Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mühlviertlerhof

Graben 24, 4020 Linz, Austria

#41 of 48 hotels in Linz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 488 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    2.5
    The worst stay I've experienced on bookings.com!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was initially assigned to room 301, upon check in (close to midnight), there were no curtains in the room. Everyone in the opposite building could see inside our room. We had to hang out clothes on the vent bar in an attempt to maintain some privacy and keep the light out as the sun rises at 0515. Additionally, there was no furniture or luggage rack to open our suitcases. The room was steaming hot and I had to keep the windows open for air; however, within a few minutes the room filled with mosquitos that bit my family and I from head to toe. The room also used winter bedsheets instead of summer ones. The bathroom was miniscule and everything was poorly placed. After complaining directly to bookings.com, I was told they would contact the property (as there was no one available at the property due to the time). The following day the receptionist informed me "I am very sorry, we gave you our last room which was recently renovated, but it still was not ready to rent." The receptionist then deferred all the blame to bookings.com saying "they were at fault for renting the room." I was shocked at his statement and demanded restitution for the poor quality of the room. The receptionist agreed only to refund me 50% of the first night (I have yet to receive the refund), and provide me with another room. I was then assigned to room 209. While appearing slightly better (looks can be deceiving) I agreed to terms as I was very tired from the long trip and a lack of sleep from the previous night. Room 209 was much worse in the sense that (while there were curtains for privacy and to block out sunlight) it is impossible to sleep in this room. The room is located on a highly transited street with various shisha bars. Also, the rooms facing this street are bombarded with directly sunlight in addition to traffic pollution, the sunlight superheats the room and they don't cool down.

    This property is an insult to tourist! We suffered a horrible and wretched experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The location was very central and convenient for shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were only very occasionally staff on reception, so the hotel felt more like an annexe. This meant that there was nowhere secure to leave our luggage on the last day, although we left it anyway and it was fine as the door has a security code. Also our room did not have air conditioning so it was very warm at night.

    The location was very central and convenient for shops and restaurants. The hotel was also clean and well cared for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    The problem above was a bad experience about the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They chaged classic key door locking systembto electronic without a notice so we were locked out. Looking for a hotel employees we found after a while the code to be used to enter the room. To block a guest not to enter to his own room is a surrprise I we are not used!

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money in a central location and helpful, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lot of noise coming from the road, especially from the cafe across the street until about midnight. However I am sure if we had of asked for a different room we would have been given one so no complaints really. There is no air con so the room can get quite hot, opening the windows worked just fine :)

    Great value for money and the hotel is in a central location. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I would use this hotel again if visiting Linz. 4 out of 5 stars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    Had to go to different hotel to check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to go to different hotel to check in. Had bikes but second hotel did not know where to put bikes in first hotel. Had to bring bikes back to second hotel. Bedroom window wouldn't open. Very hot in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice tiny hotel with friendly staff, poor breakfast and room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness - dirty carpet, no service during our stay. Kitchen really dirty. Breakfast - very poor offer, no refilling.

    Spacious room, lovely terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Lovely antique hotel in a brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was very good. The breakfast is really nice and you get to make your own eggs. The staff are very friendly. The hotel is very unique and has an antique feel to it..i will definitely come back again and again....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    very expensive for what we got and well below the standard we expected from the reviews.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room we were given had broken furniture, broken coat hooks, badly rusted basin tap and an old traditional bed that was so creaky we could not sleep in it. There was no temperature control in the room or tea and coffee making facilities. When we complained we were given another room but it also had no temperature control and no curtains over the skylight windows allowing neighbors to see in the room. The dining room ran out of certain foods for breakfast which was not remedied even days later. We did not believe this hotel rated even the 3.5 star it has been awarded.

    The hotel was in an excellent location, very close to the city center and the attractions we wanted to see.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.0
    For 10€ extra, I should have booked into an established hotel rather than gamble with my health.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The door to my room was basically in the breakfast area. Come morning, I was woken by sounds coming through. The room lighting was very dim, lending a sense of decay. The tv didn't work. There was a hole (rotted floorboard) in the floor that was covered by carpet, so that every time you walked on that spot, it reminded you of all the mold underneath. The breakfast was below modern standards. A kind of "bare minimum" approach.

    The clerk at reception was polite. The hotel was close to my trip venue.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Very convenient hotel in the centre of Linz
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A lot of dark timber, that gave the hotel character. It's very central. If one needs to get a tram to/from the station, there is a stop close by at Taubenmarkt/Landstrasse. (Just press the button for a "mini" ticket and put in the coins. It's cheap.) The bed was comfortable. One can cook a fried egg or scrambled eggs on the hot plate in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location - very central - but do not book if you are a non-smoker.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very basic; internet very slow; staff and/or guests allowed to smoke inside the hotel - lobby smelled of stale tobacco mornings and evenings when leaving/returning to the hotel. On one occasion someone openly smoking in the lounge by the reception with ashtray provided by hotel. Standards have dropped since our last visit here 5 years ago.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Very central. Good value for money.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only available in lobby downstairs. Having to walk from the public carpark to hotel. Luckily we did not have heavy luggage.

    Central location. Very large room. Receptionist friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not use wifi in our room. I asked at reception and was told it was due to us being on the 2nd floor. So much for free wifi. We could not get to sleep due to the noise outside, music blaring and so much shouting. Thank god we only stayed one night.

    The man at the reception was king enough to help us with the luggage upstairs. Hotel was in a central location very close to city shops.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice & Economical
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cons: No beverages, no toiletries (except soap) and no English t.v channels available in room. Also, my room key was exactly similar to one on the second floor, so this is an issue.

    Pros: Perfect location, in the heart of linz city. Just 10 minutes from Linz central station. Mc Donalds, supermarket, diners nearby as well. Owner is a very Friendly guy, and the breakfast is simple and good. Nice classical decor and varies from room to room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    9.6
    Location is great and staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi could have been a little better.

    Location is great and staff were very friendly. Breakfast was self service - you could fry your own eggs. Building is old but it added to the stay Too often hotels are all the same.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Very convenient to many sites and transportation.
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was 84 degrees when I got there due to great heat in the floor. Had big windows and a fan so I was comfortable.

    Very convenient to many sites and transportation. Staff very helpful. Breakfast excellent. My room had a nice bathtub with the shower.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Well worth staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I thought the Hotel was a touch pricey but still it was very good. to stay.

    Staff were excellent,freindly and helpful and the security was excellent too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    10
    Owners and staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some rooms are on a busy street. If you want an especially quiet room be sure and request it ahead of your arrival.

    Owners and staff were wonderful. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    7.9
    Right in the heart of Linz :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Special price deal for "Genius" users is the standard room rate for anyone. Little bit worn out and elderly smell.

    Perfect location, friendly staff, rich breakfast, very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    very uncomfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location everything else was not very good, roasting hot, no air con, no fan, no tea making facilities, broken lamp, and no staff seen at all

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean rooms
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were pleasant

    Clean rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel under reconstruction.

    Great location. Quiet and clean room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    room was not the same of the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was not the same of the photos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Great highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great quirky family feel hotel , relaxing and happy atmosphere, very good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.8
    It was no more than ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed extremely noisy, wifi non-existent, rooms very hot.

    Great location, good breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    The receptionist during the morning, Marta, was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist during the morning, Marta, was perfect!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location in the Center, very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was squeaking. 😳

    Good location in the Center, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    4.6
    Great location but poor value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation was very dated

    Accommodation was very spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    7.9
    As a traveler from Asia with heavy luggage not possible to lift it to the stage to take a lift
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    All very goof

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    8.8
    The location is great, close to everything!
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, close to everything!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, good bed, quiet room! Furniture and toilet quite old but everything clean! Hotel with an atmosphere of a Gasthaus:)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.6
    Nice little hotel in the City Center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly staff; excellent service; delicious breakfast; very good location in the city center

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not strong in room

    staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    Relaxing , happy and comfortable!
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfy , the hotel was homely, excellent value and very quirky in a very good way

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    7.9
    Noise outside during the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside during the night.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.3
    All as described with a friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in breakfast room.

    All as described with a friendly welcome

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    5.8
    Central Location of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking rare around the hotel or alternatively quite far away and only until 8am. Parking cheap though - just 3 Euro per night/entry. Asked first staff member for a late-check out at 7pm but was refused and asked to pay another whole night. Second staff member agreed though. Although booked with a baby no baby-bed was arranged. Older city building with lots of angles and small steps here and there. Not so easy to access with a small baby, stroller, luggage etc.

    Central Location of the hotel. Just 2-3 minutes walking distance from downtown shops.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    9.6
    Staff is really wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't have any complaints. This hotel is "pricey", but I was very lucky to find a room there. Linz was virtually sold-out, so prices will be sky high. Of course, I would stay there again!

    Staff is really wonderful. Very helpful and friendly, I appreciated all of them. Fabulous breakfast with all sorts of choices . . .

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    6.7
    Location is right on.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    First, the mattress was beyond terrible, I actually slept on the floor. The mattress is totally worn out... please throw it out, needs replacing now! There was no WiFi, which is important for business people. After meeting I returned to hotel at 9.30pm to find reception was closed, no information for log in for WiFi anywhere to be found. Parking was a big problem. I wrote to the hotel a number of days prior asking, I always do as I have a rare and expensive car, first time ever from any hotel, no response to 3 emails.

    Location is right on. Hotel is clean & very quiet, staff nice.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    10
    -Everything, especially if you travelling with children...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -there are few stairs till elevator, but it is nothing comparing with the advantages of this hotel

    -Everything, especially if you travelling with children nothing can beat this place. They gave us huge room

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    Lovely stuff, clean rooms, excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Can't write anything here

    Lovely stuff, clean rooms, excellent location. The little guest house give you the perfect picture of the Austrian life stile . Next door there is an authentic restaurant with fresh organic food and a house made beer ! Bars , grocery , restaurants are just 1 minutes from the Door step! Highly recommend!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.3
    Location, location, location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Street noise

    Location, location, location

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    6.7
    Good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No WIFI, on the 3. floor, no free parking

    Good position

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    6.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked family room for 3 but it was not available upon our arrival. Without any apology we got two separate rooms.

    good location

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    10
    Location and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and comfort

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    10
    The unique experience if you take themed room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The unique experience if you take themed room. We took one with knight, it was really nice stay. We really liked this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.9
    Charming hotel, with great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Charming hotel, with great breakfast! Also try the restaurant next door, which has a garden in the back yard of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    Location is in center and all points of interests are near.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Extremely noisy street. No air-conditioning. Breakfast is average.

    Location is in center and all points of interests are near.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Fan in summer, big room and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom, and there is no introduction for the transport how to get to the hotel.

    Fan in summer, big room and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    7.1
    The location, the interesting decor, the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The electricity point in the bathroom needed attention.

    The location, the interesting decor, the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    8.3
    The breakfast and the fact I had the facility of a bath!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast and the fact I had the facility of a bath!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    10
    The most-->
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There are not bad experiences

    The most--> near of everything! Tranvía, stores, bars (Rox, just some steps) restaurantes

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: