Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel König von Ungarn 4 stars

Schulerstraße 10, 01. Innere Stadt, 1010 Vienna, Austria

#13 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1095 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Love this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Historic feel and style. Staff amazing. Couldn’t be cleaner. Breakfast wonderful. Favourite hotel in Europe on this trip. Concierge was AMAZING. Thanks so much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    4.6
    Avoid this hotel like the plague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WARNING! The hotel will direct you to a parking garage with a ticket they give you. Price is supposed to be 20 euros per day, but the only way we could get the car out was to pay 80 euros (for 2 days parking). Complained to hotel that their special ticket didn't work and they said there was nothing they could do about it, except not charge us the 40 euros on our bill at check out. What a SCAM. Beds are like sleeping on a sheet covered park bench, pillows poor as well. Asked for a kettle for the room, man at desk acted like how dare I make such a request, then ask him for local directions for tram and was scolded like a two year old for asking such a stupid question. For this we paid 460 euros for 2 nights !! Absolutely ruined Vienna for us - by far the worst hotel imaginable and unforgettable for all the wrong reasons.

    Breakfast was the highlight of an otherwise dismal experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful location, excellent staff,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful location, excellent staff,. This place is worth the trip. Quiet, even though it's located in the heart of old Vienna, a few steps away from the cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Central located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel needs a renovation. Maybe they try to sell it as "RETRO design". I am sorry but I don't buy that. A small example: no electronic cards for room doors. You need to carry the old fashion heavy keys you have to return to reception each time you leave the hotel. Not so much trouble but it gives you an idea.

    Location Location Location. You will not find a closer hotel that is a few steps from Stephansplatz.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Everything was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect! Nice room, good wi-fi, friendly staff, tasty breakfast, excellent location in the heart of the city. Thanks a lot, hope to return back in your hotel again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great stay, Great service, Very much recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the hotel is great, exceptional location, right in the center, close to the subway/metro. the room was very comfortable. we ate almost every day at the hotel restaurant in the evening, they are very good Mr. Erdem at the hotel restaurant gave us great service ! He was very nice breakfast is very good, service is excellent the hotel staff were very helpful overall one of the best hotels we have been to We realized that the hotel building is also the place where Mozart lived, the museum is at the back side of the building, interesting to visit

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    We stayed in a spacious two floor room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in a spacious two floor room. Nicely furbished with a personal attention (chocolate) every night. Excellently located near the St Stephansdom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    nice location, close to the St Stephansplatz, services are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice location, close to the St Stephansplatz, services are very good, with nice welcome chocolates. They also gave me a very detailed guide and explanation of city tour. Great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay in Koenig von Ungarn
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful, authentic old world charm; well appointed, comfortable beds; roomy family accommodations with two levels. The upstairs two bed room was especially cosy to spend evenings in. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, with made to order eggs. Proximity to St Stephan’s platz was great. We will come back for sure!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Most enjoyable place to stay and I would recommend it to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provision of towels was not brilliant

    The position of the Hotel is fantastic - central yet quiet. It is adjoining Mozart’s house and is a beautiful historic building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and happy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found nothing about which to complain.

    Superb location. Interesting old building suitably furnished. Very comfortable, large bedroom. Good, well supplied bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    The KONIG VON UNGARN IS GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel Konig Von Ungarn is a Beautiful place with its elegant design and warm colors. Old world charm and a beautiful lobby underneath a glass ceiling that is the essence of tranquility. They also had a public computer for your convenience in the corner of the lobby tucked away next to the bar! The breakfast was outstanding...try the Hungarian goulash! And the location could not be beat! Steps away from St Stephens Cathedral and the surrounding restaurants and shops!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a excellent stay. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. The location was excellent the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly stuffy

    The overall experience was excellent. The hotel staff was extremely helpful. The breakfast was very good. Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful place to stay with excellent facilities, hospitable staff, and perfect locationin Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in a nearby garage. The garage itself was fine, clean, well lit and safe, however the process for paying for it could have been a little clearer when we checked in.

    Breakfast, especially the omelette, was excellent. Location of the hotel for sightseeing in the Inner City was amazing, we walked everywhere! The room was great, the biggest bathroom we have ever seen in any hotel we have visited.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a vegetarian and gluten free and there was no consideration for that. And the orange juice was not fresh. It was not worth 20 euros for me.

    I loved the building. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast offering could be improved though the staff were lovely. Indeed I think the hotel should enhance the atmosphere in the restaurant to make it more attractive to eat lunch or dinner there.

    Location, attitude of staff and overall ambiance of an individually owned rather than over slick hotel run by accountants to ‘ a formula ‘.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    I recommend the hotel - the stuff is helpful, the hotel is...
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I recommend the hotel - the stuff is helpful, the hotel is very comfortable, my room was spacious, breakfast is very good, the location of the hotel is perfect - 2 minutes from Stephansplatz. Todor from the reception desk was very kind and assisted with everything.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic location right in the center of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, everything was very good.

    Fantastic location right in the center of Vienna. One of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel restaurant. The Maisonette rooms are very well appointed and having a spare floor for the kids is very convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, very comfortable with very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very spacious and comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. The location could not have been better/more central -- dead center of the city. Breakfast was very good, with an excellent selection of items, and the scrambled eggs were delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Would love to return sometime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was very hard.

    Excellent location, easy access for all tourist attractions and main train station. Well served by underground system. Hotel was a traditional style and the breakfast was buffet style with the addition of freshly cooked items on request. Staff brilliant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrobes weren't provided automatically - we had to ask for them. There was also no coffee making facility in the room. A kettle was provided to make tea on request. Neither of these were big problems and the staff responded very promptly to wishes.

    Very nice room. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good bathroom too. We also appreciated the chocolate treat each night. The hotel is in a great location too and within easy walking distance of many of the main attractions in Vienna.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Unexpectedly good. Had a choice nearby (4*+) but they loose. Functional, appealing and just nice.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath appliences could be better. "Lasy" bathtub sink, low water pressure.

    So very friendly, felt like home! Very attentive to even minor details, patient, smart, effective. High ceilings, quite big rooms and shiny bathroom, quite, neutral odors. Good food and drinks. Location just superb, 15 meters outside pedestrian zone. Definitely come back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Beyond exceptional and worth every penny!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet has a great variety, and you can also order off the menu to get eggs done how you want. The hotel was quiet. It's in a fantastic location, close to St. Stephen's Cathedral and lots of restaurants, upscale stores, touristy shops, the horse carriage ride starting point, and so much more. We walked almost everywhere. The desk staff were amazing and coordinated lots of activities and several taxi rides for us.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location, very formal and we are not -so we did feel that we did not quite match the style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two requests we considered reasonable were not responded to. A booking made at reception for lunch was not communicated to staff. A faulty bedside telephone that was not operational 24 hours later.

    Spacious room, great bed, immaculate presentation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    a most memorable visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful. They provided excellent restaurant and entertainment recommendations. The location near Stephansplatz is convenient to cultural destinations and to shopping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Overall very nice!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast average. Large bathtub, difficult to get in-out safely. Lobby bar out-of-stock (Zacapa).

    Excellent atmosphere, environment and cleanliness. Huge bed. Nice room and bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Best location in Vienna city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Contracted parking house is 300 m distant.

    Excellent location at the Stephansdom (less than one minute walk). Rich breakfast offer, spacious and clean rooms, wide and comfortable beds. Although located in the city centre the hotel is very quiet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Amazing Vienna experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was bad.

    Very nice personnel to me and my pet, bed was comfortable, room was super clean and big. The location was beyond amazing, so close to the Cathedral. Amazing experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    People is super nice at this hotel, very helpful, great breakfast, great location! Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have nothing to say here. I loved everything

    Very nice and helpfull people at all the hotel service, from Reception, restaurant, bell boy. The location for me was perfect, I could walk outside and be where I wanted in the area and also near to the Big bus stations where I took my tour.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    They made our birthday weekend a success!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Choose a suite which was two floors enabling kids privacy and also for parent. The staff organised a small birthday cake for my daughter which made the birthday weekend a success!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.8
    My children loved the upstairs area and their beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed wasn't as comfortable as I would have liked.

    My children loved the upstairs area and their beds. The breakfast were also pleasant and the coffee tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some if the staff (not everyone) seemed to poorly understand english and they were absent sometimes from the front desk.

    There is a very nice hall with a bar, the room is nice and spacious, the location is very central. The mattress is quite hard which i liked but it can be a problem for others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    very charming place to stay at
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel with the spirit of Vienna. There is famous Mozart Haus in neighboring building . This hotel has nothing in common with huge hotel chains. Low ceilings in reception area, big wooden key-rings etc.. Chamber style hotel where everything is pretty much personal; I had old fashioned radio in my room which has been working perfectly. Location is ideal for the tourists. It is just around the corner of Stefan’s Dome, Vienna’s Opera House is 10 minutes away by foot and main shopping streets are just 2 minutes away. Very friendly staff and comfortable stay. This hotel is not about luxury, it is about old friendly home which was exactly there even in 1764!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Such a lovely small hotel and lovely décor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In spite of advising that we had no hot water in wash basins this was not corrected during our stay. Hot water in shower was good.

    Such a lovely small hotel and lovely décor. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Very charming and comfortable stay. Would return to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress quite firm - for me. Room overlooked charming internal courtyard/ hotel lounge, so was not able to open window for outside fresh air, but A/C worked well.

    Very charming. Wonderful boutique style lovely hotel. Part of Mozart House. Lovely staff. Great bathroom. Charming decor in keeping with Beidermeier style Vienna. Just a block from St Stephensplatz and great restaurants all around. 15 mins taxi from Vienna WBH station. Linens and towels excellent. Breakfast buffet and restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel that strikes perfect balance between old and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had dinner at the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was over priced, mediocre, and the service was indifferent at best.

    Wonderful Old World charm, from the old fashioned room key left at the front desk, to the friendly porters and the red velvet and dark wood. Charming bar area where guests relaxed with cocktails and newspapers on sticks -- reminded me of a much earlier and more gracious time. My single room was spacious and clean with a walk in closet and a beautiful new marble bath. Bed was perfectly comfortable, room had double windows to block all street noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Classic and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Convenient location and very quiet. Warm and friendly staff. Super spacious room with toilette and slippers. Good breakfast with cold buffet but can order hot dish already in the room rate package.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Charming and very comfortable boutique hotel in the center of Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and service was slow, with the food just average. We recommend finding other places for dinner, and there are many in easy walking distance.

    Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent. The hotel is charming, the staff friendly, and location ideal for enjoying Vienna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom was spacious and clean. Staff was fantastic. Very helpful with touring suggestions. Breakfast was plentiful and had many fresh options. Everyone had a smile on their face and was willing to help with whatever was asked of them.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great Location, great building and decorating, is real 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cost it bit high but you pay for what you get. maisonette room was cold at night.

    Great Location, great building and decorating, is real 4 star hotel, I would recommend this hotel for staying. In the breakfast you allowed you to order exactly what you hot meal you want and they make it to you nice stuff. The maisonette room is fantastic really a gem if you are traveling with family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Ambience and atmosphere were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building with plenty of character. Beautiful inner courtyard with a large ficus tree in the centre. Comfortable lounge/ bar area with friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Like coming home, very good and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A barman on duty after 17.00 would be good, a shower outside the bath could be good for older people, One or 2 more English stations on the TV would be good.

    The room was comfortable, The breakfast was good, the air conditioning worked well, It was a simple walk to most of the things we wanted to do,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location with good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea/ coffee facilities in the room.

    Excellent breakfast with eggs cooked to order and a huge buffet with meats, cheese, cereals, fruit and bread/ pastries. Very friendly attentive staff, especially in the restaurant. Excellent location. Quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Charming hotel in heart of Vienna with great room layout for family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic duplex set-up for a family of 4. Location ideal. Breakfasts absolutely perfect. Lovely central atrium for coffee and drinks. A treat to stay at.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay in vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee facility in the room, had to pay for it from the bar, Which was quite expensive.

    The hotel was beautiful, staff were friendly and very helpful. Location was fantastic and still quiet for a good night sleep.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Location was outstanding;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was outstanding; room was spacious; staff very friendly and responsive. Breakfast options were terrific with freshly prepared hot breakfast items.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Loved Vienna but be very aware, anywhere you go, of professional single or groups of pickpockets!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing I disliked about this property

    All hotel staff were very professional, pleasant and helpful, especially Michael Fallmann who helped me enormously when I had my purse stolen from inside my handbag. His calming influence, concern and knowledge helped me to deal with this problem straight away - many thanks, Michael!!! The hotel is in a great location for Stephansplatz (the actual street is very quiet) and also has access to the underground, which you need if intending to go to Schonbrunn palace and also other places if you find walking difficult. We had breakfast in our deal and had many choices including scrambled eggs etc. if required. The soft boiled eggs are fab! We had a maisonette which was ideal for 3 people - extremely comfortable beds and we loved the chocolates each day!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    As a family we stayed in a maisonette, this was ideal and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a family we stayed in a maisonette, this was ideal and there was plenty of space. The hotel's breakfast choice was excellent, gluten free bread was also provided. The hotel was very tranquil. The location was also excellent right next to St Stephansplatz.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    The room is extremely comfortable and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is extremely comfortable and beautiful. The staff is very attentive and helpful. Location of this hotel is excellent. Metro is 3-4 minutes walk. Many famous restaurants are located near the hotel. They prepare sweets in the room for you to taste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel maintain its historical status but keep up with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel maintain its historical status but keep up with time to blend facilities such as new bath room, modernised lift to make our stays a pleasant one. Location of the hotel is very good with many of the historical sites within walking distance. Shopping streets are just short walks away. Highly recommended for family with young children to stay in one of their Maisonette where the kids stay upstair, with their own separate bath room and TV while the parents can relax in their own room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom was clean too. Location was great and staff was helpful. Loved the hot breakfast. Overall, great value for money and would recommend this place very highly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful way to experience old Austria in comfort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was a bit slow in appearing, I wouldn't have liked to be dependent on it if I was in a hurry !

    I can only comment from my experience. I had a single room with small dressing room/ wardrobe, ensuite facilities. If you want to experience a little bit of old Austria then this is the place. The facilities were very modern, suberb shower, safe, fridge etc, but the decor which was clean and fresh reflected an older period. Right in the middle of Vienna, next door to the central cathedral, yet on a quiet street with one way through traffic. Breakfast is cooked and served to order !! with a buffet for the usual fruit, bread etc etc..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    THE place to stay in Vienna!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    Everthing! A block away from Stephensplatz within walking distance of a number of great restaurants as well as the Stehphensplatz U-Bahn stop. Room, staff, ambience, breakfast - you name, it the hotel nailed it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Very good and cosy place.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location right in the center. Ambiance of the butic hotel with proper character of old premises with modern ammenities. Friendly personnel, very helpful with getting tickets, taxis, late check-out etc. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    A marvellous, traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had an evening meal at the hotel, which was very pleasant, but there was only one other couple, which meant there was little atmosphere.

    We had a lovely spacious room with sofa and chairs and a large bathroom with double sinks. The location couldn't have been better, as it provided easy access to the whole of the city centre and its palaces, churches and museums.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Lovely Hotel and Lovely City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like but I suppose our room could have done with a teeny bit of updating.

    Our friends collected us from Vienna Airport and we arrived late afternoon. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, We liked the fact that this hotel goes back to the 1740s and had a real warm and cosy feel. The room was lovely and big with bathroom and separate toilet. We requested a room overlooking the lovely courtyard and small bar which is quieter than street side but that wasn't too busy either. The hotel is less than a minute's walk to St Stephens Cathedral and all the bars and restaurants so it's perfect for exploring the City Centre. Also the underground is about a two-minute walk which is great for going to the various attractions. We didn't need help with tours or information as our friends are Viennese so they showed us around. However, there was a lot of information in the foyer at the hotel. The staff are very helpful and will tell you everything you need to know and would probably help you to organise your day. My friend asked how much we paid for our accommodation and she said that it was really good value being right in the 1st district of the city. We had a lovely time in Vienna and at this hotel and were sad to leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice, comfortable hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, room large and comfortable. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The breakfast was good. The chocolate left in the room at night was a really nice touch. The staff member helped us find a great concert to go to and changed our dinner reservations to another restaurant so that we could get to the show.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    traditional Viennese style in nice and quiet hotel right in the middle of Vienna
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taking a seat in the lobby/bar area and expecting a waiter to immediately come and take your order is expecting a bit much. It sometimes took a bit of searching to find someone to serve you there. A bit more proactive approach to bar tendering might be helpful.

    Right in the middle of Vienna's centre, just behind Stephan Cathedral. Everything you want to see in walking distance, many nice restaurants in the area. Hotel is not ultra-modern, but in a nice traditional Viennese style as you might expect. Though most people will want to explore restaurants around town, the restaurant in the hotel is really good, many traditional dishes, well prepared, staff very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was an extremely firm bed. Window view on to narrow street was of offices opposite.

    Extremely convenient location - most tourist sites were walkable distances. No real traffic or other noise - very quiet. Excellent breakfasts. One meal in restaurant was OK, but not special. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Oldest hotel in Vienna and hence in keeping décor. Mozart lived there at one time. Air conditioned. No hesitation in recommending.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel. The staff and amenities were excellent, including the spacious stately rooms, the courtyard for relaxation and cocktails, and the restaurant. The staff was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants, arranging excursions with private guides, and purchasing Opera tickets for us. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The Rowlees

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    This hotel is superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was absolutely nothing about this hotel that I could fault.

    This small hotel has a lot of character due to being in an old building, with lots of nice features. Just off Stephansplatz, it is central (easy access to Vienna's excellent underground and tram system) but separate from all the noise of the main square. They have a modern section, which has been tastefully done. We stayed in one of the modern rooms; very spacious, it had a nice large bathroom. Breakfast was good; try an omelette, they are wonderful! The coffee was also good. We ate in the restaurant (also the breakfast room) one night, and the food was good. Every single member of staff at all levels was friendly and helpful. We fell victim to pickpockets on the Underground (beware young slim women in pairs asking directions!), and the front desk staff helped us with directions to the nearest Police Station and in contacting the "Lost and Found" dept of the Underground (who speak only German, which we do not). On a more cheerful note, they have wonderful recommendations for local restaurants, all within a 5 minute walk from the hotel, tucked away in side streets. We went to several, and all were either good or superb. I would not hesitate to return to this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bar could be improved. There was no real atmosphere to incent patrons to enjoy a beverage after a long day of sightseeing.

    The hotel is located in a great area...not in the middle of the busy St Stephen's Cathedral traffic/noise but a very short walk there. Easy walk to train station, shopping and plenty of restaurants. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms have been renovated and are beautiful. They're spacious and well appointed with rainfall shower, separate tub, as well as a second private toilet room. The restaurant was very good for breakfast with an assortment of foods to please pretty much every type of appetite. We did not have dinner there. Overall, hotel was great. We would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Stay here and be satisfied....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not one complaint!

    Room size was bigger than normal European room. Very clean. Very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Location perfect. Would stay there again and again. Would also recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving.

    If you enjoy staying in a small, expertly run, historic hotel in the center of Vienna, near the oldest quarters of the city etc. etc. you will love it here.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Historic property but high quality renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of coffee maker in the room or coffee service in the lobby.

    Historic property but high quality renovation. Boutique hotel but well-appointed and spacious rooms; very courteous and engaging staff from Bellman to House Cleaning to Front Desk and Concierge services. Eager to assist. Extremely close to St. Stephens cathedral and world class shopping. Couldn't be a better location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    The Weather was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Weather was fantastic. The Spanish Riding School was brilliant. The Schonbrumn Place was a lovely day out. Breakfast was fabulous especially the eggs and bacon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    All a traveler needs at a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    contemporary room decor felt a bit tired

    front desk and concierge & bell staff were helpful and efficient & facilitated early check in for me bath very spacious and well supplied w all a traveler needs.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Would come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room clean and bed very comfortable. warm welcome upon arrival from reception staff, concierge, waiters and housekeeping ('Salamat' to the nice ladies!). Breakfast choice plenty, fresh and delicious. Close to the city centre and all other attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was good, staff was friendly at the front desk and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We looked for hotel transfer as we arrived at Munich International but didn't find, several rounds we checked. However, one of the staff kept stressing that we didn't check properly.

    Breakfast was good, staff was friendly at the front desk and restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Elegant, traditional, charming hotel in the heart of Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly, as far as we are concerned, nothing could have been better. If - or rather when we return to Vienna - we will definately stay in Hotel Konig von Ungarn!

    The staff: Without exception the hotel's staff were warm and friendly, efficient and very professional. We were given a warm welcome and made to feel very comfortable and well cared for. The restaurant: We enjoyed excellent meals in the hotel's restaurant on two evenings (on the other two evenings we decided to try two of the nearby restaurants for variety). Being mid-February the restaurant - which serves traditional Austrian cuisine - was very quiet but we enjoyed the "out-of-season" genteel atmosphere and the formal but friendly service. The enclosed courtyard: We made the most of the lovely enclosed courtyard - it's a very welcoming and relaxing space filled with natural light - ideal for pre-dinner or after-dinner drinks or just somewhere nice to sit, chat and relax. Breakfast: We booked 4 nights room only but enjoyed breakfast twice in the hotel at 20 euros per person per breakfast. Many and varied cold items were on offer as well as hot options. (On those morning when we felt less hungry we had a good, light breakfast in the nearby busy Diglas Cafe for 9 euros per person. We enjoyed the setting, the bustle and the food but the service, although efficient, wasn't very friendly.) The room: Our room was pleasantly decorated and furnished, comfortable and very clean, and we had everything we needed. [Note for anyone expecting tea and coffee making facilities - these are not offered but room service is.] Location: Situated next to the Stephansplatz and the cathedral, the hotel is ideally located for walking to many of Vienna's splendid attractions or the U-Bahn station is just a 2 or 3 minute walk away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    So central walking distance to museums but most of all its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price

    So central walking distance to museums but most of all its other old worldy atmosphere where we could shelter from the cold plus the restaurant was excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    10
    The most positive impression!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, next to Mozart house, spacious & very comfortable rooms, warm atmosphere, servicable staff, very clean, nice patio, perfect wifi connection. The most positive impression!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel in perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike.

    This is a very well run private hotel right in the centre of Vienna. Everywhere is within easy walking distance, the bedroom was gorgeous and very comfortable, breakfast was excellent with delicious eggs cooked to order and the staff .... well, they were all wonderful and couldn't have done more for us, especially when it came to accessing tickets for Must-see performances! We are already looking forward to our next visit!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a very well located very close to the Stefansdom. The rooms are comfortable and well insulated. Breakfast is excellent and the availability of staff could an example for other hotels. There was a problem with the wifi-connection quite in the evening. The person at the desk did his utmost best to find a solution and managed to solve the problem. He handled this in a very professional way

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for this old fashioned hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double glazing poor, soundproofing in old part poor, hard mattresses & uncomfortable pillows. Very cold sitting & bar area (glassed over courtyard).

    Friendly reception/concierge and excellent breakfast and housekeeping staff.Great position near everything either by walking or using public transport.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel König von Ungarn traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: