Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Josl Mountain Lounging Hotel 4 stars

Ramolweg 18, 6456 Obergurgl, Austria

#4 of 24 hotels in Obergurgl

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 430 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. From the moment we arrived to a welcome drink in front of the roaring fire to the time we left the staff were fantastic. It really set the tone for the hotel. The food was good and very plentiful, and the ambiance of the place was excellent. Being just 200 yds from the lifts was a real plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really nice stay. Obergurgl is a wonderful area to ski and the Josl Hotel could not have been any better. We spend one hour in the really nice wellness area each afternoon before attending dinner. The hotel is expensive but the value fully matches the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only had one problem ,when booking lift pass the lady on the desk booked for six days as we asked but the day she had booked was the day we got there and never hit the slopes till 3-00 which was supposed to be complementary so on last day our passes were void and we had to spend another £55 each . she apoligised but to no avail .

    Clean and tidy ,great spa when not skiing ,good food with great service ,would go again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be good if they had outside tables with stools and a heater and my be a speaker with back ground music

    very welcoming, great staff, good food 10 out of 10 all round

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sliding door to the bathroom did not close completely which caused a lack of privacy.

    Very attractive lounge area with open fireplace. The spa area has two floors. One side of the facade is made out of glass which makes the area appear very light, and open and provides a great view of the skiing area and the mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The salad and "Jause" was not very interesting! SPA was almost too big for the hotel ... some of the space should have been used for a cozy place to hang out. We could only sit in the bar in the reception with people entering and leaving the hotel!

    Very nice small hotel close to the lifts. Good breakfast and dinner. Super SPA!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have kettle in the room, not only coffee machine.

    Great spa incl indoor/outdooor swimming pool with even greater view over the surrounding mountains. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could at times hear the Josl Keller (nightclub/bar under the property) late at night.

    Staff were excellent, really friendly and ready Breakfast buffet was really good, a great range to pick from and regularly topped up

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight niggle would be the size of the boot room. Quite difficult first thing in the morning and ski racks were a little inadequate. Not a major problem though. All the other positives made up for this.

    Amazing staff. Couldn’t do enough for us in a friendly and non intrusive way. Everywhere was spotless. Bonus, hearty, afternoon tea in the bar. Great Spa and just a short walk to ski lift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building itself didn’t have the homey feel like other Austrian hotels but I guess that is personal preference, staff more than made up for that with their service though

    Excellent service, clean, valet parking, location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Josl Keller bar beneath the hotel. We were woken one morning at 2.30 am by some drunken yobs leaving the bar. There’s absolutely no point to this bar. It’s not that sort of hotel and not that sort of resort

    Close to slopes, excellent food good atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything from start to finish was great. We arrived late and the entire staff was waiting for us, so they could park the car, get the bags to our room and get us to dinner in time to eat. We will be returning to this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner service could be too quick. We were often served one course directly after the previous one with no gap at all. Just taking a little more time would be more relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    I am happy about everything in this hotel - the staff is amazing, rooms are great and very clean. Only 2 minutes by foot to the ski lift. SPA is absolutely new and there is absolutely everything you need. And the halfboard is amazing - it even seemed to me that I've stayed for 3 days in a Michelin star restaurant. Will definetely recommend it to my friends and will come back.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outdoor pool could've been a bit warmer. Not really a budget option, but good for a treat.

    Lovely mountain view from the balcony. Close to the lifts, friendly staff, great boot room. Breakfast and dinner were both delicious and plentiful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant can barely accommodate all guests when the hotel is fully booked, not in terms of the friendly staff, but in terms of tables available. This results in the restaurant needing some tables twice a night. This was not an issue for us, as we like to have dinner early after a day of skiing, but if you like dinner at 7:30pm, you may be out of luck in high season.

    Truly amazing wellness area for a hotel of this size, with great views and an indoor-to-outdoor heated pool/Jacuzzi. Rooms are very functional, and a lot of thought went into the design. I want the tiles for the bathroom in my own house one day! Excellent and varying cheese selection for after dinner. Nice coffee machine in the rooms. Close to the main ski lifts.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room is quite small, dark (on the bottom floors) and doesn't have a balcony. WiFi capacity is not sufficient when the hotel is full.

    Great location, friendly service, nice SPA area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My only criticism would be the mattress on my bed. All the other facilities were 5 star but the mattress reminded me of a youth hostel.

    The facilities were brilliant and the food delicious. The extras were really appreciated such as unlimited coffee pods in my room and a bountiful free snack at lunchtime

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Amazing service! From the moment we arrived the receptionist offered us a drink at the beautiful bar while explaining the area and attractions around us. Our room was very nice, clean, and quiet. The food served for dinner was spectacular. The spa was lovely. Overall a wonderful experience! I will definitely stay here again, I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the only drawback is massively undersized wellness area (which otherwise is great with outside pool etc ). even right before closing time it was impossible to get into the sauna and the number of chairs/beds is anough for maybe 20% of the total guests. no gym, but you can use the one in the hotel opposite (10 meter walk)

    Great staff, very friendly and helpful recepcion, restaurant and spa staff. decent food at the restaurant, nice room, very good wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub was not hot enough likewise the pool, the blinds in the room let in too much light in the morning and my room did not look like what i booked.

    The food was a very high standard and nice looking hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Response to things faulty TVs

    Spa and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stunning hotel great staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property has an amazing spa and beautiful views from the outside pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic friendly service and amazing spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Room Service !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great location. Great meals. Enjoyed it again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staf

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small

    Location, friendly staff. Good food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub could have been a little warmer

    Service was exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Choice in the evening could have been a little bit more inspired Wine too expensive

    Good breakfast Service great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Friendly well presented and professional staff, very comfortable, well located and great value. I look forward to returning.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon cake was 2-4.30pm this was too early for serious skiers. 5.30 would be better. Everything else was brilliant.

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was over a very noisy nightclub so I didn't get much sleep

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything was lovely during my stay

    loved the spa :-)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent staff. Good choice of food, maybe need an additional meat choice on an evening, but plenty of choice with the salad.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a very good size and well equipped

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not fault anything. Superb.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger pool. And NO mixed naked saunas , please!

    Staff at reception and restaurant very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent kitchen,best sevice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel staff make the hotel, 1st class in every way.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had three rooms and two were disturbed with noise from the pub. Some of the bathrooms lack privacy as there a lot of glass.

    Staff were all excellent, particularly in the restaurant, our waiter Joe was fantastic .

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no fittness, so in a bad weather exercising is not possible, pool is small, no minibar in the room, that was the problem because the reception is working only to 10pm, so no rooom service was possible, not enough staff, long waiting for coffee,

    very tasty dinner, view from the outside pool

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Resatuarnt is not in keeping with the rest of the hotel and really could do with some modernisation. Food however was fine and staff very good

    Rooms are large and spacious. Spa is really good with great views (outside) although being English the views inside were a bit of a shock!! Very friendly staff especially Dalma and Josef both of whom were extremely helpful and friendly. Great location in really pretty Austrain village

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing!!! It was all excellent.

    Staff super friendly and in particular Josef in the restaurant. Chefs are to be commended. Food was the best I have had in any ski resort and I have stayed in a lot of expensive resorts but nothing matches this!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything it was perfect ! We will return for sure;) we love the people who work at the hotel! So nice very helpful and great attitude;) thank You so much to all stuff;)

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice to have just one drink (beer, wine or soft drink) included as part of the dinner. At first we didn't realise you had to pay for the drinks - even water apparently according to some of the other reviews. I'd suggest to charge just slightly extra per room/guest to cover the cost of one drink. This would make the guests feel special - it's a win win!

    Everything! Meals included were fabulous, staff very attentive. Room was clean and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bathroom was a little weird in that it had glass walls into the bedroom!

    The staff are fabulous and really look after you throughout your whole stay. The food is outstanding too!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived on Christmas Eve and during check in we were told dinner was every night from 7pm. We were not informed that Christmas Eve was the gala dinner which started at 6.45pm and you needed to be dressed smartly. We received a phone call to the room at 7.35pm saying "everyone is waiting for you!" we rushed down in jeans and were embarrassed to find everyone sat there in shirts and ties. Not great on the first night and we felt uncomfortable.

    The hotel was in the prefect location for getting to the slopes - you can virtually ski back to the door! The food was amazing and the waiting staff great. Very comfy beds and clean rooms. The spa was lovely after a day skiing! Verag in the bar was amazing and so so friendly :)

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noice from Josl Keller during almost all nights! Fitness facility would be nice.

    The view from the Spa is spectacular . Special thanks to Laszlo for the job dedication and amability !

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Superb location opposite the ski lifts. Fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for you. They catered excellently for one of our party who was lactose intolerant and one vegetarian

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I do not have a bad thing to say about this place!

    First, we were greeted by a very friendly host and offered a glass of proseco. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The customer service was incredible. The location was great and facilities for skiing excellent. It was truly amazing to be able to use the Spa after skiing.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great food, excellent Staff, good facilities. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly knowledgeable staff, would I stay again ..... Yes

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    *expected a larger swimming pool

    *cozzy athmosphere, *excellent services, *nice bar and open fire area *great welness area, except the pool - dissapointment!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The afternoon tea was not enough for all the clients, if you arrive late- 3.30 (30 min after its opened) the soup was always finished! and they did not make any more - then you had only sweets together with bread and cheese.. The vegetarian dishes in the evening have to improve!!! The fish dishes was too small, perhaps 30 gr or so.. Dull staff at breakfast and in Speisesäle.. Much better in the reception and in the bar.. There is a lack of really concern for the clients!

    Excellent cleaning in the room! Perfect situated in Obergurgl.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The food was extremely salty - while the taste and repertoire were sophisticated, the execution was wanting. In terms of facilities, the pool was tiny, and more important, there was no real Jacuzzi, which is important for relaxing after skiing.

    Elegant environs, good service, excellent location

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not the hotel's fault but why would any of the properties allow a tractor to move ice from one side of the road to another or any truck to drive by the hotel at 6am on a Saturday morning?

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was a little overheated so was the room but we just opened the window to let the cool fresh air in. Otherwise all was excellent.

    My husband managed to book our ski hire in Solden! We realised this on the first full day and the hotel provided us with a free ride down the hill to Solden saved us about $80 Euro on a return taxi! Not to mention time hassle etc. Loved the spa but can't get used to the nudity it was all a bit too funny! The indoor outdoor pool with spa outside just fantastic to swim outside while the snow falls.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had half board. The food was not so delicious as we expected.

    The staff was nice and friendly. The room was clean. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, interesting evening menu. Super staff! Great spa too and pool has best view around.

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Price of drinks.

    Friendly Staff. Fantastic food. Great atmosphere. Close to ski lifts.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor table service on Saturday - may have been understaffed...

    Friendly staff, spa, food, excellent location - would recommend strongly.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit noisy at night

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff, great food.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dominic was an excellent host! Very thoughtful and helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Proximity to slopes, area of town. Staff very friendly and helpful at all times Very nice hotel - enjoyed and recommend

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location

    How clean boot room ski racks 1st class

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not much not to like about the whole experience.

    Excellent service from all the staff - always friendly and willing to help. Good attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly and helpful staff and incredible ambiance

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Couple

    The food , the location , it is very modern, and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Only... My room was on the corner and sometimes was noisy from restaurant (music until 3-4 a.m.)

    Everithing))

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor massage service

    Good food Great wellness area

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    staff and location

There are also 36 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse Josl Mountain Lounging Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: