Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen 4 stars

Wiedner Gürtel 14, 04. Wieden, 1040 Vienna, Austria

#176 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2234 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Close to the Haupthanbof and easy access to UBahn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception not very patient, as if we were bothering them with our questions (which were not that many). Did not feel welcome.

    Close to the Haupthanbof and easy access to UBahn

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    This hotel, yet big is very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view outside the hotel is a bit dull and the interior design is a played out but it's not a big deal considering the assets this hotel has.

    This hotel, yet big is very quiet. Staff is very nice. This hotel is very comfy! I'll definitely return if i had to come back to Vienna!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    This was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary holiday and the hotel helped towards a memorable time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main entrance and in particular the bar area could be upgraded and made into a more commercially successful and welcoming social area.

    Friendly atmosphere with a very helpful reception team in a very typical Austrian hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable but so much noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked so close to the train station as we knew we needed to be somewhere we could just relax and sleep but were woken up at 6am from construction workers next door this ruined our whole day as we had to travel and couldn’t sleep the main reason we booked hotel right next to train station if I had of known I wouldn’t have booked it we are still recovering from no sleep and it’s ruined our next stop

    Close to train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Vienna by the Bahnhof.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion in the billing process, but it was resolved before we left.

    Sound insulation was exceptional from the street, made sleeping in a busy city easy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    4.6
    Bad Experience with staff...........Wonderful location & comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    STAFF behavior very bad....At reception one gentleman...tall & half bald....was reluctant to help me as I approached him for help at mid night....He state at the middle of night ...he is tired..to answer any question Other staff are also not that helpful...

    Location -----nearby bus stop, rail & sights Facilities-----Ok Money----A bit pricey

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    nice hotel near to the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice Hotel close to the railway station when you leave the station, head for the entrance near the small burger king walk about 50 yards to the pelican crossing cross the road and head left at the main road, cross at the traffic lights and then turn right its about 100 yards to the hotel the staff were very helpful and good with directions its about a 15-20 min walk into the main tourist area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weird, pokey room. The lack of tea/coffee making facilities. The ancient furniture. The duvet that was too small. The lack of space.

    I liked that check in was easy and wifi worked most of the time. The lobby looks like old-school glamour, it's a shame the rest of the hotel is just old. Proximity to HBF is good though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    A very comfortable room with a fabulous breakfast right near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very comfortable room with a fabulous breakfast right near the main train station in Vienna. Also right on the subway line Friendly and helpful staff Looking forward to visiting the Hotel Eugene when we return to Vienna

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Aknowledgeable staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive with breakfast not included in the price. The room needed some fresh repainting. Works outside starting at 6 am.

    Aknowledgeable staff. Room with a decent size. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.7
    Average place to stay. with good location, but not a 4 star hotel (to today's standards).
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cleaning staff was not professional at all. The cleaning staff didn't do a good job cleaning the toilets. I had shaved and the thing that was annoying was that they would put new towels on the side of the sink and then clean the sink itself. So all the hair ended up in the face towels. They also didn't do a good job cleaning the sink on the second day of my stay, but later they clean it well. Also the outside of the hotel looks really bad. The picture presented do not truly show how bad the facade looks like. It looks like prison. Rusty and old

    I especially liked the double windows. It eliminated the outside noise completely. The reception staff was exceptionally kind. They also provided me with power adapter on my request. The breakfast was really good as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.5
    Pleasant, excellent service from all members of staff, cleanliness good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could have had tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Room spacious for 3 people staying. Breakfast wide range of choice. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Naff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar menu showed that there were cocktails and stacks available, but these were never available. The room layout was awful, no dressing table or mirror in the room, the whole décor was outdated and the TV was very old and the picture quality was diabolical. Bathroom was narrow, toilet too high. 2 single beds were put together to make a double and it was uncomfortable because of a gap in the middle. The lifts are narrow and dark. Breakfast tables were occasionally left dirty, glasses are far too small for the juice and not enough continental choice. No minibar available in the room.

    The Staff were polite and helpful. Hotel located near to Central Station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall a good stay at a sensible price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tv in the room was so old, with a fuzzy picture, not flat screen, that Noah must have had it with him on the Ark !!!

    Good position for main rail station. Near to the Belvedere Palace. Good breakfast. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    The hotel has an ideal localization, if you have such a goal as we did: the Wiener Staatsoper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfasts are very good (wide choice). The reception desk staff is pleasant and helpful. We remembered from our previous stay there that the beds were comfortable. Good news: that has not changed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.8
    Definitely worth its price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony door was a old and it was noisy when the wind was strong. Everything else was fine.

    Definitely exceeds expectations based on that price range. Pleasant staff, good facilities and really clean room. Plus balcony with a good view upon the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly reception staff. Lost our booking even though we had a clear, printed out confirmation and were not the least apologetic or in any way communicative about what the issue was. Rooms shabby and uncomfortable. Very old, tired, musty hotel.

    Very close to station. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Good job people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is close to the Belvedere palace so not exactly in the city centre. Nothing a 5 buck uber can't fix.

    Great time at Novum Prince Eugen! Great reception service, clean room, quiet location, great breakfast, warm bathroom, GREAT value for money! Would send my parents there. They like baroque style too :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    A well placed hotel, with good facilities - would consider staying here again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The toilet paper was like cardboard! There was no room orientation as such and being from South Africa we were not aware of the room radiators and had to figure a few things out. Some lovely reception staff but also one rather unfriendly man. We did not have a balcony as expected according to our room description.

    Very nice room with good facilities. Good selection at breakfast, and plenty of food available. Easy to get to being by the station and the underground.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Age and facilities of the room. No tea making facilities was very poor. The room was far too small for three people. The decor is hideous. The breakfast trolley rattling around by the waiter so early in the morning and being used to pick up dirty dishes from a few tables is both offensive and lazy. No way is this a four star hotel.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful Christmas in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle in the room.

    Excellent hotel, close to main train station. Friendly and welcoming staff. Wonderful shower and warm rooms after cold days exploring. Beautiful Christmas tree in main reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    7.5
    its prime location is only few hundred yard from central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is a little bit old and narrow. In terms of breakfast, the bread is not the same quality as their rooms

    its prime location is only few hundred yard from central station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV (old rounded screen device, only few SD quality channels) A little noise from main street (unfortunately I had room on the wrong side of the hall)

    Good location Good price Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great staff and quite comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a double room but was given a twin room with a large wooden separator in the middle of the beds. Decor was a bit dated, though not too big of a deal, but we couldn't adjust heating to be warmer. Typical with European hotels, a shower curtain would have helped prevented water going all over the bathroom floor. Instead there is just a small transparent panel near the faucet that doesn't help much.

    Great location, 5 minute walk from Vienna Central Station with supermarkets and several resturants, Belvedere Palace, and the subway station to the city center. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was great. Room was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.9
    Perfectly happy with the experience in light of the price paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is a little dated. Its comfortable and it is well kept, but perhaps could do with a little updating. Ours was an adjoining room and there could sometimes be a little noise from next door.

    The main positive for this hotel is definitely the location. Its very close to the new main train station and the public transport, as with most major european cities will get you where you want.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    we will definitely recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows need to be renewed. old fashioned crt tv's in the rooms should either be changed by flat tv's mounted on the walls, or discarded. the tv's occupy a lot of valuable space from the guests.

    Location is very convenient, close to all types of public transport. City centre is only half an hour away by walking. Breakfast is super, although the same open menu is served every morning, there are lots of options to choose from. Free wifi is available everywhere within the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Great City Break base at a reasonable cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ITC at the bar till didn't work and my bar bill had to be manually counted. Think I was diddled!! But no regrets and any over payment can be viewed as a tip.

    Location and comfort.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Short city trip at a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wasn't able to change the thermostat - it was just too warm for me; also would appreciate a kettle for a cup of tea in the room.

    Great breakfast spread; good wifi connection, staff are generally friendly and helpful; good location - 5 mins walk to Wien Hbf and metro; spacious and comfortable. Perfect for a short stay, and if you're only here to sleep and have breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay and would use the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was quite dated in decor and tv was very old but by the look of a new plug on the wall it could be about to be replaced with a flat screen tv. We had a drink in the hotel one evening. Prices were outrageous.

    The hotel Was within walking distance of the main station where trains run every half hour to the airport and take about 20 minutes. Our room was at the back of the hotel so it was extremely quiet at night. The bed was very comfortable with lovely crisp linen. Good pillows too. The bathroom was quite small but had been refurbished and had a very good shower. There was a good choice of food at breakfast and the staff were extremely efficient at clearing and resetting the tables.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.8
    Lovely helpful staff. Good hotel at great price. Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Staff really helpful. Rooms clean and all you needed for short stay. Breakfast was excellent with really good choice. 2 mins from train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast is very good with varieties of food for choosing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is old-fashioned and the air-con cannot adjust the temperture by ourselves.

    Breakfast is very good with varieties of food for choosing. Location is good, just 5 minutes walk from the train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Hotel in a convenient situation and the atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold croissantes at breakfast and the toasting machine could be improved. Felt sorry for the staff at breakfast- they worked hard but were very short staffed in the dining room at breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful giving us valuable information when requested eg a good local restaurant to visit and where the police station was on reporting a stolen purse . Bedding clean and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.6
    Not a 4 star hotel its for me a 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We needed to change room 2 times because the heater from the room was not working, and in the second room the window was damage...this is not a 4 star hotel...not good at all. Rooms are real bad

    breakfast good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.0
    rude staff. but good location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very unfriendly. They said breakfast is included when I checked-in (additionally confirmed and told me the details information about breakfast) and after that charged me extra. They should have explained much more carefully when they want to charge it later.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Perfect for running to the Belvedere and catching a train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a proper restaurant for dinner though you can order from a limited menu at the little bar but it wasn't too attractive so maybe it's best to go out.

    Perfectly situated a block away from the main train station and about the same in the other direction to the Belvedere Museum and Klimt's Kiss and Judith and others which are lovely as well as a whole room of Egon Schiele paintings. Farther away from the centrum but still walkable or close enough to the train and buses. Inexpensive, practical, and rooms simple, clean, and comfortable. They also will hold your luggage upon checkout which is nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    A good place to stay for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the main road but the insulation was so good we couldn't hear the traffic at all. Easy access to metro and tram. Very comfortable and good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Old and charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and charming hotel. Outside a bit unwelcoming (hotel facade and big motorway in front of facility) but inside a lot of charm. Good hotel for just one night. Very close to Wien Hbf (Vienna Central Train Station).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff here are super nice and give me a lot of reference and help. Truly thankful! The place is good to locate and is very close to traffic hub, within 5-10 minutes' walk distance. Besides, the rooms we stay have balconies, which provides different angle of perspective.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    When we arrived we had a bad surprise.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we had a bad surprise. I had booked the hotel using diners club card. Noone informed me by email that the hotel one month ago stopped working with Diners. The man in the reception told us to find a solution and that the hotel was not obliged to inform me about it. It was the only card I had an if I had not friends inVienna to give me money all the group would no have rooms to stay. This is outrageous because if I was there as a tourist I would have a great problem. Please when someone books a hotel with a card inform him that the card is not accepted.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast and with hot and cold dishes in a bright and cheerful setting. Staff were friendly and helpful. We took the train from the airport and the hotel was across the street from the main station.It would have been nice to have a restaurant for dinner but meals, although limited were offered in the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a good location which is a 10-minute walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a good location which is a 10-minute walk to the Vienna Hbf. Our room was good that met our expectations. The bed was comfy and the interiors of the hotel look very classic. Breakfast was good with a decent selection. It's so convenient to travel from the hotel to the Vienna city center by walking to the nearest tram station which is only 5 minutes. Staff was very friendly and helpful, providing us with a stack of "things to do in Vienna" flyers. You can purchase a Vienna Pass at the Reception, just have to inform them during your check-in. Overall, it was a good stay! Also recommend, thank you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Great for train travel to or from the airport and to destinations like Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little in the way of restaurant for supper or lunch although the train station with many food outlets was just a two minute walk.g

    Breakfast buffet had something for everyone. The hotel was across the street from Vienna HBF train station which was convenient to the airport and in going to Salzburg and other destinations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, clean, great breakfast, everything you could need
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can think of is they could upgrade their TVs in the rooms.

    Everything, the location was great, the staff were lovely, the rooms were clean, breakfast was excellent, everything you could want during a stay in a hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Great City- will definitely return soon and will definitely choose Prince Eugen Hotel again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    not really important, but maybe an automatic front door would be good... especially if you carry a baby trolley or big luggage.

    Very nice hotel 10 minutes walk ( or two metro stations) from the city center, right next to the Belvedere Palace. Staff very very polite and helpfull, breakfast very tastefull and more than sufficient and room very spacious with quick wi fi ... add the exceptional view from the 7th floor, so what else do you need from a hotel??By the way, Vienna is magnifisent !!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    hotel staffs are nice. close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staffs were friendly and arranged taxi for me to the airport. Room is clean and comfy. Even it's facing the back, it's a good view. Room size is big enough and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Friendly hotel staff & clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is quite old and carpet needs to be replaced. Breakfast is quite boring with same choices everyday and not tasty. The hotel is not very close to the train station or metro if you are carrying luggage with tiring bodies. It took 5 mins from train station. Nothing much around that area and so quiet. I can't even find a grocery store on that street. You can only grab food from the train station.

    All hotel staffs are friendly and responsible. They answered and helped me for my 3 nights stay. They allowed me to leave my luggage during the days I visited to Prague & Budapest. Bathroom and room are clean with reasonable size.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Very large rooms, good bathroom, nice views and room nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Television small and old, no tea/coffee making. No extra pillows. Bar staff not familiar with English drinks

    Very large rooms, good bathroom, nice views and room nice and quiet. Reception staff very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Good breakfast, very good transport connection around the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only a few restaurants around the hotel but there is a good connection to city centre by the public transport or about 15 minutes by walk.

    Good breakfast, very good transport connection around the hotel (train, s-bahn, underground, tram). Chateau Belvedere with park and alpine garden is around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel, and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel, and it wasnt a disappointment. The hotel is very close to the main railway station and several tram / bus routes. The breakfast has a wide range of items and caters for most tastes. The check in was easy and quick.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Great little place in pricy Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and still had an old TV with CRT that took up desk space, hopefully the hotel will soon install flat screen TVs.

    Excellent location near the main rail station and the U-bahn. Bathroom was recently renovated and very modern with new tile, fixtures, and lighting. Price is very reasonable for Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place if arriving by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV was old and although a colour set all the very limited channels were in black and white, unbelievable in the 21st century. Our room had a dividing door to the bathroom area which was obviously recycled and had been hung upside down as the top part was wood but the bottom 2/3s glass which must be a safety concern as a child/person could do serious injury if they walked into it.

    The hotel was very handy for the main Vienna railway station which is what we wanted. Inside was very grand with wood panelling, marble and chandeliers, it was like stepping back in time. Rooms look like they are being upgraded as our bathroom was fitted out to a high standard. Breakfast was very good with a great selection of food on offer and very efficient staff clearing tables and re-stocking. One criticism was every table had a pot of coffee already laid out. This could have sat there for a very long time and I think the ability to make fresh coffee as required would have been a better option.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient for Vienna main rail station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was old-fashioned.

    Very convenient for Vienna main rail station. On a very busy road but very well soundproofed and we had a room at the back with a great view over Vienna. Excellent buffet breakfast with a great choice constantly replenished by cheerful staff. The chambermaid service was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was adequate but could have been a little more inviting.

    The size of the room and the convenience of a separate toilet and hand-basin. The cleanliness of all areas. The helpfulness of the staff. The closeness of the trams, metro, and the main railway station. It was very easy to access the city and also to get out to see the Danube.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good location and comfortable hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old box model TV (I think 1900's). Bad reception and very snowy. Need to replace this. Very small bathroom. No tea/coffee facilities.

    Spacious and comfortable room. Very good location as close to main central station. Balcony and nice view. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could not take advantage of the free breakfast because our train left early. we left hungry

    It was a beautiful room across from the railway station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location, near Belvedere Palace and 1/2 hour from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    beds, tv,old furniture

    Good location, near Belvedere Palace and 1/2 hour from city center by foot. At 500 meters you will find metro station/tram station/bus station. 35 minutes from airport The beds and TV are old. The price is ok. The breakfast is monoton. The entrance is ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    We would stay there again as it was convenient, and not too expensive, but will look elsewhere too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast arrangements. They were very short staffed and tables were all left with dirties and food not replaced. Cutlery boxes not filled, all due to only one or two staff members in attendance.

    It was comfortable, but breakfast chaotic - very short staffed so not good! Otherwise very convenient as close to the main Station as we were travelling onward. Good restaurants nearby. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Easy access to train station, trams and buses. Very warm and friendly reception. Room was comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    A cozy hotel near the train station, with good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view is not good, especially I am facing towards multiple construction sites. There could be some noises during the morning and afternoon. In my opinion, the area around the hotel at night is quite dangerous and eerie. Should pay more attention or avoid getting back at night on foot.

    Overall, it is a great hotel. Firstly, the location. The location is great if you are travelling by train. It is very close to the main train station in Vienna, which is extremely good if you planning to travel to and from Vienna by train, or going to nearby cities by train. The room is small, compact yet really comfortable, largely due to the functioning air-conditioning. I felt great staying in the room as it was cozy. The toilet is decent with whitish design. The lobby looks grand. The staff is nice and courteous, they gave me clear directions on travelling around Vienna. The wifi speed is also good. Good value for money too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    Weekendtrip to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are rather small

    Good hotel, close to metro and train station Friendly staff Good breakfast buffet Perfect hotel for a weekendtrip to Vienna. Belvedere is around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Loved the location, helpfull & professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb laid out breakfast Staff very accommodating, we arrived quite a few hrs earlier than our book in time & asked if we may be able to stow our bags until check in time, after asking us to take a seat we were then given our room keys & were very happy to get a shower & rest after a 19 hr flight

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and fabulous location, would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed not having tea/coffee making facilities in the room and there no face cloths in the bathroom. We forgot our own but the hotel only provides a large and small towel.

    Nice comfy bed, the staff were helpful and the location was brilliant for the main station and it was about a 20 min walk to the main area. Don't be put off with the hotel being on a main road, there are 2 double glazed window units which when shout you not hear a peep. Breakfast is ample with a choice of hot and cold food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Convenient, comfortable, and quiet.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy walking distance from Wien Hauptbahnhof. Frühstück offered healthy muesli, oats, yogurt, and fruit without added sugar in addition to boiled eggs and good bread. Got top-floor room away from street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Good, convenient place to stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing with the hotel actually. There was some huge construction going on next to the train station so the nearby street and area was not so impressive during my stay. But in the future, I guess this area will become more centralized and lively.

    Close to the train station and underground station. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We were leaving on Sunday and wanted to buy something from supermarket. The staff gave us some good advice on where we could find an opened supermarket when most of the shops closed on that day. Excellent value for a very nice room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    A great hotel next to Belvedere
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No extra facilities in the hotel - just a breakfast place and that was it.

    An old facade hides a modern hotel with nice staff. The location next to the Main Station is a plus, too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very close to the station, which is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very close to the station, which is very convenient if you have to travel by train. Also, it is close to a metro station with fast connection to the city center. The personnel in the hotel is very kind. They try to help you with any need and provide a lot of touristic information. I found the ratio quality/price excellent for a hotel in Vienna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Somewhat disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had no door and the bathroom flooded when showering. Poor quality TV. Double bed had two single quilts instead of one large one. Lousy pillows.

    Good breakfast and close to the main international train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Hotel Prinz Eugen stands well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    Some issues with house keeping and when they would come to room, but a talk with front desk cleared it up quickly and smoothly

    There are many hotel choices near the Vienna Main Train Station now. For the best access to the city transportation, the Hotel Prinz Eugen is still the best bet. I was there early July, heat wave, and I was comfortable in the hotel and in my room. The breakfast buffet is very good, the staff are quick to keep the food trays full and the coffee is excellent. I also liked having a bar for a wind down drink at the end of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    Oh Vienna we loved you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit of a way out of Vienna and next to a derelict piece of land which made it look scruffy. Staff were very helpful though in getting us around. Great restaurant around the corner Sperl Restaurant.

    breakfast was great a good selection. Close by to the tram stops and train station to get to Vienna

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    It was quiet and near the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer Service and contact by two staff members who were rude. Only one out of 3 staff we dealt with at the front counter was pleasant (lady with the bob haircut was fabulous). The breakfast staff were amazing though on both days. We were upgraded to a suite the first night and this room was fine. The air con worked well and the bed was comfortable. The second night we got transferred to a standard room- which was like a box. Very jammed with poor aircon. We had a shocking nights sleep on very uncomfortable beds- 2 singles pushed together to make a double bed! In the end we opened up the window,lay the duvet below us for comfort as this was better than the noisy hot and cold experience we were getting. The Staff member wasn't very helpful at midnight regarding the air con. So overall it was a shame to have this negative experience in such a beautiful city. We would not stay at this hotel again. Simple things like consistent manners, air con that worked properly, good towels and a softer mattress would have made this the perfect place to stay. Interestingly enough, the hotel seemed to have put better mattresses,air con in the suite we had on the first night. We've stayed all over the World and feel this hotel could do better.

    It was quiet and near the train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the old TV,but it was not really important ...

    The staff was very friendly...the hotel was quite close to the Central railway station that was very important for our short trip from Budapest to Vienna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.8
    GOOD LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "free" wifi. I couldn't make it work, nor could the front desk. I later had the same difficulty at the train station and on the train. Eventually, I learned how to trick it into working. I have been to five other countries on this trip and the wifi worked perfectly everywhere. WHAT IS WRONG WITH AUSTRIA ??? The breakfast was adequate, but the dishes were cleverly engineered to restrict the amount of breakfast one could eat.

    The location. I literally walked to the train station, even with luggage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and comfort room, tasty breakfast, nice people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the windy night, the doors of the room were knocking and making quite loud sound (room 716).

    Very nice and comfort room, tasty breakfast, nice people

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    A good choice for people traveling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Close to Vienna main railway station and underground. Had a good sized room at the back of the hotel, I thought it could be noisy being on a main road but I never heard a sound the bed was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was buffet style and included boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, as well as the usual continental choices. There is a small bar with some outdoor seating but no restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.8
    The hotel breakfast was tasty and the beds were confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels appearance from the outside looked like something from bay roots, it was very dated and nothing like the picture - the tv looked like something from the 70's

    The hotel breakfast was tasty and the beds were confortable

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Prinz Eugen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: