could make a reservation for a parking place thanks to a phone call.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    when i informe the staff of the hotel about the smoking smells want to change the room soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in room smoking smell, but not the staff fault, who use the room before he didnt have respect for others.

    good breakfast, good location, very kind staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    A simple yet lovely hotel with access to the metro, trams and a 40 minute walk to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It wasn't clear how to work the radiator but that is a minor complaint as we didn't really need it except when we washed a few things.

    The staff were very friendly, the room simple yet very comfy and the beds were very comfortable. The shower was spacious and the value for money was excellent. We loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise coming from the kitchen very early in the morning. For lights sleepers it might be enough to wake them. Music and the sound of people chatting coming from the service room right below my room (221) through the floor, where the heating pipes go through it. It's not a big deal, but it would be better if this opening was properly sealed. It's not a big job.

    Perfect location for what I needed! Very good breakfast! Friendly staff, great value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location, good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe they shouldn't take the sheets out through the front entrance and, while cleaning of the lobby people sitting at the tables having coffee shouldn't be forced to leave.

    The location is close to the metro station on Alserstrasse, also close to a McDonald's and a billa market, and about 30 minutes walk to Stephanplatz. The staff is friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is 7euros/pers, it has enough to satisfy most preferences. The is free parking at the location and the wifi is OK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    Close to public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Close to public transport..(tram and train)..that took you into centre within 20 mins or so...the hotel was clean, plenty hot water for showering and was secure. Safe was available in room. Was quiet generally..we were on the third floor at the front of the hotel and was not disturbed by the street noise, traffic ect.....breakfast was available at extra cost... we didn't partake but look quite decent..dining area looked airy and clean. Aesthetically hotel was basic but functional..(.if you like frills and fancy decore.. this place is not for you) good cheap coffee available at reception/ bar area... and excellent wi fi was available..... we would definitely stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean hotel next to the metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bathroom smelled as if someone has been smoking inside (probably a previous guest).

    Clean, large room with comfortable bed. Very close to the metro station. The receptionist was very helpful giving us all the information we needed regarding parking our car.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Geblergasse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: