Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gerl 3 stars

Bundesstr. 50, 5071 Wals, Austria

#8 of 18 hotels in Wals

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1877 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was perfect for us. 10 mins to Salzburg and 5 from the Autobahn. Very modern yet still Alpiney! hotel. Staff were tremendous. Family suite was outstanding and clean. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel with indoor + outdoor swimming pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning in the room

    Very nice hotel with indoor + outdoor swimming pool and sauna. We had a beautiful room with a nice terrace and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is clean and organized.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is clean and organized. The location is excellent close to highways but at a quiet location with a pleasant atmosphere. Multiple parking The staff hosts a smiling and helpful for any request. The breakfast was excellent. The crew accepted my request and arranged soy milk and vegan supplements for breakfast. I have a very difficult allergy to dust, the room was with out carpet and very clean, which is very helpful. The dining room staff was charming. The owner, mr. gerl assisted each request in an excellent manner. we will stay again...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great place for families with children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for families with children. A lot of outside and inside activities available, a special children’s menu in the restaurant, high chairs. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Outdoor is very nice, the playground for kids, pool, terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Budget rooms are very small; breakfast box prepared by stuff was kind of below expected standards: one bun with 5 slices of ham and one with 5 slices of cheese

    Outdoor is very nice, the playground for kids, pool, terrace, just perfect to chill

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    I had expected a larger room, a better fitness area and, maybe most important, a warmer welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room couldn't be smaller than this, and the tv-set was mounted to the wrong wall. The fitness facillity consisted of nothing but two bicycles and a rowing machine. Okay, there was rack with dumbells and a sit-up bench, but that was it. When we arrived, we were told that, due to a large group, it was impossible to dine at the restaurant. I always pick a hotel with a kitchen, so I won't have to go out again after a ling day at the steering wheel. Though the manager later appologized, it was a bad start, a cold welcome.

    The swimming pool, both outside and inside, were excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Very nice Hotel, pleasent staff and good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately restaurant not open on Sunday night.

    Very nice Hotel on fringe of Salzburg, not far from many attractions including Red Bull, clean, comfortable, car parking, breakfast and wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    We stayed one night at Hotel Gerl before an early flight...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few flies in the room that kept us awake a little bit.

    We stayed one night at Hotel Gerl before an early flight from Salzberg airport. Lovely outdoor area and we enjoyed the indoor pool. The staff were very accommodating to my 18mth old daughter. I can highly recommend the breakfast as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely trendy hotel minutes from Salzburg airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was slow and there was no AC, however that is common for many European hotels.

    Lovely trendy hotel minutes from Salzburg airport. The property was kid and pet friendly which is great for those traveling with littles ones and their fury friends. The staff were all very pleasant and the hotel was very clean. We ate at the restaurant one night for dinner and it was really good. The hotel was about a 10 minute drive into the city and only minutes from the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    After an enjoyable stay on another occasion this was frankly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed made a creaking sound with the slightest movement giving a sleepless night. Liaison between reception and restaurant was poor. Manager of restaurant was rude. The bar area is no substitute for eating in the restaurant.

    Convenience of hotel for city and airport

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    My family and I (4 adults and 1 child) LOVED everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mosquitos—partly our fault for leaving one of the windows open in the second bedroom that needed some fresh air the first night—but 4/5 of us woke up with at least a handful of bites on each of our bodies the next morning. After that, we kept all windows shut and stuck with the AC for our last day there. I would recommend bringing mosquito repellent though!

    My family and I (4 adults and 1 child) LOVED everything about this gorgeous hotel! Everything from the clean and spacious rooms, the super friendly staff, all of the wonderful amenities, FREE and delicious breakfast, and really just all the welcoming details/“the little things” (decor, amenities, and staff) of feeling at home during our entire stay here! We took advantage of all of the above plus the swimming pools, sauna, and massage treatments. Also, the location was perfect because we were able to go all around Salzburg and check out some famous spots: Hohensalzburg Fortress, Mozart’s birthplace, do the “Sound of Music” bus tour, and got to introduce our family visiting to one of Austria’s famous breweries/eateries—Augustiner Braustubl. I would TOTALLY recommend Hotel Gerl to anyone I know and this will definitely not be the last time my family and I stay here for future trips! Thank you, Hotel Gerl Staff, for making our stay there a very comfortable and enjoyable one! We can’t wait to come back! :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    This accommodation was amazing, beautiful place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This accommodation was amazing, beautiful place to be. When we opened the window we had incredible view to the mountains. There was also outdoor pool and very nice relaxing area close to it. The breakfast were absolutely delicious with lots of choices. The bus stop towards Salzburg is very close and it takes 20min to get to the center of Salzburg. This lovely hotel is easy to find as it is close to the A1 exit. Very modern Spa area - very well recommended. This hotel has nice spirit and great energy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    It was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The they could not take me to the airport the time I needed to go so we had to get a taxi

    The breakfast was one of the if not the best we have ever had at a hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for nature lovers with less than 10min ride to Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the inner pool can be a bit warmer. Outdoor pool is heated only by the sun, so in end of April we had to use the inner one, but it was also colder for our taste

    Big variety of food for breakfast, staff very helpful and easy going. You do not have a feeling that staff is “monitoring” you like in some hotels. As we were leaving earlier in the morning, they prepared a big lunch box for us the evening earlier. The hotel is family friendly, so we felt at ease with our two school boys and a little baby girl. It is like 7-8min drive from Salzburg with a very easy connection as the highway is right there. However, the area is peaceful and wonderful for sleeping and enjoying nature. The view from the third floor is breath taking. The walls are very well isolated so no noise from the neighboring rooms even though the hotel was full of children. Excellent choice if you wish to be close to Salzburg but still far from the city heat and noise, and having a peaceful holiday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    We will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small but we did book a budget room It faced the back and was quiet and sheltered from the sun on a very hot day.

    Very stylish yet cosy. Friendly staff and lovely meal. Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Silly mean breakfast policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At breakfast they wouldn't let us take a crosoint & a piece of cheese back to our room .guess they would rather throw good food out as there was plenty left over

    Indoor & outdoor pool sauna gym

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A good place to stay a short distance from Satzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel all good but nothing much to do and see in Wals. Dinner choices at hotel could have been broader. Waitress did not pay attention to what I ordered and failed to adjust cost in bill.

    Liked the design of the hotel and timber finishes. Easy on site parking, Staff helpful with providing advice with parking in Satzburg.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Great concept and nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed understaffed and the sauna did not work. Staff did a great job wearing many different hats but it seemed they need more people running the place.

    Great concept and nice design. Restaurant inside made it more convenient for family. Large room with plenty of light and space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was low, and you had to crouch down to get under the spray. The blowdryer only worked occasionally and had very little power. The room was really hot. I arrived at 15:00, and couldn’t get into my room. Asked about getting some lunch and was sent to a restaurant that was closed.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    10
    to fast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, everything was perfect for us.

    we loved the bed and slept very weel. We also loved de breakfast with the local products and the large choise of tea. Thank you .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location for Rupholding area, we travelled just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked Comfort Double Room which is offered in three alternatives (equipment and design). Not sure that all three alternatives are worth the same value (sure, depending on guest taste). Bed was too soft and uncomfortable. It is great that hotel has sauna, but it fits max. four people (looks bigger on promo pictures) and the relaxing area is not cool and dry enough.

    Convenient location for Rupholding area, we travelled just for the Biathlon; nice combination of typical Austrian chalet style and fresh modern design. Staff is friendly, everyone is smiling and happy to help. We had dinner at the hotel and enjoyed it very much together with the next day breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Absolutely commendable experience!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My husband and I had a great stay at Hotel Gerl with our dog. It is conveniently located right outside of Salzburg (easily accessible by car or public transportation) with fast access to the highways. Owners and staff are exceptionally professional and friendly. Super breakfast buffet with many options. The public spa area is well kept and with great access times. The private spa area is very exclusive and a relaxing experience. The in-house restaurant and the bar offer a variety of foods and there are restaurants close-by as well. I travel a lot for work but this was one of my best stays. Very commendable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do in the vicinity but regular buses to Salzburg and taxis available

    Friendly staff, lovely breakfast, nice indoor pool, comfortable and spacious room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was beautifully set out with a nice swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was located near a main road and therefore noisy. There was no easy access to any main attractions without a car. According to my mum who lives in Austria there was no over new year Austrian atmosphere where some celebrations take place.

    The hotel was beautifully set out with a nice swimming pool. Breakfast was always excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Good stay overall
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was missing the heavy classic food (pâté, liverwurst), in spite of that the breakfast is really good.

    Hotel: Simple to get to the hotel from the highway. Look for the coffee machine at breakfast, it makes good coffee. Good breakfast. Very clean and comfy place. Swimming pool. Nearby: Totally amazing Italian pizza place nearby in Wals (Costiera - Cucina di Mare & Pizzeria). Worth just making a stop there for a dinner on any journey. Also to fill up the tank at the Hofer automatic gas station in Wals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice stay for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooom is not functional at all. Door cant be locked. Sunday evening no food avaiable, not even the mentioned small dinner.

    Nice hotel in a quiet place. Good breakfast, big well equiped room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Pool and sauna included.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have very modern and renovated rooms and also old rooms. Pay attention when booking. The bed mattresses were very soft

    Pool and sauna included. Design of renovated part.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    We stayed for two nights and it was great place to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights and it was great place to be because nice garden and indoor pool. It is very close to the Salzburg ring and you can be in city center in few minutes. We had apartment which was very spacious but facing the rush road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could use a fan, it was stuffy, and the pillows were quite flat, making it difficult to sleep.

    The staff were so friendly and kind, from the reception to the restaurant. We were very impressed with the breakfast and surprised by the many choices we had. We're used to the (typically) small options of bread, meat/cheese, and maybe a boiled egg only options, but Hotel Gerl had a ton of food options to choose from! The hotel itself is modern, and it looked like it had a lot of things to do for families, ie. indoor pool, spa, outdoor chess, playgrounds, so it would be ideal for people with kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    A real nice stay at this hotel in a room at 2nd floor, value for money. Excellent services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We liked very much this hotel and all services offered. Our room was located in 2nd floor with a nice view to the mountains and the area. The room was not the cheapest one and I would recommend to have a higher standard room, because our room was value for money. And I would recommend to book a room on 2nd or 3rd floor (and pay a little more for this). Excellent breakfast. In October we used inside swimming pool, but there is also an outside swimming pool for use of hotel guests (both for free). There are also saunas available, although we did not use them. The hotel is located in Wals, and there is a very good bus connection to Salzburg city centre, the bus stop is only 5-7 min. to walk from the hotel (bus ticket in October 2017 was 2,50 euros one way).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    The accommodations were excellent, the staff pleasant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The accommodations were excellent, the staff pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was something we looked forward to every morning. Satisfying six hungry breakfast eaters with varying tastes is definitely a challenge, but Hotel Gerl met the challenge and then some. We definitely recommend staying at Hotel Gerl. We will again, should we return to Salzburg, and they have vacancies.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel for a short visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location by a road from the airport to near-by villages, not walking distance to anywhere.

    Good breakfast in a nice atmosphere. Swimming pool + outdoor chess & other activities for children. Room was clean but basic and rather small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice rooms but bad organization
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is less good than normally in Austria Rooms are not clean. Housekeeping took the towels away for the 2nd day. Restaurant was closed without informing customers up front.

    Large room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Perfect break.. just what we were looking for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food or drinks served between breakfast and about 4pm. Also no facilities in the room. A small family area to prepare milk, baby food would have been nice.

    Stunning hotel. We stayed in a superior room. Fantastic views. Loved the wet room. Great to have both indoor and outdoor pool. Food was really good and staff (especially bar and the handy man who does the transfers) really lovely. We didnt hire a car but the bus trip in to the city centre was pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Hotel was beautiful, clean and lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was beautiful, clean and lovely. Sadly we were only staying for a day so did not get to use the facilities so much. The outside pool was gorgeous but it was a rainy day when we arrived in Salzburg so we just used the indoor pool which was quite nice and warm. The only little problem was that to get to the hotel, we had to pass the Germany border and drive back to Wals again which was quite congested. Otherwise the hotel lives up to standards of a 4/5 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very simple and and they didn't change the towel during our stay

    The location is perfect, the room was very clean and comfortable with a nice view , hotel staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    very disappointing, when we checked in we found the room not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very disappointing, when we checked in we found the room not very clean, the floor was still with dust and dirt where my kids feet was literally black, we had to make a complain on our very first day, no room service so we had to go down our selfs and get some cutlery to eat our food which was delivered from outside, the same dirty cutlery afterwards was not taken after house keeping job or even after keeping it outside the room for a full day , breakfast was pathetic not enough variety no fried eggs even when requested only stinky scrambled eggs or boiled eggs even in their restaurant's menu very limited variety. and to put the icing on the cake after spending a long tiring day outside coming and looking forward to rest with the kids we found our room still not done and the house keeping key was thrown down ... the reason given later that the person's first day (why would a hotel bring someone not trained neither qualified for the job) hence our big disappointing and def not recommending it to anyone :(

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    great location with facilities, even though a bit out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms did not have a kettle to make tea, and there is no A/C in the rooms or provision for fans. If these facilities are added then its a great place

    great location with facilities, even though a bit out of town but if you have a car its fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    very nice decoration of public areas, very good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    not having the possibility of adding an extra bed to a very big room

    very nice decoration of public areas, very good breakfast, good atmosphere , the indoor swimming pool and the garden outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    Modern style of the main part of the hotel was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have expected air conditioning in the room - also the booking info from booking.com led me to believe there would be a balcony - so a little disappointed with both those points, but such a lovely hotel in general regardless.

    Modern style of the main part of the hotel was very 'designer' looking - very nice. The staff were very friendly - seemed a nice personal service from the staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.3
    Woody and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The chairs in the balcony are the ususal plastic ones.

    The hotel is close enough to Salzburg, the water in the indoor pool is perfect for kids (120 cm deep and quite warm) , the sauna is cozy. The breakfast is delicious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air-conditioning, bathroom was quite old, although still in a good taste. But the tiles were covered with limescale, the grouts between tiles were dark/dirty (especially in shower area). Also the shower tray on the outer side had some dirt in the gaps and corners. All this thing are related only to insufficient cleaning. Limescale and hard-accessible dirt can always be removed with proper cleaning agents and methods. There is no excuse for it, especially in a hotel that claims to be luxurious.

    a huge choice of products or breakfast, nice garden-swimming pool area

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great family run hotel. Staff and owner very helpful and nice . Rooms and facilities excellent. Very relaxing place to be and only a 15 minute car ride to get into Salzburg center . Breakfast was excellent .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Swimming with mountain view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is in the middle of nowhere - not ideal to visit the city of Salzburg but close to the highway and airport for easy access

    Modern Austrian Hotel with indoor and outdoor pool, large rooms, very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A boiling water machin in the room could be appreciated

    Very nice place close to Salzburg. Wonderful indoor and outdoor swimming pool. Great breakfast. Nice room. Cool restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    One of the best we have had in Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fitness facility ( Gym) needs a fan or air conditioning, maybe a little more space also, but it was nice to have this area available.

    The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful - thank you Loved the pools, the sauna area and relaxation beds. The fire pit was pretty cool. Breakfast was great Loved ++ the internal decor and fit out of the rooms and public areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were large and comfortable. The children enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and sauna, and the foosball table. There was a broad selection of food at breakfast. The hotel was easy to get to from Salzburg. We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Gerl.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    More than a 2 Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room only had a bath, no shower. Bed wasn't very comfortable but not too bad. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room.

    Very surprised the hotel is only 2 stars. Very nice, newly renovated, modern hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    4.5
    Rooms are not as it is shown on the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are not as it is shown on the pictures.Although Lobby and general premiseses were renoved, the rooms are very old and boring. Also they charged us for a baby bed though I had informed them as to my baby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.3
    Trendy Boutique Hotel - Convenient for Salzburg Town, with Vehicle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No clothes washing machine available. Unfortunately due to renovation, the restaurant was not available, except for breakfast.

    Beds very comfy. Size of room, for family of 4 Adults + 1 Toddler, was great. Very Clean. Modern. Breakfast, had plenty of variety and efficient service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.4
    Location is fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very chessy, old and little for a comfortable stay. Also bath needs renovation. There was a toillet which was in coffin size. Cleaning is not so good. Only good thing is its location which is very convenient to reach Salzburg if you have a car.

    Location is fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there in summertime so it got pretty warm in the room at night. Airconditioning would have been great but at least an electric fan would've helped, neither of which were available in the room.

    The hotel is about 15 minutes from the city center of Salzburg which is fine if you're going around by car and you need free parking at night. They had an extensive breakfast available from 7-11am on weekends. Our room opened to the outdoor pool area and playground which was really nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    Modern hotel with excellent fitness and spa facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is next to a busy main road but traffic noise was not too bad. We were informed upon arrival that the hotel restaurant was closed due to the time of year, so we had to drive into Salzburg and eat out that evening which we would rather have avoided.

    This is a boutique fitness themed spa hotel which has some very nice design touches throughout the building. There is a gym, outside pool and a unique enclosed BBQ area that you can book which has a large central fireplace and comfy seating including faux fur cushions! Our room was spacious and comfortable with modern appointments and a nice balcony which was a sun trap and was very pleasant to sit out in. The staff were courteous and pleasant. We used the hotel for one overnight stay prior to flying back to the UK from Salzburg Airport, which is less than 10 minutes drive away. Breakfast was truly excellent with a huge array of healthy choices, out of the three hotels we stayed in during our trip breakfast here was easily the best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    pleasant stay at Hotel Gerl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can only recommend to anyone visiting the region.

    Hotel Gerl is a great combination of modern design with traditional values. The extension with the lobby and lounge looks super cool, so believe what the panoramic views show on the hotel's website, it IS an amazing place!! The breakfast was absolutely a winner. The rooms have nice terraces with pleasant view towards the surrounding mountains. The old building and the brand new extension frames a neat courtyard with swimming pool in the middle. Parking was super easy and comfortable at the hotel, but you can also get into the centre of Salzburg with just a few mins. drive. Before our arrival I had quite a few usual touristic questions which I emailed to the reception and they helped me so kindly and gave me all the necessary information I needed. So 5 stars for the service as well :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Duvets were a bit too hot as weather was warm.

    Amazing hotel - fantastic breakfast, excellent indoor pool and sauna facilities, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    With children we could use the great garden, playground,...
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities but food and comfort is poor. Tiny walls, you hear everything through...

    With children we could use the great garden, playground, pool, sauna. Super pool side to relax!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    Nice apartment with plenty of space (we were 2 adults with 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was closed for a private event during our stay.

    Nice apartment with plenty of space (we were 2 adults with 3 children). Worm, comfortable. The hotel is situated right beside the main road, but we had a room in the back building, very quiet. Breakfast was excellent. The staff was very helpful to point us a close by restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place to explore Salzburg and Hangar 7. It really is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I faced a carpark at the restaurant. It would be so easy to use blinds with mountains on them. I had to change seats and look into the restaurant. Our meal wasn't that great in the evening.

    The breakfast is wonderful. So beautifully presented. The place has so much attention to detail it really has a very special ambience. Lots of wood, the view of the mountains, wonderful facitilies.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel 10 mins drive from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a family of five and found the family room roomy enough for our 3 night stay. Lovely breakfast which was included in our booking. The facilities at the hotel looked lovely and it would be a wonderful place to stay in the summer.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to have a tea or coffee making facility in the room. The restaurant was closed and the cafe offered a very limited menu

    Clean. Great breakfast. Great staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    I will recommend it to my friends🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, you can find everything, more than 5 stars hotel!!! Whatever we asked they delivered with smile and positive attitude. With the rental car was 10 minutes from the old town of the Salzburg with any weather condition.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Comfort beyond words...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's only my opinion but not even a forensic scientist could find a fault with the hotel at all, it was simply amazing. The food there especially the breakfast was excellent, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff were so friendly & helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and can't wait to go back again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous hotel would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were met by a complementary airport shuttle Staff were so friendly and helpful Breakfast was lovely Nice swimming pool area Just a short bus ride to city as we had no transport

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    nice and modern desighn but not comfortable enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms not organized well.( no window in etc ) the baith room, toiletts together with the shower , the kitchen wasn't well equipped

    nice decorated and big rooms, good breakfast , sweeming pool

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Great stay with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location requires a car and so we had to pay for parking going into Salzburg. We also had difficulty controlling the temperature at night so ended up uncomfortably warm.

    Breakfast was great and the staff was very courteous. Our kids loved the pool and open outdoor space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    8.8
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We took one night more than reserved and got another room- at the same price, but less comfortable - without kitchen and one restroom with bath.

    Very nice hotel. We were in family room with small kitchen, and nice vew balcony, comfortable separate bathtub and separete restroom. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the superior room which has a modern contemporary feel, it was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location and facilities including breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A.C and it was hot. When opening the window some mosquitos came in

    Great location and facilities including breakfast. Nearby we found 2 good restaurants. It was very easy to drive to Salzburg and around.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldnt stay more

    Everything was just perfect! Immediately as we came in,we wanted to book another night,but unfortunately they didnt have any room left.the place is very clean and very well designed.the staff was amazing and more than happy to help especially bridget.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.1
    Wonderful facilities but service needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was very beautiful and modern but very impractical especially with children. The shower is open and so after showering the entire floor was wet and flooded. The service of the restaurant is not yet on the same level as the standard of the facilities. Dinner was average and restaurant staff need more training.

    The decor is absolutely stunning and very modern. Our room was beautiful and well kitted out, enough space for a family of 4. The beds were very comfortable 😃 Was fantastic enjoying facilities of an indoor and outdoor pool and outdoor chess.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Lovely but roasting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning or fan and it is absolutely roasting in the rooms. We had no choice but to open the window so I was savaged at night. The heat made it so difficult to sleep but a small inexpensive fan would remedy this. It's a lovely little hotel minus the bites and oven temperatures.

    The pool is great for a splash, the staff are lovely and the bus runs nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Good location and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice lobby, outside, pool area but bedroom is a bit dated, but can't complain as it is very reasonable price. A bath mat needed to put in to the bath, it is very slippy when it is wet

    Very good location before getting to Salzburg town. Easy to find, not far from the airport. Price is very reasonable than the one in Salzburg. Only 18 Euro to get to Mirabelle Garden by taxi. Breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    An excellent hotel, thoroughly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The apartment kitchen equipment was quite basic. A coffee machine/filter would have been appreciated.

    Excellent hotel. We stayed for a week and had an apartment and a quadruple room. Both were modern and spacious, with particularly good bathrooms. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The pools and other facilities were very good. Although the hotel is close to a fairly busy road, the rooms are fitted with air conditioning so it wasn't necessary to leave the windows open at night. We used the Salzburg Park and Ride but there is a bus service into the city a few hundred metres from the hotel. Reception provided us with a timetable. We ate in the restaurant once and enjoyed our meal.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    9.2
    Great stay in beautiful location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many kids, so quiet some noice at the pool etc. Not really something you can prohibit but if we would have stayed for holiday we would consider next time to book an adults only hotel.

    Location is super nice, beautiful. Breakfast really good too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    More than three stars in a gorgeous setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because the location is out of Salzburg some sort of shuttle to the city would have been a massive help, even if it was available for a surcharge. Also no tea and coffee in room.

    Lovely hotel. Nice setting with a balcony and interesting decor. Friendly staff, always with a ready smile especially Sebastian. Some nice touches such as table football and outside areas. Two pools which open early to beat the rush.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gerl traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: