Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kolping 3 stars

Gesellenhausstraße 5, 4020 Linz, Austria

#11 of 48 hotels in Linz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1267 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I mentioned in the reservation the need for a parking slot in the garage I could see on the presentation page of the hotel on booking.com, I was only lucky to find a place in the public parking, for free as it was Sunday.

    The breakfast was good and the staff in the area very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When taking the shower head out of the holder, there was some moldy substance in the holder. The rest of the room was top notch clean though.

    While it was hot outside, the temperature in the room was always nice. Stable decent speed wifi. Enough storage space for decent ordering of items. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel was great- the location, the service, the room, the bed, the comfort provided and the breakfast. The wifi is fast and the place just feels cosy and safe and perfect for resting after traveling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to say.

    Very nice hotel only two blocks away from main street in the centre of the city. Hotel has underground parking for reasonable price. If You travel by car and don't wan't to mess with looking for parking space on streets, this hotel is a solution. Room was unexpectedly large. Nice and clean. Very responsible staff. And as a big bonus - royal breakfast with extremely wide choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm preferring less soft mattress.

    Wery tastefully breakfast. Especially rye bread was very tasteful. A lot of different cheeses and sousages and also few tomatoes until the very last moment of breakfast (till 10:00 in working day) And items on breakfast was fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty carpet in the room and charging my credit card before departure.

    Almost perfect breakfast, just coffee could improve. Very silent room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes.

    Breakfast was plentiful with a large selection for every taste. Staff at the reception friendly. Hotel also has a garage for bicycles, which is very convenient when traveling on Donauradweg.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bike store is located down the street which means lots of bag handling for cycle tourists. Tourist tax charges are implied but the amount is not stated on the booking information so check your bill.

    The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. The shutters are good in summer and the double glazing helps keep everything quiet. This is a good location for getting around Linz, especially if you get a Transport pass or a Linz Card. The hotel reception can also sell you a Linz card which is helpful. Bike storage and a mini bar are provided.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not aware that breakfast is included and didn't eat, even though we paid for it. The room was too small for four people (which I didn't realize when I booked, but the description did state two adults and one child). The parking garage is very tight; there were few spaces available, we had difficulty getting our car into a space, and when we left a car had illegally parked behind us, making getting out nearly impossible. The entrance and exit to the garage are also the same, which caused an issue when we were leaving. The biggest problem was that the air conditioning didn't cool the room down at all. It was so hot that we weren't able to get much sleep.

    The location was convenient, with shops and restaurants within walking distance. The tram stops nearby for getting to the city center if travelers don't want to walk that far. We were glad to have parking on site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    advertised 1 doble bed and 1 sofa bed. i came with two children 7 and 3. charged me 12 e for extra bed and 2 extra breakfast 9.9 e for children. avoid this guys

    location is ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was directly above the Nain entrance. This was a congregation area for smokers. Loud and smokey at times. No a/c so windows had to be open...ask for a room away from main entrance.

    Good breakfast for 10 euros. A block from main walking street. 10 min walk front train station.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scrambled eggs.

    The room was clean. And they clean it daily. Stuff was frientdly and supportive at all the questions. Breakfast was ok, scrumbled eggs not so much, but I liked the diversity of the food. And also for vegans and bio food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel decor was slightly jaded and in need of refurbishment.

    The breakfasts were excellent, with a wide range of good things to eat. The location was ideal, with easy access to the trams and hence to the main railway station.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Requested late check-out for between 2-3PM and was called several times beginning at 2PM to leave the room. When mentioned that my late check-out till 3PM has been confirmed, they said as it was complimentary and I should leave the room. Very unpleasant.

    Nice location, clean and cozy, good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tHE STAFF WAS VERY ACCOMMODATING. IT WAS CLOSE TO THE TRAIN STATION. IT WAS A LITTLE HARD TO FIND WITH ONE WAY STREETS. BREAKFAST WAS REALLY COMPLETE.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have stayed here several times. As always, clean, convenient, pleasant rooms, quiet location and helpful staff. Generous breakfasts; thoughtful touches (eg extra pillows) in rooms. It's good to know that hotel company profits help good causes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance of the shower could be better and their restaurant is close at Sundays

    The breakfast was excellent, the staff is helpful, the location is close to the center. The hotel is in a quiet street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe would be nice to have a morning tea/coffee facility in the room. Nothing else to mention.

    Extremely clean room; in every detail. No smell in the room as in other hotel experience, even windows can be opened for fresh air! Bathroom has a great heater included, so nice in any season, independently from room temperature !!! Bathroom is white !!! as a proof to show how clean it is. Towels are impecably white and clean! (Higher branded hotels dare to use even grey or other dark pavement in bathrooms ....) Everything is sized perfectly !!! Lights at mirrors are perfect from all directions around for a proper makup! All variety of hangers, including inside wardrobe AND outside. Spacious place for clothes, luggage. Incredibly comfortable bed. Design is not overwriting human logic, as in many other hotels... Personnel 100% OK. Quiet place but only 3 min walk from main pedestrian road w nice shops and restaurants. Taxi always available within 2-3 min. My favourite practical hotel to always stay!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind. We've had a good stay.

    The hotel was very clean, the room was basic but spacious. The staff helped us everytime we needed something for the baby. They provided a good quality baby cot. The breakfast was very good. Parking was very conveniently located and for a good price. The location is good, close enough to couple big avenues filled with stores and restaurants, but very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi (WLAN) had weak signal and kept disappearing. Then had to sign in again. To book our next hotel we had to go and sit in the lobby to be sure of a connection. Had a room in back which was quiet, until construction began across the courtyard at 7 a.m.

    Room was pleasant, breakfast average. Appreciated locked bicycle storage room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work very well. We were very uncomfortable and hot. The room was small. Also desk clerk did not understand procedure for exiting the garage.

    We loved the breakfast. Lots of choices and even a juicer. The water pressure was very good in the tiny shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom looked a bit tired but was very clean.

    A pleasant surprise to have adequate air conditioning on a very hot day in Linz. The rooms are simple but comfortable with good wifi and a reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some cold drink in the room.

    The hotel fully met our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect place to stay in Linz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay for a night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I feel like home. I really want to come back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    koffee better!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old-fashioned interior

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not new

    Staff was very kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    value for money

    good location; nice and clean rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed / sheet / cover Old furniture

    Friendly staff Free wifi Private parking available Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi - on Friday problem with wifi and Saturday, Sunday no wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of buffet breakfast

    Location and excellent foods from Trevi. I am surprised. We feel we had Best foods for awhile.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and the prices for the conditions offered are high.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking in restaurants nice facilities

    Close to old city Linz, landstraffe, shopping, restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable, friendly reception, close to everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, great breakfast, reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricey y

    Location, staff, good sleep

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit dated and in need of refurbishment

    Excellent breakfast and good location near main shopping street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bed mattress

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco does not work properly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet speed very slow

    location parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing.

    very clean ,room very good,food very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Friendly staffs. Good breakfast. Quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was lousy . . had to go into the lobby to use it effectively

    Nice place . . . . .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice and clean hotel, good breakfast, close to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everything was just perfect. Breakfast was amazing. Very friendly receptionist. Very close to the city centre, around 5 min walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal war indifferent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and nicely furnished with a good range of facilities. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    ---all ok !

    Furnishings and cleanliness of the room - very good. Breakfast – good. Location good. Weekend parking in front of the hotel : free!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was extraordinary! location really good for sightseeing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near the train station, good bed and quiet room, good internet and really nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    superb location in the historic city center friendly staff parking available

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    worn-out carpet in room

    Good location, close to public transport and close to city centre. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Mini-bar in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel for short stay, good value and parking rates are good for Linz

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access to Hotel - one-way system makes accessing difficult

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor WiFi and staff not too friendly

    Big room and good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms have little bit old furniture.

    The breakfast was sufficient, the hotel was clean and had good location, but is a little bit shabby.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    top

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great breakfast and really nice and friendly staff at breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One day the staff was quite stressed during breakfast. So it was not quite as relaxing as it could have been.

    Everything excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't be better!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was super. Lots of choice. Very close to the shopping high street!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Disappointed there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room after a long day of travelling but there was a coffee machine in the foyer.

    Close to railway station and main shopping street. Staff were very efficient and could speak English . Breakfast was excellent and should please anybody.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found it a little expensive comparing with others with the same characterisctics, in Wien by example, But I have to say that even Airb&b in Linz were more expensive than this one.

    Everything was very nice, the hotel, the breakfast, the rooms and beds. Not our view. The location is excellent because within some blocks down or up you are in the Main Plaza and Danube river, or the train station.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    it is strange, that if you can have little dog in the hotel room, you can not take it in o the room for having breakfast.

    location, brekafast and cleanless

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very rude. Furniture is quite old.

    The hotel is not far away from the centre (10-15 minutes walk). We managed to park for free in front of the hotel (Saturday after 3pm and Sunday are free for parking).

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lock was a traditional key and had to headed in every time we went out. Sometimes the front desk staff was busy for long periods and at others were away doing other jobs. The Internet was slow and took 45 minutes to join initially.

    The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The counter clerks are so kind. I found all the things I want in the room and the bed was comfortable, too. If I travel around Linz or the surrounding areas again, I'd like to stay in this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Family with young children

    Wifi only worked in the toilet. It was very hot outside and the air conditioning did not perform well.

    The reception staff was very friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh.

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Most of the rooms have roller blinds which I would recommend. I visited Linz in summer, had no window shade and during the afternoon a hotel room like a sauna.

    The hotel staff was very friendly, the breakfast really good.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Family with young children

    When I was making a reservation I noted I had two children but when all was finished it turned out in the reservation that I had only one so we did not get the proper room with enough beds.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing to mention

    Excellent location: short walking to center of Linz. Good breakfast, small but confortable room. pet friendly , they even prepared a little place for our dog to sleep

There are also 49 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Kolping traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: