Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Josefshof am Rathaus 4 stars

Josefsgasse 4-6, 08. Josefstadt, 1080 Vienna, Austria

#155 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3285 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    7.9
    Good location in the city, very close to the underground,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Had a very far room from the elevator with stairs, which i had to carry my luggage over up and down. It was annoying.

    Good location in the city, very close to the underground, and nice staff. Alsk the breakfast times were perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    6.3
    The room was really very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen and towels with somebody else’s pieces of hair. The hotel and rooms on photos look much better and more attractive as they are in reality.

    The room was really very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was in a central but quiet area with local cafes and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little old fashioned but comfortable. Some of the small marble steps in the main hotel areas seemed dangerous, as did the narrow bath/shower right next to a hard marble sink.

    I liked the spacious room with separate kitchenette. The staff were helpful and allowed a late check out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.3
    Lovely spacious rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is off the beaten track and even cabbies found it confusing to locate. The closest points for hop on hop off and also the public transport is a good 10-15 minute walk. No irons in the rooms. A common ironing room in the hotel for all to use. Sites and apartments in different blocks which I think should be clearly mentioned on booking. Com when we book. Very basic breakfast with no veg options.

    Rooms were spacious and the apartments well equipped with a kitchenette. Staff was quick to help and extremely helpful especially Phillip!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    we had a fun stay, the hotel was very quiet, we were on 5th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi fi kept dropping, movement controlled taps to save water use were frustrating

    helpful friendly staff, good central location U2 station nearby easy walk to historic old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Really close to transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking was allowed on the patio outside my room and it drifted in.

    Really close to transit. Walkable to the museum quarter. Breakfast was buffet and had lots of variety. There are two supermarkets in the area about 2 minutes walk. It was quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous location for a visit to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an older hotel, which is part of the charm, but the rooms could benefit from an update. The bathrooms are newly remodeled, though.

    Fabulous location, good value.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Can't beat the location for quiet and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower is ridiculous. The grab bar is in the wrong place and not helpful for climbing into the shower. The shower door doesn't keep the water from pouring on the floor no matter how careful you are in directing the shower head. The coffee maker didn't work and wasn't replaced after we reported in as not working.

    It was very nice having the patio. The front desk personnel was very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    very comfy bed & very nice breakfast (including outdoor...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    semi-transparent door to the bathroom/toilets - the art is nice but i personnally prefer intimacy!

    very comfy bed & very nice breakfast (including outdoor courtyard)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.1
    It is acceptable, but hotel could be improved at some points
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to the room is too complicated and if u hv luggage is very difficult. The room when u enter first is very clean, but the daily cleaning is very poor. I asked for an iron and iron table, which is a normal demand in any hotel, they offered the laundry instead but could not get my request.

    I like the location and the staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is perfect.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    WiFi did not function well, we needed to deal with it all the time, annoying and unacceptable in such a location and at such price! TV did not work properly. The hotel has no bell boy. Unacceptable for a 4-star hotel!

    The location is perfect. The staff is absolutely excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    City break in Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good.

    The help and courtesy we received at the end of our visit from Philip in reception when we needed to print our Boarding Pass for our trip home. Central location. Proximity to excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    4.6
    Not near the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised to be near the railway station but wasn’t. I asked the staff how I could get to the airport; they told me a taxi was the only option. Taxis charge 50 Euros extra for trips to the airport (on top of the fare). The tourist information centre informed me of a bus that cost 15 Euros. Taxi to the bus cost 15 Euros.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Great value and location in central Vienna.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was a bit dated in its style and furnishings.

    The location is really perfect, close to the Inner Stadt with all its attractions but on a side street in a less touristy area. The room was a very good size for the price and location. The hotel is very well managed with great staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Lovely stay at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to central Vienna. It is close to the metro line, and on a quite street. Breakfast was delightful! There were lots of choices available, even champagne if you so desired. Air conditioning was an added extra for the hot days of summer. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in top location but difficult to connect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi was hopeless, needing continual logins. Sessions were cut off, sometimes at critical times, eg during a banking login & this is not acceptable.

    Very comfortable hotel in the perfect location for cultural & historical visits.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    a perfect place for a romantic treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located just 200m from the U2 underground train station, and in 20min walking distance of many attractions, like the opera house, Stephansdom, Spanish riding school and shopping centre. There are also 4 or 5 excellent restaurants within 2/300m and a few bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, most helpful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are too soft for me, as per usually in that part of the world

    Friendly staff, most helpful ! Nice little bar in the lobby for coffee (great but paying) or glass of wine in the afternoon (great Local selection, reasonably priced)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Deluxe rooms are nice which my reason for booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone will break their neck when stepping out from breakfast room to courtyard. The little sign may protect your liabilities but please think of your guests too and fix this. I saw three people trip at one breakfast sitting. Room on 2nd floor looking inwards to fire escape area was pretty grim.

    Deluxe rooms are nice which my reason for booking. Great shower. Location was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi kept bumping us off, and the shower was really hard to get in and out of. (I'm an athlete; it would be scary for someone with physical limitations).

    The beds were very comfortable, and the blackout shades were useful for overcoming jetlag.The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant, especially for those of us with limited German language skills. Best of all, the location is excellent!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Tight squeeze in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very boring and confined room with no window outlook. Felt like a prison room in dark red and wood colours. Quite dreary.

    Was close to some key sightseeing locations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Great sojourn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. No choice of black tea, the only one available had no flavour. Air conditioning in room that was working in my absence, despite not that warm temperature outside

    Rooms cleanliness. Breakfast. Localisation of hotel, close to museums.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little confusion about our booking at first. This was sorted out by another member of staff who seemed a bit more knowledgeable.

    Breakfast. Location. Help about getting around the City

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Instead of having air condition, the hotel has conditioned air. We were there when it was very hot outside, so it wasn't that much of a reprieve from the outside.

    The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating. Our flight was delayed and we arrived after the check in window, but a call to the property and they stayed up for us. They also gave us a map and pointed out the best sights and walks. The windows and blinds could close making it easy to sleep throughout the night. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel close to attractions in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like about this place.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The room was clean and very comfortable. The hotel is beautiful decorated with Klimt influenced elements! Breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't accept rooms on the 6th floor - the ceiling is sloping and low, which makes it depressing - other rooms are really nice Some rooms are with showers, some with bath - choose on check-in otherwise you'll get a random selection

    Location near underground and close to Town Hall and also old town Staff were nice and trained Internet was working well - especially on the top floor, on the 4th sometimes disconnecting, but you can connect again Cleanliness Bed and pillow comfort Room size Free water + coffee/tea making facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Satisfactory
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No teabags/coffee in the room or milk portions. Breakfast was very basic and some days there was no black teabags......boxes and boxes of green tea bags!! One evening the internet was very poor and next day was not working. Had to go done to reception to tell them this. They rebooted the system and then it worked. Also have to keep assessing the internet every time you come back to the hotel with the password they give you.

    Close to Rathaus Ubahn station. Stafff were friendly. Provided a secure luggage storage facility. Kettle in the room and a small fridge. 2 bottles of complimentary water.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Location was excellent by metro and walking distance of many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok

    Location was excellent by metro and walking distance of many sites The summer film festival at the Rathaus was very close by and a fun way to end a summer evening

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    the hotel is very good and clean good service and in good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the only thing that the hotel must fix is breakfast , to Serving the same breakfast every day throughout all of the the week is to much , it can be more varied also it can be more selection made in the breakfast will upgrade the hotel also It is recommended to turn on the air conditioner in the dining room

    the hotel is very good and clean good service and in good location we where 4 , so we used uber to drive from place to place it was fast and very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location close to Rathaus. Parking. Clean. Large and comfortable rooms. We asked for connecting rooms to accomodate our family of 4, hotel nicely delivered. Decor very much Viennese. We had very comfortable and nice stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.0
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit faded in its elegance but a change from the usual tourist / business hotels

    Location was great. Staff very friendly, and room was very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    I liked the hotel for a short city break and would stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi constantly disconnected, especially during the night. No coffee/teamaking facilities were available in my room. The duvet was too small for the bed, which proved to be a very hilarious situation.

    I liked the hotel for a short city break and would stay here again if I had a similar trip. I was pleasantly surprised with how big the room was for a single traveler, and found the bed to be comfortable with great facilities in the newly done bathroom. The shower was a great relief after a long day of exploring the city. The location was excellent: one could walk to the major sites in Vienna, but also within a short distance, there was a metro stop and a tram line that could take you to all those places. The area surrounding the hotel is full of restaurants, cafes, and supermarkets and is very safe to walk through even at night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    A good hotel for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Minor points: The room looks a little dated but I think that is the vibe they were going for. I also did not enjoy how confusing the corridors were and got lost trying to find my room a few times. There were no coffee/tea making facilities in my room. The duvet was too small for the bed.

    A good hotel for a short city break. It is within walking distance to a metro station, as well as close to many of the sights and other conveniences. The property is clean and very well-put together and the staff are helpful and informative. For a single traveler, the room was larger than I expected and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom also looked recently re-modeled and had new installations and a great shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really

    Very nice clean room. I liked that the room was isolated away from the street (though some people may not like that it faces a courtyard). Also they gave you the option to not have your room cleaned to help the environment, and instead you get a free drink from the bar each day, which was nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Spacious, tidy room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection in my room was extremely poor and I kept having to ask for the modem to be reset. I’m not sure if they were having underlying technical difficulties at the time I stayed.

    Spacious, tidy room! Great location and close to multiple metro stations. Staff were always friendly and helpful. Having air conditioning was amazing given the current summer temperatures!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    I would book this hotel again, if I`m planning to go to Vienna again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I tried the Garden Area for breakfast once, but I felt disturbed because of the smokers, because they could not leave their cigarettes for once during breakfast. Afterwards I just used the room inside, but it was necessary to find the time to miss the queues.

    The location of this hotel could not have been better, it has access to the metro and tram system - so it was easy to reach from the Main Railway Station. It is just a short walk to city hall and museums quarter, the Karlsplatz is just 2 stops away or just a short walk of 10 minutes. The hotel was quite comfortable and quiet and the staff very helpful. The breakfast was the standard menue, but it was enough. I liked the cake assortment though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Friendly comfortable hotel in Vienna.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing at breakfast which could be improved is the bacon - I like it crispy but not carbonised, it often comes out this way. And the orange juice - maybe install a machine where you bung oranges in the top and it squeezes them for you ?

    Lovely staff, lovely hotel, lovely area - rooms comfortable, lots of nice places to eat nearby like “die fromme Helene” - excellent Austrian food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Exceptional Hotel. Staff incredibly kind and helpful. Great breakfast. Location is really quite but also well connected to the center. Clean rooms very spacious. I really recommend this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was accommodating as I arrived early on the day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was accommodating as I arrived early on the day and they kept my bags safe until check in time. The receptionist were very friendly, helpful and made my stay very enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was great, Very good location near many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby is very small, Small rooms even we got the upgraded

    Breakfast was great, Very good location near many attractions, metro stop and supermarkets

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in great, quiet location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed our stay!!

    The location of the hotel is great with very easy access to most places. Staff is very friendly and helpful!! Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, clean, well equipped and very quiet!! The breakfast is of very good quality and you may also enjoy it in the garden area. This hotel offers value for money!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and roomy accomodation, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One slight minus point, free wifi is very limited, both in speed and download volume. Extra speed or download volume costs extra, this day and age, and at this price level this is very unexpected. Sufficient for browsing and mails, if you need streaming for any reason or business use you end up paying extra.

    Very nice and roomy accomodation, excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    One of the best stays in the world
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Clean and spacious room. Free luggage storage. Excellent breakfast. Great staff. Mini bar in room. 5 star quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door (thin sliding glazed door), bed was overly firm & lack of vegan & gluten free options at breakfast

    Lovely refurbishment-room was stunning. Great location that was central but quiet. Courtyard was nice for breakfast & staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location. Clean, comfortab!e hotel . Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small even after paying for an upgrade. Hotel rooms in city centre are usually smaller which is a shame. No restaurant for evening meals.

    Perfect location. Only a short walk from many of the museums, art galleries and other places of interest. Excellent public transport within easy reach. Bed really comfy. Good selection for breakfast. Bathroom modern and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower door need to be seen to. as it did not close properly, internet was not always that good and TV channels were a bit of a hit and miss not matching room chart (frustrating if you want to see a match and cant find where it is), Some details to paintwork in bathroom need to be seen to.

    The room (junior suite) was very good. Breakfast is very good with a wide choice of things (as expected for the price). Front desk staff very hepful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant stay in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room (upper floor) had sloping bow windows, with an automatic system for blindfolds and for opening. It was sometimes difficult to keep them opened and we didn't really manage to control them completely.

    Really good breakfast: Amazing coffee and variety of food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Amazing breakfast - you could sit outside in garden terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative to say - location good in heart of museum quarter - close to cafes , bars etc

    Amazing breakfast - you could sit outside in garden terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only negative comment was that we had booked a taxi through the hotel to the airport which another guest took as the taxi driver was not given our name or room number and therefore didn't check he had the correct passengers. As this was at 5.30 pm peak traffic time in Vienna we were fortunate that the hotel managed to get another taxi but we had to wait 20 minutes which could have caused us problems.

    Staff were helpful. Breakfast options were excellent. The location was quiet but close to many visitor attractions and within easy distance of the trams and underground. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely traditional Viennese hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Very traditional quaint hotel. Gorgeous breakfast area with good selection of food. Staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    Rooms was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked a privileged room the coffee machine didn’t work. There was no drinks in the mini bar except for one sparking water. There was a coffee machine which didn’t work. No tea.

    Rooms was clean. Close to transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok, as we all stayed there for my sons wedding 🎩👰
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was offered upgrade for £30 not realising that was each night and our friends were offered the same for £10 and eventually got it free. The room wasn’t worth the extra money also it was a double bed instead of twin 😕

    The bed was comfortable 😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel but a bit too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room wasn't as luxuriously looking as it seemed in the photos. Overall, it's an expensive hotel for what you really get.

    Great location, room was big and had lovely high ceilings but it felt a bit empty, underdecorated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    convenient for museum quarter and hofburg palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel not in nicest looking street in vienna.

    convenient for museum quarter and hofburg palace.. nice size hotel...not too big..lovely looking. clean,,staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    It’s a nice cosy property located centrally at a distance of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a nice cosy property located centrally at a distance of about 1.5 km walkable in about 18 mins. So location is great. Staff are helpful, breakfast was good, but paid for us - but no too steep compared to Vienna standards. We got an attic room and we loved it. It’s a bit small, but then the bathtub is well needed after a hectic walkathon. Over all value for money of booked well in advance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    Going back to Vienna soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closed in view, little daylight so had to have lights on during day. Upgraded to a Privilege room foc which had a see- through toilet door fitted. Also AC would not switch on Fancy coffee machine worked fine but no tea making facilities.

    Comfortable room, staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was spot on with a big choice Well positioned for the city centre. Nice patio area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included in the room rate but could be purchased at an extra fee. We found the price too expensive for us since we don't eat large breakfasts. We chose to go down the street to a café.

    This hotel was very comfortable on a side street within walking distance to the heart of Vienna. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great experience! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi in the room was weak, almost non-existent. We mentioned it to the front desk right before departure, and they immediately checked. It seemd that they had a problem on that floor and they promptly worked on fixing it. I wish I mentioned it before...

    Everything! Nice room, very comfortable beds, great comforters and pillows. They changed the sheets every day in our room, the bathroom was very clean and good shower heads. The hotel was located about 10-15 minutes walk from museum quarter. The hotel has a very good breakfast buffet, and for dinner there was a very good local fare restaurant around the corner, named "Fromm Helene" I believe. We loved our stay at this hotel. The taxi to the airport is about 40.00 euros, and from hotel to various attractions, about 7-10 euros, depending on distance. Even though it can be a pleasant walk to Museum Quarter, we preferred taxis because of our very tight schedule.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Good breakfast- room needs some improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 5 nights and they didn’t change the bed lines for the time we were there. The cleaning of the room needs to be improved ( make the bed is not cleaning the room). Staff during check-in was also not very friendly- you can not be with one costumer and take another one till you finalize what you are doing.

    Breakfast was really good with several options. And the service room was also available till late hours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location so so room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    AC blackout shades.

    We had booked a superior king room, on arrival the clerk told us we had been upgraded to a suite. the suite was spacious and had a nice view. On the down side the air conditioner made noise and the blackout shade didn't blackout anything. The shower was awesome. The breakfast for 15 euro each not worth it, go around the corner to Cafe Eily and get the Vienna cafe breakfast experience real nice. If you go out the front and turn right there is a greek restaurant called Trilogie really good on that same block Austrian restaurant Fromme Helene also really good. Vienna was great if I stayed at this hotel again I wouldn't get the suite I would roll the dice on a different room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice but overpriced
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially given a sub-standard that looked nothing like the rooms advertised on booking.com. We complained and got a better room. Towels were left unchanged for 2 days. Breakfast selection was quite poor, unless you like bread.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Good base to explore Vienna with the museum quarter on your door step.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee making facilities were poor in the room and view from the window could have been better.

    Large comfortable traditional room with parquet floor and a nice sized bathroom. Courtyard bar was a nice place to sit and relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    I'm satisfied with my choice and might think to use the same hotel for my next trip to Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to underline as "I didn't like" though certain things might be of better quality for 4-star hotel level. In my opinion the room rate is a bit overpriced, as well

    Very comfortable and quiet place though still very close to the city historical center

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were extremely helpful, Location good, rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Roadworks around the hotel area although not noisy was disruptive

    The staff were extremely helpful, Location good, rooms modernised and tasteful (particularly if you like Klimpt.)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We will be going back.... what more can I say....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being very picky, the room was a little small, but aren't they all these days.!!!!! Everything else was excellent.

    The hotel, it's location for us was beyond any form of criticism, it was an excellent all round hotel to stay, which thoroughly enjoyed, and thought the staff were efficient, friendly and professional....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Had a very enjoyable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned already the bathroom .

    Liked everything, apart from the location of the bathroom in our Privilege Room. Would have preferred more privacy.. breakfasts were good, beds comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    4-stars with updates needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The unpleasant experience started with the room booking: via phone I asked for a cot and they proposed me to pay 20 EUR more, although Booking.com conditions offer the cot for free. Eventually, they found an available room where the bed could fit in. Moreover, without paying the 20 EUR I could not even choose a room without carpet floor, since only the higher category room have no carpet floor. In the bathroom the shower head was dirt with some toothpaste. Air conditioning was not able to make the room warmer, only colder. At the departure, I was asked to pay the city tax, although it was included in the Booking.com price. Nevertheless, after a very short discussion the receptionist gave up.

    Wonderful position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    We enjoyed the sights and activities of Vienna. We were not impressed with the "Big Red bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. There were no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room. The hot part of breakfast was quite limited.

    The hotel was clean and welcoming and the staff on reception were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    The rooms and corridors are old and outdated, stinky old...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and corridors are old and outdated, stinky old carpet makes staying in the room without open windows a difficult experience. TD, I don’t know what about different rooms but it is time to replace that black full of fungus silicone in room 410. Broken & stinky minibar, the faucet works only for 2-3 seconds when You put Your hands in front, like in public toilets... good luck everyone to find the sensor when Your eyes are full with soap. I have never seen such a POOR BREAKFAST! We have paid 15€ p/p just to get in, try to order some eggs or omelet, You have to pay another 4,10€ p/p, ridiculous! Few slices of cheapest ham and cheese and sour coffee is not worth the price, especially that behind the corner You will find nice bakery which offers coffee to go. On some days there is just one person at the reception and that’s it, no bartender, no security... Can You imagine the service? One person needs to pour the drinks, check in the evening guests, take care(or not) about the tables outside... I don’t even what to know what happens when there is some kind of emergency in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Vienna was lovely shame the hotel was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel falls short of a 4 star hotel that you would expect like no dressing gown, slippers, toiletries just a soap dispenser on the wall. Mini bar just an empty fridge.no proper bar limited wall seating off reception.Breakfast basic no tea coffee in your room.

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Not four star; more like three star
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hotel is more like a 3 star hotel rather than 4. It is in need of updating. Avoid v small double rooms on the 5th floor (which get rather hot with a small window in the roof). Staff could be more welcoming (e.g. it seemed like a hassle to one member of staff that I was paying early; also taxi not booked on time). No iron in the room (would be expected for a four star hotel). Room is dated and interior decorations are a bit shabby. Too expensive for quality of hotel. I've been in far better three star hotels!

    Nice location near the U2 underground

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Great localization, clean, towels changed every day, even...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great localization, clean, towels changed every day, even though it was close to a busy street it was very silent inside /exept some noise of sth in our room sounding like an airconditioner which was actually off ; breakfast Ok but could be more various - every day for 3 days were the same dishes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view... we didn’t have any. The room was very VERY hot and we requested air conditioning, but the staff said that in winter, there is no AC. The bathroom was dirty at arrival, and till we departed it stayed dirty. They don’t clean the WC very well :(

    Good location. Close to several highlights in Vienna. Comfortable bed and quite room. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    A great time in Vienna with a great value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing was that the pillows were too soft for our taste.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming from check in to check out. Location was excellent with many of the major gihts within walking distance. Selection at breakfast was excellent. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing Vienna hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel. old room. old furniture. no basic hotel facilities like electric sockets by the bed. no iron in the room. no coffee machine. room was old, bathroom was new. no personality.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Josefshof am Rathaus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: