Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Hoher Freschen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kreuzlingerstr. 2, 6830 Rankweil, Austria

#1 of 4 hotels in Rankweil

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 313 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2018

    7.1
    Good...but it can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not quiet (train just in front of the hotel) Room don't look like the pictures on website... Expensive for services

    Breakfast is great Hotel near the highway

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.2
    So great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They forgot to leave us pin code for the main door ( we said we were going to be late) , and I wasn't thorough enough to notice on time, so we had to wait in front of the door for someone to let us in. They left us the room key in an envelope on the front desk.

    So great breakfast!! 13 kind of cheese they served !! There were a big group so maybe because was a special breakfast for them but however we loved it !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    8.3
    Clean and comfy but a bit steamy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there was no ventilator in the bathroom so it got pretty steamy and hot in there. Also there seemed to be no seal between the shower glass and the bathtub, so while showering you could end up accidentally flooding the bathroom floor (no drain on the bathroom floor).

    The bed was super comfortable and the hotel is literally next to the train station (not noisy though)!The staff was really nice and the breakfast was delicious. While all the rooms are non-smoking, you can have a smoke on the balcony!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.9
    Decent enough place to stay, but needs some updating.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom tile looks like it's from the 1980s. Corners of the rooms and next to bed were rather dirty. If you leave your windows open, be prepared for the noise of a 230km/hr train flying by 100meters away.

    Great location right across from the train station. Rankweil is a picture perfect village, so it's hard to go wrong. Breakfast selection was nice. Price fair. Nice darkout shades which come in handy when the sun rises at 4:30am.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door between the toilet and the rest of the bathroom is not isolating sounds and odors

    Everything in the premium room is beautiful and functional. The beds are really hypoallergenic. Great location too, just in front of the railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    10
    A nice hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view which I had from the window was great. People very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    7.9
    it was all ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was all ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    10
    Nice friendly helpful people work there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I didn't like

    Nice friendly helpful people work there. Was great and handy for the train and bus station. Nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2017

    8.8
    If windows face mountains, view is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no place left for car parking, so I should park on the street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.5
    Spacious room, good facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious room, good facilities. Decent value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bit noisy as it is too close to the railway station.

    Nice staff, very good breakfast, big room with comfortable bed. Bathroom also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    7.9
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast little choice, bed is small

    big room and good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast was good and close to walk to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too hot and no aircon

    Breakfast was good and close to walk to the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2016

    8.3
    Room clean and bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning

    Room clean and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    7.1
    Awesome breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird system of doors. I didn't really understand why there were no doors to shower

    Awesome breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2016

    9.2
    We used the hotel as pass-through on skiing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing -No bar in the hotel but we went to good Italian restaurant closeby for great pizza and nice glass of wine.

    We used the hotel as pass-through on skiing holiday. We enjoyed our stay in the newly (nicely/modern) renovated spacious rooms, close to the highway Opposite the hotel there is a railroad station, but we didn't experience any issues/noice from that. The breakfast was basic(nothing spectacular), but given the price more than ok -you could ask for good (fresh beans) coffee (instant coffee at the buffet was not good). The personnel was really friendly

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2016

    4.2
    Breakfast was insufficient, the assortment was very low, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was insufficient, the assortment was very low, the service was highly unsatisfactory, they did not refill the meals, all of which ran out 1 hour before the finish of breakfast time. The room was more than simple, the bed and the bathroom was uncomfortable. For this price you would certainly expect more.

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2016

    4.6
    - Receptionists were very friendly & accommodating when...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    - The place is definitely not worthy of a 4-star rating and makes Best Western look really bad; some rooms have been remodeled while others are ancient; this place is in dire need of a complete reno! - Room advertised did not match room I stayed in; - Heater in room did not work, had to sleep in clothes and was still freezing; had the impression that the hotel was trying to save on heating costs; - Breakfast left a lot to be desired, never enough scrambled eggs and the ones that were there were extremely rubbery; wait staff also did not make an effort to bring soft-boiled eggs out but the manager of hotel was served soft-boiled egg; the supposed "fresh fruit" was old and shriveled; - Hallways smelled like cigarettes;

    - Receptionists were very friendly & accommodating when I pointed out that room I stayed in did not match the online ads;

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    7.9
    A lovely spacious room with beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was modern and spacious but didn't have a door!

    A lovely spacious room with beautiful views. Very convenient for public transport which was easy to use. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2015

    7.9
    The room was Ok but a little tired but very clean, this was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were slow in getting up so breakfast was not taken until 09:30. This was only Continental and not really to our taste. The water for showers was cold so we had Breakfast first, then the shower was really hot.

    The room was Ok but a little tired but very clean, this was expected from previous reviews which did not put us off. We were told that the new rooms are a great improvement, but did not get to see them. The staff were a great asset to this hotel, very helpful

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2015

    10
    I stayed in superior room and was impressed how large the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I stayed in superior room and was impressed how large the room was. The bathroom was outstanding, two choices of showerheads, including a large waterfall one. The staff was super friendly, everyone spoke English.

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2016

    8.8
    Very friendly staff at the reception.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very friendly staff at the reception. Very nice room

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2016

    10
    We had a room in the new part of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a room in the new part of the hotel. The room was very nice and big. Very good breakfast and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2016

    10
    Brand new large room and friendly staff.
    • Solo traveler

    Brand new large room and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2016

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything, unfriendly unorganized noises

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2016

    9.6
    limited menu in the restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    limited menu in the restaurant

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    7.5
    No coffee or tea in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No coffee or tea in the room. Small portions in the hotel restaurant.

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2015

    8.8
    Good hotel if you travel by car or train, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good hotel if you travel by car or train, close to the station with a free parking Good breakfast Clean room with all necessary facilities

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    6.7
    Good wifi, nice staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Good wifi, nice staff

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    Excellent approach to the guests, nice interior, spacious,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Excellent approach to the guests, nice interior, spacious, well-designed rooms. Convenient access and parking. We will be happy to return again.

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    Location easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location easy parking

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    8.8
    Proximity to railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Proximity to railway station

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    9.2
    The bath ground was to slippery, maybe use a plastic carpet
    • Couple

    The bath ground was to slippery, maybe use a plastic carpet

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2015

    7.5
    park if you go by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    park if you go by car. The breakfast was good! With a good options.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: