Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Imperial - A Luxury Collection Hotel 5 stars

Kärntner Ring 16, 01. Innere Stadt, 1015 Vienna, Austria

#20 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 437 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem I had was trying to get the shower temperature right.

    The exterior of the building itself is beautiful and that carries over into the lobby and bar area. My room was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. From the second I walked through the door the service was excellent. I only wish I could have spent more than one night here. Finally, the location is great. It's within walking distance of the vast majority of the important sights in Vienna.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall staff need to be friendlier and the room service needs to improve to meet a 5 star standard.

    Location is in the middle and nice. The property is historical and nice to take pictures

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location and classy palace design! this is exactly the type of the hotel we were searching for our short stay in Vienna. Got a good impression from the start as the lady at the receprion was very kind to upgrade our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old world luxury and commensurate standards of service make this a great, if your budget extends to it, base for a few days in Vienna. In my experience this compares very favourably to the Bristol. The bar area in particular is beautiful and spacious, with live piano accompaniment and a very good cocktail list. Be aware that for some occasions tables here are reserved (jazz nights for example) so getting a casual drink may not be straightforward. We didn't have breakfast, but did have one dinner in the Michelin star restaurant which was excellent. The room was spacious and virtually silent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Absolutely everything indeed! From the incredible baroque architecture, to the chandeliers everywhere, an amazing large room, marble bathroom - literally everything was outstanding! I love heritage properties, and this was amongst the best I stayed in, comparing with Alvear Palace in Buenos Aires and Oberoi Amarvilas in Agra!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet was from out of space. He misplaced our luggages from the car to our room so we were late for the appointment that we had that evening.

    Great experience. Definitely a place to return to!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This will sound petty but being British I would have liked lager cups/mugs in the room with English breakfast tea bags.

    The hotel is beautiful and extremely comfortable. The staff were also helpful and friendly without being in your face.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff unfortunately - not very helpful or polite - a huge step down from the other 5 star hotels in Central Europe where I have stayed recently

    Beautiful location, splendid building, beautiful bathroom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little bit disappointed with the room. It wasn't as grand as we had anticipated and the bathroom was tired and the shower didn't work well - was either very hot or very cold.

    Location was perfect and the breakfast was good ( although is not included in the room charge and is expensive).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I stayed, I don't like the room at all. It was dark and low ceiling. I missed the Elisabeth suite I stayed last time. Overall, I do think this hotel is very expensive. But it's the most grand and beautiful hotel in Vienna.

    My second stay, Booked a junior suite. I was given a top floor with 2 balconies on the corner. I like it in the beginning. Unfortunately, there was a storm at that night and you had no chance to open the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was totally correct. I took a wonderful carriage ride through Vienna at night.

    I lost a ring and they returned it to me. Very impressed as I could not see it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What can I say? Nothing! Everything was perfect!

    It was our second stay at the hotel. They upgraded us as they have done the first time. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is magnificent, as it was a royal palace before. We will only go to this hotel when we visit Vienna in the future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only small thing we did not like was the need to order a boiled egg at breakfast. We had to wait 5 minutes before it was ready.. Why not have boiled eggs ready? So easy. Also.. 109 euro's for parking for 3 days?

    Friendly and professional staff. Nice silent and clean room with good airco. Fast internet. Great food at the restaurants. GREAT bed with good pillows. Nice bar where you can sit comfortable and quietly. I would recommend this hotel to my friends if they wanted to stay in Vienna! Very happy we stayed here!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room I was disappointed with. My friends room was far bigger. Same price mine a double bed theirs twin.Mine was a bit faded glory. Neither room had any tea/coffee facilities. The other two hotels we stayed at in Vienna and Bratislava did. Considering the price I paid not impressed.

    Beautiful setting. Special birthday for me and my two friends to celebrate

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast as stated. No other criticisms.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. We had a newly refurbished room. Staff were of high calibre. Lunch and dinner were excellent but breakfast was very poor. We went out for breakfast as the location of the hotel readily permits this. The location of the hotel is very good for taking advantage of the superb things that Vienna has to offer. For example, across the street is the greatest concert hall and 250m away is the State Opera house. Fine restaurants are within a short walk. The concierge service was also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is expensive , but luxurious.

    Imperial Grandeur with attentive service - at a price! Absolutely beautiful interior, great Jazz bar, very good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame our taxi dropped us off at the back entrance which meant we didn't have anyone to greet us when we arrived.

    Fantastic bar! Beautiful marble, stunning chandeliers and very opulent! Delicious cocktails served by friendly staff. Had a great meal in The Opus Restaurant too. Top class food and great Austrian wines.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing You get what you pay for

    The most elegant hotel in Vienna You are treated like royalty with grace and elegance I felt as though I was a guest of the Emperor himself

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit tiring. Since the building was very old. Front desk staff are a little bit old and lack of some and passion. Unlike Hotel Scher.

    Grand hotel,very historical.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The value for money, the hotel is not justify the price

    Nothing in particular, I won't stay in this property again. It is not a luxury property which I expected it to be.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower did not work & no response from staff to repair. Food NOT 5 star. Hard to get any food reservations in hotel.

    Location & concierge staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is simply magnificent: grand and impressive, but at the same time cozy and welcoming. My room had a very comfortable bed, and was very silent - qualities I greatly appreciate. The concierge, Orlando, has been extremely kind and helpful with all my requests.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of bath room in a De Luxe room did not exceed 35 sqft. Internet did not work properly. You need to be a computer guru to get it going.

    Everything was perfect except the items on the right. I can suggest the hotel by all means.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was very satisfactory

    Turkish gentleman at the Front desk Cengiz was extremely helpful, he is an great asset to the property where he creates memorable experiences.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Professionalism of staff. Excellent restaurants - able to provide gluten free fare which was lovely ( this is VERY unusual even in5 star hotels in U.K.). Location was superb . The sheer joy of intelligent courteous informed staff who care about their guests experience.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    expensive breakfast with very limited choices of food.

    - great location , elegant furniture and design , very friendly staff , valet parking, wifi. they really care about their costumers and they let you feel like king . - they gave us free upgrade to a doplex suite with complementary fruit and sweets for our wedding anniversary . - definitely will come again to this fantastic hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury hotel with excellent facilities. Beautiful decor in both public areas and bedrooms. Very helpful and knowledgeable staff. Walking distance to most major sites in Vienna but public transport cheap and easy to use. Tram stop within 50m.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Breakfast room could be a bit overcrowded

    All the staff were outstanding

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to come back home

    Everything ! It is a gorgeous place with gorgeous service and staff !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff. Excellent location, many dining options in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvellous lobby lounge bar with double height ceiling and a truly Imperial feel, comfortable seating and impeccable service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well made hotel . Excellent staff , amazing service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Absolutely everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff - extremely pleasant , helpful, courteous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast very expensive (40€) compared to quality. Normal price should be 20€.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Imperial Torte is an excellent recommendation!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality throughout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unacceptable food quality in restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t watch netflix due to internet proxy used by the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A princely palace now an excellent luxury hotel. Everything was fine: service, room, food, quiet....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    All our requirements were satisfied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good services and nice hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff excellent overall concierge exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Living In a Palace

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Elegant hotel - linens, decor, food service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast OK,althouh goat cheese was missing on the morning table

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gym was small, no pool and sauna was not working

    The bar area was beautiful, the lobby was magnificent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice for buffet breakfast could have been wider for this price. Lack of green salad, fruits choice is poor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is amazing hotel in good location but I think it is expensive if you intend to stay for long time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow

    Every thing was OK

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gem

    Everything except the gem

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Should give more nespresso pods for the room, or charge for a 10 pack.

    AMAZING restaurant-- Opus--AMAZING.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An aristocratic hotel, beautiful, traditional. The place to be after the opera. Fantastic cafe.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast should have been included

    Bed was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed extremely comfortable. Large room with great décor and height. Service is excellent. It is a five star hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more sliced fruits for breakfast in restaurant. As well as having an incumbent bycyle in the gym.

    The bed was extra comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    Hotel accommodation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect

    Modern confort in a beautiful historical building. Extremely professional staff, efficient and overall friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved everything. Royalty at its best

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee

    Eggs were not that good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great staff,, they are helping me many times

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our room was upgraded

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location! Friendly staff and irreproachable room service.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of my favourite hotels, beautifully decorated, comfortable, good service, good food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Elisabeth Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, short walking distance from the Opera house, museums and other great attractions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super !

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was rather chilly

    The omeletes were delicious

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be warmer in the rooms. Air condition not enough to keep the rooms warm enough in cold winter days.

    Exellent overall

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfort, room,

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very expensive

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Imperial - A Luxury Collection Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: