Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grauer Bär 4 stars

Universitätsstraße 5-7, Innenstadt, 6020 Innsbruck, Austria

#31 of 66 hotels in Innsbruck

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2188 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a baby changing table in the toilet downstairs. The garage was small and there were not many places for cars.

    Very friendly service. Excellent location close to the Old Town. Many-sided breakfast. Good and tidy rooms with modern bathrooms. Mostly for international business guests but also nice for a family.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    No frills in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is pretty basic and the hotel bedroom would benefit from air conditioning.

    No frills accommodation located in a great part of Heidelberg. Guy on reception when we checked in was really helpful and made sure we had all the information we needed to enjoy our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Awesome location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms did not come with bottled water, kettle or coffee machine.

    Awesome location! Stone's throw to the old town and golden roof. Very comfortable hotel, that keeps its old historical charm while being modern on the inside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff Also the picture on Bookings.com is very misleading. The front of the hotel is not as pictured, that is a different location.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Just what we wanted on route through Austria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions

    Very pleasant hotel, tastefully extended and modernised. Very close to the old part of town. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Rooms comfortably equipped. Although busy the reception dealt speedily with guests arriving and leaving.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was wonderful and enjoyed every minute we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very nice and comfortable. We enjoyed this location very much. We went to the old town and enjoyed it very much. Had great food and the people were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    A VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY IN INNSBRUCK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTHING,

    THE HOTEL WAS VERY GOOD AND THE STAFF WERE CONSISTENTLY COOPERATIVE AND HELPFUL. IN ADDITION THE LOCATION WAS EXCELLENT IN TERMS OF PROXIMITY TO MANY OF THE MAJOR TOURIST DESTINATIONS ACROSS INNSBRUCK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Good facilities centrally place hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower slightly small for size of bathroom.

    Excellent breakfast. Wide variety of food.Freshly prepare. Parking available. Swimming pool and sauna if wanted. Good value compare with other hotels which are similarly priced but this hadcity central position and facilities .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    I highly recommend this hotel. I only wished we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was perfect! This hotel was within walking distance to the Old Town and the lift to the top of the mountain. If you are a hiker, this is a paradise. We were able to walk to and from the train station...a short 15 min walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Location and facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a 4 star property they did not have staff to address guest problems. Even reminding the next day the problem was not solved

    Location and facility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our booked rooms were upgraded by the hotel; the breakfast was excellent ; Rooms were fantastic and comfort was much above par; the pictures of the hotel did injustice to it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Excellent,relaxing and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave

    This is an amazing hotel, we had a balcony which was an added bonus. The pool and hot tub where great. This hotel is situated right in the heart of the city, we will be returning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area under a little construction. Room was over the bar so heard a little of the music.

    Staff was very helpful. I had early check in and late check out. I forgot to pack phone charger and they gave me a loaner and direction to a store.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice Hotel close to the old town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing a whirlpool and a infrared sauna. Parking garage is very small and narrow.

    Nice central Hotel property close to the old town. Good wellness area at the top of the Hotel with stunning views. Nice modern guest room with comfortable beds. Decent breakfast. Private parking garage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Location is FANTASTIC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why is the minibar empty? Price list there, but no beverages. This, unfortunately, seems to be a new trend in 4-star hotels. The entrance red carpet really needs to be replaced. ....

    Location is FANTASTIC! Great indoor pool and outdoor jacuzzi. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Had a double suite with connecting front area and cupboard. Bathroom and toilet appeared freshly renovated. Great bunk bed in kid’s room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, good breakfast, central location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would eliminate the filled carpets from the floow because I am alergic to dust and think in general it is not hygienic

    Good hotel. Not particularly beautiful, but clean and well organized. Godd services and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Room soso, but very good breakfast and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the room, like wet ski boots (wasn't skiing). Only one of the two elevators accesses all the floors, bur there is only one button to call an elevator. To dine in the steakhouse (part of the property) you have to resere a table days ahead...

    The locatio of hotel is perfect. The city center and the main tourist attractions are just nearby(Goldenes Dachl,...). The breakfat is very good and the staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Nice stay with
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weather could have been better. Would have liked to eat at the hotels grill restaurant but, they told us we have to book 2 weeks in advance.

    Very nice breakfast, very clean room. View from pool area was great and it was clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Convenient, luxury facilities which did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was asked to share my room with a friend upon arriving as the hotel was overbook, which I politely declined and was asked a further two times by the receptionist which I thought was rude and I was made to feel bad that I wanted my own room, which is what I’d booked!!

    Lovely rooms and breakfast was good. Great location too

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanless, quadruple room, but no linen, blankets, pillows etc. We had to ask several times! Some kind of bugs- we were scratching all over the night and had red spots all over the body in the morning.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing - extreme lack of hygiene
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor hygiene level. The carpet in the room was full of dust and dirt. It clearly hadn’t been vaccumed in at least a month. The furniture in the room were covered in dust - on darker surfaces, such as a black chair, the dust was so visible that it was hard to believe how it was left like that and not cleaned. The bed sheets looked clean, however there were blond hairs here and there (most likely from the cleaning lady). Same goes for the towels in the bathroom - they were folded and between the folds was blond hair. We stayed there 3 days and the room was not vaccumed a single time. The surface around the sink was also not cleaned a single time. Overall, the worst part of the stay was the lack of hygiene. There was also a foul smell coming from the canalization, so one had to always keep the toilet lid closed. Overall, staff in the hotel was friendly with the exception of a few who were quite unattentive and rude.

    The location was perfect. Breakfast was quite ok - good selection of food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful view of the mountains from our room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no room service in the hotel and the restaurant that serves the half board and breakfast closes between 1430hr to 1800hr. When we arrived at the hotel on the first day, we were a little appalled to find out about those as my kids were hungry and we thought we could have lunch in the room via room service. Car park space cost 15€ per day and there wasn’t many slots available at the hotel basement. We had to park our car a little further away at another basement car park. We have kids so it was troublesome for us to walk the distance and to pay for that kind of price.

    Beautiful view of the mountains from our room and the swimming pool and the hotel is pretty chic and was newly renovated. Good location in the city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.8
    It's a 6 out 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mini bar was empty when we arrived, parking lot was full so I had to park 2 streets down, a lot of dust in the room; rather impolite lady receptionist.

    Located near the city center. Restaurant with a nice menu. Breakfast also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.8
    Good holiday experience overall, but hotel customer service bizarre and sub-standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Noisy gym just below our room. 2. Whole hotel given over to Superbowl all nighter party on Sunday evening - staff just said we could pay €55 to join in rather than apologise or move guests away from noise - it's a hotel - people pay to have a good night's sleep, not to be disturbed all night -unbelievable. 3. Staff unwilling to move us despite it being a large hotel and not fully occupied. 4. Room not sensibly set up for a twin - we had to move beds apart and the room phone cord too short and difficult to unplug, so it had to remain next to pillow in a single bed - also a live plug socket just next to pillow; 5. Staff polite but not helpful - i.e. no recommendations for bars, restaurants, or helpful ski information - surprising given the reason most gusts were there.. 6. Strange answer when asked for a kettle because other rooms had them - reception just parroted 'you don't have a kettle?' - forcing me to expressly say, please give me a kettle, then please give me some teabags...etc - just a small example of painful customer service encounters

    Location, breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    I thank the hotel management and the staff. I recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The pillows never meet our expectation. Too soft, sinking and low. Many pillows will not do it. The gym: upgrade and more materiel. Unguarded kids playing in the lobby are a nuisance.

    The team was extra convivial and smiling and helping. Though they sometime give a hint that doesn't work, especially for ideas for tours etc, but the intentions are good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Conveniently situated on edge of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy on a Saturday night. But that comes from being so central rather than a fault of the hotel itself.

    Conveniently situated on edge of old town. Perfect for seeing Innsbruck. Great swimming pool with mountain views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    The position was perfect and the breakfast as well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception was renovated but not the rooms, the bed was from the last century. One of those with the sheets beige because the white has been long gone. The pillow was my worst nightmare. could not sleep at all :(

    The position was perfect and the breakfast as well. It is a great hotel for going skiing or on holiday, but for work can be exhausting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Great for a stop-over or business in Innsbruck
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel for the price and location. This wasn’t our ultimate destination, but a quick stop for rest and in a town that had good food and walk-ways. Parking was available h/w tricky for unloading with only two spots on the street. The garage was accessible and free of charge. Breakfast was very nice in the atrium and the room quiet and beds, restful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    The room was beautiful and it's hard to find a better located hotel; not worth the resturant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We initially thought the breakfast was included in the price of the hotel, when we went to check out they charged us for the breakfast that was rather expensive for what was offered. They don't have hot food laid out but if you ask for eggs or bacon they will bring it to you from the kitchen.

    The property is right in the middle of the down town, we were there as the Christmas Markets were going on and they allowed up to pull all the way up to the front door. Call ahead and get the parking garage information from them, I didn't get the information before hand and parked my car over night and got a ticket. I also lost my keys to my rental car and they helped look for them in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Excellent location, 5 minutes from shops, bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, 5 minutes from shops, bars and restaurants. Hungerbergbahn only 5 minutes away. The Airport and Train station are short taxi ride away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Great Location - Great Breakfast - Great Room
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite big - we really enjoyed the space. Breakfast was included and it had a great selection. We also liked that the toilet and shower were separate in our room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Great place for a holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were clean and spacious. Great location, close to everything. Loved the pool and spa. The breakfast was amazing, lots of foods to choose from. We really enjoyed the cook to order omelet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location hotel with nice amenities! A must stay for travelers to Innsbruck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was great! Clean and with all the needed items. The view was nice as well as the windows were oriented towards the mountains behind the hotel. Internet was good but not great. I mean, the Wi-Fi coverage was ok but the speeds not so great. However, you could do pretty much anything you needed. Skype and Netflix from the laptop were ok. The breakfast choice is good enough. I don't think we ever needed more or more variety! The personnel was mostly great but in some occasions lacked the enthusiasm. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is Almost not possible to buy condoms! The city is extremely family oriented :) Pharmacy is closed at 14, shelves in the supermarkets are empty. The only place we managed to find it in the night - Irish pub in the center, in the machine in the toilet.

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.9
    Respectable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is too small and the availability is not granted, breakfast not bad but not so good

    Very good position to visit the city, the hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location for Christmas Markets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. Pictures were deceiving. Also it was two single beds pushed together, apparently a suite needs to be booked to have a double bed as requested.

    The outdoor pool was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better & hotter. Rooms were nice but quite small

    Location was good. Hotel staff were helpful Room was clean and modern & the hotel bar with a live act was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Overall a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk for tea in the room. Was charged for the bottle of prosecco in our room even though it was our honeymoon.

    Our suite was gorgeous, luxurious and very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay at the Grauer
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Grauer is well located and good value for money. The rooms are spacious, very clean with have a good shower. It has a very comfortable lobby area, including comfortable chairs, a late opening bar and an excellent breakfast. Difficult to fault the hotel apart from a few of the staff that seemed rather surly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice and convenient hotel, right by the center of Town and the Christmas market
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot, even though I turned off the heating. Refrigerator made a bit of a noise and heat. Smoking was permitted at the bar.

    Great location, rooms are renovated and nice, very nice breakfast buffet, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Room was functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was functional. No better. Reception staff recommended and booked a restaurant that we walked out of when we got there. It was ok but could have been better.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first they gave us room on the 5 floor. There was a smell of renovation (paint or something like that) & tobacco. We got back to the reception & they gave us the new room with no smell.

    Great place to stop. Just in the middle of everything you need to see in this town. Parking is good. Great delicious breakfast. Friendly personal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was extremely small and had only a single treadmill. The hotel parking was closed but a few options existed within 800 meters

    The hotel was renovated and had a hip, modern feel. The stairs were easy to use and the elevator was quiet and quick. There were multiple coffee machines at breakfast which produced espresso, lattes, americanos, etc. the swimming pool and hot tub were nice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in Old Town with good access to Nordkette
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice hotel on the Old City, good distances to hiking areas. We upgraded our room to superiour and had a comfortable, renovated room. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Big and Clean rooms, Amazing Breakfast Buffet & Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They should have downloadable maps to reach the hotel easily from the airport and\or they could specify bus numbers to take and bus stop to get down at - so that tourists trying to reach the property don't get lost.

    The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathroom too. They have a big lobby near the reception, its a good place to sit and plan your day before you head out. The Breakfast Buffet is very good and the variety of food on offer plenty. I got down at the wrong bus stop and hence had to walk a lot - but everybody I asked for directions knew the place. All the major attractions are walking distance from the hotel, including the station for accessing the Nordkette Mountain Range! The staff is very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    One of our best value for money accommodations in 4 week trip through Austria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was fantastic. Heaps of room and very clean. Big breakfast room and great concierge that gave us hints on local coffee houses etc. Very good location. Parking was available but we had to pay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.1
    The location of the hotel was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was clean and comfortable, but the bed and pillows were not firm enough. One of the hotel staff gave us the wrong information about a restaurant's operating hours. She did some online checking and said it was closed for dinner on that day. We went to the restaurant anyway and they were open for business.

    The location of the hotel was very good. We could walk to places of interest and restaurants, and picked up the hop-on hop-off tour easily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    very pleased with our stay for the price we paid, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIfi signal in room poor, kept dropping out cooked breakfast section very limited, though overall breakfast buffet good.

    excellent central location great facilities for price, including pool, jacuzzi etc clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Great location;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    STREET NOISE. Make sure you get in a non street facing room.

    Great location; clean; comfortable; GREAT breakfast. Be sure to ask for a room in the back. I was on the street and got no sleep. A lot of revelry all night and delivery trucks at 4:30. My colleagues in the back said it was quiet. If I had a quiet room I would have rated this place a 10.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Extremely recommended
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar allowed smoking

    I arrived with a foot injury and the staff went above me beyond to assist in anything I needed. The location is perfect, close to university and to old town. Very recommended!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Staff was friendly and professional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of "bio" products at the breakfast.

    Staff was friendly and professional. Separate toilet and bathroom. Shower. Quite despite facing to the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel, excellent location and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was not possible to use the fitness facilities in the evening in summer as they are located in a room at the top of the building which has a glass surround and is like being in a greenhouse. With no airconditioning installed it is not practical to workout in such an environment after the sun has been shining all day.

    Breakfast selection was fantastic with the food provided of good quality and tasty. The room was modern, light and comfortable. Powerfull shower. The location of the hotel for exploring the main attractions in Innsbruck is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    breakfast is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking space is not easy to find.(the map from reception is not clear)

    breakfast is awesome. swimming pool is very nice. the location is very close to the city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.8
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and cleanliness were awful. Our sheets hadn't been changed from the previous guests. When we told the front desk they had someone bring us sheets, only enough to cover half of the bed and we were left to change them ourselves. In the morning we told the front desk and they were rude in response and said they'd tell housekeeping. When we got back to the room later that evening we found only half of the bed again had clean sheets. Upon calling the front desk we were told we'd have to wait till the next day for clean sheets as there were none available. We said we were checking out the following day and needed clean sheets for our sleep so he said to wait 30 minutes. We ended up staying up later than we wanted waiting for the sheets which came over an hour later. Again in the morning we were greeted with rude front desk staff. We emailed management over a week ago now with our complaint and after 4 days of not hearing back sent a followup which has also not been acknowledged. We called yesterday to try to speak with a manager and had to hang up after being put on hold for over 4 minutes as it was a long distance call and we don't have a plan as we are still travelling. We were left feeling disgusted in our beds and had uncomfortable sleeps due to the dirty sheets and pillow cases as well as disgusted with the staff throughout and after the stay. This is not to mention the bathroom also not being clean but at this point it was the least of our concern. Would never return or recommend this place and really upset about the price we paid. We've booked many other stays in cities throughout Europe for this trip which all exceeded expectations. This was a major let down. I'm not sure how booking.com adds up the review numbers but 3.8 is far more generous of a score than I would give.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Although a little expensive, still a good choice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't noticed that you need to pay extra for the parking place. (14 Euros/day).

    Very great location. Very clean and comfortable room. Very delicious breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Overall enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very upset that we were not informed of the construction right in front of the hotel. The was quite extensive and made it hard to find the hotel. It was also very unsightly from the street. When I brought it up at check in it was just ignored. I booked five months in advance and felt an email to advise us was in order. The staff Was the low light of this property.

    The location was very good and overall good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Lovely city, closed to the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast!!! Many people st the same time, the hotel did not the food left, simply you had to chos the remaining things!!!

    The pool and the situation, downtown is close to the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    An smart option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located in the city center, very convenient to go to every places. The breakfast is very good, the room service is also excellent. Strongly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Good, not more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is fine,but the people at the reception have no organisation. Despite, I had over the printede voucher, they didn't find my booking done late December 2016. It is unacceptable. I have to insist and finally due to arrival of cars' tourists, we received a junior suite. We thank you for the suite but organisation is to be seriously improved by desk -check in officer. Last but not least, indication for the parking , city parking, was unclear and not precise. Finally, I found another one. We extensivelly travel by Booking.com and we are always happy but here desk organisation was very poor,especially after a one-day travel by car and tired.

    Yes, very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel. I recommend to all who want to be in town close to the old city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Very nice hotel.

    Hotel was very nice. Modern, clean with very nice breakfast area, attractive lobby and indoor pool / health facilities. Parking is a large underground parking garage fairly close by that has relatively large parking spaces. Very convenient to walk to the old town center and the nearby furnicular rail station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Restaurant closed for holidays.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed for holidays. Sauna and wetroom closed for refurbishment. Area around hotel is one big construction site. Parking was full. Public parking was alternative, though walking through pouring rain was required.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel are under renovation but the changes they've made so far are excellent.

    We had a beautiful 2 room family suite since we were traveling with our college age daughter. It was perfectly decorated and overlooked a cathedral. Situated next to the old town district but on a quiet street we were able to walk everywhere. We highly recommend to anyone planning a visit to Innsbruck.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    comfortable and spacious rooms. location excellent for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The room was very spacious and comfortable for a family with kids. The location is great - really next to the center. Reception staff very kind and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Location, room, facilities, internet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - wide choice of good stuff, but orange juice tasts like "tang" and the espresso is, well, not really espresso. The italians would understand me. Hotel underground parking has few places, but it is adjacent (by foot, not by car!) to a huge public parking called city parking. So no problem about the parking. Don't take a chance to go to the hotel parking because if there are no free places you will have to make a circle of the area and enter the public parking. Better park in the city parking and walk to the hotel lift to the reception. Good luck finding it!

    Location, room, facilities, internet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast with plenty of choice, good location in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good breakfast with plenty of choice, good location in the city centre, very close to cafes, resturants, landmarks etc. The train station is about 10 minutes walk away, 15-20 minutes with heavy suitcases. Innsbruck's spectacular views can be seen if not from the hotel ( I dare say loads of rooms probably don't offer good views, in fact there's loads of building work around the hotel at the moment), then from close by. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Ideal place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Hotel is centrally located, near to Congress bus stop. walking distance from city tower and golden roof. Breakfast was great with lots of options. We will surely comeback and stay in this hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    Location: 100-150 m from the center of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower: either hot like hell or cold as ice ... impossible to set a normal temperature !!!

    Location: 100-150 m from the center of the old town. Bed was ok, food too, though at rush hour the staff was not quick enough to refill

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Golden Goldenes
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None applicable!

    The facilities were exceptional, from the swimming pool to the room sizes. Breakfast provided was delicious and varied. The entrance had a classy and luxurious feel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    The spa section is very good.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nobody told me there is a lot of street work! They started the works every morning at 07:00 o'clock. It was very noise!!!! ☹

    The spa section is very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Stay in the Altstadt
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An employee at the main desk told me they don't do currency exchange when the hotel's own literature says they do exchange currency.

    Loved the location, and the room was clean and modern. Breakfast selection was very good, and the pool area was like a resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice place and close to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was too small for 4 people. Staff were ok not super friendly but did their job well . It was dark on corridors . Some motion detection lights switched on rather late.

    It's located 2 minutes walk from the center of Innsbruck. The room was quiet the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was also great . Cleaning was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is located within a few minutes walk of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to the underground garage was tight and very steep.

    This hotel is located within a few minutes walk of the old town. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. The hotel had an underground parking facility with direct lift access to all floors. The bar offers a good selection of drinks and cocktails, with live music the evening we stayed. The hotel is next door to a university but the noise levels were quiet (we stayed the second week of June). Our room turned out to be a mini suite, very nice with sofa and an armchair. We had excellent views of the mountains. A very good selection for breakfast, with plenty of seating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking spaces are very tight

    Location was great. Also the breakfast was excellent. Very spacious room with updated restroom. The toilet was on a separate little room which was very convenient for the family.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Good reception and rooms are big and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Good reception and rooms are big and comfortable. Excellent location for sightseeing. Great breakfast to kick start your day. Good for families. Huge option of nearby restaurants. Nice swimming and jaccuzi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    Not exactly value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor seriously dated. The 2 girls at reception on night of my stay (1 Jun 17) never smiled at anybody and seemed to be more interested in talking than making sure those at reception were being attended to. We certainly didn't feel very welcomed. Made reservations and got confirmation at Woodfire via reception 4 weeks in advance only to be told they didn't have my booking. Just as well wasn't a busy weekday and we managed to eat there in the end.

    Location was a 7 min walk to the main shopping street and the main attractions. Lots of restoration works going on though so difficult to get a good pix without the cranes and scaffoldings. Breakfast variety was good and counter clean. Wait staff and kitchen staff were all friendly and polite. Private garage useful esp in this part of town. Woodfire restaurant has really good food although a particular service staff was curt and not friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Grauer Bär traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: