Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Kongress 4 stars

Langgasse 10, 8700 Leoben, Austria

#5 of 6 hotels in Leoben

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 349 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    The bedsheets and towels were clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room needs refurbishment. It was sticky and smelly including hotel corridors. When I booked the room I saw on the website new rooms but I was put in old bedroom. It smelled from cigarette smoke. When I opened the wardrobe the dust flew outside. The carpet was dirty. The curtains did not cover windows and the system was broken. Advertised BBC TV channel did not work.

    The bedsheets and towels were clean. I liked big selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff, nicely decorated and spacey rooms, different...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small single bed I got was a bit too narrow for me. But the mattress and pillows were very comfortable. It's a pity the hotel bar is not operated anymore. Was a comfortable place to have one last drink (or so) before going to bed..

    Nice staff, nicely decorated and spacey rooms, different from standard hotel room design in most comparable hotels around the world. Excellent breakfast. Excellent for business and leisure travellers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunatley as the location is very central, you have much noise from drunken people from the road... Maybe an AC would be good, so you can close the windows and don't hear the noise of the people.

    Good breakfast, good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Charming Hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stand by my statement that the Hotel Kongress has the softest bed have ever slept in! I really like the rooms here - big - very clean - and very comfortable. They also have an awesome shower in the room... and its a huge plus. This is the type of hotel one dreams about finding in Europe and staying at - and it does not disappoint that dream one bit!!! A special thank you to the reception staff - for helping me with my questions on finding a few items - but more so on my early checkout due to an early train headed to Wien. Thank you again!!!! If you are coming in from the train station - you can walk it, but recommend a taxi. Cost was about 7 Euro. Hotel is next to the central plaza and there is a lot to see all around the area to include the old city gateway next to the River Mur. Also - Leoben is just beautiful at night time and very well lite up!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced and under-resourced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet room with bath-tub requested - we got room with shower and the noisiest in the hotel. Double room, was odd shape and small with only one chair between two. Poor mattress. No slippers or robes (Hotel claims to be Four Star but is more like a four star pension not a Hotel) Room suffered from internal and exteral noise all night. Café was closed and "hotel" has no other faciltiies. Very very overpriced for a city B&B - breakfast at 9 am not enough staff - chaos and poor quality. Nice staff -poor management.

    The staff - though overwhelmed at breakfast - are very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    Just the perfect location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent reception staff, really helpful! We head little time to get to a celebration and needed to get some errands done - they were really doing everything we could ask for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.4
    I did not think this Hotel was value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was according to Internet pictures, however, the pictures must have been taken some time ago.... The room was clean, but felt like the carpets, curtains and sofa needed a deep clean, or be renewed. The Mattress was awful, and well past its life span. With increased international business travel, one would expect more English speaking satellite channels other than SKY and BBC news.

    The Location, although Leoben is small, so location is almost irrelevant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in a well situated hotel.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of safe in the room.

    The hotel situated in the very centre of Leoben, nice breakfasts, very quiet, garage available by lift directly from the hotel, good Internet, large room (suite), very nice and helpful personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Functional downtown stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms would require a small refreshment, starting to look tired.

    Well located, very close to the main place of Leoben. Good layout of the room even though taking a shower is a bit challenging for tall people (attic room). Functional hotel for both business and leisure.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    What a place to rest theough jetlag!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really was no bad experience in either of my stays here -- it is a great place!

    I arrived at about 10 min before they were shutting down the front desk due to a late train ride - and the staff was ready for me - and even had the key in a lockbox outside incase I was late! Can not say enough how much I really appreciate the staff there - to include allowing for a noon checkout the next day. The location of the hotel is great because you are at the end of the city and next to the central platz. The room is big - and very welcoming. But what I love about the Hotel Kongress is the bed. It is the softest bed think I have ever slept in - and so comfortable you will likely oversleep!!!!! The temps outside were in the low 50s and the room temp was about ass perfect for sleeping as it comes! What a great place to stay -- and Leoben is a beautiful little city even when the snows have melted on the ski runs!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Very quite and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard for parking in a van

    Very quite and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Cozy atmosphere, extremely good location and helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cozy atmosphere, extremely good location and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Good staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Other guests were smoking, either in their non-smoking rooms...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other guests were smoking, either in their non-smoking rooms or in the hallway. The smoke got into my room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    come back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location in the center of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Gösser Room is amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress a bit too soft for my liking.

    Gösser Room is amazing! Decent WiFi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Easy to find, central location, free parking.
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bath

    Easy to find, central location, free parking. The room featured a mini bar. Comfort bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    extra pillows do they run a ski bus to the local ski resort in winter ?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.3
    Poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little. Our tract of the hotel had a power outage at 2 am and they did not repair it until 8am.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Lovely town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and in walking distance to train stations, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    6.7
    Too warm for sleepibg in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too warm for sleepibg in the room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.0
    Not more than 2 stars value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillows were old and uncomfortable and the shower was moldy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Nice sized room and bathroom, great location, very soft bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only difficult item is location is off the plaza and not on the plaza.

    Nice sized room and bathroom, great location, very soft bed. Thank you to the front desk staff with assistance on getting around Leoban and for a late checkout too!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    9.6
    The helpful staff who let me put my belongings in reception...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The helpful staff who let me put my belongings in reception even after the checkout time 11.00am because I was going to attend an interview and could not take them along.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    7.9
    Near to the centre, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price is 4-star, but the hotel is only 3. Too expensive for a small-town hotel. In Amsterdam you can find a similar accommodation cheaper!

    Near to the centre, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    5.8
    This hotel is in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weve stayed here for 5 years now for Erzburg Rodeo and in this time nothing has changed. The hotel is in need of updating and having been there in the sweltering heat, I'd say air con is desperately needed. You CANT have your windows open and expect to sleep! The noise from the street is awful! And i realky cant emphasise this enough.

    This hotel is in an ideal location. Centre of town. Close to bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    7.5
    Helpful front desk clerk, clean&comfortable room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking should be complimentary - paying to park in a small town hotel is ridiculous!

    Helpful front desk clerk, clean&comfortable room! Good breakfast selection.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    4.2
    Good location of hotel in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that there were spider webs in the room, the chair was dirty and covered with what looked like old bed linen and a dirty old looking stained carpet. Definitely not worth the money we paid expecting a 4 star hotel! Also got woken up by someone hoovering outside the bedroom.

    Good location of hotel in city centre

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.1
    Great location and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture is very old and the hotel definetly needs a renovation

    Great location and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff at the reeiption
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking fee in the underground parking

    Friendly staff at the reeiption

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    A very pleasant hotel in the center of the city Leoben,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very pleasant hotel in the center of the city Leoben, friendly staff, nice room, good breakfast, free parking for motorbike

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.9
    Receptionist very helpful she gaves us a free parking place !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Receptionist very helpful she gaves us a free parking place !!and the other staff are also friendly.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: