Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Kolpinghaus Salzburg 2 stars

Adolf-Kolping-Straße 10, Itzling, 5020 Salzburg, Austria

#95 of 110 hotels in Salzburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2151 hostel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay extra to use the kitchen facilities and washing machine. Pillows were almost non existent. No air conditioning and it’s very loud outside, due to being student accomodation as well.

    Parking was close and easy. TV was good and worked well. Bathroom was clean and water pressure was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    2.5
    pathetic hostel (converted to hotel) with arrogant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was arrogant. I reached around 10 mints before 3:00pm and was very tired. the room were ready however they made sure that we should wait till the time tickle to 3:00 exactly. I came to know when at 3:03pm, I enquired about the room to new staff at reception and in no-second he said the room is ready. it denotes that they dont care the guest reaching time. The room were very small despite, I asked for 3 person with no facility. Looks like the hotel is converted from Hostel and still the student shares. Patetic location, no restaurent around and hotel doesnt not have restaurent too. What sad story

    I am not able to find any single quality in the hotel. please read the dislike which is huge. :(

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely helpful reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast staff were rather surly.

    Lovely helpful reception staff. Location good - half hour walk into town but along the river with no traffic (except bikes). Excellent restaurant just around the corner used by the locals mainly so not touristy. Bike hire reasonably priced and great fun

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.1
    Good place for two nights standing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - poor breakfast (no hot dishes) and non english-speaking staff in the restaurant - generally it's look like academician/dormitory, not hotel

    + clean + very, very comfortable beds + big parking + modern rooms and bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.4
    price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff. Noone reply emails! Send a request via booking or directly to their email, just no answers at all. Waiting for an invoice for 3 weeks still cannot get it. What a service:)

    price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.6
    The property is by the river and at walkable distance from...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service quality was very poor. The wifi at the property doesn’t work on all the mobile phones. Me and my collegues couldn’t connect with the Wifi for the whole time. We also approached the front desk but the lady at the reception was very rude and just ignored the issue. Even they have only one lift and it makes the movement very slow and conjusted. Totally not worth the amount of money they charged.

    The property is by the river and at walkable distance from the City centre. The beds were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People working there are not always nice. Pay attention that check in is at 3pm and not a minute before!

    Cheap price, 5 min by bus to the center, quite place. Clear rooms. Good for people who search to sleep a night in a nice place and continue travelling!)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.0
    Would not stay again. Rude staff, dusty room, bad location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very rude all the time, since arrival to checkout. They refused to heat our baby's food in the kitchen microwave. Room was dusty. No toiletries.

    The price and the parking are the only real positive things. Staff was very rude all the time. Not very clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable room. We were very sattisfied. Reception desk works until 9 pm, but there will be no problem if you arrive later, like we did...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Suitable for families who want to stay in Salzburg for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    However, there was not air-conditioner, and it was regrettable that it was slightly away from the Salzbrug Downtown. Still, buying a Salzburg card means you can freely use public transport, therefore it is not far away.

    Our family is three people. Three beds were prepared for three people to be comfortable sleeping. I think that it is suitable for people who want to make a meal with their family because they can use the shared kitchen and fridge at a small extra charge. There was also a coin laundry machine in the basement, and it was possible to do laundry in the accomodations. I think it is suitable for families who want to stay in Salzburg for a long time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    Nothing fancy, but great for a cheap getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we rented said that it had a private bathroom, and it did. However it was across the hall. Not a huge deal for us, but was just a tiny inconvenience. Also, the wifi signal in our room was very weak and we had to go to the lobby to be able to use their wifi.

    Overall, it's exactly what I expected. It was clean, simple, and perfect for the one night we needed it. Nothing fancy, but that's how they keep the cost down. I think this is a great option for people traveling solo or just looking for a cheaper option for somewhere to stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Location of the accommodation is picturesque Windows open to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk to public transport takes about ten minutes.

    Location of the accommodation is picturesque Windows open to an excellent sunrise enjoyed the views very much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is 10min drive to down town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows in the room opens for a very narrow space which enables very low air to enter the room. No air condition or fans installed.

    Location is 10min drive to down town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    localization is nice (we rented a car), as it is located...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 major infra issues: no AC, but this was maanageable, as the nights are not that hot this time of the year, but there are only 2 wash machines and 1 dryer, making laundry something you cannot count on...

    localization is nice (we rented a car), as it is located maybe 5-10 min of downtown. I recomme d taking a cab otherwise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Okay, but too pricey for a student accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More suitable as a student accommodation, the room had too many unnecessary furniture which greatly reduced the space. Normally a room for a couple, staff had added an extra bed right in the middle, which we had to adjust in order to move around. This was a portable bed and not comfortable. Room lacked a mini fridge, kettle, or even a simple phone to call reception from 3rd floor where we were staying. Asking to just place a bottle of milk in the common fridge (common kitchen) and requiring no additional services, staff asked for 5 euro in exchange for the kitchen key! One coffee at vending machine cost 1.80 euro! Not worthy buying from, since you can get proper coffee in the heart of Salzburg for 2-2.30 euros. There could have been a choice of pillows, since we prefer firm ones. Breakfast price too inflated. Overall too pricey for a student accommodation. We paid nearly 190 euro for 2 nights, which could have been invested against a proper hotel.

    Clean hotel and room. A bit of distance from city, however there is a choice of either local bus or walking along the river. Stroll takes around 25 minutes to reach city. Comfy beds. Helpful staff. Hotel located far from city noises or smoke and surrounded by greenery. Large window to see around. Renting a bike is useful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Spacious room, comfortable beds, toileteries in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As we arrieved late on Sat evening, no place arround for dinner. So be prepared for this. But for 1 night it was not a big problem as the vending machine saved us.

    Spacious room, comfortable beds, toileteries in the showerroom, elevator, good breakfast with a variaty of food (more than expected) and served very early, nice staff. We even got a room with a view to the fortress and the mountains and a beautiful sunset. It is definnetly worth staying for a short trip. The bus station is about 5-7 min away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    6.3
    No Air Conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air condition in the building. Eco friendly rooms. Not comfortable to stay specially during summers.

    Breakfast was good. Located 1.4km from Train station. Taxi takes 8 Euros to reach hotel. Otherwise take bus 6 and walk all the way to hotel from bus stop (get off from the bus at the 2nd station from the station).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    6.7
    Reasonably priced accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were present after 10pm but will not help since their shift has ended, even for simple questions of direction. Toilet was cleaned and beddings folded and fixed everyday, however, floor was not swept/vacuumed.

    Place was pretty quiet in July, contrary to reviews I read.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    In this 30 days trip we stayed in several bnb sites and kolpinhouse was one of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is relatively far from the city center but thera are good city transportation. In our case we had a rented car.

    Being Kolpinhous a dormitory for studens, they apply their experience and gave us an excellent service in very confortable and well operated installations. Our benefit was great in relation with the cost.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    Hostelity
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check-in not clear whom to turn to: combined Kolpinghaus and Eco Suite hotel employees. Not very hospitable. At a minimum I would have expected a few (plastic) glasses in the bathroom. Breakfast: a bit of two worlds: buffet, but bread is handed out.

    Clean as far as I've noticed. Location is ok, at walking distance of city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    - Clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff not helpful (I did mean particularly two staff I have encountered who came cross not enthusiastic about their work) - Waiting time for the check-in is too long. I don’t understand why everyone is asked to manually fill in the info that can be found already in the booking system.

    - Clean room - Affordable rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    it is half way between a hotel and hostel, clean, basic and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    more at breakfast, eggs, fresh organge juice, bigger cups for coffee, a few extras would have been welcome

    rooms comfortable, basic but fine, breakfast is fine, continental, location is good, 5/10 minute walk to bus stop and 2 stops to central station, 3 or 4 into centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Salzburg expensive and this is acceptable and not too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Student halls accom which was fine but room hot in Euro heatwave, 30 mins walk to old town along river and access to washing machine and drier. Motel one dearer but better value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.2
    We stayed at Kolpinghaus for 7 days with my 2 boys.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air condition in the room. They provide only soap. No hair dryer or shampoo.

    We stayed at Kolpinghaus for 7 days with my 2 boys. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchen and we cooked our meals there. They charged 5 Euro for that facility. It takes 30 minutes to walk to the center and 20 minutes to the train station by the river. We walked everywhere from Kolpinghaus and enjoyed the beautiful environment. The staff were so kind and helpful. It is a good choice with a reasonable price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management of the hostel, location aweful, cleaning to be improved, overall too much expensive for a hostel of this low level of quality. Not the best stay in salzburg, and the price is not compensating all the issues!!! I do not recommend this hostel, for the same price or even more you can get soooo much better.

    Big room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.3
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi doesn’t work good, the breakfast is horrible, even when is only for 6,50 the lady who give you the breads (because you can’t chose how much you can eat it’s only one per person) is totally unsympathetic and rude, we arrived at 8:30 am and was almost all finished we ask if they have a bit more of this and that (normal - regular things) and the guy who was organizing the tables said no!!!!! Only what is there, I mean was only one egg for 15 people waiting, it’s not possible!! Also this guy was so rude. The rooms are very warm. I think is very far from the city center, we chose to go by bus and to take the bus, the bus station is quit far and also where the bus let you on the way back it’s not so close and also not so beautiful to walk, it’s looks a bit dangerous. The rooms can be cheaper I’m disappointed.

    When we arrived and we left the staff was very nice, kind and efficient. the rooms are ok and the parking is free. Beautiful view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    An unmemorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and there was not air con in the room, which made it very hot during the night. Also the staff at the front desk were not very helpful.

    The hotel was clean. And was sufficient for a nights stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    A big group of boys &girls were laughing ,chatting &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A big group of boys &girls were laughing ,chatting & moving around whole night just under my window.It was very hot & humid so i had to open the window for some fresh air but couldnt sleep due to the commotion all through the night .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a walk from city center.

    Impeccable room, super clean and fantastic bathroom. Great breakfast (although we could tell bread wasn't fresh on the weekend), staff was nice and everything was very well organized.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.4
    Short tram ride, located on river in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly or interested in your stay. Breakfast staff also not friendly. CHOCOLATE MUSELI SERVED? Please offer another choice of museli.!!! Rooms facing street coukd be busy at night with people coming & going in cars. Rooms need fans as in hot weather no circulation of cooler evening air.

    Close to river, tram service and on bike paths. Modern rooms - single beds - student style.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    great option in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bycicle rental for kids, so no choice than walking to reach city centre. Taxi is another option. my room was Ground floor, next to a parking, so a bit noisy until 11;30PM. No AC, so room very hot in August.

    Clean and comfortable rooms. Breakfast OK, good value. 25 mn walk to reach Salzburg city centre, but it is a nice walk. Most cost-effective hotel option in Salzburg. Good holiday atmosphere inside hotel, very busy, very touristic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Apartment is large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift, so getting the luggage to the upstairs was challenging. The neighbourhood is a bit too silent and dark at night, but we did not have any unpleasant exchanges.

    Apartment is large and clean. It included hairdryer, washing machine, some soap, glasses and other kitchen appliances. The tv had a netflix subscription ready for use. Free wifi was fast. The location is very close to the bus and tram stops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 128 unfortunately has a walkway to the terrace infront if the window with an automatic light that goes on when someone walks past. This means you can’t open your window as otherwise your 20cm from everyone walking past. And the light shines right into your room every time someone triggers it. There’s so a door Into the building next to your window that bangs every time someone walks through it. Would stay here again but not this room.

    Location was great. Just out of town and a lovely walk along the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Clean, nice reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer only available at reception. A bit far from town center, 30 mins walk, but OK with us.

    Clean, nice reception staff. Feels good walking along The river in the morning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    3.8
    Very very bad....too small room for family of three. Booking.com should list this as family room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was booked for 3 people family but because Bed cannot be join which resulted buying extra Bed. The room was not suitable for family of 3. This should have resulted in booking search for family. When asked for extra Bed, have to pay extra. Staff did not offer any other room but adjust in same room with extra Bed.

    Hotel offers good ebikes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Although it is quite a walk to the touristic center, it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside parking lot was quite noisy at early housr (5 am)

    Although it is quite a walk to the touristic center, it is a clean welcoming place. The greatest thing is that they have their own bike rental service, at a really good price of 12 € / day / bike. Gives you the feeling of a school dorm, or, as someone said, an old hospital. But it is a really nice, clean, spacious place. The staff are great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.5
    Nice place beside the river
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floor rooms are simply. Coridoors are not that clean. No soap in bathrooms. Shared bathrooms are inconvenient. Yet price of rooms are not that low.they gave us 2 rooms In different floors. They said this is what available. Yet I think they can organize their rooms better.because building is big staff are always busy with people.

    Location near the city.parks and river and all services are pretty close. Parking free near hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very warm. Unfortunately we weren’t able to check in early but we were able to leave our bags, however this was kept in an unlocked room.

    Good location, clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Very kind personnel, we needed to prolong the reservation by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was little squeaky. For the price of the room I would expect maybe small fridge/minibar in the room (although not standard for 2* hotel), it would be useful in summer.

    Very kind personnel, we needed to prolong the reservation by one night and it was no problem. Although located near railway, we didn't hear any train passing. Located approximately 30 walking minutes from the centre. Very good accessibility by car from the highway. Supermarket located few walking minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful location over the river, easy walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location over the river, easy walking distance everywhere, but far enough from main part of city to feel peaceful. Room was small but clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Very good place, we will recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had been convinient for us as a family if there had been an open restaurant in the evening in the hostel.

    Nice hostel close to the downtown city. Clean and the breakfast buffe was worth the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, spacy and comfortable rooms and whole hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the corridor was big, room doors were not silence at all. Additional bed was not very comfortable. One lift for such a big hotel is not enough.

    Very clean, spacy and comfortable rooms and whole hotel. Staff friendly and helpful. Price was good, locaction as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    The staff was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke in room

    The staff was amazing. The room was really bad of ciggerette smoke so the staff moved us to their hotel next door due to my wife’s allergies.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    I only stayed for 1 night, the city is nice from 1 evening...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's more like a hostel type of accomodation. There is a shared kitchen , but you have to pay extra to use it ( and the fridge from the kitchen)

    I only stayed for 1 night, the city is nice from 1 evening of visiting ... The place is near the river and a pleasant 30+ mins walk to center of town, quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Great location, clean, and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one chair in the room and sitting on bunk beds is not very easy.

    This is such a great value! Yes, it is a student dorm, but the view, location, and value cannot be beat. It is just steps from a biking/walking path to the city center and everything was clean and comfortable in the room. Plus the coffee machine in the lobby is excellent! There is also a big cage for bikes and parking is free and on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Acceptable for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matrassess were not clean enough (maybe they are too old).

    View on the castle. Room with bathroom and wc is ok. Quiet neighborhood. Free parking places. Breakfast is good. Nice stay for young people: beach volley and basketball places, running court, bicycles.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    2.5
    Its one of the worst stay in my recent times
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Soaps, and Shampoo's provided. Pillow not provided for Kid.. The size of the room is very small, Most importantly the staff behaviour is very rude. She is not ready to answer !

    Nothing Much.. Its waste of money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short stay of 1 or 2 days in a decent location but limited public transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is 1.5 Kms from main train station with very limited public transport. Though the property is good but I didn't get a good room. It was in the lower ground floor and at the corner with no lightling. So enquire before and make sure you dont get rooms in lower ground floor.

    A decent accomodation. They also allow you to use their kitchen by paying a small fees which is good if you are with kids. I didn't opted their breakfast so cannot comment on it. The staff were good and cordial. There are lot of students living there so we had some interesting communications. The neighbourhood is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    A good value for money place with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been given the disabled room, shower was very low for us

    Easy to find, the personnal was very nice and professional, teaching us german ! Breakfast was good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    Good budget option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were accommodated on the ground floor near the passage door to the eco-suite. From 6:00 to 22:00, there was constant sound of noisy door closing. We were most of our trip outside, so the "waking up time" at 6:00 was ok. First day the breakfast lady was awkward, but other 2 days the breakfast ladies were polite and friendly.

    The furniture in room looked like new and clean. Hotel is near the nice pedestrian/cyclist promenade on the riverside of Salzach. The room contained everything according to two stars class. Polite desk office. Breakfast buffet was adequate to the price, we had no fancy raw bio vegan hipster options, but you can be well fed, if you are not picky. (bread, buns ,cheese, ham, mortadella, butter, jam, honey, apples, bananas, cereals, coffee, hot chocolate, milk etc ... ) Omnibus number 6 to the train station and city center is nearby about 600 m walk to the austrasse. Hoffer supermarket in cca 700 m distance in Itzling science city. The hotel is also the college dormitory but there were no wild college student parties. Everybody was disciplined and there was quiet after 22:00.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean and simple, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be aware of the check-in only until 21.00.

    Great location, clean and simple rooms, private bathroom. Towels and linen included. Peaceful and green surrounding, walking path on the riverside beside the hostel. Large private parking lot in front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Most staff people were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff person was unfriendly. Clearly happy to see us go but not as happy to help us while we were there. All amenities, grocery store, historic section, food, not very close to the facility. Would be nice if there was at least or at least one small cafe or convenience grocery store located within a block but there is not. Lol

    Most staff people were very helpful. The rooms were really well organized and fairly clean although we did find hairs on two of the beds that didn't belong to anyone in our room. Laundry was inexpensive to do. Kitchen facility was clean and well-stocked with plates and forks and such. Easy to rent bikes right on site although one ended up being a problem but our money was refunded for it. Like having filtered water in the facility available for free. Giant chess board a bonus for our kids. Being right along the river very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hostel - would come again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no hair dryer and no fridge in the room.

    The location is perfect to visit Salzburg by bike or by feet. The staff is really nice and the other hotel guests are young and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value quiet b&b easy walk into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit like a hostel very basic no a/c quite a walk into town but doable for the money a good hotel for the night with no facilities like a bar or lounges.breakfast real basic don’t bother.

    Easy to get to great parking quiet room good bed and pillow outstanding bathroom and shower so as long as you want value and a great sleep and shower it is ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    the room is very big and clean, the reception is very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is very big and clean, the reception is very nice and helpful the view outside is amazing, snow mountain and playground and colorful houses, a beautiful picture

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Location of the property is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the property is good. It takes around 20 minutes to get to the city center walking by the river. Parking is available on the site. This offer was the best option for a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    okay la
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are few things i dislike. First, the shared kitchen is dirty, there is no dish-washing liquid to wash dishes and not enough kitchenware. There is a fridge but it was locked, i suppose we need to ask reception to use it but reception already close. Far from bus stop. Lastly, we had baby crib in our room? (we're not expecting babies at the moment).

    The staff is really helpful but too bad the reception close at 9 pm. The view is so nice, we can see beautiful mountain full with snow from our room. The staff speaks English. They have shared kitchen in each floor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Clean, Good Heating, Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little further out from the attractions. Thankfully bought a Salzburg Card so could take the bus around.

    Clean, Good Heating, Friendly Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find. Close to train station. Gym facilities were good. Rooms were clean, and confortable. The walk to the main part of town was short enough, with wonderful views of the snow capped mountains. But, it's a short cab ride, if you're not up for the walk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a hotel. More of a youth hostel, albeit clean and relatively comfortable.

    Efficient staff. Clean. Parking. 30 minutes walk to Salzburg's attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Clean and had washing and cooking facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a hospital feel about it. A bit dark too with echoes along the halls.

    Clean and had washing and cooking facilities. Also had vending machines for hot drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable but simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had two sets of bunk beds but no comfortable seating. There were two desks and two chairs at the desks. Awkward to relax in the room. The shower was open to the bathroom, no splash wall so water went all over the floor and even into the bedroom.

    Simple accomodation at a good price close to central Salzburg.Really enjoyable riverside walk to the heart of the city. Very good value breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Kolpinghaus located in a very calm and nice district of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower drain didn’t work properly.

    Kolpinghaus located in a very calm and nice district of Salzburg. The view from its terrasse is amazing! We loved the breakfast and enjoyed the atmosphere of the hostel (very modern and youthful). The staff was kind and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Very affordable, comfortable, clean place to stay for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the Kolpinghaus was kind of a long walk from the city center and there were no buses nearby. Our room was all bunk beds. It would have been nice to have one double bed. I think my biggest concern, however, was the upper bunk beds did not have rails. This meant we had to put the younger kids on bottom bunks and 3 out of 4 of the adults had to take top bunks just to be safe.

    The facilities were nice, clean and comfortable with lots of storage space. My husband and I were traveling with my brother and SIL and their 5 children. We rented two rooms in a suite and it worked great for us. It was very affordable for the number of people we had staying. We had a great experience over all, especially for the price we paid!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant and comfortable. Will certainly stay there again next time we pass through Salzburg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about any aspect.

    Easy 15min stroll along the river bank from the station. Very quiet location. Spacious, comfortable and well appointed rooms, good value breakfast. Excellent evening meal available only 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    It was cheap and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty quiet neighborhood - not easy to get to especially if you have a lot of luggage (~ 15 min walk from the main station). No hair dryer and you will want to borrow it at the front desk early as we were late so we missed out. Overall it was clean but the style was very college dorm like, so keep that in mind.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff, Value of money comparing to others, quite but a bit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid the breakfast rude staff (blonde lady) and its the worst breakfast I got in any hotel, hostel, homestay....etc

    Staff, Value of money comparing to others, quite but a bit far

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    Big comfortable clean room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast for 6 € was meh. You have to tell in advance how many pieces od bread you will have. They ran out od milk.

    Big comfortable clean room and bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Value for money, quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    20mins walking distance from train station, 30mins from old town. We booked a triple room but the room given was simply a twin room with an extra bed in the center of the room, which the extra bed blocked the access to the tables on both sides

    Value for money, quiet neighbourhood

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Value for money / good price quality ratio, big rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bunk bed is not protected on the second layer, so if you move to much while sleeping you can fall on the ground. Simple rooms without TV etc, just good to sleep.

    Value for money / good price quality ratio, big rooms. Good breakfast for good price. Big free parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Cheap and cheerful in Salzburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel can be a little noisy, as it's mainly occupied by students, but I didn't have too many issues.

    Neat and clean rooms of generous size, the hotel is very close to the footpath that runs along the river into town, and it's an easy walk into the city centre. Plenty of food options nearby if needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    We found this gem in 2016, returned in 2017 and plan to keep going back every summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything negative about our stay..... Fantastic place for a great price. I guess the nearest bus stop was a good 4 minute walk, could be closer.

    It is a great location because it is pretty close to the main touristy stuff in Salzburg, but not right in the middle of it. We found nothing even close to the price anywhere in the city. Breakfast is served til pretty late in the morning and that's always a bonus on our vacations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.0
    NOTHING!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That is the dirtiest hotel we have ever seen. The apartment looked as if it had not been cleaned for ages. Dust on the tables, dust and stains all over the floor, hair on the linen, lots of hair in the shower outlet, dirty toilet. Cannot remember it all without shivering. By the way we saw the cleaning girls next morning. Clean linen kept falling out of their trolley along the corridor, and they were happily laughing collecting it all around. The canteen was far from looking and smelling fresh and clean as well. Fortunately we had only one night stay there. Never again!

    NOTHING!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst power socket layout I've ever seen. No socket nearby bed in the device era - duh!

    Good hotel. Clean room, clean bathroom, warm bed. Cheap breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Clean, staff very helpful and friendly, responded positively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the other guests made a mess or disrespected the property. Some minor repairs needed doing. Eg chairs in kitchen, our reading lights didn't work and the cleaner had missed cigarette stubs in our non-smoking room. Cigarette smoke also wafted into our room from the street below.

    Clean, staff very helpful and friendly, responded positively to our requests

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: