Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Keramikhotel Goldener Brunnen 3 stars

Traungasse 10, 4810 Gmunden, Austria

#19 of 24 hotels in Gmunden

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    A perfect place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A perfect place to stay! Great location, beautiful historic building, attentive and hospitable Thomas and his team and delicious breakfast! For my next visit to Gmunden I will definitely make sure to book ahead one of these rooms again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    Top notch place to stay in the center of Gmunden
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Design in the bathroom/shower was a bit awkward, but that is a question of taste.

    Very lovely hosts, all staff was really courteous. The building itself is great and historic and has a special aura. Rooms are newly renovated, I recommend the ones which have a terrace. Bed was amazing for a one night sleep. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Place with a character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The alley leading to parking is very narrow - just something to keep in mind with a larger car.

    Very kind staff and owners that let you feel welcomed and appreciated. Centuries old building with a character. Absolutely cetral location with wonderful views from some rooms on the top floor. Tasty breakfast. Proactive comunication - the lift was out of order during my stay and the hotel communicated it in advance before the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.6
    Not the best choice, even for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult access, due to road works in the town, apparently lasting since rather long (the hotel should have warned and informed us). The interior of the hotel and cleanness are below the promised standard. As compared with the other hotels visited during our journey, the price was far too high.

    Well placed near dowtown and lake shore

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge or coffee/tea making facilities in the room.

    Perfect location close to the center of Gmunden, Beautiful scenery and walks around the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Heartfelt hospitality in a historic building with a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A stronger hair dryer is the only thing that would have made it even better, but this is something one rarely finds in European hotels.

    The hotel is a 500 year old building with a view of the river, located a very short walk away from the center of the city (where one can catch boat rides) and from excellent restaurants. The proprietress is one of the kindest and most helpful people I've ever met who made me feel immediately at home. My room was beautiful, with a hard wood floor, view, and high ceilings. There is an elevator to the rooms, but to get into the hotel and to the elevator requires either going up steep steps with a handrail or entering on the main street side (which is steep) and going up a few steps without a handrail, but with a wall one can hold onto. The breakfast had many options, and could be eaten in a lovely sitting room with big windows or outside on the terrace. This was the perfect place in every way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice little hotel with good location to the main interests in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a bit of stairs to climb from the back entrance but the front entrance is fine and no problem.

    Nice breakfast and good location to the main part of town. The staff was extremely helpful and nice! The room had a balcony and with a good view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    Unbelievable personal service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Finding the place was a nightmare although a large part of this problem was due to roadworks close to the hotel. We arrived late and missed the turn off to the hotel. Getting back to it took us more than 40 minutes despite the hotel owner calling us and giving us directions (lots of one way streets). Hopefully, without roadworks and with Sat Nav/GPS (which we didn't have) this problem would not exist. Even with this problem, the hotel owner gave us a "hotel pass" to park in a public parking area 2 minutes from the hotel without charge.

    Super location, close to the lake and old town. Unbelievably good personal service from the hotel owner (see comments on arrival at hotel and roadworks below). We arrived at the hotel after a long day driving over the Grossglockner High Alpine Road and arrived late on a Sunday evening when most of the restaurants in town were closed. The hotel owner managed to call a restaurant (The Schwan - very good food and no rush to finish despite late arrival) 5 minutes walk from the hotel (and situated right on the lake) and get us a reservation. She also upgraded us to a lovely room with a large balcony overlooking the town. Excellent breakfast also on an outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, lovely town, lovely staff, reasonable price too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the first night there was a very strong smell of garlic in the bed that woke me. I could not trace the source - but when I slept in the other bed (twin room) I slept soundly with no aroma. Very odd - and I hadn't eaten garlic!

    Nice welcome and very friendly and helpful staff. Nice room with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast. Hotel is situated up a narrow quiet cobbled street 2 minutes from the shops and promenade. The tram stops are both about 5 minutes walk away. This is a lovely town to stay and explore the area. The manager recommended some restaurants - and I tried the Italian, and very nice it was too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    Close to town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location close to the town centre. The hotel owners were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good. Travelling by train to Gmunden, it was so easy to take a tram from the station to the town centre, and then it was just a five-minute walk to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Hotel by the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little temperamental. The curtains could be thicker to keep the morning light out.

    Lovely location, spacious room, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, and sweet hotel dog.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Very nice staff and very cozy hotel in the town center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff and very cozy hotel in the town center. I will come back for sure !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Needs some improvements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation.

    Location, cleanliness, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in central location, nice big room and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very hot, shower door did not close fully. No Tea or coffee in room.

    Lovely big room with comfy bed. Very central.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Rich breakfasf, spacious room, location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too soft beds :)

    Rich breakfasf, spacious room, location, staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Good room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good room and comfortable bed. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.4
    Faded hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dingy and run down. Poor value.

    Great location with pleasant staff and a lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice staffs who can provide detailed information about local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal is not strong enough to cover all the rooms.

    Nice staffs who can provide detailed information about local travel. Closed to the lake.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and happy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This family hotel has been furnished tastefully and is located in a very beautiful area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    closeness to the city center and the lake, staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No AC =(

    closeness to the city center and the lake, staff was very personable and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable,convenient hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice staff; great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smokers

    Nice clean rooms; really friendly staff in a GREAT location!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Little gem in Gmunden
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nil

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful spread for the buffet breakfast. Only a short walk to the main square and water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    10
    great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it would be better to charge when check in.

    great location, nice room with view towards the lake

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.3
    good location and beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location and beautiful view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.3
    This is a very old hotel in an historic building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    After staying here around five years' ago, I was disappointed this time. On arrival, the lift did not work and the impression I had was that this was not an infrequent occurrence. When booking it was stated that there was the opportunity to take the half-board option, which I requested, but on arrival I was firmly told that this was not possible as they did not have a restaurant. On my previous visit I had been offered, and accepted, the half-board option in the restaurant. Why suggest it is possible to reserve it if it is not? And, yes, they do have a restaurant, now seemingly used only for breakfast.

    This is a very old hotel in an historic building. My room had a balcony overlooking the river.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    9.2
    Very amazing old historical billing in the center of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very amazing old historical billing in the center of the city, with wonderful view to the lake. Staff very helpful, nice and reach breakfast, all is OK.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    An excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    An excellent location and very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is very substantial and of great quality. I had a small emergency where we had to spend my last night in I had a small emergency where we had to spend my last night in a hospital 20 kilometres away (this problem had nothing to do with the hotel). The manager of the hotel drove out to the hospital to return the things that I left in the room when I left for the hospital in a hurry. This is greatly to their credit. Overall this is an excellent choice.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in a quiet passage just off the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is situated in a quiet passage just off the main thoroughfare through the town, close to the square and lake. We arrived by train and took advantage of the tram which meets the trains and takes you down to the square. We enjoyed the varied breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.2
    Room with good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room with good view Nice staff Delicious breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Best hotel room's view ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was not working in my room.

    Best hotel room's view ever! Fine breakfast, nice stuff.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    The room was very comfy and clean, and the staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very comfy and clean, and the staff was very nice. I'd stay there anytime again.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: