Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altstadthotel Kasererbräu 4 stars

Kaigasse 33, Altstadt, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#78 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1434 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the staff members (the older gentleman) need to improve his customers service, I.e. smile a bit more instead a long face, which made me feel he was fed up with his job.

    The breakfast and the interior decor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot in the room and the air conditioning was not working well at all.

    The location was great and staff was very accommodating when we needed to leave the car parked a little longer. The room was big with a window where you could see the Burg.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Great place for first time visitors
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somehow it was not the same place we had been too before. The front desk staff was competent but distant. our suite had no circulation so the hotel put in fans that you had to navigate around.

    The location is super. You are only minutes away from the cathedral quarter and the fortress.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Right in city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little parking. Very important to ask for parking when you book, otherwise its possible you wont have a spot when you arrive; when you arrive you need to call the hotel to open the barrier. 15 euro is the parking tax. I suggest parking overnight in the public parking area that is about 3 minutes walking distance, it has security cameras and you end up paying about half the price

    Right in city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite we booked for our honeymoon was old and falling to bits and the bath/Jacuzzi in the centre of the room was out of order which was the only point of choosing that particular room. Poor coffee machine at breakfast. Very hot rooms in summer as no Air Con. Gentleman we encountered at the reception was not the most customer friendly. No Bar. No hotel restaurant although there’s an Italian restaurant outside that is owned by the hotel. Poor mini bar. Not a great 3 star hotel never mind 4 star.

    Great Location. Great staff at breakfast. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Trip fantastic, hotel not so much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were quite rude and abrupt. The room booked was a Jacuzzi Bath suite which came at a premium price, and the jacuzzi bath was out of order. When complaining we were messed around and told to go back to booking.com

    Excellent Location and very tidy hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    The people working there needs to learn how to smile to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people working there needs to learn how to smile to customers. Greeting pleasantly doesn’t cost at all and good way to attract more visitors but it is pity they don’t realize it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Good centrally located hotel, perfect for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't feel like a 4-star hotel room.

    Excellent location in the Old Town for sightseeing, only a few minutes walk to the funicular railway which takes you up to the castle. Good breakfast offer in a hotel full of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    SALZBURG IS LIKE A GEM SURROUNDED BY MOUNTAINS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CO ; VERY SMALL BED

    GREAT LOCATION IN THE OLD CITY; GOOD BREAKFAST; CLEAN; STAFF IS REALLY NICE AND HELPFUL; DON'T MISS THE MOVIE THEATER - AMAZING !!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got upgraded to a junior suite which of course pleased us very much. The location is great, parking available for decent price and breakfast is good as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan and my room was quite small and warm. Totally understand no air conditioning but on hot days, a fan is important for sleeping as it’s quite warm with only a heavy duvet for covers. Also the outdoor restaurant below my room was quite noisy until 10PM. Earplugs were a must if you are jet lagged.

    We had a great experience with 2 of the 3 concierges at the front desk. Two gentleman were very friendly and helpful but the other, older gentleman bordered on rude. It was quite warm in my room so I asked for a fan because my sister had one in her room. He told me they didn’t have fans so I told him that my sister’s room did. He then repeated, We don’t have fans. We had rooms in the front of the hotel. Just below our rooms was a local outdoor restaurant which was quite noisy until almost 10 PM. Happy noisy but noisy, nevertheless. My room was small and very clean. Lovely shower. Very nice breakfast. I would not stay there again, though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    The room was huge - and I was able to open the windows to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tiny thing - my milk wasn’t replaced when I’d used it in my tea.

    The room was huge - and I was able to open the windows to let fresh air in, rather than relying on air con.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Good location and friendly staff. Will be back again to watch a movie at the cinema
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room is a bit small and unexpected

    Love the interior decor and he old cinema. Easy to access to city of and Bila is just opposite for grocery. Most of the Hotel Staff are friendly and helpful especially the guy name Zeta ( if not mistaken ).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Quiet area in old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception down a few steps. Unsure if disabled access as there are ramps or slopes later. Very very small bar with service from receptionist, which can make checkin, checkout or bar service slow! Room was old fashioned. Under the table was too many electric cables and a broadband router. Wifi was problematic too. Hard to find power socket to plug anything in. Italian restaurant was small and gave a crowdeducation feeling when seated there.

    Quiet area in busy old town near tourist sights. Small bar. Elevator to rooms. Room safe in good position. Small but good closet with shelves. Good walkin shower cubicle. Hairdryer with green night light. Table. Italian restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    We loved Salzburg, and the otel added to our enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One male receptionist was quite rude and abrupt - this was reported to the Hotel management and an apology was received which was most appreciated.

    The female reception staff were exceedingly helpful and pleasant; location was great; breakfast was very well presented, delicious and with healthy options; the room was comfortable but very small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Feeling fabulous near the dom and festung
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    The other receptionist later that day was less nice (grumpy and curt, while there is a sign behind him saying 'do me a favor and smile' hahaha). Creaky floor - but we were above the cinema (from which we didn't hear anything btw) so we didn't bother anyone and we didn't hear other creaky floors above us so it's all good I guess. There was a very mismatching cabinet next to the stove. Didn't quite like the cabling of the hot tub (which we had to plug in). Lot of noise on the street in the morning.

    I loved the style of our Alt Salome room with the hot tub as room center piece. Epic! Nice place to just chill out. It was a funny mix of antique and modern. Good communication. Upon (early) arrival there was a lovely receptionist that helped us storing our luggage until check-in time. Close to many city attractions and good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.5
    Dissapointing - never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception totally unhelpful and uninterested.

    Hotel made a mistake in taking the full payment 1 month before we arrived...without letting me know. When questioned, no apology was offered.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    6.3
    Only stay here if you are out and about 90% of the day, and don't require much comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable sleep - lumpy unsupportive pillows, room stuffy and no way of controlling the heat. Breakfast was included but not worth it, would be better to grab something fresh from a cafe nearby. Trouble with our check in and requested room, even though I had spoken long in advance about what we needed. Some staff were helpful and polite, but not the most friendly or welcoming.

    Location location location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Room was excellent, breakfast was ok and nice tables.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff: no smile, like an ice cube, Andy who is working in the cinema is the only helpful and who is alive person in the Hotel. I don't know the reason, in the breakfast area and a front office the staff was if I can say unfriendly.

    Room was excellent, breakfast was ok and nice tables.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Great short stay in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, it was clean, godd location, good breakfast and cheerful helpfull staff, so excellant value for money.

    Walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    3.8
    very dissapointing - not anything like it was seen on the picture, not anything that we imagined and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located in a shaby area full of drunck people, who screamed all night long. Although close to the city centre, the walking path feels very unpleasent due to the public present in this area.

    The story of this hotel, and the cinema, the architecture of the building, the cilling

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    One word. Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism but an idea would be to have a safety rail inside the shower. The bath was a new metal one and guests may slip when leaving. Again not criticism just a suggestion for safety with older guests.

    The location was simply the best. View of the castle from beneath the skylight. Views of Salzburg from the balcony. Lovely Italian restaurant next door and very reasonable prices. Recommend staying at kassererbrau. Would like to have stayed longer. Have decided to return in the warmer months and will no doubt stay here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Next time we are in Salzburg we will be staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right in the old town, it had its own parking which was perfect. Walking distance to all sights. The breakfast room was very pleasent, quiet and the food was good. There is even an old cinema in the hotel showing films in German and English. Good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Good location and the sights in Salzburg are such that you wouldn't need to consider a repeat visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a deluxe room. It was a decent size, but boy was the decor gloomy and oppressive. In my opinion, decorating a room which doesn't get any natural light in a deep purple was a mistake. The flocked 'flamingo' wallpaper didn't help, and neither did the black desk, black fridge and black floor lamp. Personally, I think providing bathroom towels with frayed edges (in a disgusting mustard colour), is taking the shabby-chic look that one step too far. There's shabby-chic, and shabby...... The lighting in the bedroom wasn't bright enough either. It was not a room that lent itself to relaxing in after a day of sightseeing. There's a pizzeria which can be accessed from the hotel. Good pizzas, but avoid the desserts. My husband found a piece of plastic in his, and when he complained, they knocked 1.50 off the bill! Let this be a lesson - don't bother complaining about something you find in your food unless it's in the first mouthful!

    Very comfy bed, albeit two single mattresses on a kingsize bed-frame. I'd requested a bath and a room near the top of the building, and my request was fulfilled. I'd say the location was the best thing about the hotel, as it's spitting distance from the main sights of Salzburg. There's also a great little 'smokers' bar about 100 yards down on the same side as the hotel - what a treat! The hotel only supplies tea and coffee-making facilities in the suites, but if you ask (as I did), you might get lucky.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    More than happy.... If I ever return to Salzburg, I'd want to stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a closer bus stop, but that's hardly the hotels fault!

    The position of the hotel, was prefect for sightseeing the 'old town' and the staff were very helpful in directions and general enquiries. Their level of English speaking far surpassed my broken German and the fact breakfast was included made this extremely good value for money. I'd gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At our arrival, it was really difficult to get a proper service. Upper room of our suite did not have any closets, not even bedside tables. It was impossible for our children to store their stuff.

    Location. Lady staff were very kind and helpful, especially the evening shift. Carpark nearby is an added value.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed. No good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not AT ALL like the picture ; ugly, dirty , tape everywhere, dusty... We managed to change for a better looking one but it was still not worth what we paid for

    Location is great ; sauna ok but need to book with incompetent staff (call to ask if sauna is running ; they say it is ... But actually it's not... ) Breakfast ok

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Loved the option of a super early breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the option of a super early breakfast. Great Italian attached to the hotel if you don't want to go far. Great bars and places to eat just seconds away. 5 minutes walk from the old town and everything touristy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.8
    Not upto the standard when we book a 4star hotel but it was in good position and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hair conditioner or lotion in the bathroom. loose fittings: towel rails, light etc. Public WC off reception dirty and in need of refurbishment. Some of the food for breakfast not of good quality.

    very average quality overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    In the middle of history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel has been renovated 10 years ago and some equipment looks a bit "used". But that's nothing what would affect your stay in a negative way.

    The hotel is perfectly situated in the old tow, just below the castle. It is an old, really old building and the atmosphere is perfect. There is a nice restaurant in the same building and a small cinema. Very quiet location. If you want to stay in the historical centre, it is a perfect choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, a short walk into the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very busy. There weren’t enough tables and chairs to accommodate the amount of guests!

    Great location, a short walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.7
    If I ever return to Salsberg I will look elsewhere for accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were good except for one grumpy man at reception. Room was small with bad lighting made worse by a four poster bed with a painted wood canopy that blocked the overhead lights and made the room look smaller. The wooden floor sloped down to one side causing the wardrobe door to always open if not locked. The shower head was located half way down the side of the bath and there was only a small glass screen at one end so it was hard not to get water on the floor. The height adjustable shower head was also below shoulder level at the highest position, too low for me.

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.8
    Basic room but location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff seemed rude upon check in and weren't helpful when we asked to get a taxi. 2 of the staff members were great but the rest seemed very unfriendly towards us and we weren't made to feel welcome. Given the price, we found the room very basic. There was no kettle to make a hot drink and you could only get this at reception for a fee.

    location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Super Salzburg always a Welcoming Winter Sight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from street from early morning if your room faced the front. Couldn't be helped as people have to go about their daily routine and some workers start at 5am (refuse collections). Didn't spoil our holiday but may be worth noting if you are a light sleeper -ask for a room at the rear!

    The quirkiness of the hotel. The Christmas decorations in public areas & breakfast room. The cinema on the premises. The location in the old town. Easy to visit markets and castle plus town. Friendly staff. Good food at breakfast..plus a Trattoria attached to hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.7
    The room we were is was large for Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was good but some of the reviews I had read had raised my expectations beyond 'good'.

    The room we were is was large for Salzburg. It was decorated in an old-fashioned way with some nice antique touches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    great hotel in a historic theatre in a great location right...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great hotel in a historic theatre in a great location right next to the old town- it was a quick walk to most of the attractions we wanted to see in the city. the staff was super friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Sort out the rude night receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night receptionist (Male-older man) was extremely rude and abrupt whilst the other younger staff during the day and after 11pm were really polite and helpful. No provision of milk or bathrobes in our ‘junior suite’ whilst our friends had both. A little over priced for the amount of provisions we received in the room.

    Large room with lovely jacuzzi bath. Good choice for breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wooden floors in bedroom were a little dusty - noticed this when walking around with no slippers on.

    Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast plentiful and tasty and runs for a long time so chance for a lie in or early start depending on your needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Perfect hotel except for the unfriendly staff member and squeaky floor in room 216.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the Booking.com photos selection, there's a photo of the staff line-up. Rear left as you look at the photo is a staff member that shouldn't be working on reception at all. He sounded very unfriendly with no sense of warmth at all. No smile was given at any point and when this particular staff member passed me in the reception, total blank face, no smile, no "Good Morning Sir, hope you're enjoying your stay with us." Nothing. It was if I wasn't there. All other stall were friendly and helpful. This is the only really big fat minus point on what is otherwise a really nice hotel. Word of warning, room 216 should be avoided if possible. It has the squeakiest floor I've come across...shocking.!!

    Breakfast was really good with a great selection. Didn't have to eat again until evening. Rooms nicely decorated. Really great location in the old part of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.2
    Ideal location, friendly staff, clean accomodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location in old town. Just a couple of blocks from the Christmas Market. The uniqueness of the hotel and its history are to be treasured. Plan to return in a few months. The staff was friendly and helpful, and spoke English. Easy to store luggage in room behind the front desk while we toured the city. Breakfast provided scrambled and hard boiled eggs, variety of cereals, yogurts, breads, etc. Recommend taking taxi to the property, ~10 Euros from Banhhof as it is tricky to identify the bus route.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as well as the breakfast room was too crammed. Its an old building but would have been happier if the room would have been a little larger. When I had booked a small double room I did not anticipate that it would have only inches of space free around the bed.

    Location is good. A balcony attached to the room was a plus. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.9
    Location is smack dab in old town, close to everything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is smack dab in old town, close to everything you want to be close to- wonderfully close to the shopping strips. Breakfast was a huge bonus - starts early in the morning (6 or 6.30 can't quite recall) and large spread. There are two points about this property which made it suboptimal for me initially - 1) the bathroom was on the smaller side with no area in the shower to put soap/shampoo (they have a generic soap dispenser for your use) 2) for those with a tendency towards claustrophobia, the property has much lower ceilings than normal which made me quite anxious initially. Especially because the window in my room opened up in an area where I was mostly seeing corners of buildings and a glimmer of the street beneath, which added to the 'trapped' feeling. How did those two issues play out? 1) The lack of storage in the shower would have been frustrating had I stayed for longer, but the situation was very manageable by resting the soap etc that I'd bought on the adjacent sink and reaching over. 2) The low ceilings are likely because this is a pre-war area, and these buildings are historically intact, so that's the price you pay for the location and authenticity. My claustrophobia got better with a few strategies I used but if you tend to be more severely affected than myself, I'd recommend you check with the hotel re: dimensions. Had no problems with wifi. Reception at the hotel made it easy to book a taxi etc. The cleaning staff were especially thorough and lovely to deal with. The location of the hotel makes it a good base to navigate around Salzburg.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Right in the middle of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the middle of old town. Could walk easily to many sights. We had a beautiful two story suite with a balcony in one room and a sky light looking up to the fortress in the other.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    Good localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acoustic of the room Room smelling umidity We had a trouble with the neighbor room that came and knock on the door before 22h00pm and runaway. I call to the reception but I had not received any feedaback.

    Great localization

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Right in the heart of Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a challenge. Who knew you had to have reservations. GPS brought us to a huge pole and we had to figure out how to push the button on the pole to the hotel to let us in.

    Right in the heart of Salzburg. The energy in this Austrian town is spectacular. Fivbe minute walk to the to funicular up to the fortress for a memorable evening of dinner (which was just okay and reminiscent of a catered dinner at a low budget wedding reception), but the Mozart concert made up for it!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    lovely room, very nice breakfast, hotel close to so much, a beautiful place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were asked if we would like to upgrade to a suite, the extra paid was minimal when we saw the size of the suite. It was on two levels with a balcony and views to the fort. We really didn't need it but it was so nice all the same

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice experience, not perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    General location is good, but was challenging to get to the exact address (GPS dealt unsuccessfully while Waze did the job eventually). Parking place is not a simple thing to find in the area and the parking of the hotel was very expensive (unjustified considering the overall price). No channels in English in the TV, nor English subtitles which was sucks.

    Nice place, clean and comfortable. Stuff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Quirky central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night as whilst pedestrian area cars allowed in from early morning to 11am.. woken up by very loud vans trucks and people

    In the old town lovely central quirky hotel. Room had a huge bath in it.. wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Loved Salzburg, loved the hotel, not too keen on the constant rain ! Take a brolly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a shared balcony which I wasn't expecting. Luckily we shared with our friends but I would have been somewhat surprised if a stranger had appeared !

    Location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect central location in Salzburg Altstadt just below the castle and beside the cathedral. Excellent breakfast. Very comfortable beds. All round superb value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Good location. Noisy in room due to elevator. Expensive parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double bed side on to wall next to elevator. Noisy all night. Room could get a bit stuffy. Expensive parking if required.

    Good location in old town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    The area and location were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area and location were nice. The single room was small, but it was good enough for my travel needs. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel itself had character and made me feel at home in old Salzburg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good venue for a weekend in Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea or coffee making facilities would have been appreciated in the room. Curtains were worn out and only half a net curtain, thin towels too, but all manageable and good value for money.

    Excellent location in a pedestrianised area (hence doubtful if there would be anywhere nearby to park!) in the old part of the city within walking distance to all major attractions. A good 2 night stay after a week in a another part of Austria. A variety of places to eat, even on a Sunday. Pleasant, prettily decorated bedroom and comfortable bed, overlooking the main 'schloss'. Self service breakfast with a wide variety of food. We would return here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location ;warm hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    V helpful smiling front desk staff.Surprised me on my birthday with a complimentary small bottle of wine;nice biscuits ;a recipe book on how to make cookies and a personalised note left in my room when I got back in the evening I couldn't have asked for anything Salzburg is beautiful and my stay at Kasererbrau was marvellous

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel did not meet my expectations of a 4 star hotel, the room was function but basic. Having a hairdrier mounted in the bathroom that is not and can not be plugged into power serves little purpose - for example. Great location but disappointing.

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was small and dated with only window (looking) at the breakfast terrace. There was a problem with the pipes in the bathroom, not to mention the uncomfortably placed shower over bath.

    I didn't feel welcomed in this hotel and the only thing I liked about it was the location. The breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    A very comfortable stay in a very beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a free room upgrade on arrival. Beautiful suite in this old, traditional hotel with lots of character. Friendly and helpful service, exceptionally clean bedrooms and bathrooms. Central location in the Old City. Very good continental breakfast. Lots of good eating places nearby and a couple of minutes walk to all major attractions and concert halls.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.4
    Not good- don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room horribly decorated, stuffed chair water/pee stained-didn't use, no A/C, paint/ finishes chipped/ poor, breakfasthe just OK, HIGH price/ BAD value; woULd not stay there again. Ed

    Location only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Memorable albeit expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed heads obviously hadn't been cleaned for a long time as they were both sticky and crusted with old grime where your head rested. So we had to clean them both - which was a bit difficult as there wasn't much except toiletpaper and hot water to clean them with.

    Great location allowed us to easily come and go without leaving the Altstadt. And considering being in the Altstadt makes any Salzburg visit experience memorable, this is nothing to be sneezed at. It was especially handy during the 37 degree heatwave which reigned throughout our stay. It also allowed us to wander the town at leisure throughout the evening and experience a midnight thunderstorm in the main square. The location is certainly the hotel's biggest attraction. The sense of history which surrounds you also makes for an original experience. But is it worth the substantial extra cost? Depends on what you want from your Salzburg visit. The breakfast was great and the rooms quaint. The shower etc worked well with plenty of hot (or in our case, refreshingly cold) water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Great central location to be able to walk around Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A statue of a head made it seem like someone was sitting outside our room looking in. It creeped out my wife - again & again!

    Great breakfast, mix of hot & cold, fruit & nuts, bread & sandwich meats.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    Elegant, charming, and characterful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel with an incredible junior suite room. We were upgraded as it was my husband's birthday, and we couldn't have been happier with the space, elegance and class of the room! Many thanks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not well cleaned, the room was hot, no air con, the staff was not pleasant, etc.

    Breakfast was OK and the restaurant staff was nice. Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm but the fan helped. There were remnants of the last guests rubbish left on the chairs in the room which may just have been an oversight. One of the duvets was covered in small short black hairs which we had to brush off.

    Nicely decorated rooms and comfortable bed. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Ideal location and comfort for visiting Salzburg's lovely old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but at times poorly stocked.

    2 level suite was great for family accommodation with tv's with cable on each level. Views out of this world. Lovely historical building

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Over priced but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing like the photos. Being Summer and no air con makes the rooms extremely warm at night. We had deluxe room. I would hate to see the basic rooms as deluxe was nothing like the photos. I suppose it's true location costs!

    Location and history of the hotel. Easy to walk to all sights.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.9
    Smashing Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We found the decor in the room to be very dark (mauve + pink flamingos). As the hotel is old, the windows are small and we had the lights on most of the time we were in residence. Due to the heat wave it was sooooooooooooooooo hot we had the fan provided on full and then had to find ear plugs to counter its noise! Don't expect Air Con as there are likely to regulations on this type of building. That's the trouble with nice weather...

    We chose the hotel due to its location - and you cant get much more central than this. Walk out of the door and the city is there. Great walks and visits on the doorstep. Very nice restaurants too. Great selection for breakfast with eggs, bacon and sausage provided (Continental is OK but the occasional treat is appreciated) In all, a very nice visit. Salzburg is a smashing city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location for a traditional Salzburg experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Remember, this hotel has been serving guests since the 1300s. Expect limited air circulation. They provide a fan in each room and the windows open. It was very warm in Salzburg, during our stay and it is unusual to find AC in the old town. One day, our room was not cleaned, due to a miscommunication. They staff was so apologetic and immediately sent a cleaning person to the room. I really appreciate how quickly they responded to the error.

    The service was excellent. They staff the front desk 24x7 and always with someone who speaks English. They were eager to fulfill any request. The location is excellent for tourists who want to see the sites in Salzburg. Everything was walking distance from the hotel: food, shops, sites. The hotel has an old cinema and plays a film in English, once a day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Salzburg's Altstad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel on edge of Old Town
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A/C would have been nice, especially during hot summer days, but we realize it's non-standard in Europe. They do have small portable units available in the more expensive suites.

    Good location on edge of old town close to Fortress. Sizable breakfast with good variety of hot and cold foods. In hotel movie theater that shows movies in English twice a week.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    We had an incredible time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was unseasonably warm. Air conditioning would have been great.

    The staff were extremely helpful. The restaurant just outside the hotel was wonderful. The location couldn't have been better!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.3
    Depending on Luck when it comes to service quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked deluxe double room, many months before the check in dates, however, when we arrived, the hotel gave the room to other guests and didn't keep it for us. Although they upgraded us to a suite, it was not a good room, just big but stale and lack character without the nice atmosphere and coziness of the kind of room we originally booked, which we happened to have had a glimpse when the room was being made. The suite they gave us was also not half as nice as the other suites advertised in the same hotel. The service of the hotel is not stable, during the 3 nights we stayed there, half of the time we had good and helpful receptionists, the other half of the time we experienced very rude attitude, (different people on shift), sometimes cold/indifferent. The upsides are the location and the historic atmosphere of the building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was fantastic. The breakfast was well above average - great for a family. The bath rooms were updated and very nice. The rooms were comfortable with an "old world" charm. Location is difficult to beat. Incredible value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing conditions in altstad Salzburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a suite (Salome)which was really a large room with an original stucco cieling but there was not one comfortable chair in the large room the bedding comforter and pillows were greatly used as were the sheets and towels. Nothing was of four star quality except the breakfast. The armior was antique but was in dreadful condition. The upholstery on the 4 dining chars was threadbare. The room was very dusty and even when I requested a cleaning it amounted to a change of sheets and towels but the floor was not mopped and the chairs and tables left with coats of dust. The room safe was inoperable and I had to request a key to close it. All in all unsatisfactory. The staff barely reacted when requested. Will never return to that place. The Salzburg hotels in general don't offer air conditioning and this was no exception

    location and breskfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee maker in the room. Need one!

    Our patio. The staff was very helpful and friendly and in The evening the aroma from the Italian restaurant next door was terrific!!!! Loved the decor and the paintings on the staircase.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent. Room very comfortable although during our stay it was really hot and airconditioning would have been more pleasant than the fan. Very close to all sights in Altstadt. We really enjoyed our stay there Good value for money. Can recommend this hotel to anybody!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location in the Altstadt!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the staff (not all) who worked breakfast were inconvenienced by our questions.

    Great location in the Altstadt! Convenient shopping nearby. Lots of nice restaurants and cafes in the Kaigasse.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altstadthotel Kasererbräu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: